TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 23 2008, 11:00 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

This type of powder can be used, easily available at a few pet shops.

Anyway, I support what KP just posted. It is true that some breeders separate joeys and syringe feed milk. Adpost had 1 guy doing that.... Why they do it? Coz when a joey syringe feeds, it is cute and also appears "tamer". Normally a 2 month joey OOP is very curious and active, crabby and plain naughty while those that are underage are not fully independent, so they appear slightly slower, have very babyface and small ears and they aren't as active. Should see my joeys, it's like they are on a sugar high. The one that I am training to free range is super naughty, now on my arm, sekejap wanna jump and explore, then climb up and down on me. Now that is what an independent joey would be like.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 24 2008, 09:21 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ May 23 2008, 06:34 PM)
Hihi, thanks a lot for everything you've taught me. Unexpectedly, the little one nibble quite a bit when we reach home. I tried to feed her apple in small bits and she will nibble my finger before taking the apple. So, I start to use only one finger and balance the apple piece to her. The small one sit in the bowl and feast away! Nibble pointing / middle finger ok... if it's last finger or back of the neck... die man.

I read somewhere, I am not suppose to pull away when she nibble. I've only manage to stand still twice, other times reflex pulls me away. The bigger one sit in the wheel and always wait for me to feed.
Hahaha... sorry sorry but that look pretty optimal to me. Anyway, my tunnel is under the platform piece like Hun had put it. The sleeping pouch is just by the side. The wodent wheel on upper left and the hammock at the top. A row of bowl and water left of the door.
For me, when I brought home my joeys today. They pooped in the bonding pouch. So I had to take them out and clean them. They are escape artist so I just grab them with the piece of wet baby wipes and simply wipe them and put them in the cage to rest for the day. Will only go look / see at night later.
Still a long way to go to earn their trust. The joeys trust me, so you saw them jumping back to me rite? That would take some time lah. Don't worry. Nibbling and nipping is normal but Moka didn't do that till yesterday LOL. I think it is the stress only but Moka crabs softer, Luna got a louder crab. Firstly, your 2 joeys are the best eaters, always finish their fruits, compared to other joeys lah.

QUOTE(saramic @ May 23 2008, 06:38 PM)
Congratulations Pennywise rclxms.gif

Wanted to run away with your babyface joey just now hehehe...
SOOOO ADORABLE....
Yah, those chubby cheeks. Mine pulak got Donkey ears ahahah.

QUOTE(Pennywise @ May 23 2008, 06:48 PM)
Oh, the other girl was you, eh? Sorry, I never met you before and no introduction so I wasnt sure if you're a member of LYP. Thank you but babyface joey is super nibbler. Kena attack a few times already.

Now one concern I have... do they know how to use the water bottle? I'm not so sure if they do...?

Added on May 23, 2008, 6:49 pm
Yup, I am very happy to bring them home. Will decide a name for them tonight. The bigger one is so friendly but she's crabby. No worries about crabby sounds, I actually like it the kekokekokekokeko sound... But the nibble part by the smaller one is quite painful.
Just leave the bottle in. I always hang near the sleeping pouch so it is easier for them to drink in the day.

QUOTE(orangecow @ May 23 2008, 07:05 PM)
oh, ok... do they have like breakfast lunch dinner or jz feed whenever you like?
For underage joeys, they require about 3 to 4 feedings a day. For 8 week OOP joeys, two meals a day is enough, for some adults, they either have 2 meals or 1 meal. This depends coz each glider has different eating habits.

QUOTE(emino @ May 23 2008, 08:22 PM)
Heya guys. Nice to see you at Petshack today. Haha. Shopping besar for my gliders and gerbils! biggrin.gif
You ah, late balik office hahahah.... but you too suka the babyface joey hahahah. Wish it was yours rite?

QUOTE(Pennywise @ May 23 2008, 08:30 PM)
By the way, I think I understand why you guys told me to get one joey first and then later another but then, because I goes to work everyday and quite often nobody at home, a pair is better suited for my scenario. I think now they ganged up against me. Earlier when I placed them in the cage, they went separate ways, now they both snuggle in the wheel. Strange they dont seem to step into the tunnel, hammock or sleeping pouch.

We will be deciding the names tonight.
I got it today only. Guai? My gliders are biting my fingers off!! Hahahaha... My sister wanted to take out one earlier. I warned her they bite / nibble. She thought how bad can it be, right? Once the tangan masuk, kena nibble one time, scared liao.

Then, we look for some gloves at home and pick them up with it. Of course, they put up a fierce fight but nothing like a plain ol' glove. Nibble all she wants!! But it's bad that she's struggling and all, so we put them back down.

They are not sleeping in the wodent wheel. Sleep together cause scared kena glider-nap. Earlier, the smaller one was busy eating. The big one was hiding in the wheel. Now, both in the wheel.

I didnt feed them much, only apples cut into small pieces like the size of your pinky-finger nail. I left a few extra pieces in the bowl. There's water and I will give them slurp and a bit of mango before I go to bed tonight. Tomorrow only I will feed them properly.
Hun,
Can you tell me their timings? Not refering to feeding but to sleeping and waking up. What's their hours like?

Nice to meet you too, Mr. emino. See you're on a rush today... Another girl is saramic, then the other guy is from LYP too? The hangout spot like getting more and more people only. After you left, a customer came in with her dog and went like "WAH! So many people!"
New environment, so they dunno where to sleep yet. But normally they will sleep in the sleeping pouch. Do more handling. I showed you yesterday, like when you watch TV or have nothing to do, take them out and handle them, petting, touching, letting them roam up and down your arm. Then carry them in their bonding pouch often too. Do it in the day, this way they can recognize your movement, voice, breathing and touch.

QUOTE(hackerzx @ May 23 2008, 09:52 PM)
ahh sorry just silly que..i search internet have pets wonderland in one utama..but when i search at directory kiosk dont have aa?

http://www.1utama.com.my/Images/floorplans/lgf.htm
everyday i lalu situ..er mybe under construction  hmm.gif
Lama sudah tak da. The PW franchises are not really doing well I think.... see the Midvalley one already become smaller, Subang one also smaller, GEM also not big too....

QUOTE(Pennywise @ May 23 2008, 11:39 PM)
Omg! rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  Another Luna... At the same time, there's one other Westie name Casper, one glider also name Casper and my colleague's Schnauzzer ALSO Casper. Looks like I have a common taste with many others.

But we memang like Luna since last time when we got Moonie. Should have name her Luna instead because her name Moonie is derived from Mooncake Festival Day which is also her birthday.  icon_rolleyes.gif

nod.gif
Luna... moon... your Moka is my Kapi's younger sister. Kapi means moon in aboriginal language gheheheh.

QUOTE(Pennywise @ May 23 2008, 11:56 PM)
I'm only going to give them err... next week onwards I think. Not sure yet wor.

Added on May 24, 2008, 12:23 amDo you guys put tissues in the sleeping pouch? I am worried they might dirty it, therefore, I put 4 pieces of tissue paper in it. I think I will change everyday or something.

I had to hand-chase them earlier to grab them from the wodent wheel and put them into the sleeping pouch. They still crab a lot and still nib, so I use kitchen glove to catch them. Nib no feel. Had to catch them and put them in the sleeping pouch so they wont feel cold later at night.

I am not sure if this whole glove thing was discussed but as long as I'm not holding them too tightly, I dont think I can hurt them, right? Any concerns about using a glove to handle them when they nib?
Glove, try not to use it often. Best not to use at all coz the joeys need to recognize your smell, your touch, your skin. So with glove, they won't recognize your touch so much.

Normally gliders won't dirty their sleeping pouch. Some males tend to pee in their sleeping pouch but gliders rarely do lah.

QUOTE(mamata @ May 24 2008, 07:02 AM)
going pet safari yesterday with ma brotha
kinda mad bcoz of the underage glider they selling
then this huy want to tunjuk terer ,she hold this cute fella and suddenly this guy/girl leap from his hand and fell to the floor

simen floor u know
haizz
i think for the talk ,1 june,hun need to advise them or anyone
haizz
Well, one thing is that the joey would be in shock. A low fall is ok, normally gliders can tahan falls but it still isn't good lah.

QUOTE(spirit of demon @ May 24 2008, 09:43 AM)
wat do means by tat? "they can hav mealworms... n i not yet intro them mealworms"?

means u haven buy mealworm for them or ur glider still dun know how to take mealworms?

if u haven buy mealworms.. n they know how to take mealworms..
-i hope u can buy it ASAP lo.. coz they day i heard one uncle said his glider dead bcoz he din feed them mealworms(bcoz no one tell him,even the petshop owner)
if they dun know how to eat mealworms... u hav to slowly intro it to them like how u intro slurp to them
-cut the mealworms head.. n sqeeze the juice towars their mouth... n after they take the first one.. they will ask for 2nd.. for sure...(this is based on my experience... for my little male glider)

n bout the milk
-i dun know whether can mix in slurp or not.. u hav to ask sifu..coz sometime, fr wat i think.. there might hav some chemical reaction gua.. so.. i feed them separately..
-another way to feed them milk is using syringe.. but i prefer "vitagen straw"...if they dun lick.. once they can lick.. no nid to nurse them like tat d..
That's a wrong info. It is more like if they do not take a well balance diet with lots of fruits then they would die. Not mealworms.

Also, too many mealworms can cause blindness in gliders, where this cloudy white layer would be on the eyes. This is common with petshops feeding sun flower seeds, mealworms and catfood. Diet too high in fat.

Mealworms, it should be introduced slowly, and never give too many. 10 a day is fine.

There is no need to feed milk to fully weaned joeys. Milk should be given to underage joeys, females with joeys and to gliders that are thin, no appetite.

QUOTE(imbiroy @ May 24 2008, 11:04 AM)
i got a simple question, if she don't bite, she dun bising (unless i kacau her sleep), she run around at my body & my bed, starting to jump here jump there, trying to glide, just eat slurp, very less eat fruit, and she not scared at me.... is this symbol that she starting to get used to it?? cause today is only the 3rd day?
Yes, she is getting used to you already.

QUOTE(Pennywise @ May 24 2008, 01:29 PM)
I tried cutting mango and apples the size of 1cm x 1cm (bigger than sliced red chili) but it seems too big for them. They cannot hold properly, so I cut smaller like 5mm x 5mm (like sliced chili padi), they can hold it more properly.

I feed them half a metal bowl of fruits and 2 tea spoon of slurp. I am worried they are not having enough. Should I go handfeed them some more?
Hahah... enough food, but don't worry, if you wanna add more, go ahead since they are growing joeys. Leaving leftovers is common too but not till leave everything lah.

Yes, handfeeding is good, gains trust.

About honey, no, do not feed the one you bought from Cameron. Joeys should not take honey coz it can cause stomach upset which leads to temporary diarrhea.... wait another 2 months before you intro honey but only give the processed ones you get from supermarkets. No fresh or raw honey, no honey comb too.... I'm not sure why, but it is on many of the major glider websites. About the diarrhea thing, this happen from my experience, and also if you read baby books, they advice never to feed honey to babies too... so I think as a precaution, wait another 2 months before you start them with some honey treats.

Added on May 24, 2008, 9:23 pm
QUOTE(imbiroy @ May 24 2008, 04:59 PM)
if they dun bond they wun makan de izzit>?

Added on May 24, 2008, 5:24 pmby the way since tonite is the first time i feed worms, ehh can anyone tell me how to feed arhh?? just put in the bowl or give them on thier hand??

one more thing, bonai have u fed them worms before??
Cut the mealworm head and squeeze out some of the "juice" and put in front of your joey's mouth. Use your hand or tweezers to do this introduction.

Today my 10 week old Kera got her 1st taste of mealworms coz previously she wouldn't wanna taste at all. So this takes time. Some joeys readily eat, some don't.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: May 24 2008, 09:23 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 24 2008, 11:14 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(imbiroy @ May 24 2008, 09:30 PM)
err ok cute da head la, but i am scared of meal worms, tonite i try try.. thanks hun blush.gif

Added on May 24, 2008, 9:34 pmsorry hun can u post some picture of a FAT joey compare to a SKINNY joey, i want to know my ah bi skinny or fat fat...cause so far i seen 3 joeys before 1st one ah bi, second and third at pet shack with bonai
From pics, hard to see lah. You come to Pet Shack on Tuesday lah, I show you my fat lil Keera. And I'll try and see if I can bring my fat Kiah for you to see.

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ May 24 2008, 10:50 PM)
Hi guys. I went to Lot 10. So from UKM komuter have to meet my auntie at KL Sentral. Then walk to KL Monorail. At the pathway to the monorail, someone is selling lots of rabbits, guinea pigs (rm35), n sugar glider. All bad condition. SG selling for rm180!! n the cage for all animals are just too small, hence overcrowded!!  sad.gif

Then when i finished shopping, i go to Mid Valley to do spotcheck at PW. OMG!  vmad.gif
there are 2 display unit for SG! Selling for rm488!! the left display one is a single female.. quite palm size n tail a bit fluffy d.. Alone woh!! how? The right display has too many gliders.. and the toy (hamster toy) was put under the lamp, hence the SGs all under the lamp.. huhu  cry.gif

The Sgs are very very very underaged!!! there's one little fell only the size of 5cm from head to anal area.. n tail sure not fluff at all la... pity pity. was shaking the whole time!! OMG  mad.gif all of them are wet.. i dunno why.. aiyo so sad ler!!! i think this right display unit is for male SGs only.. all smaller than the female one...

Here's bout the female. She is very lively, play with the shredded paper. n was seeeing ppl who walked pass by the unit. hehe. including me. so i stared at her for like 1 hour there... haha. so cute to see her attics.. manja sanagt!!  wub.gif i really jatuh cinta d la... haha
Typical for those petshops to do that. Kesian rite? Report also no use wan, our Malaysia law on animal cruelty is really out of date. The best way is to stay away from buying underage joeys from petshops to stop the demand.

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ May 24 2008, 10:53 PM)
wanted to snap pictures but the staff noticed me... kena tegur twice by 2 pll there.. haha.. i say i just wanna snap not wanna report la... tipu him ma... tactics... but failed.. n they have ferrets crowded in a tight space too.. aiyoh  vmad.gif
I always manage to get pics. You wanna know how? Make it as if you are messaging someone or you calling someone, then quickly take a pic. 1st page is a pic from Midvalley I took. I actually got many pics from PW before.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 24 2008, 11:59 PM

12,047 posts

Ok, let me officially introduce my latest joey. She is number 7 in the family hahahah. Anyway, her estimated age is like 10 weeks OOP lah....

Cute donkey ears.

She is light coloured, got a buttery coloured head heheheh

She loves hiding in toilet roll tubes.

Size something like my handphone lah.... slightly bigger, pic is taken from an angle since I am the one holding her and taking her pic.

TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 25 2008, 12:25 AM

12,047 posts

Ahahah... I'm addicted to gliders lah. After next week, gonna add 2 more, so gonna be 9 gliders that are permanent at my home. Sigh.... money money.... damn, my bank account empty already loh.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 25 2008, 02:01 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ May 25 2008, 12:51 AM)
hihi...wah alot ppl have new joey ledi..penny have his joey ledi tim.. rclxms.gif

[attachmentid=479507]
a picture from a gathering,picture taken by wetwetwater..dont mind ya..lol im promoting ur photography skill here  thumbup.gif
tats a mealworm sticking on her mouth..lol

she love the slurp alot..hun u sudah masuk drug ah?lol...
It is just addictive LOL. 9 out of 10 gliders love gliderSLURP.

QUOTE(mamata @ May 25 2008, 01:46 AM)
that a cute one

btw this is the tear that happen to xena

Hmmmm... any flesh wounds? If no then it should be no problem. To me it looks healed.

QUOTE(Pennywise @ May 25 2008, 01:52 AM)
OK, I just got back at midnight. I saw both, Moka and Luna is out playing but not eating their fruits yet. So, I throw away the fruits and cut 1/4 of apples and bit of mango. I opened the Heinz Apple + Mango baby food.

I manage to feed Luna a lot, I get to touch her and she didnt run away. I can lure her and she trust me more. As for Moka, the miss babyface, it's much harder. She keep hiding in the wodent wheel and dont want to come out. I offered her mango and she took 2 pieces, apple 1 piece.

Then, I tried to get her out of the wheel but it was difficult. Everytime I put my hand in, she nip / nibble (what's the difference) and I got huge hands so it's difficult to squeeze through except for my fingers which happens to be the most painful part. So, I had to kacau her out of the wheel, with glove again. When she came out, I hand-chased her and catch her. She didnt want to let go off her grab. When I wanted to give up, she turned around and bite / nip / nibble me. Oh, draw blood... puncture 3 holes. One on the knuckle of my middle finger, one on the forth finger (wear you wear ring), another one at the bend of the thumb.

I MUST BE DOING SOMETHING WRONG! I put her on the other hand and she started climbing to my shoulder and to my back. Then she jumped off onto one of the opened cupboard where we keep our plastic bag, detergent, brush and stuff. I had to quickly grab her before she disappear to the back and got more attacks.

I give up, so I quickly put her back into the cage. I think I will bring them out in the pouch tomorrow.
Wah, Moka giving you a hard time.

Do this, take away the Wodent Wheel for now. Just leave the sleeping pouch in with the other stuff. I suggest you do more pouch bonding with Moka. Try carrying Moka in your pouch for the whole day. On and off call her name, touch the pouch. If she crabs, let her crab. So strange lah LOL.... she really haven't trust you yet but good that Luna is learning to trust you.

One thing you must remember, gliders can learn from your behaviour. So if you feel scared of Moka, she will do more biting. Something like bully you lah.

Anyway, just let her rest tonight, and try doing the whole day pouch bonding tomorrow. Only put Moka alone in the pouch. Let Luna be alone for a bit while you concentrate on Moka.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 25 2008, 02:49 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ May 25 2008, 02:02 AM)
Hun,
Your post is so long so I decided to reply separately.

Yes, I saw them jumping back to you. You are like their safe-haven. How did they get so attached to emino but not me? Is it some cologne that he use?

The nibbling / nipping is quite painful. What's the diff? Is it called nip / nibble? I dont mind the crabbing sound, I like it. I love the sound!! Luna dont crab so much now, she let me touch and catch but hard to get her off the cage cause she'd be grabbing on tightly, turn around crab and then attack. But touch still OK. Handfeed also OK. Meanwhile Moka cannot touch, difficult to handfeed.

OK, I already left the water bottle in the cage. It was full at first, then this morning I saw half bottle left. I terkejut but only to realized it was dripping over night. Hahaha... They dont drink THAT much, right? I hear some say that they barely drink a few mili liter a day. Somebody posted but I forgot who.

I guided them to the sleeping pouch. One love the pouch, one love the wheel. When I have nothing to do, I will take them out to handle them but then, I'm scared they run off in the corners of my house and my house isnt exactly 100% glider proof. I am going to buy a camping tent from Tesco / Jusco and spend some time with them in it, every night before I go to bed. I will take them in the bonding pouch also but they'll most likely dirty it again like the first day.

OK, funny I gave the foxy one Luna and the babyface Moka, else it'd be Luna, little sister of Kapi! My mom said Luna name sexier so give it to the sharp face one. Moka name more for baby, so give it to the younger one. Funny.

I will try to feed more fruits but it's limited to mango and apples today, also with Heinz babyfood. I will need to stock up on more fruits. Just worry the fruit seller thinks I'm crazy buying one each. Hahaha... I will stock up on papayas, lai, carrots and some other stuff tomorrow.

No honey, I will remember! Thanks!

Added on May 25, 2008, 2:04 am
Separate them for a day? Tomorrow morning, I will be out from my house. I am going to my gf's place most of the time until later. Do I need to feed her first before I go? Hmm... I'm concerned about their food / water supplies.

I will do as you say.
Wah, I think you traumatize them with the grabbing, catching lah. Nip is something like soft bites.... nibble is like chew chew at a particular spot. Bite is when they puncture your skin. Emino knows how to handle coz he is not a newbie mah. He already experienced with his Teddy already. It all requires gentle handling. When I handle them, I make sure they do not get scared easily. I do in a quiet room, let them roam my arms and hands. Luna and Moka were ok with me when it comes to handling and getting them out of their cage. If you want to get them out of their pouch, gently push them out. Coz now you gotta earn their trust, not make them scared of you loh. I know it is hard but you gotta try.

Did you do the handling like how I showed you on Friday?

It is a good idea to get a tent.

It's ok for them to dirty the bonding pouch, that's why must have 2, so can wash one and use one. Stuff it with tissue so the tissue is most likely to get dirtied than the pouch or the joey.

About running away.... do the handling in a small room. If you got no choice, do handling in bathroom also can but you must make sure toilet bowl, drainage and windows all closed lah.

TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 25 2008, 03:28 AM

12,047 posts

Wah, we are nocturnal tonight hahaha...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 25 2008, 11:52 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(imbiroy @ May 25 2008, 03:35 PM)
ohh i see, so how now, i think i suppose to do like normally, is my schedule correct arhh u see

9.30am take ah bi to bonding pouch
10.00am go work
1.00pm take lunch with ah bi also (but today when she's out already she dun wan go back in)
9.30pm take ah bi out put on my shoulder
10.00pm put back ah bi in pouch go makan
11.10pm reach home finish dinner (take ah bi out from pouch) [let her run around in my room]
1.00am put back ah bi inside the cage until morning...with foods

so is this ok for her
Whoa, schedule heheheh. Well, to me it looks pretty ok. But letting her roam around your room when not fully bonded is not so good. You must teach her to like you more than freedom in your room. Playing and bonding should be on you, on your body.

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ May 25 2008, 04:38 PM)
i seldom play with my minnie during the day..its their sleeping hour & my minnie wont be that active wont jump here & there or nibble me..weird..i usually wake her at 11pm then play with her till 3am..this period she will turn into a hellgirl.. tongue.gif
Your timing is fine. Gliders are nocturnal, they sleep like logs during the day but if we were to wake them up during the day, then they should sleep more during the night.

When it is their awake time, sure very active and crazy hahahah.

QUOTE(mikozai @ May 25 2008, 04:42 PM)
hey bonai wat heppen to u ?  although we know u are very experiance on handling gliders and that doesnt mean you can act like this rite ? please be polite ! I read all ur post and mOst of your post never agree and cant give advise nicely or try to help solve problem out but keep flaming and make ppl feel very irradating when reading ur replies.
wat do u mean by "you talk too much.. where the pictures you said wanna post???"
this is so rude u know ? did i say i will post the pic with the date ? i just said i gona post pic but did I REALLY mention that WHEN ? If you cant wait then dont wait, i never said wana post for U oso and i dun even mind that u got see my gliders pic or not.
and y i cant ask question and post it here ? This thread is urs ? why you bother so much ? If you cant answer my question then just leave it can
? no need so many hand and make a quote and answer some stupid, brainless and OOQ (Out of question) answer rite ?! Please bonai..Please, grow up please, here not only you pro at gliders, no need act like tai kor here.. ok?
Cool cool... sometimes we do lose our tops here but I agree, we all must be polite and answer each other nicely. Sometimes I do get irritated with name callings lah.

It is human nature to get angry.... but we must remember this..... this thing is just a forum. So we should respect each other and be civilize....

QUOTE(emino @ May 25 2008, 05:00 PM)
Let me set things straight okay. I come here to learn about gliders and share things about gliders. I'm not here to witness personal dramas and soap operas. I have tv series for that. So EVERYONE, please be civil to each other. If theres issues needs to be raised, do them in a good manner. And people, please, be patient with one another. Small matter pun nak marah... Kalau nak gaduh, arrange a meeting and go fight till lebam. No need to do them here. People here are looking for info, and trying to share info. This is for the good of us all. Aiyaaah...

If this continue like this a few more times I might not come to this thread anymore in the future... Yela, buatpe nak datang? Nak tgk orang gaduh I leh stream wrestling and ufc kat youtube lah!
LOL.... drama... sometimes it is interesting to see these come up but again annoying lah.

QUOTE(mikozai @ May 25 2008, 05:13 PM)
aiya nvm la just stop it already..zz
but just now really feel damn irradating man..zz
i just finish clean the cage and spray some deodoran(i bought from pet shac) to the cage.. will the smell effect with my scent ? means will the deodoran smell over cover with my scent ? =.=
Is not deodourant. Is deodourizer.

QUOTE(imbiroy @ May 25 2008, 08:27 PM)
oppss doh.gif  sorry i did'nt notice i spam that much, sorry ya... petster event? seem fun  rclxm9.gif , go there do what de.. hmm.gif

is HUN who organize this arhh?? i wanna go but dunno can go anot, summore on saturday sunday, haizz i am working in retail how to cabut leh.. wish to go lerh...
NOOOOO.... I don't organize the Petster event, I got no money lah.... hahahaah....

Anyway, I visited the event today. I was very disappointed coz the event is small. Quite cramped but I will discuss with the people in charge to allow us to have lots of chairs and space for the gathering and talk lah.

The timing is quite care free. So for Saturday's talk, it would be at about 2pm. For Sunday, it will be at 4pm. Come earlier to hang a bit ke, coz Petster said the talk will only start if got big crowd for it.

QUOTE(muchan86 @ May 25 2008, 09:31 PM)
lol kesian bonai... xD
I dun have ferret glider.. =p he also shoot me... haha.. >D peace la..
although I just met him once.. and he totally forgot bout me when he got 'something' to play wif -.-" but i know that he never really meant to flame ppl.. I know because i can sense by reading his words... those who know bonai sure know what he means inside the word.. not the outside of the word.. lol i hope u get what i mean..

anyway~~~ I got see once ppl bring their glider to eat nearby my house... and they're soooooooooo CUTE!!! but I'm not ready to the commitment yet.. sigh.. T.T but i can play wif urs glider rite? >D
Come for the Petster Event, then you can play with all our gliders. I'm gonna be bringing Kiah, Kapi and Keera.

QUOTE(Pennywise @ May 25 2008, 10:20 PM)
Ok. I bought a 2 men tent from Tesco and set it up in my room with the help from my sister.

I'm currently sitting inside the tent with moka and luna. I transported them here via the bonding pouch. Its hard to get them out when they are scared of the plastic sound which make the base of the tent.

When they got out, they both squeezed in one corner. I went near and crabbing from moka. Luna is ok but she nip me once. Then i carried and put her on my shoulder. She has been there ever since. Checking out my back, hair, neck. Nipped me on the back of the neck which is quite painful. My hand went to rub the area she nip and she run off but still on me.

Moka is always more difficult. Unlike Luna who never got off me for bout 30 minutes, Moka jumped off at every opportunity. Too bad the tent is made of polyster so she cannot grip when she land, so she fall and i reach out to her for more hand chasing and put her back on. She'd jump off again and i'd hand chase her some more. Now they're both on my back. I'm moving about, playing psp, replying sms, posting here with my phone. They're still on me. Ticklish and strange feeling but its good. We're bonding!
Good that you bought a tent. Let Moka slowly trust you. Lessen the hand chasing, I would say try and stop it a bit and let her approach you by herself. Cut small pieces of fruit and offer her. Offer it to Luna so that Moka would feel the urge to come towards you.

But what you are doing so far is good improvement. Let them roam and explore your body.

QUOTE(-Nos- @ May 25 2008, 10:49 PM)
Which colour coat for Sg is the best? Chocolate or white tip?
Why? Best? What is best? As a pet, any colour of glider is fine and majority of gliders in Malaysia are the usual grey ones or brownish grey ones. Heavily brown ones could be from staining. You wanna invest in breeders? Are you ready for gliders?

QUOTE(onezkatana @ May 25 2008, 11:37 PM)
im buy ANAKKU baby wipes...alcohol free
can i use this at my SG...thx u
Yes, it is fine. As long it is baby wipes, it is pretty ok to use.

TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 26 2008, 12:58 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ May 26 2008, 12:29 AM)
OK, as for their supper tonight. This is the menu:
1. 2 teaspoon of Dutch Lady low fat Strawberry yogurt
2. 1 cherry tomato (do I have to take out the tiny seed bits?)
3. 1 baby carrot
4. 4 pieces of mango on 1cm x 1cm cube
5. 8 pieces of applies on 5mm x 5mm cube

I think should be enough kua? Am I feeding them in the right portion? Should I cut the skin of the baby carrot?

Tomorrow, I will feed them papayas cause today wanted to buy but too late already after dinner.
WOW, that's a big meal for them hahahah. But it's ok, those 2 girls will eat maybe everything. They got good appetites. There is no need to cut the skin away.... but it is up to you. I never cut the skin from apples coz there is extra calcium and some nutrients under the skin.... Of course you have to scrub the fruits and veggies clean. Get a brush to do this.

Yes, take out those seeds. Just cut the tomato in half and squeeze, the seeds will just come out.

Morning remember give them their slurp yah.

Added on May 26, 2008, 1:01 am
QUOTE(Pennywise @ May 26 2008, 12:57 AM)
You're right, I also think it may be too much but then, I feel it's better than not enough since they are growing joeys, I will let them eat bit more. The seed part of the cherry tomato is the juiciest part, if take it out means left skin only wor... Hmm, I took them out anyway, tomorrow I will see which is the most laku.
Hmmm... No, I feed them once in the morning about 8 - 9am. Then another time at 11pm - 12 midnight. Only two meals per day because this is the schedule Hun feed them, so I just continue. But I think Hun's morning is 7am. 1hr difference wont be much.

According to Hun, these are the most fruit loving joeys, so I give them extras. Since I have been feeding them apples and mangoes for 2 days, today give them yogurt, cherry tomato and baby carrots as alternatives. Tomorrow morning, I will go buy those cutted fruits from the market for them to eat - maybe guava and papaya. Buy them, fridge them and feed them at night with baby food.

I will go hunt for mealworms tomorrow as well. By the way, I heard they can eat tuna too. Which type? Can I feed them the Ayam Brands tuna in water? Not those mayonaise type but those that's labelled tuna in water or something like that. Will that be OK?
For tuna, get the one packed in spring water.... and check for the salt content. Best is try and find sodium free.... Boiled chicken still good also tongue.gif Well, I have never given tuna coz to me the chicken meat I have is enough loh, along with the mealworms.

If you can splurge a bit, get hold of cherries. Gliders love cherries. Get those fresh juicy ripe ones and remember to take out the seed.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: May 26 2008, 01:01 AM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 26 2008, 01:07 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ May 26 2008, 01:02 AM)
Hun, you messaged at the right time. I remember you said to me, morning feed slurp and evening is a full course meal.

But if morning feed slurp at 8 - 9am. Can tahan until at night 10pm - 12am meh? I am not doubting your professionalism with pets but I'm concerned since slurp of 1 teaspoon each looks so little to me. Eat liao tahan more than 12 hours... enough ke? It's like 14 hours just living on slurp alone. I'm a bit worried la, gastric / appendicitis ke apa.

*off to shower, dunno joeys got poo on head or not*

Added on May 26, 2008, 1:04 amBy the way, when you said cherries, do you mean those red one with one kayu... people usually put it on top of banana split ice creams - those type?
Let them eat Slurp first. Then before you leave for work, put a piece of fruit in. Well, from my observation, they would just go on sleeping and rarely come out of their sleeping pouch to eat till at night. It's good to see them hungry coz this means they are healthy with good appetite. Slurp is 1 teaspoon per joey, so is fine. The most important is the night meal coz that is when they are most active and require all the energy from their food. When they sleep, they won't get hungry so easily.

The cherries.... I mention fresh ones. Those on banana split, cakes and icecreams are processed ones in sugar. Fresh ones from fruit stall.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 26 2008, 01:24 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ May 26 2008, 01:15 AM)
Before I leave for work, put a piece of fruit in, I assume it's like 1/4 of apple or something that size, right? Yes, slurp is 1 teaspoon per joey but what if one hungry and eat all, the other dont get to eat. That's my concerned also cause I dont think they know the sharing exact amount.

Cherries, fresh ones? Hmm... I need to go see cause I'm not exactly a fruit person so I dont know how it looks like. Thanks again for your advise.
Do separate feedings if possible... if not, then just add another teaspoon of slurp in if you feel worried but they should be alright lah.

Yes, about quarter of an apple or pear or mango, any fruit is good. If they never touch this backup fruit, then it is ok, no need to be worried.

Gliders prefer cherries than other sort of berry.... just look around at those fruit stalls that sell imported fruits. Bound to be cherries there.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 26 2008, 02:44 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(mamata @ May 26 2008, 02:37 AM)
hun ,can they merajuk?

xena just run away when i come near the cage,
when i put my hand inside the cage, she run and bark,even i already massage her ,she still bark,so i take her out and put her in the bonding pouch

is it because lack of attention ?
Yes, they can merajuk. You don't ever wanna see a merajuk male ok hahahah.... my Kimba is super moody when I don't feed him on time and when I take away his girls coz he will chatter and smack my hand.

QUOTE(emino @ May 26 2008, 07:01 AM)
It's been a while, but here is some new pictures of Teddy smile.gif

He is eating upside down lol!
Teddy Teddy Teddy.....

What is gonna be your next joey's name? Hahaha.... you can get her in about 2 weeks time loh.

QUOTE(dai86 @ May 26 2008, 09:14 AM)
do i need to separate out the daughter which born by my fatty and slimmy?? she is about 7 month right now... btw, fatty another baby is going to come out soon... saw him/her in the pouch, fur alreaady grow... dunno is son or daughter this time. hehe....
You better separate daughters and sons away from each other and also away from the opposite sex parents. Keeping the daughter with the mom is ok.... but then you separate the parents... not good lah. Didn't you read KP's repeated postings? She always mention that the female needs the male to help bring up the baby joey. It is crucial and separation is a no-no for both male and female. So you gotta separate the daughter. Must think mah, animals will mate no matter what, is with niece, son, nephew, daughter, grandma.... they have no large brains that can understand like us. This is also the reason why we advice people not to get a male and female pair... later such things happen.... Why not you just neuter the male?

QUOTE(mikozai @ May 26 2008, 09:42 AM)
he is hanging on top of the cage and looking what i am doing tongue.gif
i put a big slice of honey dew there and play with him outside cage =.=
here~ this 2 is my little baby casper pic o...i get da pic yesterday de.. tongue.gif
cindy de not yet take yet...but cindy is much more bigger den casper .. how come a ?
My goodness.... that is super small ok.... that doesn't look like a 8 week old joey.

Did you look at the 1st page?

This is how an 8 week old joey looks like.

This is how a 10 week old joey looks like.

You wanna make yourself feel better by saying that he is not underage ke? Coz he is....

Why some underage joeys readily take fruits coz they have been forced to weaned early from their mom, so to stay alive they learn how to eat but the lack of the important nutrients from mother's milk makes them grow slower and prone to health problems.

QUOTE(Pennywise @ May 26 2008, 12:10 PM)

QUESTION:
1. Are they grumpy because they dont get to sleep peacefully in the bonding pouch?
2. Will it affect their sleeping time later?
3. They've pooped in the bonding pouch but no pee. Will they pee in the bonding pouch? I'm hoping it wont drip on me or my bed.

So your gliders have been eating cherry tomatoes with the seed? It's OK for them? Well, I woke up and find the baby carrots are still in the metal bowl. They probably only had one tiny little piece each. The cherry tomato is finished but the skin has dropped onto the tray of the cage. I think its not nice for them since the seed part which is the juiciest part has been removed, else I'm sure they'd finish it.

Yes, I will buy a bit of cherries and let them try. I am supposed to go out and look for mealworms today but then just remembered, no car. Car sent to service. Haih, stuck at home with 2 dogs and 2 gliders. Dogs downstairs, glider with me in the room. Later need to bring doggy for walk and shower them in the evening.

I think this post is long enough.
Is not grumpy, more like insecure... it takes time. Once they are used to pouch bonding and you, they can fall asleep even while you dance. LOL.....

Gliders adapt to sounds, light and movement pretty well when they are joeys. They get less stressful than wild adults and they learn faster than such sounds are just normal. I do bring my gliders to the Cinema and once, a concert. No problem, just go on sleeping without waking up.

QUOTE(mikozai @ May 26 2008, 01:13 PM)
well, the baby casper is really in small size but yet he is the most active 1, he eat the most and also like me the most.. hmm..
about underage i think seeing the pic den judge him underage .. i not sure ..
but an underage joey's tails and feather should be wet wet and heavent finish develope rite ? (casper tail is very fluffy)..., colour of the nose is diff rite ? (casper's nose is in pink colour).., eyes also should'nt be big and round round guar..(casper eyes is always soooo big and i feel like wana gorek XD).. but i know he is small size compare with others but for me he more active then cindy which slightly older then him 2 weeks de..
nywayz, i will take good care of them..i still feeding them pet milk + slurp, they seems like it very much tongue.gif
Feather? Gliders where got feather? They got fur. The tail needs to be fluffy. Your Casper's tail is just roughly fuzzy, meaning he is not 8 weeks yet, just something like 5 to 6 weeks coz that is when their tail is ruffled with fuzziness. Fluffy, you see those pics I posted lah, now those are fluff.

Tail wet? Is not wet. It is sleek.... a sleek tail doesn't go fluffy in 1 day, it needs time.... like from sleek, it becomes fuzzy, then it opens up more, then it fluffs till it lastly fully fluff like a brush.

Eyes.... joeys open their eyes after about 2 weeks out of pouch. Once they reach 4 weeks, eyes open pretty big already..... so that's no way to judge.

QUOTE(bonai @ May 26 2008, 02:15 PM)
mikozai, i tell u what ah..
how bout u less talking and more listening..

your joeys are underage.. and confirmed.. no matter wat the seller tells but that's the fact..
(please dont be stubborn coz if you continue being like this, i bet people will ignore you..)
you havent seen how a fully weaned joey looks like so dont simply assume..
summore your joey doesnt look really healthy..
they would need extra attention i guess..
maybe the picture shows a 5 weeks old joey...

however, dont feel sorry coz u already bought..
what happen is past..
keep nursing your joeys with pets own milk..
and keep the joeys warm and avoid any stress..

young joeys are not that strong so dont be so rough with them..
let them be warm..

p/s- if i'm rude, i wont even bother to post this!
You're not rude.... maybe some post got some words tak baik to call people by lah but I know what you're trying to do. To some people, your words maybe like marah, hurtful.... but then that person haven't realize one part.... you post coz you care. You nag to make people understand. Man, I also do it too.... I know some people hate me but do they learn if they don't wanna listen? They won't learn at all.... be positive, take such postings positively and learn.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 26 2008, 02:48 PM

12,047 posts

The pics I posted, the 1st is a joey on Reanne's hand.... 2 pics of the 10 week old joey is on my hand.... My hand is really big so you can't tell the size but luckily my handphone is there to show the difference. 8 week old and 10 week old are almost the same size, just 10 week old is slightly bigger.

QUOTE(-Nos- @ May 26 2008, 02:32 PM)
Did u guys meet con man sugar glider or not? when buying sugar glider with them.
Con man? You kena conned?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 26 2008, 03:11 PM

12,047 posts

It's normal to ask a lot. Is good to ask lah but sometimes asking basic questions.... to some people it's annoying loh coz we gotta repeat.

Washing pouches, Suggie Stuff includes directions on how to wash anyway. I don't soak overnight any of my pouches. I just use normal soap powder. There is no need for Detol either... but everyone has their own method of washing so I don't think there is much to share.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 26 2008, 03:13 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(emino @ May 26 2008, 03:09 PM)
My girl will be named Victoire Weasley. hehe. Tergeliat lidah nak sebut.
Shortname - Vicky.
Wah... long lah LOL.... You macam KP, gliders long long name LOL.

Mine long list but all short names....

Got Kiah, Kapi, Kinta, Kimba, Keera, Pama, Naya....
Soon will have 2 more.... Gizmo and Sugus I think.... or something else, I can't remember.....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 26 2008, 04:27 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(mikozai @ May 26 2008, 03:13 PM)
yea...i know the way of washing pouch liao..i ask how to wash bcos there is less info about this mar...den i scare if i use some soap powder mayb will have some smell and hurt my little baby...so wana giv em the best that y i ask b4 i do... >< den get flame balik..haiz...
As long you wash it clean till not soapy anymore then there is nothing wrong. The only problem you will have is when you never wash off the soap. Macam baju lah, if you don't wash the soap off your clothes, don't you think you will get rashes and itch?

QUOTE(emino @ May 26 2008, 03:18 PM)
Well, Victoire Weasley was seen kissing Ted Remus Lupin (Teddy's namesake) on the train platform in the last chapter of the last Harry Potter book. So Its only appropriate to name her Vicky. biggrin.gif
Oh yah, forgot bout it. LOL.... I actually finished reading the last book last month hahahah....

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ May 26 2008, 03:19 PM)
Only Iggy and Luna are blessed with long full name, Molly and Micah tadak, juz Molly and Micah from Heroes!!

Hahaha.

Oii Hun, soo many suggie members huh... Wahhh, looks like I pun kena tambah ni... tongue.gif tongue.gif

Pama?? Remind me of the instant Bee Hoon Sup! Yumm!

tongue.gif
KP
Got some adopt, some friends sell to me, then those that I keep coz too attach when joey time.... ni lah tambah tambah. I'm really happy with all of them. Pama means Man in Aboriginal hahaha.... Naya means Mother I think, forgot a bit. These 2 adopted, they don't crab at me at all, which is good but not so handable since I think they were wild gliders.

QUOTE(bonai @ May 26 2008, 03:23 PM)
where did i say i dont like any people here?
bla bla bla... talking too much..
i'm friends with most of the glider owners here and by far, you're the only one who have issues with me and is that my fault? and yes, u did sms me asking what you should do when first bring them home and etc.. i guess u have a short term memory.. btw, i said 'PM'... this is not PM.. here i give you the link to PM me: PM bonai
hope we do take care of our gliders so anything like this wont happen again..
btw guys, i would like to share this with you. I have this book where it really helps a lot. If you're wishing to get complete info on glider, this is one of the recommended books. I bought it from amazon.

I can't find any link for the book's review, only the sales link. So i decide to post the picture of this book instead:

so if you're really serious into knowing more bout gliders, get this book!!!
I saw Kinokuniya once had a glider book, but too bad already sold. Can order from them too.

QUOTE(mikozai @ May 26 2008, 03:25 PM)
i saw there is a calsium powder...should i buy those for my casper and cindy ? or just maelworm will do ?
and..malaysia selling canned-maelworm ? and ..canned maelworm is dead maelworm or still live =.=... sry so many question..
If you are not feeding gliderSLURP, then you would need calcium powder.

Mealworms is protein, since when mealworms got calcium? Mealworms is also high in phosphorus.

Canned mealworms? Those in Malaysia like under the brand Bengy is useless.... don't buy. The best is gutloading fresh live mealworms. Don't know what is gutloading? Search in the forum, I repeated this too many times already till I malas wanna repeat again.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 26 2008, 04:29 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(sharil_routh @ May 26 2008, 04:27 PM)
Hun!!! U tiru my SG name Gizmo.. tongue.gif
I tak tiru loh.... ni previous owner sudah bagi 2 years ago hahahah.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 26 2008, 05:39 PM

12,047 posts

Who is ninang?

Hahaha... I buy RM4 mealies and RM6 crickets each week. But sometimes I get cheated, RM4 mealies look like RM2 pulak.... but now I get from 1 shop so not so bad lah.

Eyes tired now, so much things to do hahahah.... must prepare for this weekend.

For you guys, the glider talk got 2 timings.... Saturday 2pm, Sunday 4pm. Be there ok? Bring your Suggies along!
TScrazymouse_yyh
post May 26 2008, 05:59 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ May 26 2008, 05:50 PM)
Aieee, Sunday 4pm?

Sure ahh? But start at 12 noon rite?

I dunno to bring all 4 of my monsters or just 2...

hmm.gif
KP
The Petster event starts at 11am now and ends at 7pm.... we don't have to give the talk straight away.

4pm, I think ok lah, summore can get more support for those who cannot be early tongue.gif

QUOTE(bonai @ May 26 2008, 05:50 PM)
medium size quite big to fit up to 5 gliders but then you'll need a hell lot of toys for them to play...
1 wheel wont be enough..
Hun, do update this info on the 1st page..
summore add the exact venue, later people go find at Pet Safari..

I went to the event yesterday, not that much promo but it's kinda happening outside since the place is quite small so it gets crowded easily.. mentioning opposite Starbucks or beside Ace hardware would be great.. easier for people to find..

If I cancel to perform at Langkawi this weekend, sure will be there to support you..
p/s-now no one know who's ninang so i can start to market myself  rclxm9.gif
Edited, thanks for pointing it out.

hmm.gif really dunno who is ninang loh hahaahah

Anyway, I'm in the midst of creating a glider blog.... my PC damn slow hahahah.

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0518sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:22 AM