ASB loan, worth to get it???

acexii
post Feb 18 2013, 06:00 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(Ulysses @ Feb 12 2013, 08:20 AM)
guys, wanna ask. can we change tenure n amount after we started one? I want to add amount. or rduce tenure period
Cannot simply do like that, either cancel the loan or make full settlement. If you using Maybank Islamic loan, you can cancel the previous loan & resubmit new application with your desire need.

For my pov, it better doing longest term with higher limit but that also depend with your repayment capability.
acexii
post Feb 20 2013, 04:41 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(kripton888 @ Feb 20 2013, 01:04 AM)
have any1 cancel asb loan before?
lets say u take a asb loan of 100k
when u cancel the asb loan what exactly happens to :

1. total monthly payment u have been paying for x years
2. loan amount 100k
3. dividend generated by asb from 100k
Which bank do you take the loan?
For Maybank Islamic, not penalty on early exit or cancelation. Others refer to loan agreement

1. use the ammotization table but it may not 100% accurate but you can figure it roughly
2. loan will be cancel. How much you will get back depend on your principal amout (calculate with ammo. table)
3. Dividend, yours to keep
acexii
post Jun 21 2013, 11:00 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(fr3ak0 @ Jun 21 2013, 10:05 AM)
Also you can install Financial Calculators app for Ios, Android or Window phone. Just input your figure, the app will lay the result for you. Even with monthly table.

For me, the best way doing the asb loan is cancel & reapply the again in 3 year. You will get extra $$ beside the dividend.
acexii
post Jun 21 2013, 03:38 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Jun 21 2013, 01:20 PM)
So, taking the loans, and pay monthly until the end of 25yrs gives you more?
Thought you already decided not to take asb loan...

Answer to your question is no. Use own money is better.
acexii
post Jun 21 2013, 03:47 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jun 21 2013, 03:41 PM)
actually you are neither right or wrong

there's a risk of increased BLR, or reduced dividend, or a combination of both

if all variables remain static, you earn approximately 1 - 2% more with ASB loan than using your own  money

depends if the 1-2% is worth the risk to that individual
Yup, I know but simple calculation based on present rate using own money still more $$ compare to loan.

But I myself still prefer loan compare to using own money. I can gain $$ with loan brows.gif
acexii
post Jun 21 2013, 05:30 PM

572 posts

You must understand with asb loan before you take it. It not simple as asb dividend - loan interest = gain. You must understand with term principal, interest, dividend & compound dividend.

Asb loan is not similar to personal loan or car loan but it more toward to house loan (each installment will reduce the principal)

And please do not served the loan till end of tenure, you will lose lot on your capital gain.

One of the method already shared by Masta Lucifar rclxms.gif
acexii
post Jun 22 2013, 01:17 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(mhisyam6 @ Jun 21 2013, 08:59 PM)
I'm thinking to buy a house first(RM100K++) then involve in asb loan.  Bcoz if not, I need to settle down 2 loan at a time and don't have money to treat my family.
Sir, you are correct that it is a heavy burden to carry 2 loan at the same time.

But, with asb loan you burden will reduced to minimun.

Year 2014, take asb loan for 200k for 25 years.

Monthly : RM1,170.00
Dividend 8% : RM16k

Year 2015, buy house RM100k++ for 25/30 years.

Monthly around : RM600/700.00

So, in 2015 monthly loan payment shd be RM1,170 + RM700 = RM1870.00 (yearly 1870*12=RM22,440)

You already have dividend for RM16k, only need to top up loan payment 22440-16k=6440. That less then RM600/month.

Repeat the situation till end of tenure, you get a house with RM200k cash. tongue.gif

p/s: it will depend on blr, high rate will need to fork more pocket money. Also a bit risky to get approval for housing loan when you already have RM200k loan.

acexii
post Jun 24 2013, 09:36 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(masami @ Jun 23 2013, 09:21 AM)
yes ur commitment i.e asb loan will be taken into consideration when applying a new loan. it will weigh down ur chances. but speaking from experience i hd no problem with my new loan provided tht u go for the same bank for ur mortgage or car loan.

better still, apply with the same officer. he/she will be more than happy to assist you. i personally did a check with maybank rhb and bank islam and was told that they dont count asb loan as commitments. that said it, i do think tht it depends on the officers as there is no clear cut guideline for this.
Agree, and asb dividend also can be considered as additional income.

acexii
post Jun 24 2013, 04:10 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(taysir17 @ Jun 24 2013, 03:44 PM)
Is it good if i terminate the my asb loan after 2 years?how much do you think i can get?its 150k for a period of 25 years. tx in advance!
Please consult your loan officer. Also check back your loan agreement on locking period, exit fee...

Make sure you understand the agreement before terminate the loan.
acexii
post Jun 28 2013, 12:02 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Jun 27 2013, 10:55 PM)
So, paying without taking out the dividends first?
How many years have to do so?
Accumulated by year-9 almost can reach 400k, but at the time you already fork out own money for almost 130k.
acexii
post Jun 30 2013, 10:14 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jun 30 2013, 02:33 PM)

1 - 200k loan for 25 years, yes?

2 - We can shorten the loan by lump-sum payment if we want too right?
1)cimb offer 30 year right now, maybank & rhb still 25 year max.

2) why you want to pay more money in return get less money?

Start asb loan whenever you have extra money spare. Afterward you can add more or cancel & reapply for higher loan.
acexii
post Jul 1 2013, 11:06 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Jul 1 2013, 10:56 AM)
no.

car = liability

house = asset, yes. but it locks you down to 1 place and u cant grow unless u willing to move out from that house
Kinda remember a quote from George Clooney in the movie "Up In The Air" - The slower we move the faster we die. Make no mistake, moving is living. nod.gif
acexii
post Jul 1 2013, 11:26 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jul 1 2013, 11:17 AM)
Possible to comply, as current house is a walking distance from hospital hmm.gif

Grab that opportunity....

How about purchasing medium-cost house (max RM100k-150k) and try to settle within 10 years (doable considering the combined salary AND I am tied to gov for 10 years service). After that, get moving and leave the house for rent.

See, you got few option here. Choose which one closest to your target

OR it would be better to purely concentrate on ASB + AS1M and buying the (much) better house for permanent stay?

Will you stay there for the rest of your life or opt to some place when retired?
acexii
post Jan 14 2014, 04:37 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Jan 14 2014, 04:07 PM)
why people make loan for asb?
Because of compounding dividend, gain more dividend.
Let say monthly you deposit 300 in asb. 1 year will be 3600 & dividend around 150 < -- monthly basis dividend calculation.

If loan, with 300 monthly you can get 50k loan. 1 year can get 3800 dividend.
(dividend rate =7.7%)

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Jan 14 2014, 04:07 PM)
let say I make 50k loan. Where the 50k go?
Same answer as above my post.
In form of certificate, held by the bank.
The amount will no show it the asb book but you can check at PNB office for the amount.
acexii
post Jan 14 2014, 11:48 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(luqe @ Jan 14 2014, 06:31 PM)
Depends on ur discipline and needs.
If u jenis yg no discipline, take asb loan...u hospitalized ka, kahwin ka, dapat anak ka, car broke down ka, petrol naik rege ka, mau beli rumah ka, u have to bayar to bank / terminate loan kalau xmampu bayar.

If u know cincai2 (after consider any unexpected event) u can save at least 1k a month, better don't sign for loan.
4 years ago i use loan coz wanna force to save. after 13 months i terminate to get money. That saved me during that day.
Now i know i got much spare so decide to not use asb. I did all the calculation in Excel and found out a very surprising fact:
Case scenario 1 : asb loan 100k term 10 yrs, monthy rm1059..
Total bayar ke bank: 1059*12*10 = rm127,080
Jumlah pendapatan (yearly div stays in asb, assume div 7%, include amount 100k): rm196,714
Untung bersih (money in asb after 10yrs - total pay to bank): rm69,634

Case scenario 2 : no loan, install rm1059 to asb monthly for 10 years..
Total bayar ke bank: rm0
Jumlah pendapatan (1059*12*10, consider all dividen assuming 7%, never withdraw $) : rm182,237
Untung bersih : rm182,237

Using Excel, correct me if wrong. U see? nearly triple profit compare to loan.
Which one is jumlah pendapatan higher? Case scenario 1 right?

Total to deposit to asb / payment to bank = 1059*12*10, right?

Which one is more "profitable"?
acexii
post Jan 16 2014, 09:15 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(luqe @ Jan 15 2014, 07:43 PM)
Pendapatan means the amount in ur asb account.
For case 1: amount in ur asb account is higher, but when deduct what u have paid to bank, the profit is lesser than asb without loan.
For case 2: amount in ur asb acc after 10 yrs is lesser, but u have nothing to deduct!! everything u pay is to ur own asb account and it's all yours. so..profit is higher.
I think you miscalculated a bit here. As you say Pendapatan means the amount in the asb account, so the total amount already nett apart from monthly installment to bank. hence it not need to deduct again.

case 1 ----> Your installment 1059*12*10 =127,080 but end of 10 year you will get 196,714

case 2 ---> Your installment 1059*12*10 =127,080 but end of 10 year you will get 182,237

Unless you go for 20 year or more, scenario case 2 will gain more money compare with case 1.

QUOTE(MonkeyDSoul @ Jan 16 2014, 12:08 AM)
Some people terminate because they plan to generate money short term (eg 3~5 years). If you take 200k loan ASB and terminate after 3 years, you can easily get approximately 70k. Terminate after 5 years, you can get around 125k. Then, you can use the money for many things you desire. Only have to be patient for short while.
Easy money, rinse & repeat.

acexii
post Jan 24 2014, 09:08 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Jan 24 2014, 12:56 AM)
i agree with yugimudo.. if you really need to calculate your loss then u only should deduct total bank interest for 10 yrs = RM27080.. in the end the 100k cert is yours! all in all asb loan still win, bcoz of the compounding dividend..

bro masabi if took 100k asb loan for 25 yrs and did not withdraw, at 10th yr asb total should be reach 210k.. is it a wise decision to take out portion of this dividend to clear the loan?

i also wanted to know why u recommend to terminate loan early.. thanks in advance!
To full utilize principal amount. Terminate within 3-5 year, you get dividend + principal amount.
acexii
post Jan 28 2014, 04:55 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(MonkeyDSoul @ Jan 28 2014, 02:54 PM)
Loan ASB Maybank Islamic dont have lock in period. Conventional not sure. How about CIMB?
RHB does have 2 year locking period but with a slight lower interest rate compare with Maybank & Cimb.

Also if you intro others to loan with RHB, can get $$$ commission from RHB.

0.0337sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:35 AM