P1 P1 W1Max Thread unofficial thread., The One and Only WiMax Broadband

etsuko
post Jul 14 2008, 07:03 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(allrightall @ Jul 8 2008, 05:12 PM)
can p1 do it?  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

intel is giving 50 million, cos afterall intel is main backer of wimax, not surprising. tongue.gif  tongue.gif

anyway, news paper clipping... 2nd or third time the chinese papers got article about p1 wimax.

speed is only 1.5 mbps nia. i prefer waiting for digi 3g, coming later this year or early next year. biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

Is it me or the box in his right hand is way bigger than the one in his left hand...?

BTW, anyone knows what's in his left hand?

And has anyone tested Wimax yet? hmm.gif
etsuko
post Jul 14 2008, 09:59 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jul 14 2008, 07:14 PM)
Hmm , looks like they might cap p2p afterall judging from this teaser. Empathize on Priority on traffic

How'd you decipher the capping? blink.gif

Me don't see the subliminal message there. LOL!

As for VOIP...as long it's more stable than TMNut we're good. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by etsuko: Jul 14 2008, 10:00 PM
etsuko
post Jul 15 2008, 11:30 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

Ahh, isn't that good?

I mean from what I can understand. It means I can surf at an average speed which I won't complain while others could still be using their p2p applications? smile.gif
etsuko
post Jul 15 2008, 08:59 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(qqstranger @ Jul 15 2008, 05:05 PM)
i will go register my Wimax this friday for testing free for P1, according to them is free but will chk with them and this testing is only for setapak area only. i will update when get to use Wimax
Coool...did they like advertise all over the neighbourhood or what?

QUOTE(allrightall @ Jul 15 2008, 06:19 PM)
etsuko,

left is usb modem. size almost like my n73.
Eek...urm...N73. hmm.gif

For a moment there, I thought it was a lil smaller. What's the weight of the thing?
etsuko
post Jul 16 2008, 07:50 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(qqstranger @ Jul 15 2008, 10:19 PM)
yesterday and today got few girl is giving away the "become P1 Wimax trial user" brochure at lrt wangsa station. i call P1 customer service regarding the term and condition, they say need go to the spot check it out only will get to know the detail. so here is the spot add for register Restoran S.A no. 29-30, jln 64B/26, tmn sri rampai.kl. date is 18/07 to 20/07 and time is 11am to 8pm. so any bro here is stay at setapak may chk it out. i will try to update the Wimax information after i get to register.
Cool. But I wonder why their promotion drive only 2 days long?

QUOTE(prasys @ Jul 15 2008, 10:21 PM)
i'll give it a shot as well. since its a free trial !
Urm... free trial for how long ar..? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by etsuko: Jul 17 2008, 06:46 PM
etsuko
post Jul 17 2008, 06:47 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

It might just be me but I heard online, P1 is releasing their prices supposedly commendable against the TMNut packages.

Not bad lor if RM88 per month, 1Mbps stabler than TMNut and no setup fees. drool.gif
etsuko
post Jul 19 2008, 09:02 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Jul 18 2008, 11:08 PM)
2 weeks trial period only

phase 1 at subang, seta
Hmm... 2 weeks... how long were you expecting? 30 days? tongue.gif

And yea-lor, where's seta? I know where's Subang. LOL!
etsuko
post Jul 20 2008, 02:48 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Jul 19 2008, 11:49 AM)
Free trial users will be randomly selected, and they ought to be inside the trial areas.
How they randomly select wor? Based on the trial users who signed up?

QUOTE(z3171600 @ Jul 19 2008, 05:15 PM)
I don't think the package available in the website is wimax yet. That;s only wifi.
That was what I was thinking.
etsuko
post Jul 21 2008, 07:43 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(soul2soul @ Jul 19 2008, 11:49 AM)
sorry .. got typo
phase 1:
setapak, subang , klcc, sentul

2 weeks of free trial. Wimax device provided.
full packages expected to be launched in 2 months
Free trial users will be randomly selected, and they ought to be inside the trial areas.

Need to sign non-disclosure agreement and have the option to return the wimax device after the end of trial.
Anyone taking the WiMAX connection for a spin? Wanna know how's the performance thus far. hmm.gif
etsuko
post Jul 22 2008, 06:55 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(z3171600 @ Jul 21 2008, 08:31 PM)
Well anyone who sign up for that need to sign up for NDA right? I don't know how effective that is in Malaysia but then the best bet is to wait until the trial over. 2 more weeks, sigh.
Takkan for the 2 weeks trial they get you to sign an NDA? shakehead.gif

I thought it'd be more like a contract to say if you lose the hardware or it gets broken by you accidentally and etc.

Why nobody want to share their experience so far... sad.gif

Or have to wait for PC Fair to see if they'll be there or not. cry.gif
etsuko
post Jul 23 2008, 06:11 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jul 22 2008, 10:59 PM)
No they did not give the modem on the spot. When I got there, they said they ran out of modems but they took my particulars. (and a copy of my IC)  blink.gif

Then they told me that I'll be contacted 3 days from then and will be given the modem. That's the last thing I heard from them.  mad.gif
Hmm...so you're saying the promoter or PIC said they'll contact you within 3 days but haven't done so from the date you registered? Why not try calling them and see?

Anyone else with a similar problem as this?

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Jul 23 2008, 01:10 AM)
I believe the USB Modem is the size of a average thumbdrive. Smaller than 3.5G device.
WiMAX devices are said to be 1/3 of the price of 3G devices due to the fact that 3G only has one chipset vendor (Qualcomm) but WiMAX has several chipset vendors (RUNCOM, SEQUAN, BECEEM, GCT etc) which make better competition and so cheaper devices.
There was an article I read online saying the devices should become smaller in due time because they've managed to shrink the chip further. But I believe it needs to be shrunk in the end because Wimax is going to be a standard supported on mobile as well later.

Rumor online is the Nokia N830 will have Wimax support - product not launched yet.
etsuko
post Jul 24 2008, 07:12 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(K for Ketamine @ Jul 23 2008, 09:46 PM)
some1 update.
sign-up for free trial
http://www.p1w1max.com/

Cool website. But they should seriously remove the glow on all of the text which need to be read properly. I can't focus and it makes me feel like I need glasses. cry.gif

QUOTE(hye @ Jul 24 2008, 02:46 AM)
Well ... I did not have a choice about the IC part if I wanted to be a trial user, did I? (BTW ... the IC was crossed but I'm lamenting the way the document is being handled. And I never mentioned whether I have taken action or not  )

And I wanted to give it a few more days just in case they really did came back. I'm not using the forum as an outlet but as a awareness so people here will be more careful. Anyway, I'll stop posting here either way to avoid unnecessary comments - leave it for the guys here to debate on the subject.
Well, personally sharing what's your experience here does create awareness. What's left for them is to monitor their performance online - same goes to more companies.

Don't forget to inform us if they do get in touch with you.

Anyone signing up for the w1max via their website? I'm pondering over it - while trying to focus on the text. LOL!
etsuko
post Jul 25 2008, 07:29 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Mobilewold.com.my)
All four mobile WiMAX operators have been given a deadline of until August next month to commercially launch the WiMAX service in Malaysia.

“There will be a penalty imposed on the operators if they fail to meet the deadline” said Malaysian Communication and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) Senior Director for Technology and Standards Division, Mr. Zamani Zakariah when queried on what will happen should the operators not meet the deadline set.

I hope the 4 don't mess things up. Otherwise, you know who might just get the project later. tongue.gif
etsuko
post Jul 28 2008, 11:49 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(ayiesz @ Jul 28 2008, 04:10 PM)
there *Terms and conditions apply
at the page for free trial signup.
i can't find the terms and condition
can somebody point me to it?
Good question.

I tried looking for it but all I could find the sentence *Terms & Conditions apply on the signup page.

Could they have forgotten to put a link to the file? Hmm...

Or can anyone remember the T&C when they signed up at Setapak?
etsuko
post Jul 29 2008, 10:23 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(freezbies @ Jul 29 2008, 02:45 AM)
not sure whether i'm suppose to reveal.. but here's my results and this is the average since using WiMAX 3 days ago..
[attachmentid=542647]
drool.gif 3 days ago...hmm.. you're into how many days of your trial already?

QUOTE(prasys @ Jul 29 2008, 05:56 PM)
Wow this is great news. Signed up for the trial and I've managed to get some in-sight scoop on their WiMax service. My friend is using the service as we speak , he doesn't want to post any screenies as he said that there is some sort of agreement that prohibits trial users to publish information

1) They are providing you with an External IP Address (just like streamyx) (Maxis will be dead meat after this , thank you maxis). This allows you to host games , and it will work for p2p. Horray !

2) The modem seems to be really big and bulky. Guess its the first generation.

3) Just like most of the wireless service out there , latency seems to be somewhat consistent. The ping rates are way lower then HSDPA , but then its not consitent as streamyx. At one moment you can get 68ms , the other moment 110ms. But so far it doesn't exceed 120ms for local links which seems to be good.

4) Speed on the other hand seems to be good. YouTube streaming is superb and I am able to stream live P2P Streaming stuff. It works like a charm as well
I'll try to persuade that guy to allow me to post the traceroute results

I'll also try to post my own results tooo once i've managed to get my hands on it !
From start to finish, I'm really more and more sold of its promise so far. Though as mentioned, the ping rates seems a little odd. I wonder why does it happen. Was it because it was raining or something else affecting it?

QUOTE(freezbies @ Jul 29 2008, 06:07 PM)
btw, here's the todays speed clocked using P1 inet speed (http://speed.p1.com.my/)
[attachmentid=543184]
That is seriously good. More so I want to get my own Wimax so I won't have to share the Streamyx in the house anymore. Yeay! rclxm9.gif

I tried out the speed test with my Streamyx and must say I'm no where near proud of it.

etsuko
post Jul 30 2008, 08:54 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Karas Otoha @ Jul 30 2008, 04:26 PM)
Hey... found something interesting happen in this coming PC fair 2008 in KLCC. P1 are giving free Canon Printer to those join the wimax contest. The contest form can be get from Facebook Event and www.p1w1max.com
Aww man...I would've love to get a 1 year free subscription! biggrin.gif

I won't mind them monopolizing the market as long their speed is consistent and their service is a ton better so we won't have to Scream at Screamyx.

Hmm...nature of technology affects the thing. But one thing I don't really get, how you guys are very impressed by the ping? Does that mean the response time from the server to the client is shorter resulting in speedier access?
etsuko
post Jul 31 2008, 09:03 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Jul 30 2008, 10:01 PM)
streaming video on p1 quite good smooth all the way, tried it out today during lunch when they had a booth setup at cosway
I guess the next thing to test is download speed of say a 300MB file. smile.gif

QUOTE(Suk @ Jul 31 2008, 01:57 PM)
if wimax can support local connection with super speed and international speed to 2MB.... i am grab to see tat
I'd like to know about that too. However, besides connection to both local and international it would also still depend on a server location.

Anyway, anyone going to tryout the Wimax thing in PC Fair later? I wanted to go tomorrow but I've got a full day of appointments. cry.gif
etsuko
post Aug 2 2008, 07:56 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

I was at their booth today. I tried out the YouTube streaming and can't believe it's speed. It's not click and load but obviously its way faster than streaming via Streamyx.

There were a ton of people queuing at the reception there as well. Think it's cause everyone wants to win a Canon printer or something.

I snapped a photo of the modem. You can compare to the size of the router beside it.

A number of people were interested with it. Even a more senior consumer asked what it was about. tongue.gif
etsuko
post Aug 5 2008, 12:24 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(K for Ketamine @ Aug 2 2008, 11:56 PM)
i'm trying to mean, P1 W1MAX can't have constant downstream speed sad.gif is not about the streaming hiccups.
Urm...when you say not a constant downstream, do you mean the download speed isn't constant?

But come to think of it, doesn't speed fluctuate and isn't pure.

QUOTE(leonamanutd @ Aug 4 2008, 03:50 PM)
Is there no revealing of actual pricing even at PC fair?
As much as I overheard the promoters explaining to people, they educated more on the differences between Wimax and Wifi. Never did mention about the final pricing of the packages yet.

Though somewhere sometime ago I read the prices were going to be possibly below RM100 to contend against Streamyx. hmm.gif
etsuko
post Aug 5 2008, 06:40 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(leonamanutd @ Aug 5 2008, 04:08 PM)
How do you monitor the fluctuation of the download thru the task manager?
When you pull up your Task Manager, there's a Networking tab.

However, this networking tab to me doesn't show the performance of an Internet line. It's more like how data is being transferred to your computer via the network.

Hmm...the trial users who were here have gone awfully quiet all of a sudden. I wonder where are they. I want to know if the performance dropped or not. sad.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:30 PM