124 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Play B3yond Community | V6, Firmware 2.50 OUT NOW!

Kyoyagami
post Jul 2 2008, 03:47 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Ah, no tags on ur siggies yet? Or is it really not available for PS3 gamers to put their tags on signatures and so on.
TSNinja
post Jul 2 2008, 03:49 PM

[PBMY]™ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Jul 2 2008, 03:43 PM)
no power surge no nothing.. I let it install after downloading, then when I checked back, there's only the XMB background without the icons. no hard disk activity. the machine doesn't allow a soft reset, so I tried a hard one.. still the same thing.

I updated via wireless, not via thumbdrive.. =\

can I download the update to a thumbdrive and allow the PS3 to reinstall it?
You mean after you hard-reset (off PS3 and turn it on), still the same problem?
VashTheStampede
post Jul 2 2008, 03:51 PM

I am the Darkness
994 posts

Hey fellars, how to check this MD5 checksum thingy?Enlighten please smile.gif
nerd
post Jul 2 2008, 03:53 PM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

QUOTE(Ninja @ Jul 2 2008, 03:49 PM)
You mean after you hard-reset (off PS3 and turn it on), still the same problem?
yup sad.gif

it finished installing, that's for sure.. then during the system reboot it refused to load up the icons sad.gif

@#&*()@ have to go down to Singapore if I can't get any help on this.
snipersnake
post Jul 2 2008, 03:55 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

alamak..via wireless doh.gif

personally I am against this updates using teh internetz directly...as its very prone to loss of data.. thats why i will always use my thumb drive..

what to do lah in cases like this...my first time reading this kind of case. My office mate also faced kinda similar problem in the last update, but his was more direct, blackout during update. I have to say your best bet is to send Sony an email on this nod.gif
acougan
post Jul 2 2008, 04:02 PM

590 posts

from your description, it looks like the update process must be somewhat corrupted

just a suggestion: try dis-engaging the HDD 1st and see if the PS3 can boot normally. rmb to use a correct size-screwdriver.
nerd
post Jul 2 2008, 04:07 PM

3,373 posts

I e-mailed Sony already.

hmm I think I'll try out what acougan suggested, although I think the corrupted files are in the flash.. because it happened after the installation of the firmware.

sigh sad.gif
TSNinja

[PBMY]™ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Jul 2 2008, 04:02 PM)
from your description, it looks like the update process must be somewhat corrupted

just a suggestion: try dis-engaging the HDD 1st and see if the PS3 can boot normally. rmb to use a correct size-screwdriver.
Yeah, nerd. Maybe you can try this method.

Because from my previous experience changing HDD, everytime I install a new HDD, or swap HDD between PS3, it will prompt me a message saying that firmware is corrupted and ask me to put a external device (i.e. thumbdrive) containing firmware update file. And, after selecting Start + Select at the same time (or that's what I think the system prompt me to do), PS3 will reinstall the firmware using update file inside your thumbdrive.
vorchiel

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

PS3 has signature checking to verify that it is from Sony, so corrupted downloads will not be installed as the downloaded firmware will fail the signature check. I use DigestIT2004 for simple md5 calc/verifying
tot31
post Jul 2 2008, 04:09 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

You can download MD5Check here http://www.mgillespie.plus.com/MD5Check.zip

MD5 Hash for firmware 2.40 Asian is 96e9def601672c5abcbb4604bb2346f1

This post has been edited by tot31: Jul 2 2008, 04:12 PM
snipersnake
post Jul 2 2008, 04:13 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

sorry guys, I am also still learning in the checksum thing, but what are the possibilities of the data, despite of having a correct sum, but its corrupted, in the sense that the wrong data equalizes the valid checksum figure?
rx330
post Jul 2 2008, 04:14 PM

11,809 posts

need to check one ar? i always just masuk nia
last time got once, it says the file is corrupted, so i dl again only
acougan
post Jul 2 2008, 04:16 PM

590 posts

i check just to be safe

i oso dunno what the MD5 means to the integrity of the file, others say check i oso check tongue.gif
snipersnake
post Jul 2 2008, 04:21 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

imo, the checksum actually is useful when comparing the size of all three regions (ASIA, US JP) if you guys check, they have the same figure. I tried updating my asian ps3 with a US firmware, and it was okay. but in nerd's case, my guess is the firmware was okay, but somehow his PS3 f***ed up in the process.

nerd
post Jul 2 2008, 04:21 PM

3,373 posts

QUOTE(Ninja @ Jul 2 2008, 04:07 PM)
Yeah, nerd. Maybe you can try this method.

Because from my previous experience changing HDD, everytime I install a new HDD, or swap HDD between PS3, it will prompt me a message saying that firmware is corrupted and ask me to put a external device (i.e. thumbdrive) containing firmware update file. And, after selecting Start + Select at the same time (or that's what I think the system prompt me to do), PS3 will reinstall the firmware using update file inside your thumbdrive.
hmm I removed my hard disk already, but I don't have a replacement hard disk to try it out.

there's still hope I guess, as the message that appears now is 'cannot start. the correct hard disk was not found.'

need to ask my dad for his spare notebook SATA hard disk when he gets back home tonight then I should be able to try it out for sure.

thanks for the tips Ninja, acougan. appreciate it smile.gif

I think I'll just take the spare hard disk my dad has, use it to boot up the PS3 and install the software, and switch back to my old hard disk smile.gif shouldn't be a problem, right? unless if I need to reformat the one inside my PS3 first. then I'll need to get an enclosure to do it. well, beats going down to Singapore any day I guess smile.gif

I doubt the same hard disk will work again without reformatting, I'm sure there's an identification of sorts implanted on it. any guesses?

This post has been edited by nerd: Jul 2 2008, 04:39 PM
samurai20
post Jul 2 2008, 04:23 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

US version MD5...

96e9def601672c5abcbb4604bb2346f1 <---- hope ok... biggrin.gif

note:

I think all version should be same la.. nod.gif

This post has been edited by samurai20: Jul 2 2008, 04:24 PM
B1gBo55
post Jul 2 2008, 04:26 PM

hwaaa...y japan update very2 slow...130 mb for 18 hours, Gilos!
acougan
post Jul 2 2008, 04:29 PM

590 posts

huh 18 hours!?

try resetting ur modem and get another IP. i think streamyx doing some maintenance lately meaning some IP having hard time to connect to certain sites.
disket
post Jul 2 2008, 04:30 PM

I'm Back!!
2,464 posts

My download suddenly went from full speed to 100BYTES/second. A few Ip changes fixed it.
vorchiel
post Jul 2 2008, 04:34 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

QUOTE(samurai20 @ Jul 2 2008, 04:23 PM)
US version MD5...

96e9def601672c5abcbb4604bb2346f1 <---- hope ok... biggrin.gif

note:

I think all version should be same la..  nod.gif
They are same (so far) since v1.10 tongue.gif

124 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top