ASB loan, worth to get it???
acexii
Jul 1 2013, 11:06 AM
QUOTE(lucifah @ Jul 1 2013, 10:56 AM) no. car = liability house = asset, yes. but it locks you down to 1 place and u cant grow unless u willing to move out from that house Kinda remember a quote from George Clooney in the movie "Up In The Air" - The slower we move the faster we die. Make no mistake, moving is living.
lucifah
Jul 1 2013, 11:08 AM
St. Fu
QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 1 2013, 11:06 AM) Cannot bike, my (future) waifu is too petite  . Gotta get a car, a mini or compact one will do for the first 5 years minimum. Yep, house is really chicken & egg thingy. If I may ask, what is your personal opinion regarding this matter? ADD : Too bad hospital-provided apartment only applicable in the first 2 years, if I am not mistaken. Renting it is approximately RM 60 yer month!  stay with your mom and dad they'll appreciate the company and reduce the empty nest syndrome
lucifah
Jul 1 2013, 11:09 AM
St. Fu
QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 1 2013, 11:06 AM) ADD : Too bad hospital-provided apartment only applicable in the first 2 years, if I am not mistaken. Renting it is approximately RM 60 yer month!  if u stay outside, u can get housing allowance which is about a few hundred per month
lucifah
Jul 1 2013, 11:10 AM
St. Fu
QUOTE(acexii @ Jul 1 2013, 11:06 AM) Kinda remember a quote from George Clooney in the movie "Up In The Air" - The slower we move the faster we die. Make no mistake, moving is living.  good quote. but again, at some point u will have to settle down and think about your old age. u dun want to be at age 50 and still sending yrou kid to kindergarten. everyone will ask you, is that your grand son? ayam at that stage liao. quite late
Mr.Docter
Jul 1 2013, 11:11 AM
QUOTE(acexii @ Jul 1 2013, 11:06 AM) Kinda remember a quote from George Clooney in the movie "Up In The Air" - The slower we move the faster we die. Make no mistake, moving is living.  A kind of true. We follow opportunity, not waiting for them reaching our location just because we are too locked to get moving. Point taken, thanks for sharing the quote!
Mr.Docter
Jul 1 2013, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(lucifah @ Jul 1 2013, 11:08 AM) stay with your mom and dad they'll appreciate the company and reduce the empty nest syndrome Possible to comply, as current house is a walking distance from hospital  How about purchasing medium-cost house (max RM100k-150k) and try to settle within 10 years (doable considering the combined salary AND I am tied to gov for 10 years service). After that, get moving and leave the house for rent. OR it would be better to purely concentrate on ASB + AS1M and buying the (much) better house for permanent stay?
Mr.Docter
Jul 1 2013, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(lucifah @ Jul 1 2013, 11:09 AM) if u stay outside, u can get housing allowance which is about a few hundred per month  Did you friend mention how much the allowance? I'd receive the information from my senior whom currently doing her HO. Nett salary during HO : 4.5-5k inclusive the allowance and whatnot. Quite good. OR 3.5-4k, I am not sure. But I think 5k max inclusive all. This post has been edited by Mr.Docter: Jul 1 2013, 11:19 AM
Mr.Docter
Jul 1 2013, 11:21 AM
QUOTE(lucifah @ Jul 1 2013, 11:10 AM) good quote. but again, at some point u will have to settle down and think about your old age. u dun want to be at age 50 and still sending yrou kid to kindergarten. everyone will ask you, is that your grand son? ayam at that stage liao. quite late  You more than stable already, can start to get married la
lucifah
Jul 1 2013, 11:21 AM
St. Fu
QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 1 2013, 11:18 AM) Did you friend mention how much the allowance? I'd receive the information from my senior whom currently doing her HO. Nett salary during HO : 4.5-5k inclusive the allowance and whatnot. Quite good. OR 3.5-4k, I am not sure. But I think 5k max inclusive all. depends my sis in law got rm 800. but she's a U52.
acexii
Jul 1 2013, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 1 2013, 11:17 AM) Possible to comply, as current house is a walking distance from hospital Grab that opportunity.... How about purchasing medium-cost house (max RM100k-150k) and try to settle within 10 years (doable considering the combined salary AND I am tied to gov for 10 years service). After that, get moving and leave the house for rent. See, you got few option here. Choose which one closest to your target OR it would be better to purely concentrate on ASB + AS1M and buying the (much) better house for permanent stay? Will you stay there for the rest of your life or opt to some place when retired?
lucifah
Jul 2 2013, 04:14 PM
St. Fu
QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 1 2013, 11:17 AM) Possible to comply, as current house is a walking distance from hospital  How about purchasing medium-cost house (max RM100k-150k) and try to settle within 10 years (doable considering the combined salary AND I am tied to gov for 10 years service). After that, get moving and leave the house for rent. OR it would be better to purely concentrate on ASB + AS1M and buying the (much) better house for permanent stay? at your stage, it'd be better to develop your skills as a doctor be a specialist even govt specialist can earn about 12 - 15k per month don't try to be to specialized, like brain surgeon, not much market high in demands are oncology and orthopaedics
blasto
Jul 3 2013, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Jun 27 2013, 10:55 PM) So, paying without taking out the dividends first? How many years have to do so? Yes, Around 3-5years the longer the better, push the capital higher for high dividend return... Minus current year vs. previous year... he is selling every damm things & always forcing us to buy..
titanic_crash
Jul 3 2013, 07:28 PM

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 1 2013, 10:53 AM) Don't study anything yet regarding AS1M, but this sound doable. I don't know when I may reach this stage, as house & car loan should be the first to consider once you started working, yes? don't worry bro...u can buy the car with the dividend that u get... as for me, i've done the asb loan back in 2009...at the same time, also got the personal OD attch with asw cert... after 4 years which is this year, my dividend in asb is still intact, used my asw dividend for downpayment of car and also the monthly installment...still using my salary to pay my asb loan worth 250k and my wife asb loan worth 200k...
spikey2506
Jul 6 2013, 06:11 PM
As per BNM latest directive that personal loans must not exceed 10 years, I guess ASB loans fall under this too? Or is it not? Any bankers can clarify?
ResQ
Jul 7 2013, 08:48 AM
planning to get asb loan for 50k, which bank should i go? maybank or rhb?
anz87
Jul 9 2013, 03:08 PM
QUOTE(spikey2506 @ Jul 6 2013, 06:11 PM) As per BNM latest directive that personal loans must not exceed 10 years, I guess ASB loans fall under this too? Or is it not? Any bankers can clarify? not affect due to the asb loan is an investment loan not personal loan according to my banker... i just signed the agreement today for 50k
anz87
Jul 9 2013, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(ResQ @ Jul 7 2013, 08:48 AM) planning to get asb loan for 50k, which bank should i go? maybank or rhb? maybank due low interest and no lock in period
nyunyu
Jul 18 2013, 09:49 AM
Hey guys, sorry if I sound alien but reading about ASB loan makes me confused.
Say if I took 100k for 10 years, so to get good ROI I can terminate the loan after say 5 years and reap the profits? Meaning montly commitment would be around RM1667 correct?
nelanga
Jul 18 2013, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(nyunyu @ Jul 18 2013, 09:49 AM) Hey guys, sorry if I sound alien but reading about ASB loan makes me confused. Say if I took 100k for 10 years, so to get good ROI I can terminate the loan after say 5 years and reap the profits? Meaning montly commitment would be around RM1667 correct? i think better u saving urself.. my 1/2 cents coz u can use your 1667/month to lasb y not to ur ownself saving. 5 years u can reach 100k. here the schedule [URL=http://brunialamira.blogspot.com/p/jadual-simpan-asb.html] (my schedule  )
nyunyu
Jul 18 2013, 08:27 PM
Self savings for 5 years, not sure if can manage to reach 100k..lol..