55 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

House of Westies, Owners of 'Small lions', share here.

Pennywise
post Oct 25 2008, 09:14 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(larryho @ Oct 24 2008, 10:31 PM)
What u said is damn true aso, like i saw those ppl carrying their dogs to pasar malam...outside like damn sayang their dogs, when at home...i guess they dun even wish to care...i think they bring out just to show off lar.

U cant be sure that they will go to a better home, but u'll alwaz wish that ur pups will stay at a better home rite? For me, i'll hope that westies owner understand about the breed 1st before taking them as a pet. They may look nice and charming, but if kena skin problem..its a true headache man. Thats y i said...commitment to ur dogs are damn freaking important.
I believe chinese has a proverb which says a human heart is deeper than the sea. A lot of ppl are very showy and pretentious. Better be more careful when choosing owners. For me, if i breed, i'll keep all of it or want an owner who i can visit from time to time.

QUOTE(Doraemon11 @ Oct 24 2008, 10:39 PM)
Yes sir... spay not neuter.. tongue.gif
Yes its called spay. I just saw your msg on msn. I'm going to seapark pet supplies about 11 i think. Not sure yet one. Weekend are usually filled with chores.
TSlarryho
post Oct 25 2008, 12:50 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Oct 25 2008, 09:14 AM)
For me, if i breed, i'll keep all of it or want an owner who i can visit from time to time.
Same goes to me...its better if u can visit back ur own pups and understand about the owner.

Added on October 25, 2008, 12:57 pmLast nite my casper damn freaking crazy...he killed a mice. I was sleeping that time, then suddenly heard my tweety barking. My sis lock her in the cage but normally i wont lock it but dunno y last nite my sis when n lock so i heard tweety barking. I went down n wanted to open back the cage, suddenly casper appear n i saw a black thing in his mouth. Then i called him to let go, the black thing fall and it was a dead mice. Omg..i saw aso terkejut lar, when pick up tat time..the mice still warm lar.

I aso duno how tis stupid fellow looks gila gila can kill a mice. Then when i put out tweety, she started sniffing and trying to search whether there are anymore mice around anot. I guess they took the job of cats lar... flex.gif

This post has been edited by larryho: Oct 25 2008, 12:57 PM
wzseow
post Oct 25 2008, 01:09 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(larryho @ Oct 25 2008, 12:50 PM)
Same goes to me...its better if u can visit back ur own pups and understand about the owner.

Added on October 25, 2008, 12:57 pmLast nite my casper damn freaking crazy...he killed a mice. I was sleeping that time, then suddenly heard my tweety barking. My sis lock her in the cage but normally i wont lock it but dunno y last nite my sis when n lock so i heard tweety barking. I went down n wanted to open back the cage, suddenly casper appear n i saw a black thing in his mouth. Then i called him to let go, the black thing fall and it was a dead mice. Omg..i saw aso terkejut lar, when pick up tat time..the mice still warm lar.

I aso duno how tis stupid fellow looks gila gila can kill a mice. Then when i put out tweety, she started sniffing and trying to search whether there are anymore mice around anot. I guess they took the job of cats lar... flex.gif
Woaahhh westies are indeed hunters! Good lah your house will be mouse-free. My snowball has so far only killed centipedes and cockroaches in my home. If there's a mice he'll surely kill as well. But I can't teach him the command "leave it", because he will run away when i try to remove from his mouth. He will eat the mice one cry.gif
TSlarryho
post Oct 25 2008, 01:27 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(wzseow @ Oct 25 2008, 01:09 PM)
Woaahhh westies are indeed hunters! Good lah your house will be mouse-free. My snowball has so far only killed centipedes and cockroaches in my home. If there's a mice he'll surely kill as well. But I can't teach him the command "leave it", because he will run away when i try to remove from his mouth. He will eat the mice one  cry.gif
Wah...if eat then damn dangerous lar. Same goes to my westies lar, alwaz play wit cockroaches...casper will step it n let it go awhile then step it back again till it dies, tweety will bite then pusing her head n shoot it to the wall until mati. But i seldom let them do so lar coz dirty, normally i'll juz cal them to leave it...anyway, westies instinct are like hunting dogs also coz its ancestors the Crain Terrier are also use for hunting last time.
wzseow
post Oct 25 2008, 02:38 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(larryho @ Oct 25 2008, 01:27 PM)
Wah...if eat then damn dangerous lar. Same goes to my westies lar, alwaz play wit cockroaches...casper will step it n let it go awhile then step it back again till it dies, tweety will bite then pusing her head n shoot it to the wall until mati. But i seldom let them do so lar coz dirty, normally i'll juz cal them to leave it...anyway, westies instinct are like hunting dogs also coz its ancestors the Crain Terrier are also use for hunting last time.
Any tips on how to train a dog to "leave it"? I tried shaking a bottle with pebbles in it, he will shriek a little, and will leave. But with just voice command "leave it", he will not leave the toy wor. Instead he will run away, asking us to chase him. How to re-train this bugger ah? smile.gif
TSlarryho
post Oct 25 2008, 02:57 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(wzseow @ Oct 25 2008, 02:38 PM)
Any tips on how to train a dog to "leave it"? I tried shaking a bottle with pebbles in it, he will shriek a little, and will leave. But with just voice command "leave it", he will not leave the toy wor. Instead he will run away, asking us to chase him. How to re-train this bugger ah?  smile.gif
Try using treats, like when it fetches sumthing in his mouth...cal him politely, dun like shout or using a stern voice at him or chase him coz he will think that u r playing wit him. If he comes to you, use the command 'leave it' or 'let go'...then show him the treats. He will then automatically put it down coz got things to makan. Try doin it few times at the command wit him and see how it goes. Make sure there is something in his mouth oni u show him the treat, dun frm far when he is chewing something in his mouth then u adi show him the treats...do it when u have contact wit him. Westies are fast learner, they r juz to playful oni.

I normally play fetch wit them, so when they bring me the ball...i'll hold the ball in their mouth and said 'let go' and i'll show them the treat. So everytime i said 'let go' or 'leave it', they'll eventually understand. How old is ur westie now, if its still puppy then they'll be playful abit.

This post has been edited by larryho: Oct 25 2008, 03:03 PM
benjac
post Oct 25 2008, 03:04 PM

75 posts

hey larry, i found casper's dr grace. she does seem nice and pretty wink.gif
i told her casper introduce, and immediately she knows it's LARRY's dog wor rolleyes.gif
so looks like i will be bringing my scubby to her soon thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by benjac: Oct 25 2008, 03:05 PM
TSlarryho
post Oct 25 2008, 03:09 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(benjac @ Oct 25 2008, 03:04 PM)
hey larry, i found casper's dr grace. she does seem nice and pretty  wink.gif
i told her casper introduce, and immediately she knows it's LARRY's dog wor  rolleyes.gif
so looks like i will be bringing my scubby to her soon  thumbup.gif
I just brought Casper there today, but it seems that casper still need to be on medication. So u went there without bringing ur westie, u gonna bring back ur westie 2mr rite?

Anyway, she's a good doctor...im not saying because she is beautiful tats y she is good ah. She has been following up casper skin prob frm time to time, tats y i quite trust he expertise.
Doraemon11
post Oct 25 2008, 04:03 PM

530 posts

Hey fren i oso just back from petcare wor.. i meet up wit dr ho, she nice too. I manage to have a glance on dr grace.. so at least i know who lor...

Benjac u go meet dr grace for wat???interview her 1st before u send scubby there ar??ahaha

Larryho...u said 11.30am!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
benjac
post Oct 25 2008, 04:09 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(larryho @ Oct 25 2008, 03:09 PM)
I just brought Casper there today, but it seems that casper still need to be on medication. So u went there without bringing ur westie, u gonna bring back ur westie 2mr rite?

Anyway, she's a good doctor...im not saying because she is beautiful tats y she is good ah. She has been following up casper skin prob frm time to time, tats y i quite trust he expertise.
we're collecting scubby next sunday. so will bring him to her maybe the following saturday for a general check-up biggrin.gif

Added on October 25, 2008, 4:12 pm
QUOTE(Doraemon11 @ Oct 25 2008, 04:03 PM)
Benjac u go meet dr grace for wat???interview her 1st before u send scubby there ar??ahaha
not interview mah. just want to kepoh see where exactly is the vet. and so ngam she came out from inside so we spoke to her lo.

asked her about neutering, so she also recommend best to do it after 6mths. if later, after he got "experience" it would be difficult tongue.gif

This post has been edited by benjac: Oct 25 2008, 04:12 PM
TSlarryho
post Oct 25 2008, 04:14 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Doraemon11 @ Oct 25 2008, 04:03 PM)
Hey fren i oso just back from petcare wor.. i meet up wit dr ho, she nice too. I manage to have a glance on dr grace.. so at least i know who lor...

Larryho...u said 11.30am!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I went there around 11.50am, coz i was eating my breakfast earlier then hav to wait for my sis summo. So sorry...nex time v'll try to meet up ok...v meet up together wit scubby.

This post has been edited by larryho: Oct 25 2008, 06:25 PM
Pennywise
post Oct 25 2008, 11:43 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(larryho @ Oct 25 2008, 12:50 PM)

Woww... awesome. Westies are hunting dogs in the past so it's only natural that he went after the mice. Glad he can drop it and they dont normally eat their prey. That part you dont have to worry. This is instinct la.

QUOTE(wzseow @ Oct 25 2008, 01:09 PM)
Woaahhh westies are indeed hunters! Good lah your house will be mouse-free. My snowball has so far only killed centipedes and cockroaches in my home. If there's a mice he'll surely kill as well. But I can't teach him the command "leave it", because he will run away when i try to remove from his mouth. He will eat the mice one  cry.gif
My dogs never killed anything... Hahahaha... I think they will probably be afraid of cockcroaches as well. Moonie does bark at lizards from time to time though but sometimes when you dont see those lizards, it's as though she's barking at something behind you... something beyond human comprehension... the terror just freaks us out some times but now we got used to it.

wzseow
post Oct 26 2008, 01:02 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Oct 25 2008, 11:43 PM)
Woww... awesome. Westies are hunting dogs in the past so it's only natural that he went after the mice. Glad he can drop it and they dont normally eat their prey. That part you dont have to worry. This is instinct la.
My dogs never killed anything... Hahahaha... I think they will probably be afraid of cockcroaches as well. Moonie does bark at lizards from time to time though but sometimes when you dont see those lizards, it's as though she's barking at something behind you... something beyond human comprehension... the terror just freaks us out some times but now we got used to it.
Oh yeah forgot to mention, snowball has killed probably 5 lizards already, even those really small ones, like 5cm long also no chance to survive laugh.gif

Haha yes dogs can see what human can't see.... if they're growling at the middle of the night... something is really wrong there...
TSlarryho
post Oct 26 2008, 12:01 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Oct 25 2008, 11:43 PM)
Haha....ur rumah got hantu ah, well...if they get used to barking then they will bark 1 lar. Casper aso the same, alwaz run out the house to see whether got lizard anot, if there got lizard then he will bark...even dun hav aso sometime he juz bark once or twice then chow....its his habit.
Pennywise
post Oct 26 2008, 01:53 PM

5,796 posts

Choi! My house no hantu la, been living there safely for 11 years! Just that rumor say that dogs eye can see what humans cannot. So the fear is instilled in our human hearts when you hear them bark at something you cannot see. Bark is ok, growl like a wolf is even worse but my dogs dont do that.

Yesterday, my cousin went to Muar, so he said he will only be back tonight and want to tumpang is 3 months old Miniature Schnauzzer at my house. His name is Harley. Brought him back to put him in Casper old cage. Put in all also, my God!! Synchronized barking + whining at near midnight!!

Basically I keep my dogs in the living hall. Current house no space la, so when I move to my new house will have more space. I will probably keep them outside, locked.

I had my contractor built up a huge 10x10ft bricked area up to 5ft height. My washing machine, broom, gas tank and etc will be there, so will the dogs. Above the 5ft wall are all grill and a safety door. I intend to put those magnetic mosquitoes netting there as well.

My current concern is Casper. When I washed him yesterday, I noticed his fur been shedding a lot and his back is filled with red dots like pimples. Not sure if the food is too heaty for him but he seldom drink his water as well. How much water does a dog really need?
wzseow
post Oct 26 2008, 02:24 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Oct 26 2008, 01:53 PM)
Choi! My house no hantu la, been living there safely for 11 years! Just that rumor say that dogs eye can see what humans cannot. So the fear is instilled in our human hearts when you hear them bark at something you cannot see. Bark is ok, growl like a wolf is even worse but my dogs dont do that.

Yesterday, my cousin went to Muar, so he said he will only be back tonight and want to tumpang is 3 months old Miniature Schnauzzer at my house. His name is Harley. Brought him back to put him in Casper old cage. Put in all also, my God!! Synchronized barking + whining at near midnight!!

Basically I keep my dogs in the living hall. Current house no space la, so when I move to my new house will have more space. I will probably keep them outside, locked.

I had my contractor built up a huge 10x10ft bricked area up to 5ft height. My washing machine, broom, gas tank and etc will be there, so will the dogs. Above the 5ft wall are all grill and a safety door. I intend to put those magnetic mosquitoes netting there as well.

My current concern is Casper. When I washed him yesterday, I noticed his fur been shedding a lot and his back is filled with red dots like pimples. Not sure if the food is too heaty for him but he seldom drink his water as well. How much water does a dog really need?
Why want to put them outside? Westies are indoor dogs, no? Where will you be shifting by the way? Next time open house we ramai ramai bring our westies celebrate together hehe laugh.gif

I think Casper has some rashes? Probably weather too hot. Or as I was told by my vet, maybe bathe too often, or maybe also the shampoo was not washed off properly.

My dog drinks about 2 cups of water a day. Not included the water he drinks himself from the pond in the garden. I make him run alot in the house lah, like play fetch. So during meal time he drinks a lot. I think dogs don't really need too much water, if they do drink a lot, got problem already, like kidney problem.

This post has been edited by wzseow: Oct 26 2008, 02:24 PM
Pennywise
post Oct 26 2008, 04:01 PM

5,796 posts

Westies are indoor dogs but my new house dont have dogs indoor, or we're trying not keep them indoor. Actually, the area I'm going to keep them is considered indoor but just separate from the mainhouse but is attached near the kitchen.

If I dont bath him, he has strong doggy odour. I feel Westie are smell stronger than other breeds. Do you guys think so?
wzseow
post Oct 26 2008, 05:25 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Oct 26 2008, 04:01 PM)
Westies are indoor dogs but my new house dont have dogs indoor, or we're trying not keep them indoor. Actually, the area I'm going to keep them is considered indoor but just separate from the mainhouse but is attached near the kitchen.

If I dont bath him, he has strong doggy odour. I feel Westie are smell stronger than other breeds. Do you guys think so?
Let them loose and play around the whole house lah. Haha.

I let my dog go everywhere in the house, including all the rooms. So when he's lonely, he'll come and sleep with us now and then laugh.gif

Hmm, the odour starts to develop after 4 days or so. But to me it's not those really smelly, unbearable smell. Snowball smells like pandan to me thumbup.gif
Pennywise
post Oct 26 2008, 05:51 PM

5,796 posts

Marquis smell like Coke.

I dont let them run around the house because I dont have maid to clean up the house after their poo / pee / fur.

That is why I keep them in their own house outside.
benjac
post Oct 26 2008, 06:30 PM

75 posts

laugh.gif laugh.gif i didn't know westie smells like pandan and coke laugh.gif laugh.gif

hey what brand of shampoo you guys use for your westies? serious question ok tongue.gif

55 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:01 AM