129 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

P1 P1 W1Max Thread unofficial thread., The One and Only WiMax Broadband

razormax
post Sep 27 2008, 01:03 AM

QUOTE(leonamanutd @ Sep 25 2008, 04:40 PM)
The Motorola one is not a modem but just a dongle rite? I remember those days when we use WIFI dongles before it's integrated in laptops...I think it'll be a matter of a year before we find them in laptops and notebooks. I should not get a new laptop until then yawn.gif
OIC which means if the new laptops are integrated with auto scanning for wimax... cool!
tartputat
post Sep 27 2008, 09:27 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(razormax @ Sep 27 2008, 01:03 AM)
OIC which means if the new laptops are integrated with auto scanning for wimax... cool!
yeah..built in wimax adapter like the built wi-fi in all laptop nowadays..
i heard intel also in the process of making the chipset..correct me if i m wrong..
forgot where i heard that doh.gif
i also think in the future when the chipset is available the price should be so xpensive..
the new thing should be expensive like the P1 Wimax modem that cost about 1K... sweat.gif
linkokkeen
post Sep 27 2008, 12:38 PM

278 posts

hahaahhaahhahahahahaahha
very very funny WIMAX, i though their coverage can arrive 50KM radius size hahahah, i think is not liao hhahahahahahhah.

My office is at Jln BUKIT BINTANG which is interchange Jln Tun Razak. you know what, there say our place didnt have coverage so cant use their service hahahahaahhahahahaha ridiculous. very very funny.
that mean even the same road is not really have the coverage lah so becareful lah you all out there, ask properly which is ur place then only applied lah smile.gif.
ttg109
post Sep 27 2008, 02:51 PM

to jb guy.u can go to a computer shop at giant plentong for p1 wimax sign up.shop name style vision.behind court and post office.too bad my area tmn setia indah not cover yet.
moiham
post Sep 27 2008, 07:31 PM

QUOTE(Goneraz @ Sep 26 2008, 09:09 PM)
Didnt get dc for for 5 days now. Speed have been constant at 1600kbps.The best ISP in my book so far.
wow nice testimonial, erm can i know where are u using the service?? in rain also no dc?

QUOTE(linkokkeen @ Sep 27 2008, 12:38 PM)
hahaahhaahhahahahahaahha
very very funny WIMAX, i though their coverage can arrive 50KM radius size hahahah, i think is not liao hhahahahahahhah.

My office is at Jln BUKIT BINTANG which is interchange Jln Tun Razak. you know what, there say our place didnt have coverage so cant use their service hahahahaahhahahahaha ridiculous. very very funny.
that mean even the same road is not really have the coverage lah so becareful lah you all out there, ask properly which is ur place then only applied lah smile.gif.
ahaha i think now their stations not so powderful yet bah hahaha i heard about this from my fren also, it is ridiculous i know lets hope they will improve haha
etsuko
post Sep 27 2008, 07:46 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Sep 26 2008, 10:41 PM)
hw come they didnt email me wan hmmm
Urm...what was your problem again? tongue.gif

QUOTE(tartputat @ Sep 27 2008, 09:27 AM)
i heard intel also in the process of making the chipset..correct me if i m wrong..
i also think in the future when the chipset is available the price should be so xpensive..
the new thing should be expensive like the P1 Wimax modem that cost about 1K... sweat.gif
Any new added technology is always a costly equation. But it'll also be dependent on the coverage when they're finally producing them in mass quantities. So we'll have to see lor.

And, it's most definitely an awkward situation when your office is covered but the area behind you isn't. It's either the signal is very accurate or there might be a problem somewhere. hmm.gif
someone_stupid
post Sep 27 2008, 08:21 PM

1,205 posts

i wanted to sign up for the service wan so i regsitered at the website but..funny no news wan
p4n6
post Sep 28 2008, 01:39 AM

5,974 posts

QUOTE(linkokkeen @ Sep 27 2008, 12:38 PM)
hahaahhaahhahahahahaahha

I too feel funny on your shallow understanding of the technology based on your criticism above.

Having a little understanding on the RF technology will help you to know more about mobile technology. WiMAX is the technology but the coverage is determined by RF condition, same applies to GSM/3G/CDMA etc. Our government too limits the EIRP for basestation and device output power that limits the size of allowable coverage for the sake of the health of the people.

Which book that you read told you RF coverage is based on "road name"? Life will get much simpler in that case, won't it?

Currently most of the people subscribed to the service are somehow verified on the coverage before subscribing to it.

Not having the coverage at the moment won't mean it won't have the coverage in the future, that's why everyone is applying to it to hope one day when coverage is available, they will be contacted. Whether to subscribe or not, it's up to the consumers' choice.

Honestly, my area too doesn't have coverage at the moment, a little dissapointment but anticipation is still there.

As compared to Maxis 3G, Celcom 3G, UMobile 3G, WiMAX roll out is way faster as Maxis, Celcom and MiTV have been holding the license for more than 3+ years before starting their service roll out (which is not even fully covered the entire Malaysia at the moment).

Added on September 28, 2008, 1:42 am
QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Sep 27 2008, 08:21 PM)
i wanted to sign up for the service wan so i regsitered at the website but..funny no news wan
Maybe you should follow the footstep of one of our forumer here and call their careline and spam their emails on why there are no clear notification whether your area has coverage or not. As claimed by alot of people here that their careline is very helpful, you should try it out if it's true and let us know.

Added on September 28, 2008, 1:48 am
QUOTE(tartputat @ Sep 27 2008, 09:27 AM)
Sprint-Clearwire Xohm is currently using WiMAX laptop with Intel Centrino 2 chipset however, the chipset only has WiMAX on 2.5Ghz. Malaysia WiMAX is on 2.3 Ghz but according to Intel, they will be releasing it soon with dual band WiMAX 2.5+2.3Ghz with Wifi. Soon (next year), we will be having laptop with WiMAX+Wifi in which we can bring it to all around the world to use WiMAX as what we are doing now with our wifi and mobile phone. But do expect the price to be costly in the beginning.

This post has been edited by p4n6: Sep 28 2008, 01:48 AM
tartputat
post Sep 28 2008, 12:39 PM

395 posts

@p4ng

i totally agree with ur feedback especially regarding the coverage area..
we must check the coverage before register so in future no problem of connectivity issue.
about the chipset, i also think that the price will be 'boom'..huhuhu..
lets wait and see..
owc
post Sep 29 2008, 10:15 AM

Generous in Sharing Knowledge
1,240 posts

It really depended on which area you locate, at my company I will get very stable.
But my house, not so stable for the upload speed, sometime it goes Max 700kbps Upload and sometime 50kb Upload.
Moreover, the modem indicated Green Light
The Download speed is from 1400Kbps and some days up until 2m.
Besides, someday in certain hour you will get 3m ~4m sweat.gif
Remark: For 1200 Packages

super macgyver
post Sep 29 2008, 11:36 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,324 posts

How is it BT speed? hmm.gif
owc
post Sep 29 2008, 12:44 PM

1,240 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Sep 29 2008, 11:36 AM)
How is it BT speed? hmm.gif
Please check previous post 1st

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/671303/+700

lolx 100 people come it 100 people ask the same question sweat.gif
leonamanutd
post Sep 29 2008, 01:57 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Sep 28 2008, 01:39 AM)

Sprint-Clearwire Xohm is currently using WiMAX laptop with Intel Centrino 2 chipset however, the chipset only has WiMAX on 2.5Ghz. Malaysia WiMAX is on 2.3 Ghz but according to Intel, they will be releasing it soon with dual band WiMAX 2.5+2.3Ghz with Wifi. Soon (next year), we will be having laptop with WiMAX+Wifi in which we can bring it to all around the world to use WiMAX as what we are doing now with our wifi and mobile phone. But do expect the price to be costly in the beginning.
Wow this is really good news, to know that the kind of laptop already exist. I hope it comes to Malaysia by next year too, but there's a lot of buyers, surely price would drop faster too. Eventually WiMAX laptops will be necessity and not optional like Wifi laptops are nowadays.
etsuko
post Sep 29 2008, 06:51 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Sep 27 2008, 08:21 PM)
Ahh...maybe your application lost duno where. LOL! tongue.gif

But I'm assuming they're still constantly getting emails either enquiring or people still signing for the trial run or something. So they're doing their best to manage everything...kua.

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Sep 28 2008, 01:39 AM)

Added on September 28, 2008, 1:48 am
Sweet. Having dual support for the 2.5 and 2.3 standard would be a large benefit. I recall at one time they were debating on the wireless standard and didn't want to support both frequencies at one time. But that was WiFi. I hope many learned their lesson.

QUOTE(owc @ Sep 29 2008, 10:15 AM)
It really depended on which area you locate, at my company I will get very stable.
But my house, not so stable for the upload speed, sometime it goes Max 700kbps Upload and sometime 50kb Upload.
Moreover, the modem indicated Green Light
The Download speed is from 1400Kbps and some days up until 2m.
Besides, someday in certain hour you will get 3m ~4m  sweat.gif
Remark:  For 1200 Packages
Probably you could report this performance to them directly. Though if it's a case of 'borrowing' your office modem back to your house then better be careful. LOL!

Hmm, I wonder if your office line is better because they subscribed to the business package instead of personal. If you're not using the same account that is.

QUOTE(owc @ Sep 29 2008, 12:44 PM)
lolx 100 people come it 100 people ask the same question  sweat.gif
It's because no one uses the forum search. Plus, I can understand the problems of using the search sometimes since it must use a minimum character length of 4. Sigh.

Bu yes, more members should try searching next time. tongue.gif
owc
post Sep 30 2008, 01:00 PM

1,240 posts

Tips on the 20gigs bandwidth limit.
Firstly, their management mentions about if only your area having too many user or many heavy user, and your connection properly will limit to 20Gigs.
Anyway, they are registered user as the location (address that you apply)
So that, try apply the address that less population. (Don’t apply address at SETAPAK, WANGSA MAJU)
This has big chance to get limit.
So, be wise….
Registered under your company if you have company.
Anyway, same price.

leonamanutd
post Sep 30 2008, 03:29 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(owc @ Sep 30 2008, 01:00 PM)
Tips on the 20gigs bandwidth limit.
Firstly, their management mentions about if only your area having too many user or many heavy user, and your connection properly will limit to 20Gigs.
Anyway, they are registered user as the location (address that you apply)
So that, try apply the address that less population. (Don’t apply address at SETAPAK, WANGSA MAJU)
This has big chance to get limit.
So, be wise….
Anyway, same price.
How to choose the address that I want to apply? Aren't users suppose to apply according to where they are staying?
owc
post Sep 30 2008, 05:08 PM

1,240 posts

QUOTE(leonamanutd @ Sep 30 2008, 03:29 PM)
How to choose the address that I want to apply? Aren't users suppose to apply according to where they are staying?
Not at all, if I have 3 house and 1 company?
Where will I registered?
Is it each house and Company registered for 4 Wimax?
Moreover, the Wimax can be move to wherever place that have coverage’s.
Furthermore, the modem where to put is our freedom privacy.
On top of that, we can escapes the limit tongue.gif
etsuko
post Sep 30 2008, 06:10 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(owc @ Sep 30 2008, 01:00 PM)
So, be wise….
Anyway, same price.
Since you mentioned this...

Anyone knows what's the difference between personal and business packages?

I heard they're similar in reliability and speed except they're only different in price. shakehead.gif

So if anyone knows the difference, please do help me out here.

In times like this, where got 3 houses wan? LOL! Anyway, bringing the modem around is a good idea - for short distances.
Disinto
post Sep 30 2008, 11:21 PM

47 posts

Hello there,
I'm a new subscriber of P1 WiMAX broadband service (BB area) and wanted to know whether someone knew the credentials needed to access to the CPE.
I believe port forwarding has already been discussed before, that's mainly the reason why I want to access to the built in interface (since the CPE is acting as a router, not a bridge).

Thanks all smile.gif

Cheers
Florian
chingeh
post Oct 1 2008, 02:53 AM

Hi - i've just signed up for 1.2MB in Setapak, in case anyone's interested here's a review to share a comparison of my current 1MB TMNet line versus P1's 1.2 MB w1MAX.

http://blog.cglow.com/?p=137

129 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:43 PM