Travel Singapore, Q&A & Driving into Singapore - on Pg1

substance
post Mar 15 2010, 10:53 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 9 2010, 03:27 PM)
Just drive -in only-lah no need anything except for 1st timer, you need to stop at the custom cum the Singapore Touch & Go complex adfter the immigration to apply for their version of Topuch & Go (I think they called it cashexpress or something). (You probably wanna bring your road tax slip & reg card incase they ask (Although I dun think necessary0.

Thereafter top-up the S$10 to the card & u are good at driving in to Singapore....Free 10 days roadtax for M'sian exc weekend. Weekday, entry to CBD is at S$5 & chargeable upon exiting Singapore by swiping the TNG card (Ensure sufficient cash inside)
The free 10 days also include ERP charges already (The website never mention and its abit mis-leading from the way it puts it), so within that 10 days, you don't have to pay the SGD5. Its only made payable after you exceed the 10 free days.

This post has been edited by substance: Mar 15 2010, 10:55 AM
insane.kill
post Mar 17 2010, 03:47 PM

209 posts

planning to go universal studio on may...which hotel is near to sentosa and might be driving.
lanusb
post Mar 17 2010, 07:44 PM

807 posts

got any female wholesale centre place to shop in singapore?? wanan buy many items in bulk quantity....especialyl female clothes and earrings
LsChong
post Mar 17 2010, 09:10 PM

100 posts

I just got back from singapore. I stay at Hard Rock Hotel in Sentosa next to the Universal Studio and the casino.

I was just to lucky yesterday. I got free entrance to Universal Studio for my whole family yesterday(3 adults and 3 kids). It was too nice. My family really enjoying the Universal studio for the whole afternoon. Plus they give me a S$50 meal voucher. Yesterday was open only for special invited guest to USS. I see a lot of reporters and media from others countires taking video and pictures in t he USS.

USS is not very big compare to Disneyland in Japan or hong kong but its already good enough to have a day fun there. I never try most of the rides but picks few cos my kids are too small to rides.

I will sure be back next year after all the rides attraction completes.

For your infomation : Tomorrow is Universal Studio soft opening 18th march.

This post has been edited by LsChong: Mar 17 2010, 09:31 PM
neway
post Mar 18 2010, 04:24 PM

226 posts

i will visit sg on 17May to 20May..(By Bas)
i'm going wif my gf
we plan to stay two nite only there..
so,any suggestion which hotel will give us the best price 2 person
any good place to visit bdgt2 one lol.......

many thanks in advance~!

This post has been edited by neway: Mar 18 2010, 04:24 PM
FlayerZ
post Mar 19 2010, 02:28 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(neway @ Mar 18 2010, 04:24 PM)
i will visit sg on 17May to 20May..(By Bas)
i'm going wif my gf
we plan to stay two nite only there..
so,any suggestion which hotel will give us the best price 2 person
any good place to visit bdgt2 one lol.......

many thanks in advance~!
refer thread 1...there are alot of them mentioning
goey
post Mar 22 2010, 09:37 PM

134 posts

According to a website, NSS hotel was acquired by the SG gov and no longer operational.isit true ar?so where is the next best plc to stay in SG that is affordable and clean and near to shopping areas?

oso where to purchase the USS tickets earlier to enjoy cheaper rates?
bug_vengeance
post Mar 24 2010, 09:04 AM

: Juve's Historic Battle :
7,131 posts

hi guys
im going to spore this 15th april
the purpose is to watch a rock concert at D'Marquee,Downtown East
after checkout the map,its in Pasir Ris area

would like to ask if u guys have any info on where is a good place to stay in that area
i will be going there with other 4 male fren
a budget n cheap hotel wouldnt be a problem for us

hope to get advise from u guys
thx smile.gif
kelvin_ck1
post Mar 24 2010, 11:06 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(bug_vengeance @ Mar 24 2010, 09:04 AM)
hi guys

would like to ask if u guys have any info on where is a good place to stay in that area

thx smile.gif
The cheapest I had survey is either Fragrance Hotel or Hotel 81 which is situated in Geylang ... red light district area
Anyway all of you are guys and it should be okay ... fyi I stayed in Fragrance Hotel Ruby with some male and female frens
The hotel that I stayed is clean and no unusual noise at night biggrin.gif .. The MRT station is about 10-15mins walk
cantona7
post Mar 24 2010, 04:27 PM

255 posts

Is the DHL Hot air balloon still available?
sampack
post Mar 26 2010, 05:46 AM

nope. it's not there anymore.

Added on March 26, 2010, 5:47 am
QUOTE(cantona7 @ Mar 24 2010, 04:27 PM)
Is the DHL Hot air balloon still available?
nope it's not there anymore.

Added on March 26, 2010, 5:48 amhey guys i'm from Singapore. if you have got any queries coming here, just drop a message. i'll try to help.

Added on March 26, 2010, 5:52 am
QUOTE(bug_vengeance @ Mar 24 2010, 09:04 AM)
hi guys

thx smile.gif
what's your budget?
for your information, downtown east is a holiday chalet, where many locals do go during the sch break. you might want to consider booking one there?

you coming down for the L.O.G concert?
have a blast!

Added on March 26, 2010, 5:55 am
QUOTE(goey @ Mar 22 2010, 09:37 PM)
According to a website, NSS hotel was acquired by the SG gov and no longer operational.isit true ar?so where is the next best plc to stay in SG that is affordable and clean and near to shopping areas?

oso where to purchase the USS tickets earlier to enjoy cheaper rates?
what;s NSS hotel?
likewise, do state your budget for me to assist. smile.gif

the only way to do so is through their website. I'm not sure if they still have it cheap, but going down to buy over-the-counter tickets sure isn't going to be discounted.

just today, the battlestar galactica ride was closed today for an unspecified amount of time, so check whether it's operational before you head down.

Added on March 26, 2010, 5:57 am
QUOTE(LsChong @ Mar 17 2010, 09:10 PM)
I just got back from singapore. I stay at Hard Rock Hotel in Sentosa next to the Universal Studio and the casino.

I was just to lucky yesterday. I got free entrance to Universal Studio for my whole family yesterday(3 adults and 3 kids). It was too nice. My family really enjoying the Universal studio for the whole afternoon. Plus they give me a S$50 meal voucher.  Yesterday was open only for special invited guest to USS. I see a lot of reporters and media from others countires taking video and pictures in t he USS.

USS is not very big compare to Disneyland in Japan or hong kong but its already good enough to have a day fun there. I never try most of the rides but picks few cos my kids are too small to rides.

I will sure be back next year after all the rides attraction completes.

For your infomation : Tomorrow is Universal Studio soft opening 18th march.
it's really nice you've got a chance to go there so soon! with dining credits, and for the whole family, no less!
i myself have not even been there!

Added on March 26, 2010, 5:58 am
QUOTE(insane.kill @ Mar 17 2010, 03:47 PM)
planning to go universal studio on may...which hotel is near to sentosa and might be driving.
there are tons on Sentosa within walking distance to USS. Rates, however start from 200 SGD.

This post has been edited by sampack: Mar 26 2010, 05:58 AM
bug_vengeance
post Mar 26 2010, 08:37 AM

: Juve's Historic Battle :
7,131 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_ck1 @ Mar 24 2010, 11:06 AM)
The cheapest I had survey is either Fragrance Hotel or Hotel 81 which is situated in Geylang ... red light district area
Anyway all of you are guys and it should be okay ... fyi I stayed in Fragrance Hotel Ruby with some male and female frens
The hotel that I stayed is clean and no unusual noise at night  biggrin.gif  .. The MRT station is about 10-15mins walk
thx bro
rite now Fragrance hotel seems to suits our budget n holiday plan

QUOTE(sampack @ Mar 26 2010, 05:46 AM)

Added on March 26, 2010, 5:48 amhey guys i'm from Singapore. if you have got any queries coming here, just drop a message. i'll try to help.

Added on March 26, 2010, 5:52 am

what's your budget?
for your information, downtown east is a holiday chalet, where many locals do go during the sch break. you might want to consider booking one there?

you coming down for the L.O.G concert?
have a blast!
cool
a forumer from spore,hope u can share more info smile.gif

mr.sampack
i have yet to found a cheap hotel/hostel/resort in pasir ris n downtown east area
i tried to google but only found Costa Sands Resorts
n their hotel rate doesnt suits our budget blush.gif

can u pls share any info about accommodation in that area ?

rite now my plan is to stay at Fragrance hotel in Selegie Road,near to Little India MRT Station
but if there is a cheap place in downtown east n pasir ris,we would love to take that option

btw u going to the LOG concert too ? biggrin.gif
stimix
post Mar 26 2010, 09:15 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

In Pasir Ris, in addition to Costa Sand, there is also Aloha Loyang..check whether within your budget: http://www.aloharesorts.com.sg/index.php?o...=338&Itemid=733

Otherwise if you want really cheap & clean hotel..Do look for Hotel81 surrounding Geylang.

I hv just updated 1st pg info wth those budget hotels (Price of Hotel81 starts from RM118/room/nite:

http://www.asiarooms.com/singapore/singapo...chType=location

http://www.agoda.com/pages/agoda/default/D...archResult.aspx

Or if you dun mind Hostel stay:
http://www.hostelworld.com/findabed.php/Ch...untry.Singapore
sampack
post Mar 26 2010, 04:20 PM

QUOTE(bug_vengeance @ Mar 26 2010, 08:37 AM)
thx bro
rite now Fragrance hotel seems to suits our budget n holiday plan
cool
a forumer from spore,hope u can share more info smile.gif

mr.sampack
i have yet to found a cheap hotel/hostel/resort in pasir ris n downtown east area
i tried to google but only found Costa Sands Resorts
n their hotel rate doesnt suits our budget  blush.gif

can u pls share any info about accommodation in that area ?

rite now my plan is to stay at Fragrance hotel in Selegie Road,near to Little India MRT Station
but if there is a cheap place in downtown east n pasir ris,we would love to take that option

btw u going to the LOG concert too ? biggrin.gif
you might want to know is that because SG is so incredibly small, it's almost effortless getting from one place to another. You can choose to stay anywhere and it's convenient going to and fro downtown east. if the prices are high at downtown east, you don't actually have to stay there.

ha.. nope .. not going for the concert.. heard about it though.
minde
post Mar 26 2010, 10:55 PM

dreamt a king, woke up still king
2,911 posts

Hi , Im planning to drive into Singapore real soon and I was wondering whether is it possible to enter Singapore without a Insurance Cover Note ? At the moment , my bank has my cover note and I did not manage to have one faxed over to me . Can I just say by having a road tax means I have insurance?

Can someone correct me if Im wrong , but we can pay a flat rate for the ERP payments so I don't need to rent a IU unit right ?

This post has been edited by minde: Mar 26 2010, 10:55 PM
stimix
post Mar 26 2010, 11:36 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Read pg 1..discussed many-many time liao..ERP is charged S$5 irregardless of how many time u enter CBD. the powerful cameras at the gantry will captured your plate number & you pay upon exit only,,.no need any rental of the reader/receiver!

BTW, Singapore & Malaysia insurance came under similar road trpt act & both can be used in both countries..no need any new insurance..Just check you cover notes..(mention Singapore too hor..)
minde
post Mar 27 2010, 12:10 AM

dreamt a king, woke up still king
2,911 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 26 2010, 11:36 PM)
Read pg 1..discussed many-many time liao..ERP is charged S$5 irregardless of how many time u enter CBD. the powerful cameras at the gantry will captured your plate number & you pay upon exit only,,.no need any rental of the reader/receiver!

BTW, Singapore & Malaysia insurance came under similar road trpt act & both can be used in both countries..no need any new insurance..Just check you cover notes..(mention Singapore too hor..)
yop thx. but ill have to bring a photo stated copy of the vehicle registration card cause I don't have the insurance note too.Oh yea btw , cant seem to find this using search. Where can I get the immigration form ? Any other places besides the the Customs? Woodlands .

stimix
post Mar 27 2010, 07:49 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

No need those thing-lah..no want bring those.. The road tax plate stick on your car will do..going in & out of Singapore is the easiest border crossing not crossing over Thailand where you ned to buy Thai insurance & also filling their temporary car import form.

(BTW, why not you chk the link to the procedure posted on pg1 on the requirement. just bring your car only & stop to apply/buy their touch&go card..just follow the procedure on pg 1 will do.)

the white card is availble freely there..but as u said very troublesome.. Another way which I normally do is to stopby at the last petrol station or even money changer & ask them for a copy..Sometime they ask for money & help you filling this..Not cheap but well they fill up for you..RM2/form.
asciii
post Mar 29 2010, 04:39 PM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 27 2010, 07:49 AM)
No need those thing-lah..no want bring those.. The road tax plate stick on your car will do..going in & out of Singapore is the easiest border crossing not crossing over Thailand where you ned to buy Thai insurance & also filling their temporary car import form.

(BTW, why not you chk the link to the procedure posted on pg1 on the requirement. just bring your car only & stop to apply/buy their touch&go card..just follow the procedure on pg 1 will do.)

the white card is availble freely there..but as u said very troublesome.. Another way which I normally do is to stopby at the last petrol station or even money changer & ask them for a copy..Sometime they ask for money & help you filling this..Not cheap but well they fill up for you..RM2/form.
errr..what white card
stimix
post Mar 29 2010, 05:12 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

A yoyo...White card is the layman term for the normal immigration entry form that you need to fill up everytime you enter a country which you are not the citizen or PR of that country. All countries in the world required you to fill up this form what.

Basic information any country will be asking you to thick:

What is the purpose of entry, how many days you intend to stay, where will you be staying & etc. This also helping each country to update their vsiitor statistic & etc.

QUOTE(asciii @ Mar 29 2010, 04:39 PM)
errr..what white card

131 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:31 PM