Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, where the 'deja-vu are tradition in here

Kinster
post Jun 12 2008, 12:29 PM

144 posts

Umm, hi guys. I'm looking to buy a can of Testors Dullcote spray, did a google search and ended up here.
I guess this is the right place to ask...
Do you veteran modellers know anywhere in KL which sells this Testors Dullcote spray can?
Or parhaps you know of any other similar products of other brands (Mr Hobby/Tamiya/etc.)?

I need a clear, transparent spray which isn't glossy. Any help is appreciated.

I thank you guys in advance! smile.gif
Kinster
post Jun 12 2008, 08:07 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Jun 12 2008, 06:32 PM)
Transparent?? blink.gif for what first?

I plan to do some shading/weathering on a model using pastel chalk. The pastel chalk is grounded on sandpaper to create pastel dust, which is then applied onto the model with a paintbrush. When the work is done, I need the transparent spray to "seal in" the pastel dust - to prevent them from rubbing off when I re-pose the model. The model isn't supposed to be shiny, that's why I need a clear spray that is matt.

Anyone knows where I can find something like this? I can find some clear spray, but they are all glossy... sad.gif
Kinster
post Jun 12 2008, 08:27 PM

144 posts

Thanks for the feedback! smile.gif
Forgive my ignorance, what's a topcoat and where can I get one?
Kinster
post Jun 14 2008, 11:07 PM

144 posts

Thanks for the info, guys. I am on my hunt for Topcoat Flat!

I went to TM @ BTS today, but they are out of Topcoat Flat. I also went to look for AF Hobby @ Ampang. Read somewhere that it is in Paragon Point... went there but don't see any hobby shop! Can someone please teach me how to find AF Hobby? I did see another hobby shop opposite Paragon's main entrance though, but that's not AF... and it's not open. I'll try to look for this Plaza Ampang too. This is the triangular-shaped building next to MRR2, right? I'll also go ask XL if they have it.

If anyone has any other suggestions on where to find Topcoat Flat, please share. smile.gif Thanks! biggrin.gif
Kinster
post Jun 14 2008, 11:34 PM

144 posts

Oh, outside Paragon! No wonder I can't find it inside. I'll go look again tomorrow. Hope they open Sundays. If don't have, then I'll go check Hobby HQ @ Yow Chuan Plaza.

"Hobby shop above plaza ampang, beside is the citisquare", I'm a little confused. From the location description, sounds like same area as Hobby HQ. Or could this be another shop in the same area?

Thanks again for the suggestions, sifus! biggrin.gif
Kinster
post Jun 16 2008, 04:11 PM

144 posts

If you're not familiar with the area, AF Hobby could be hard to find even if you stop at Putri Park Plaza.
I live near the area, so I found it no problem. Actually, I didn't find it. It found me! sweat.gif
Y'see, as instructed, I went upstairs of Guardian pharmacy. First floor, looked like a residence, no signage whatsoever. Went up to second floor, looked more like somebody's house. Discouraged, began to go down the stairs when I heard a loud cantonese voice behind my back, demanding, "Meh see?" ("What's the matter?"). Gave me a scare, but it was the boss of the shop. He let me in and I noticed he got a CCTV, watching me looking around like a fool. Gah! He explained the lack of signage because they just moved in here.

Anyway, Topcoat Flat was out of stock, I'll have to go back in a coupla weeks. That's okay. smile.gif
Kinster
post Jun 17 2008, 02:36 AM

144 posts

It's the first floor, right above Guardian. Just climb up one flight of stairs. The exterior looks nothing like a hobby shop. In fact it looks nothing like any shop. Like I said, I thought it was somebody's home. But just ring the bell, they should get the door for you. Otherwise, just do what I did, act like a fool looking for something, they'll get a laugh from the CCTV then open the door... tongue.gif
Kinster
post Sep 8 2008, 02:12 PM

144 posts

Hail all Sifus in this thread. This might be a bit off-topic, but it is still considered "painting". Look at this picture, do you guys know what was used to draw the eyebrows and eyelashes? Could it be a fine paintbrush or maybe a very fine marker? Note that a single strand of eyelash is even thinner than a 1mm notch on the ruler.

Kinster
post Sep 9 2008, 03:36 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(erh_teo @ Sep 8 2008, 05:05 PM)

Added on September 8, 2008, 5:06 pm

u want to know wat was used to achieve that or how to do that? blink.gif
Sorry my question was confusing. I want to know what was used to achieve that. If I may, I'd like to learn how to do that also... smile.gif
Here's the picture again:

And the question is: What was used to draw the fine lines of the eyebrows & eye lashes?
I was hoping the Gundam sifus in this thread might know of an ultra fine brush or marker that might be able to do this.
Kinster
post Sep 9 2008, 04:34 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(erh_teo @ Sep 9 2008, 04:18 PM)
as far as i know if u looking for marker, the finest available in market is copic marker @ 0.02mm tip, not sure fine enuf for the eyebrow effect not la..
Thanks for your reply. Is the copic marker expensive? Where can I find one?
Kinster
post Sep 9 2008, 04:53 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(erh_teo @ Sep 9 2008, 04:44 PM)
it look like this [attachmentid=586619]

but forgot where have d tongue.gif
Okay, thanks again for the pic. I'll go ask around and see who sells them. smile.gif
Kinster
post Sep 9 2008, 05:01 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Sep 9 2008, 04:57 PM)
AF Hobby sells these. Or try your luck in art shops cause copic is a rather famous marker ink brand.
AF Hobby, the one above Guardian in Tmn Putra, Ampang?
Thanks for the info. Any idea what the price will be like, madmoz?
Kinster
post Sep 9 2008, 05:03 PM

144 posts

Hokay, thanks! biggrin.gif
Kinster
post Sep 9 2008, 05:20 PM

144 posts

Err, who is sunnyboy?
Kinster
post Mar 16 2009, 05:32 PM

144 posts

Hey guys, I got a question about Mr Super Clear.

I don't make Gundam models, but I'm sure the gundam sifus here have answers to my question.

Here's the situation, I just bought the 12inch Stormtrooper and I think he's not glossy enough. I remember the Stormtroopers being very glossy in the Star Wars movies. I thought I could fix this with a layer of Mr Super Clear. I've used the Mr Super Clear Flat before, but I have no experience with the Gloss or Semi Gloss.

Can someone please tell me what's the difference between Gloss and Semi Gloss?

Which might be more suitable for the Stormtrooper's shiny armour?

Thanks. notworthy.gif
Kinster
post Mar 16 2009, 08:01 PM

144 posts

Thanks for the responses, madmoz and erh_teo. smile.gif

I'm not sure what exactly the plastic is called, but it is not soft. It is rather hard, possibly the same material used to make gundam parts. So I guess there is no need to worry about the gloss coat cracking.
I don't require extreme high shine. The stormtrooper isn't entirely flat right now, I only want a bit more shine. That's the reason why I'm still on the fence between choosing Gloss or Semi Gloss. I'm afraid that if I wrongly chose Gloss and it turned out too shiny, then I'm doomed. sad.gif

icon_question.gif

Added on March 16, 2009, 8:55 pmWell, pictures say a thousand words. Here's a picture of the trooper in question, next to a screen grab from the movie.
I'm still undecided between Gloss or Semi Gloss...
Advice? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Kinster: Mar 16 2009, 08:55 PM
Kinster
post Mar 17 2009, 11:28 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Mar 17 2009, 09:52 AM)
I'm pretty sure the stormtrooper armor, or at least parts of them (leg armor) are semi soft. Not as hard as gundam because they have to make it abit elastic to fit the figure in the armor.

The Stormtrooper armor itself has a slight gloss coat already. You can experiment it. I would say go full gloss. But then how you going to apply the coat on the armor without removing the armor from the body. It's not easy to put the armor back u might end up tearing the inner suits.
Thanks advocado. No, every part of the trooper armour is hard, only the belt is soft. I can leave the belt out when spraying the gloss. The figure underneath is a skinny guy, so the armour pieces needn't be elastic. They're quite hard. smile.gif And it's easy to remove. I've already removed and put back on twice, to fix some loose joints. Like gundam joints, I used superglue on them and keep moving the joint before it cures completely. The dried superglue inside the joints provide a bit of friction to tighten loose joints. biggrin.gif

erh_teo: I'm assuming the difference between Mr Topcoat and Mr Superclear is just the brand name? And that Topcoat is removeable with window cleaner. Other than that, they're both basically the same thing?
I think the white parts of the trooper armour isn't painted, it's the colour of the plastic it was cast in. I guess there's no worry about harming any paint. The only painting used are little details on certain parts of the armour - the stomach, the helmet...

One other question, if I tried Semi Gloss and it's not glossy enough, can I spray on a second or third layer to add to the glossiness? If this is possible, then I won't choose Gloss at all, just start with thin layers of Semi Gloss. Will that work? unsure.gif
Kinster
post Mar 17 2009, 12:08 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(erh_teo @ Mar 17 2009, 11:40 AM)
it's diff btw Mr.Topcoat (blue) and Mr. Super Clear (gray).
u can't strip Mr.Super clear with windex, since it's a lacquer.

u may wanna try with gloss. if u find it's too glossy, spray another thin layer with semi-gloss.
Wah! Then I'll have to buy 2 cans. cry.gif
My earlier suggestion won't work?
3 layers Semi Gloss = 1 layer Gloss? Cannot? Hehe doh.gif
Kinster
post Mar 17 2009, 04:51 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(erh_teo @ Mar 17 2009, 02:12 PM)
u can try mist coat wt gloss though..
no need buy 2 can 1 shot la.
just buy the gloss, if too gloss, then miss coat. if cannot, just get another can semi glos lor
QUOTE(davelcm @ Mar 17 2009, 02:55 PM)
as for the gloss...buy semi-gloss...try spray few layers. it may come out to the gloss level u want. my earlier post of green zaku which is a bit glossy...is fr semi-gloss spray can. sprayed too many layers until become glossy liao...
What does "mist coat" mean?
hmm.gif Hmm, one sifu says Gloss, one sifu says several layers of Semi Gloss. Who to trust? sweat.gif Hehe!

I looked at the earlier green zaku. Looks like a nice gloss. But I noticed that direct flash was used. If you look at the zaku under normal light (no camera flash), is it still so glossy?
Kinster
post Mar 17 2009, 05:18 PM

144 posts

Thanks for the explanations, guys.
So "normal spray" means getting the whole thing wet. biggrin.gif
Sounds like I could use the mist spray technique using Semi Gloss and gradually build up until I get the desired gloss effect.
I'll go visit the hobby store and see how much this Top Coat is. Gotta remember: blue can. smile.gif
Just wondering, how long does it take for Top Coat Semi Gloss to dry?

0.0455sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:09 AM