8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Sixth Former come in pls~, did you regret for taking form 6?

songhan89
post May 7 2008, 01:31 AM

-Hankerchizf-
1,104 posts

FYI, Form 6 is now another stepping stone to Ivy League university since you're the only batch of students other than MARA allowed to be chosen for International Olympiad Science competitions.
Malaysia does not allow other students from private instituitions to join lol. Which explained why even thailand or indonesia are owning us in the competition.
If you're talented, please do take part in the selection camp.

Olympiad Science is highly prestigious.
How prestigious?
Let's put it in this way.
You get a bronze medal.
You get automatic admission to NUS and on guaranteed scholarship.
Get Silver/Gold ?
MIT is waiting for you.

This post has been edited by songhan89: May 7 2008, 01:33 AM
Stefanov
post May 7 2008, 01:36 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(*devilelle* @ May 6 2008, 09:53 AM)
for me A-level is much more easier than STPM... my sis go for A-level and STPM at the same time... she used to be top student at school, guess what?? yeah she scored 4As in A-level but then 4Bs in STPM..... she use A level result to apply national university in singapore and STPM result to apply nanyang technology ... both get admitted... let me ask you... you want to study the easier way to get good result or you want the hard way... nowadays some of the form 6 subjects are in english, this is more or less like A-level... unless you are aiming for local university, then you go for STPM or else its just a waste of time...
If one of you here is super talented,
attend seminar for physics or whatever.
join international quiz competition, win bronze or gold ^^
then MIT for sure, pick you.
5 Flat A including further maths

MIT notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
oxalato
post May 7 2008, 01:45 AM

609 posts

speaking of olympiad science competiton, one of my greatest regret is being ignorant about this competition during my form6 days and how it will benefit me if i happen to take it.

those who are currently or goin to start form6.. find out more about this competition. my school and the teachers never mentioned about this at all. recommend you to find out and participate in it if you think you're good enough.

many universities have a slot for you to fill about this competition and the award you have won in the admission application page.

reckon it will be a major boost in your application to top universities in the world

Added on May 7, 2008, 1:51 am
QUOTE(-Nos- @ May 4 2008, 01:11 PM)
Yea, i agreed STPM paper is one of the hardest, but think wisely. Worth wasting the time in F6. Reason = studying in BM...... dun tell me u work with gov after graduate.
update yourself. science subjects already in english for few years

This post has been edited by oxalato: May 7 2008, 01:51 AM
*devilelle*
post May 7 2008, 10:11 AM

Im aint Me
767 posts

QUOTE(Stefanov @ May 7 2008, 01:36 AM)
If one of you here is super talented,
attend seminar for physics or whatever.
join international quiz competition, win bronze or gold ^^
then MIT for sure, pick you.
5 Flat A including further maths

MIT  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
im too old for that ady... or else i'll be famous by now doh.gif doh.gif
ResQ
post May 7 2008, 10:45 AM

1,039 posts

can bio and chem paper aswering in bm?
Octavios
post May 7 2008, 11:41 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(ResQ @ May 7 2008, 10:45 AM)
They are still bilingual,correct me if i am wrong.

Added on May 7, 2008, 11:42 am
QUOTE(oxalato @ May 7 2008, 01:45 AM)
speaking of olympiad science competiton, one of my greatest regret is being ignorant about this competition during my form6 days and how it will benefit me if i happen to take it.

those who are currently or goin to start form6.. find out more about this competition. my school and the teachers never mentioned about this at all. recommend you to find out and participate in it if you think you're good enough.

many universities have a slot for you to fill about this competition and the award you have won in the admission application page.

reckon it will be a major boost in your application to top universities in the world

Added on May 7, 2008, 1:51 am

update yourself. science subjects already in english for few years
Where to check whether is there such competition held?

This post has been edited by Octavios: May 7 2008, 11:42 AM
darksider
post May 7 2008, 12:12 PM

868 posts

QUOTE(ResQ @ May 7 2008, 10:45 AM)
I don't think you can answer them in bahasa malaysia since english as the medium instruction has been used for 5 years consecutively.

Perhaps you should also ask, can i answer A-level examinations using bm ?
Can i answer stpm bio and chem using bm and get admitted to top universities in uk/us?

And tell you, public U in msia are going to change the medium instructions for most subjects to english in the next 2 years.

ResQ
post May 10 2008, 05:08 PM

1,039 posts

QUOTE(darksider @ May 7 2008, 12:12 PM)
I don't think you can answer them in bahasa malaysia since english as the medium instruction has been used for 5 years consecutively.

Perhaps you should also ask, can i answer A-level examinations using bm ?
Can i answer stpm bio and chem using bm and get admitted to top universities in uk/us?

And tell you, public U in msia are going to change the medium instructions for most subjects to english in the next 2 years.
owh like that ha .. my english is soo bad .. i need to attend english class now nod.gif
WNF
post May 10 2008, 06:39 PM

225 posts

The case for STPM 2007 is you are allowed to answer the science paper in either BM or English.
However, you are not allowed to answer using both languages alternately.
Hence, only one language , BM or English.

Hmm... all I can say is... To take part in the Science Olympiads is not easy in Malaysia.
You have to go through several selection processes.
The fact that these selection processes are not known to many just increased the difficulty.
So far till 2006 (Malaysia is still a new participant in the olympiads), the selection is not open.
The education department of each state will select certain schools and the selected schools will then choose a few representatives.
These representatives will go through strings of tests (hmm...imagine lab rats tongue.gif ) before finally selected to represent Malaysia.

This is how it is done here. I am not sure about other countries though.

Please correct me if I am wrong.
SUSfree666
post May 13 2008, 11:50 AM

235 posts

wan ask if bio student hav projects like disect mice and those insects things, physic student have to do wat?
oxalato
post May 13 2008, 12:39 PM

609 posts

QUOTE(free666 @ May 13 2008, 11:50 AM)
wan ask if bio student hav projects like disect mice and those insects things, physic student have to do wat?
just some simple experiments like those in form5 physics tongue.gif
nothing major
alynnthe
post May 27 2008, 10:13 PM

30 posts

my sister was a form 6 student. She's studying in UTAR now after her STPM. The reason is that she didn't get the course she applied & want to study after form 6[in local uni]... the government usually give chances to malay first. Can says that most of my sister's friends do not get into the uni they want to not because of the results. The chances are less. Most of them continue in private uni now.

If you want to study in UTAR, why dont you do the Foundation they offer which takes only 1year instead of 2years for stpm which will same bring you to degree.
holyvin
post Aug 14 2010, 01:20 AM

30 posts

im also in private uni alone =/ (spending a lot ) i see my frens go in local and i feel very left out and bad ,making me feel i regretted i went in form 6, BUT i even feel HARDER to not regret , seriously form 6 class is small, damn we were so close, we study together and seriously it turn my hate to like towards high skool life (very few frens in form5 compare form6 lol) xD like many felt hahaha

.......and i play quite lot at some time and faill all except PA lol(study like shit la after tat still got fail but not tat cham >_>)tat was rlly horrible but i still manage go thru form 6

This post has been edited by holyvin: Aug 14 2010, 01:23 AM
Lamb Of Dog
post Aug 15 2010, 03:09 PM

387 posts

i got 9As in SPM but dint get Nuthing,im in lower 6 now,life sucks,most of my frens went to private col,some of the teachers are a joke,and most of all,why are all the subjects in BM????studying in BM is the reason i feel like the whole thing is one big pathetic joke. BUT im too poor to do anything about it(eg. go private unis) cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif shit,i feel like shit,im starting to lose interest in everything,losing weight,and smoking alot more now,if it werent for my guitars and music,id go completely NUTS
darksider
post Aug 15 2010, 03:43 PM

868 posts

QUOTE(Lamb Of Dog @ Aug 15 2010, 03:09 PM)
i got 9As in SPM but dint get Nuthing,im in lower 6 now,life sucks,most of my frens went to private col,some of the teachers are a joke,and most of all,why are all the subjects in BM????studying in BM is the reason i feel like the whole thing is one big pathetic joke. BUT im too poor to do anything about it(eg. go private unis) cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif shit,i feel like shit,im starting to lose interest in everything,losing weight,and smoking alot more now,if it werent for my guitars and music,id go completely NUTS
dont be so pathetic. I got 4As in SPM and going into form 6 with this result is more pathetic than your situation. But still I worked very hard and now my effort pays off.

If you don't work hard now to follow up the path which you have chosen you will definitely regret later.
Work extra hard and you will be well awarded.

Life can never fail you. only you can fail it.

This post has been edited by darksider: Aug 15 2010, 03:44 PM
passionboy
post Oct 9 2010, 09:41 PM

98 posts

hey??no one??i am about to to go form 6 next year ==
suiluibau
post Oct 9 2010, 09:55 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(passionboy @ Oct 9 2010, 08:41 AM)
Funny dude~~I thought you are sitting for STPM this year but you are just a FORM 5 student??~~Cheah~~~
it is still early ~~Study hard for your SPM first before thinking those unrelevant things~~ISk isk~~
But still good luck for your SPM~..~You might score better than you expected and get other offer to study the course you want and not form 6~~
Regards
minshuen
post Oct 10 2010, 12:07 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(passionboy @ Oct 9 2010, 09:41 PM)
It's the first time for me to hear from somebody that form 6 will be the first choice of their pre u study..salute u pal! thumbup.gif
happyprince
post Oct 10 2010, 12:43 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(Lamb Of Dog @ Aug 15 2010, 03:09 PM)
i got 9As in SPM but dint get Nuthing,im in lower 6 now,life sucks,most of my frens went to private col,some of the teachers are a joke,and most of all,why are all the subjects in BM????studying in BM is the reason i feel like the whole thing is one big pathetic joke. BUT im too poor to do anything about it(eg. go private unis) cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif shit,i feel like shit,im starting to lose interest in everything,losing weight,and smoking alot more now,if it werent for my guitars and music,id go completely NUTS
I got 8A's in my spm , but i can't even have afford to study in Form6...You don't know what is the meaning of Poor .....

time to forget the past,and move on your life ....Get a better results in STPM ,obtain scholarship with STPM ..

good luck
hirano
post Oct 10 2010, 12:49 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

QUOTE(happyprince @ Oct 10 2010, 12:43 PM)
I got 8A's in my spm , but i can't even have afford to study in Form6...You don't know what is the meaning of Poor .....

time to forget the past,and move on your life ....Get a better results in STPM ,obtain scholarship with STPM ..

good luck
But I thought form-6 should be the cheapest option than opting for colleges? Way cheaper, I mean.

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0288sec    0.98    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:13 PM