izit recommended 2 study actuarial science at UTAR??
This post has been edited by shimy: Jul 10 2008, 08:07 PM
University UTAR comments plz, do you have other choice?
Jul 10 2008, 08:07 PM
381 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
izit recommended 2 study actuarial science at UTAR??
This post has been edited by shimy: Jul 10 2008, 08:07 PM |
Jul 10 2008, 08:07 PM
395 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
QUOTE(syjin @ Jul 10 2008, 06:20 PM) anyone can tell me whether subjects we studied before in KTAR can be exempted in UTAR? because i checked the website already and all i got is LAN exemption results only... O_O IINM, it should be possible. even from other uni, the lecturer will check through the sylabus to see whether an exemption is allowed. |
Jul 10 2008, 09:04 PM
2,214 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Jul 11 2008, 12:03 AM
80 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
Hello, I am currently studying at UTAR, PJ Campus. Yes, I have poor result in STPM. I must say, the environment here is not that horrible after all. I sit at foremost row almost every lecture, so I can hear properly what the lecturers said even if it's whispering.
No comment about the lecture halls, tutorial rooms. They are ok, most of the time. Just sometime, the air-conditioner does not work properly. Today is the first time I see power failure during lecture, but it was brief. I think I am lucky to have a set of kind lecturer. I heard from my friends that their lecturers are not so kind. I am actually searching the Net to do my lab report, when I stumbled upon here and remember I have an account here. Sorry for disturbing the conversation here. I got to pass up the report tomorrow and from the look of it, I am not going to make it on my own. On topic of Acturial Science: I have a friend who was very interested in Acturial Science. I believe he still do, just he got different course for public uni. He once tell me, that in the whole Malaysia there is only 23 real Actuaror (How ever it is spell). I ask him what it means, he say there is a lot of papers that you need to take. One Actuaror who he met say he spent 15 years to reach Master equivalent in Acturial Science. That person is working while studying, though. I have a friend who just enrolled into UTAR under Acturial Science degree. I can ask him, but I don't see much of him nowadays. This post has been edited by Draconian Paladin: Jul 11 2008, 12:06 AM |
Jul 11 2008, 09:23 PM
381 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(mphpopular @ Jul 10 2008, 09:04 PM) How was your result. What i can say is AS is very tough subject. I shall rate it as high tough subject. So, think twice my results ah ... hmm .. can consider ok lor ...but not very very excellent .. juz ok only .... i took a-levels ..now still waiting 4 results .....but my A2 is HORRIBLE .. so i duno wat kind of result i ll get ....hopefully not very bad ... de main reason i wanna take actuarial science is bcz i love maths ... i hope i can take a course dat involves lotz of calculations like maths ... my 2nd option is applied maths v computing ... anyhow..my main worry is i m not sure whether i can get into UTAR 4 these courses or not based on my results |
Jul 11 2008, 11:38 PM
QUOTE(weihao2005 @ Jul 9 2008, 02:33 AM) since parking fees alreadi taken rm300 and they accept cash..why not resit paper..pretty erhm..... I've actually checked out your claim that they have to pay for the facilities they used. btw..i reconfirm..that the society need to pay for classroom and facilities if they wanted to use them... i was in the comittee currently..and i its applying about playing for facilites for society..hm... i snap a pic for the charges..but its not clear..>.<..can't post it.. Sorry bout my earlier mistake, you were partially right, societies are supposed to pay for the use of rooms/lecture halls/other facilities. However, this money doesnt technically come out from their pocket, as UTAR credits a few hundred into their account for the use of this so called rental. But from what i understand, this is only a plan, on paper, they budget for all those rental, but there isnt any official deduction or receipt or anything. Since ur in FES, mind sharing what society ur in, since you've seen the receipt before? If you dont want to reveal it here, can send me a PM. |
Jul 11 2008, 11:49 PM
2,214 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(shimy @ Jul 11 2008, 09:23 PM) my results ah ... hmm .. can consider ok lor ... Bcoz it is a tough subject. You should get more opinion from those AS student in order before you make any big decision. Study is part of your road, make your decision wisely. but not very very excellent .. juz ok only .... i took a-levels ..now still waiting 4 results .....but my A2 is HORRIBLE .. so i duno wat kind of result i ll get ....hopefully not very bad ... de main reason i wanna take actuarial science is bcz i love maths ... i hope i can take a course dat involves lotz of calculations like maths ... my 2nd option is applied maths v computing ... anyhow..my main worry is i m not sure whether i can get into UTAR 4 these courses or not based on my results Juz think you love MATHS or Number??? As i knew, many AS student complaint to me that after they went into AS, they only found out they love NUMBER not MATHS. MATh is math which is differ to NUMBERS. This is all i can provide. QUOTE(SuN_RaE198 @ Jul 11 2008, 11:38 PM) I've actually checked out your claim that they have to pay for the facilities they used. Thanks for your help, we all appreciate it. ThanksSorry bout my earlier mistake, you were partially right, societies are supposed to pay for the use of rooms/lecture halls/other facilities. However, this money doesnt technically come out from their pocket, as UTAR credits a few hundred into their account for the use of this so called rental. But from what i understand, this is only a plan, on paper, they budget for all those rental, but there isnt any official deduction or receipt or anything. Since ur in FES, mind sharing what society ur in, since you've seen the receipt before? If you dont want to reveal it here, can send me a PM. Added on July 14, 2008, 6:54 pmLatest news for AS students. All AS students will be remain in PJ campus. As there is a student, ask is it we should improve our facilities over PJ campus bcoz there is a big gap over uTAR kampar and PJ. What doc TOH answer-ing is, My responsibility is to teaching, this kind of problem go over DSA. I'm curious, we should refer this development problem to whom? DSA push the responsiblity to Head of Department, then Head push back to DSA. This post has been edited by mphpopular: Jul 14 2008, 06:54 PM |
Jul 15 2008, 11:29 AM
14 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
I have recently completed my Diploma in Animal Health & Production with a CGPA of only 2.77
What are my chances of getting into UTAR's Biomed course? Will it be conducted in KL or Kampar? Thank you! |
Jul 15 2008, 08:22 PM
57 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
i think it will be conducted in kampar since some bio stream now moving to kampar next year
Jul 15 2008, 11:03 PM
516 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
QUOTE(farmer @ Jul 15 2008, 11:29 AM) I have recently completed my Diploma in Animal Health & Production with a CGPA of only 2.77 tell u d truth...its much easier to get d course u want in private uni... What are my chances of getting into UTAR's Biomed course? Will it be conducted in KL or Kampar? Thank you! |
Jul 15 2008, 11:08 PM
Jul 16 2008, 10:09 AM
Are you one of the BioMed students?
What are the numbers like normally? What are the requirements like? This post has been edited by farmer: Jul 16 2008, 10:09 AM |
Jul 16 2008, 12:19 PM
20 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(CaptWong @ Apr 5 2008, 07:04 PM) That's all i have to say.. If you do not agree on what i've said... feel free to reply my post.. I love to reply to critics about UTAR... coz in this way, i can practise my english and writing skills and i can also defend my university which is a place that i strongly recommend others to come to get their tertiary education.. Cheers~~ hehe..yes i do have to agree that utar is by far the best around which offers a quality education at a reasonable price. more over, the price can be covered with ptptn loan! i must say that my first year's lecturers in UTAR FES are not that wonderful but as the semester goes, the lecturers are getting better in terms of everything (preparation, language and knowledge)..so i can say, bear with the year 1 semester 1 and you can see a better lecturers in the coming semester |
Jul 16 2008, 12:19 PM
449 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE Juz think you love MATHS or Number??? As i knew, many AS student complaint to me that after they went into AS, they only found out they love NUMBER not MATHS. MATh is math which is differ to NUMBERS. very true, on top of that, do u love the teories and the reason why certain therom exist? U will be learning how to prove and why probability exist and such. AS student here, aih...... honestly i hate maths, but if tehre is a willt here is a way. It takes roughtly 10 years to complete the external exam after graduation. But my fren is trying to complete it within 3 years. Some will just go thru it. Trust me, dont think that i am not good in this subject can skip la, kau tim others first, dun care abotu this subject, then ur very wrong. Cuz at the end of the day, almost every single subject i a pre-requisit for the other subject, and even if the subjuct is not pre requisit, inside u will find what u have learned before previouslly. btw, alot of people complain there is no time. I am an as student, last week i have 2 exams, one on friday and one on wednesday, this week, i have exams on mon, wed and friday and an assignment due on friday, next week i have another assignment due on thursday and 2 exams on friday. U will be constantly facing exams. I semester there is roughly 6 subjects and assuming only 5 subjects has 4 test each, in total there is 20 test. Our sem is only 14 weeks. So..... every week test lor... anyway, if u are able to stand thru hectic times and not fall down easily, then i can see that u have a shot in AS field, but if u are a person who give up easily upon hardship, then i think better dun waste money lor..... Anyway, even maths genius have to cope with huge amount of work. |
Jul 16 2008, 12:56 PM
20 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
wokay..took some time and ran through the thread. so far...i've read that FYP under dr. alan is not recommended while thumbs up for Dr. Woo...
anymore seniors are able to share more? hehee...am going to select the topics and have to submit them up in 2 weeks time. you know, the LA told us to select something which we are confident to score in..not something out of interest....so maybe i'll scrap cancer related titles by Dr. Ng and take some molecular related ones instead. haha..why so is 'coz dr. ng's titles scare the heck out of me. due to my lack of knowledge, the titles don't make any sense to me...but whatever it is....i supposed i'll consult him before making any final decisions. one thing for sure though is that i wouldn't take dr. wong's seaweeds related title...not my cuppa. so seniors...time to share? LOL...thanks in advance. and .. calling for akane! hehee...seems like you know a lot about utar eh? so i might as well ask ya...if there was any commemoration ball held before in FES utar? no right? I have yet to hear of any (maybe i'm wrong)...because i would really love to plan one for the '09 graduates. (have you graduated already?) any insights? This post has been edited by jenzl: Jul 16 2008, 12:57 PM |
Jul 16 2008, 03:09 PM
So guys and girls, hoping to meet you all in UTAR this January!
Jul 16 2008, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(farmer @ Jul 16 2008, 10:09 AM) Are you one of the BioMed students? No, not a biomed student, but biochem. The seniors are only a small number, like around 50 or 100, but the juniors are more, growing every semester. Requirements for STPM/A levels/Foundation? There's actually a biomed final year student around, see if he comes here. What are the numbers like normally? What are the requirements like? QUOTE(jenzl @ Jul 16 2008, 12:56 PM) wokay..took some time and ran through the thread. so far...i've read that FYP under dr. alan is not recommended while thumbs up for Dr. Woo... anymore seniors are able to share more? hehee...am going to select the topics and have to submit them up in 2 weeks time. you know, the LA told us to select something which we are confident to score in..not something out of interest....so maybe i'll scrap cancer related titles by Dr. Ng and take some molecular related ones instead. haha..why so is 'coz dr. ng's titles scare the heck out of me. due to my lack of knowledge, the titles don't make any sense to me...but whatever it is....i supposed i'll consult him before making any final decisions. one thing for sure though is that i wouldn't take dr. wong's seaweeds related title...not my cuppa. so seniors...time to share? LOL...thanks in advance. and .. calling for akane! hehee...seems like you know a lot about utar eh? so i might as well ask ya...if there was any commemoration ball held before in FES utar? no right? I have yet to hear of any (maybe i'm wrong)...because i would really love to plan one for the '09 graduates. (have you graduated already?) any insights? |
Jul 16 2008, 06:05 PM
Requirements for Diploma students. I have recently completed a Diploma in UPM.
Jul 16 2008, 06:08 PM
Jul 16 2008, 10:20 PM