cherroy
post Aug 13 2008, 01:59 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(bulkbiz @ Aug 13 2008, 12:10 PM)
Hi there,

I have some doubt here, I bought Public China ittikal fund last year during the fund launch. The price was 0.25. As of yesterday the price is 0.18 something, I know unit trust is for long term, but it never raise over 0.25 since the day I bought. Now every month it will auto debit from my PBB account RM500. I doubt after 2-3 years this fund will earn me money.

Anyone of you here consistently get 15% annual return for all the investment he did? If yes please share:) (10% above also can share). I am 25 this year and decided to retired by the age of 50. I want to compound my investment money. hehe
No fund will able to guarantee you any consistently return rate except FD.

Equities market has cycle just like economy, there are some period with magnificient performance, there are some period with poor performance. Just over the long term (talking of really long like 5 to 10 years), some good funds or good stocks able to give one average return rate of xx%, but surely it is not consistent.

If one bought at peak of the cycle then it would be a long painful process. But if one bought at bottom then it would be an enjoyable process.

Always do your own research and due diligence to decide.

darkknight81
post Aug 13 2008, 10:03 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

If you really see no prospect or don have confident to the fund that you invested. You can try switch to another fund. It can save you the 5 percent service charge.
There are few funds which i think their futures are not bad:

Public Islamic Asia Dividend Fund

Public Islamic Dividend Fund

Public Ittikal Fund

This few funds mostly invested in Asia (Not in one country) Therefore the risk is lower for example political risk.
Besides, they gives dividend is more to steady growth. But before you invest to that fund you better refer to agent to check on the investment portfolio (which company they invested in and what sector they invested in)

One last thing which i think is very important, you must feel comfortable and confident on the sector the fund invested in / the fund manager / the company that the fund invest in. Think properly before you invest. Once invest don regret icon_rolleyes.gif So that you no need to worry and keep on checking on the price laugh.gif

This post has been edited by darkknight81: Aug 13 2008, 10:13 PM
leekk8
post Aug 14 2008, 10:42 AM

1,059 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Aug 13 2008, 10:03 PM)
If you really see no prospect or don have confident to the fund that you invested. You can try switch to another fund. It can save you the 5 percent service charge.
There are few funds which i think their futures are not bad:
Public Islamic Asia Dividend Fund

Public Islamic Dividend Fund

Public Ittikal Fund

This few funds mostly invested in Asia (Not in one country) Therefore the risk is lower for example political risk.
Besides, they gives dividend is more to steady growth. But before you invest to that fund you better refer to agent to check on the investment portfolio (which company they invested in and what sector they invested in)
PIDF is a 100% pure local fund, means 100% invest in Msia.
leekk8
post Aug 14 2008, 10:50 AM

1,059 posts

Lipper Leaders of Msia Funds: (31 July 2008)

Timeframe: Overall
1. AIA Capital Gteed Acct Srs 2 - Guaranteed
2. AIA Guaranteed Growth Account – Guaranteed
3. AMB Value Trust – Equity Malaysia
4. CMS Bond – Bond MYR
5. Dana Sejati - Bond MYR
6. Lion Fixed Income - Bond MYR
7. Lion Progressive – Equity Malaysia
8. MAAKL Al-Faid – Equity Malaysia
9. Pacific Dividend - Equity Malaysia
10. Uni Strategic – Equity Malaysia

Timeframe: 3 Year
1. Affin Capital – Bond MYR
2. AIA Dana Dinamik – Equity Malaysia
3. AMB Value Trust – Equity Malaysia
4. CMS Bond – Bond MYR
5. Dana Sejati – Bond MYR
6. Great Guaranteed Growth – Guaranteed
7. Kenanga Syariah Growth – Equity Malaysia
8. Lion Fixed Income – Bond MYR
9. Lion Progressive – Equity Malaysia
10. MAA Capital Guaranteed 1 – Guaranteed
11. Pacific Dividend – Equity Malaysia
12. Uni Strategic – Equity Malaysia

Timeframe: 5 Year
1. AIA Capital Guaranteed Account – Guaranteed
2. AIA Capital Guaranteed Acct 2 – Guaranteed
3. CMS Bond – Bond MYR
4. Dana Sejati – Bond MYR
5. Lion Fixed Income – Bond MYR
6. Lion Progressive – Equity Malaysia
7. MAAKL Al-Faid – Equity Malaysia
8. MAAKL As-Saad – Bond MYR
9. MAAKL Bond – Bond MYR
10. MAAKL Syariah Index – Equity Malaysia
11. Public Islamic Equity – Equity Malaysia
12. Public Ittikal – Equity Malaysia
13. Public Savings – Equity Malaysia

Timeframe: 10 Year
1. Public Bond – Bond MYR

Source: www.lipperweb.com
leekk8
post Aug 14 2008, 10:53 AM

1,059 posts

Top 20 Performance Equity Funds of Msia: (31 July 2008)
Bracket indicates negative value.

1 year
1. MAA Capital Guaranteed 1 – 9.52%
2. PRUlink Guaranteed Account – 8.05%
3. MAA Capital Guaranteed 2 – 7.49%
4. MAA Capital Guaranteed 3 – 6.92%
5. MAA Platinum – 6.10%
6. HLG Industrial and Tech Sector – 2.78%
7. HLG Consumer Products Sector – 2.27%
8. MAA Technology – 1.85%
9. OSK-UOB Resources – 1.51%
10. AmGlobal Agribusiness – 1.47%
11. PRUGlobal Basics – 1.26%
12. HwangDBS Glo Emerging Markets – 0.90%
13. AMB Value Trust – 0.13%
14. Property Plus CG – (0.06%)
15. AmNew Frontier – (0.16%)
16. MAAKL Dividend – (0.42%)
17. ASM Dana Al-Aiman – (0.45%)
18. AmDividend Income – (0.49%)
19. ASM Dana Bestari – (0.88%)
20. AMB Ethical Trust – (0.91%)

3 year (Annualized Return)
1. OSK-UOB Smart Treasure – 31.28%
2. HLG Industrial and Tech Sector – 29.08%
3. AMB Value Trust – 27.08%
4. OSK-UOB Emerg Oppty – 27.02%
5. Uni Aggressive – 25.50%
6. Public SmallCap – 25.29%
7. Manulife Equity – 25.08%
8. AMB Ethical Trust – 25.01%
9. PB Growth – 24.76%
10. Public Aggressive Growth – 23.51%
11. MAAKL Progress – 22.88%
12. CIMB Principal Equity – 22.70%
13. Public Islamic Opportunities – 22.61%
14. OSK-UOB Small Cap Opportunity – 22.34%
15. Uni Strategic – 22.13%
16. CIMB Islamic DALI Equity – 21.29%
17. MAAKL Value – 21.25%
18. TA High Growth – 20.68%
19. ING OA Inv- ING Ekuiti Islam – 20.42%
20. MAAKL Growth – 20.05%

5 Year (Annualized Return)
1. PB Growth – 22.98%
2. Manulife Equity – 21.33%
3. AMB Value Trust – 20.74%
4. Public SmallCap – 20.11%
5. Public Aggressive Growth – 19.40%
6. CMS Islamic – 18.88%
7. AMB Ethical Trust – 18.58%
8. ING Dana Suria Ekuiti – 18.31%
9. OSK-UOB KLCI Tracker – 18.13%
10. Public Ittikal – 17.91%
11. Public Equity – 17.58%
12. Public Industry – 17.55%
13. MAAKL Al-Faid – 17.55%
14. CMS Premier – 17.34%
15. Public Islamic Equity – 17.22%
16. Public Savings – 16.96%
17. Public Growth – 16.96%
18. ING Equity – 16.79%
19. Public Regular Savings – 16.79%
20. Lion Progressive – 16.62%

leekk8
post Aug 14 2008, 10:55 AM

1,059 posts

Bottom 20 Performance of Equity Funds in Msia: (31 July 2008)
Bracket indicates negative value.

1 year:
1. Philip Master First Ethical – (41.05%)
2. AmPan Europena Property Eq – (31.93%)
3. CMS Premier – (28.54%)
4. OSK-UOB Global New Stars – (28.25%)
5. HwangDBS Select Opportunity – (25.38%)
6. MAAKL Pacific – (25.32%)
7. Public Far-East Prop & Resorts – (24.71%)
8. ING OA Inv- ING Growth Opp – (24.45%)
9. AIA International SmallCap – (22.72%)
10. Pheim Asia Ex-Japan – (22.64%)
11. AmAsia-Pacific Property Eq – (22.63%)
12. RHB Technology – (21.75%)
13. Uni Global IPO – (21.69%)
14. Amanah Saham Kedah – (21.40%)
15. OSK-UOB Asia Pacific – (21.37%)
16. HwangDBS Asia Quantum – (19.99%)
17. CIMB-Principal Asian Equity – (19.40%)
18. PRUSmallCap – (19.22%)
19. AmGlobal Enhanced Equity Yield – (19.05%)
20. Mayban Life Premier Equity – (18.85%)

3 year: (Annualized Return)
1. Philip Master First Ethical – (8.63%)
2. RHB Technology – (4.79%)
3. AMB SmallCap Trust – 3.57%
4. Amanah Saham Kedah – 4.18%
5. ASM KMBY Kelima – 4.65%
6. Amanah Saham BSN – 4.86%
7. MCIS Zurich Equity – 4.96%
8. HLG Trading/Services Sector – 5.37%
9. ASM KMBY Ketujuh – 5.66%
10. PJB Dana Johor – 5.88%
11. HwangDBS Asia Quantum – 6.16%
12. HLG Dividend – 6.38%
13. ASM Saham Pekerja TNB – 6.53%
14. Amanah Saham Darul Iman – 6.80%
15. RHB Malaysia Recovery – 6.96%
16. ASM Premier – 7.28%
17. Allianz Life Equity – 7.30%
18. TA Small Cap – 7.35%
19. ASM Dana Mutiara – 7.60%
20. ING OA Inv-ING Growth Opp – 7.62%

5 Year: (Annualized Return)
1. RHB Technology – (2.55%)
2. Phillip Master First Ethical – (1.11%)
3. PJB Dana Johor – 2.59%
4. PJB Amanah Saham Angkasa – 4.69%
5. Amanah Saham Darul Iman – 5.04%
6. AUTB Dana Bakti – 5.19%
7. AmIttikal – 5.51%
8. CIMB Islamic Small Cap – 5.57%
9. CIMB Principal Small Cap 2 – 5.61%
10. MCIS ZURICH Equity – 5.70%
11. Amanah Saham BSN – 5.81%
12. RHB Malaysia Recovery – 6.06%
13. AUTB Tactical – 6.34%
14. ASM Saham Pekerja TNB – 7.03%
15. AMB Unit Trust – 7.09%
16. Amanah Saham Kedah – 7.15%
17. Apex Malaysia Growth – 7.52%
18. ASM Dana Yakin – 7.69%
19. ASM KMBY Ketujuh – 7.69%
20. ASM Dana Bestari – 7.72%

darkknight81
post Aug 14 2008, 12:04 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

I think there are few key point that you need to consider before you buy fund.

1. Who is the fund manager
2. Which sector they invested
3. Company that invested

Past perfomance of the fund does not guarantee you anything.
ricky_wl
post Aug 19 2008, 09:56 AM

Hi all .. i just new in here .. need to seek advice on UT investment

someone told me .. today market drops alot and is time to buy in some UT especially fund like PITTIKAL .. do u all think this is a good time?
kingkong81
post Aug 19 2008, 01:15 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(ricky_wl @ Aug 19 2008, 09:56 AM)
Hi all .. i just new in here .. need to seek advice on UT investment

someone told me .. today market drops alot and is time to buy in some UT especially fund like PITTIKAL .. do u all think this is a good time?
The basic concept applies...BUY LOW, SELL HIGH.

Obviously now everything looks 'cheap'...so it is good time to buy. But at the same time, you have to make sure you have the holding power to weather through the storm before u will b able to reap the fruits.

Getting funds like PITTIKAL will be good option as well, as it does have good fundamental after more than 10yrs old...besides its ability in capital preservation.
ricky_wl
post Aug 19 2008, 02:26 PM

as u said .. it "looks cheap" now but is it really that cheap or will it still drop, no one can predict .. thus is it recommended that we buy in some units for now and if in future the fund till drop we cont to buy? (provided have extra $)

btw .. I also see the PCSF .. looks like the fund really drop a lot to ard 0.17 today .. prev I bought in some ard 0.25 .. scare it will drop to 0

kingkong81
post Aug 19 2008, 02:35 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(ricky_wl @ Aug 19 2008, 02:26 PM)
as u said .. it "looks cheap" now but is it really that cheap or will it still drop, no one can predict .. thus is it recommended that we buy in some units for now and if in future the fund till drop we cont to buy? (provided have extra $)

btw .. I also see the PCSF .. looks like the fund really drop a lot to ard 0.17 today .. prev I bought in some ard 0.25 .. scare it will drop to 0
Volatility is something we can't predict...besides, timing the market is something really difficult to do...

How low is low? How high is high?

How sure are you the time you buy is the lowest?? Most of the time, people who time the market will get it wrong.

Therefore, as long as it is low, is good enuf...it does not need to be the lowest.

In the time of volatility, it would b recommended to start off with smaller amount, then you can put in monthly investment to capitalise on the volatility.

Dropping to ZERO is quite impossible. It will happen if PBANK suddenly gone bankcrupt or suddenly China & Malaysia kena attack by US.

Volatility is part & parcel in investment...including unit trust. So, what we can do is to know how to position our investment during the Bull market & also bear market.
cherroy
post Aug 19 2008, 02:39 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ricky_wl @ Aug 19 2008, 02:26 PM)

For sure it won't drop to 0. tongue.gif

The problem of China related fund is that those fund when launching were at the peak of China market.
Even though economy is cyclical so does stock market, but buying at peak might mean when other already making money when stock market goes back up time, you still nursing the losses and look for breakeven point.

Just for simple chart to look at. Most people bought China fund during second half of 2007, so mostly are buying at their peak.

Chart qouted from Yahoo Finance.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Aug 19 2008, 02:40 PM

ricky_wl
post Aug 19 2008, 03:46 PM

thanks i learn sth .. btw .. which fund is good to buy now .. esp in public mutual, is pittikal that good as what my frenz told me? or is it reasonable at tat price now? 0.8+ not a low price
cherroy
post Aug 19 2008, 03:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ricky_wl @ Aug 19 2008, 03:46 PM)
thanks i learn sth .. btw .. which fund is good to buy now .. esp in public mutual, is pittikal that good as what my frenz told me? or is it reasonable at tat price now? 0.8+ not a low price
There is no such thing of reasonable or cheap price to enter, the price of UT is depended on their underlying worth of the stocks they are investing. Up or down of the UT price is depended up or down of the equities stocks.
kingkong81
post Aug 19 2008, 04:44 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(ricky_wl @ Aug 19 2008, 03:46 PM)
Pricing is not that important...wat is more important is how much prospect of growth the fund is...

A fund with 25 sen & a fund with 80 sen is same, if both can give you the same % return for the same amount of capital u put in.

Besides, similarly to wat Cherroy mentioned, the fundamental/underlying stocks invested by the fund is also important.

PITTIKAL, personally i think it is a good fund with good fundamental.

Mayb you can consider getting an agent to explain more on the other funds available as well as pro & cons

ricky_wl
post Aug 19 2008, 04:59 PM

basically the agent i approaching is my frenz which i thk he dun hv much knowledge in UT also .. i think he just went to take the test and passed to get the license

This post has been edited by ricky_wl: Aug 19 2008, 05:49 PM
Jordy
post Aug 19 2008, 05:39 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(ricky_wl @ Aug 19 2008, 04:59 PM)
basically the agent i approaching is my frenz which i thk he dun hv much knowledge in UT also .. i think he just went to take the test and passed to get the license
You cannot really evaluate a consultant negatively just because he/she has just passed the exam.
A new consultant might have just passed the exam, but the knowledge gained might be more than those that have been in the industry for 1-2 years.
For your information, the exam has nothing to do with one's knowledge on investing. A person can be very good in investments, but has just found the time to go for the exam. Therefore, you should find out if he/she is really capable, and not by looking at when the license was obtained.

Just my 2 cents.
ricky_wl
post Aug 19 2008, 05:53 PM

haha i agree on u jordy

btw .. how can i sharpen my knowledge in investing? eg. what megazines should i read into .. personal money?
darkknight81
post Aug 19 2008, 08:55 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

PCSF invested in Bluechips stock listed in Hang Seng Taiwan and china H share (Eg. China Mobile, Petro China,
Bank Of China and so on... ) If PCSF go to 0 that means China economy is in big trouble... sweat.gif

If you want to invest in Unit trust for example PCSF, basically you got to see Hang seng Index, Taiwan index and China Index which MEANS THEIR economy...

cyclone9
post Aug 19 2008, 09:00 PM

War Kills Love , Love Save War
2,949 posts

any PB agent? I wan invest some in PB Funds.... pm me to chat on that further

160 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:13 PM