126 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, where the 'deja-vu are tradition in here

erh_teo
post Mar 10 2009, 01:47 PM

QUOTE(evanrue @ Mar 9 2009, 10:31 AM)
smile.gif any particular brand to recommend bro? i dont want to use those household elephant glue, scared..  sweat.gif
if i'm not mistaken those figure is usually pvc, not normal styrene (PS).
sorry.. no idea sweat.gif
if a figure is broken, usually u've to sacrifice the movement by gluing it dead end, no more movement.
try A+B epoxy glue. but no movement though after the joint is glued.

QUOTE(davelcm @ Mar 10 2009, 11:24 AM)
MG Hi NU has very tight fitting. especially the joints around the crotch portion. is the kit snap fitted? if it is, disassemble the kit and check properly if u've used the correct parts. some small differentiation in size may result in extremely tight joints.
yala.. maybe u wanna open it back see maybe certain area of the plastic is not properly cut, causing friction/blocking the movement. wink.gif
nicholas84
post Mar 10 2009, 02:18 PM

328 posts

yeah, the problem is totally cannot budge!
cannot remove at all, the parts are correct wor triple check already
any know how to remove the plastic from the joint? hot water?
edan1979
post Mar 10 2009, 02:27 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

can try put some oil and pull it back slowly... or liquid soap... i've do it once...
golbeza
post Mar 10 2009, 03:01 PM

58 posts

guise, where else can i buy Mr Surfacer, tamiya colour sprays & mr colour sprays from the shop from times square? icon_question.gif
edan1979
post Mar 10 2009, 03:05 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

Try to look at Time Machine level 7
rayloke
post Mar 10 2009, 03:19 PM

34 posts

try HHQ near jln tun razak,

also MH should have some stock.....

Or Af hobby in ampang.
golbeza
post Mar 10 2009, 04:13 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Mar 10 2009, 03:05 PM)
Try to look at Time Machine level 7
err, i mean other than the time machine shop, coz i always buy there hehe. coz i live far away T_T

thanks rayloke, will search there too ^^
rayloke
post Mar 10 2009, 04:29 PM

34 posts

er... sorry i think i misunderstood your previous post. those 3 locations r not in times square......i blur.... tongue.gif
erh_teo
post Mar 10 2009, 04:39 PM

xl-shop
midvalley, ampang and bts
there's a pin list go find la.
those shope mentioned by rayloke oso got.
but since u stay far far, better call b4 going..
edan1979
post Mar 10 2009, 05:16 PM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

errr.. i though hhq already shifted shop near chan show lin???
erh_teo
post Mar 10 2009, 05:52 PM

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Mar 10 2009, 05:16 PM)
errr.. i though hhq already shifted shop near chan show lin???
yeah.. near chan sow lin, but stil along that tun razak stretch.. near the jln loke yew/tun razak intersect roundabout there biggrin.gif
davelcm
post Mar 10 2009, 10:12 PM

jln loke yew/jln sungai besi intersection. near federal bakery. tun razak actually starts further up. tongue.gif
erh_teo
post Mar 11 2009, 10:04 AM

oh.. that stretch is sg.besi liao is it tongue.gif, coz it's the same road didn't realised..
nicholas84
post Mar 11 2009, 01:23 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(edan1979 @ Mar 10 2009, 02:27 PM)
can try put some oil and pull it back slowly... or liquid soap... i've do it once...
still totally cannot move

Added on March 11, 2009, 1:24 pm
QUOTE(erh_teo @ Mar 10 2009, 01:47 PM)
if i'm not mistaken those figure is usually pvc, not normal styrene (PS).
sorry.. no idea  sweat.gif
if a figure is broken, usually u've to sacrifice the movement by gluing it dead end, no more movement.
try A+B epoxy glue. but no movement though after the joint is glued.
yala.. maybe u wanna open it back see maybe certain area of the plastic is not properly cut, causing friction/blocking the movement. wink.gif
totally cannot remove, cannot see
now i want to get it removed

This post has been edited by nicholas84: Mar 11 2009, 01:24 PM
davelcm
post Mar 11 2009, 01:31 PM

well, try soakin the thing in warm water. hot enuff to touch but not boiling hot til it melts the plastic/rubber joints. then slow do twisting motion on the joint part i.e. slowly twist clockwise a bit, then counter clockwise a bit while pullin the joint out. it won't be easy...but at this moment, i think that's ur best bet.
rayloke
post Mar 11 2009, 03:34 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(nicholas84 @ Mar 11 2009, 01:23 PM)
still totally cannot move

Added on March 11, 2009, 1:24 pm

totally cannot remove, cannot see
now i want to get it removed
yo bro, if u stay in kl, then tomolo a bunch of modelers r having gathering in wangsa maju area. if u can bring the thing there, i assure u got at least 6 or 7 modelers r willing to help u on that, including our infamous professor erh_teo.

in fact i m quite curious what's happened; never encounter that before tongue.gif

Sorry for spamming for i m not providing any solution for u, but indeed, i think this might be one of the best solution tongue.gif

Davelcm: not joining us meh tomolo night? blush.gif
nicholas84
post Mar 11 2009, 03:55 PM

328 posts

QUOTE(davelcm @ Mar 11 2009, 01:31 PM)
well, try soakin the thing in warm water. hot enuff to touch but not boiling hot til it melts the plastic/rubber joints. then slow do twisting motion on the joint part i.e. slowly twist clockwise a bit, then counter clockwise a bit while pullin the joint out. it won't be easy...but at this moment, i think that's ur best bet.
I tried that already
put my water heater to max and soak it for abt 15 mins
put my hand in and try to twist (dang hot)
still cannot...
SUSadvocado
post Mar 11 2009, 07:18 PM

2,948 posts

I always get mixed up with the standard procedure when it comes to removing the lines & spraying top coats.

I mean most people spray the parts before assembling so how do you remove the lines where you have to assemble it? The only way i can think of is cut the connectors and do a soft assembling, remove the lines and paint the parts, then use glue to stick the parts together, but that is really troublesome.

Also regarding the top coat, do you spray them when the robot is assembled or part by part? As the easiest way is spray them assembled but there are parts where you don't want the top coat to reach and it would be uneven as when it comes to tight places.
temptation1314
post Mar 11 2009, 08:25 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

Lol.. how many times repeat already...

Cut, assemble, sand, glue, stick, remove line before you do any paint job or apply anything on top of the plastic.

As for the top coat question, Mostly when people paint their kits, they don't play with it. So it's gotta be with 1 pose and top coat it. And yeah, they will be places where the top coat won't reach.
SUSadvocado
post Mar 11 2009, 08:46 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Mar 11 2009, 08:25 PM)
Lol.. how many times repeat already...

Cut, assemble, sand, glue, stick, remove line before you do any paint job or apply anything on top of the plastic.

As for the top coat question, Mostly when people paint their kits, they don't play with it. So it's gotta be with 1 pose and top coat it. And yeah, they will be places where the top coat won't reach.
How do you paint (airbrush) after you assembled? I mean like MG you might have 2 parts with different color don't tell me your goona masktape it and spray? I always though spraying in bulk before assembling. There are parts where it can pivot and i don't think you can paint it properly after assembling.

Is this what serious modellers do?

126 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:38 PM