71 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

University UTAR comments plz, do you have other choice?

SuN_RaE198
post Jul 16 2008, 10:37 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(jenzl @ Jul 16 2008, 10:20 PM)
hehee...nice to know you...I'm in biotech course. I seriously do not know because I'm actually interested in cancer research and was an intern at institute of medical research during my 2nd sem. i was placed in the molecular department. so...i have some basics in molecular work and..some in their NPC research. only very basics stuff~lah....so....haihz..never mind...i think the first choice will still be molecular work...rite?

at least more safe.....uhmm...rite?

opinions?
sweat.gif i think ur in one of my classes this semester. tongue.gif instrumental methods.

Haha. What you did sounds very familiar. I was attached to the biochemistry dept during my IA, doing cancer research as well. laugh.gif doing mostly molecular work and immunology. doh.gif

Did you get the FYP titles today? I am also considering choosing molecular related FYP titles, but i guess the competition will be quite tough. sad.gif
shimy
post Jul 16 2008, 10:45 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Jul 16 2008, 12:19 PM)
very true, on top of that, do u love the teories and the reason why certain therom exist? U will be learning how to prove and why probability exist and such.

AS student here, aih......

honestly i hate maths, but if tehre is a willt here is a way.

It takes roughtly 10 years to complete the external exam after graduation. But my fren is trying to complete it within 3 years. Some will just go thru it. Trust me, dont think that i am not good in this subject can skip la, kau tim others first, dun care abotu this subject, then ur very wrong. Cuz at the end of the day, almost every single subject i a pre-requisit for the other subject, and even if the subjuct is not pre requisit, inside u will find what u have learned before previouslly.

btw, alot of people complain there is no time. I am an as student, last week i have 2 exams, one on friday and one on wednesday, this week, i have exams on mon, wed and friday and an assignment due on friday, next week i have another assignment due on thursday and 2 exams on friday. U will be constantly facing exams. I semester there is roughly 6 subjects and assuming only 5 subjects has 4 test each, in total there is 20 test. Our sem is only 14 weeks. So..... every week test lor...

anyway, if u are able to stand thru hectic times and not fall down easily, then i can see that u have a shot in AS field, but if u are a person who give up easily upon hardship, then i think better dun waste money lor..... Anyway, even maths genius have to cope with huge amount of work.
hey ... u r an AS student?? how is it studying AS???wat result u used 2 enroll?u now in de 2nd year of it?
y would u take maths if u hate it??
can u tell me more how de classes 4 AS??how r de lecturers 4 dis course?r dey experienced n gud enuf??
i m really interested in dis course ..it's my main option ..my 2nd option would b applied maths ....
wats de difference between these 2 courses??dey seems 2 b omos de same ...

This post has been edited by shimy: Jul 16 2008, 10:46 PM
Akane
post Jul 17 2008, 09:02 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(farmer @ Jul 15 2008, 11:29 AM)
I have recently completed my Diploma in Animal Health & Production with a CGPA of only 2.77 sad.gif

What are my chances of getting into UTAR's Biomed course? Will it be conducted in KL or Kampar?

Thank you!
QUOTE(farmer @ Jul 16 2008, 06:05 PM)
Requirements for Diploma students. I have recently completed a Diploma in UPM.
Oooo. You can always try to apply. But, there is always a tight competition for places in Biomed. Good luck dude !

QUOTE(jenzl @ Jul 16 2008, 12:56 PM)
wokay..took some time and ran through the thread. so far...i've read that FYP under dr. alan is not recommended while thumbs up for Dr. Woo...

anymore seniors are able to share more? hehee...am going to select the topics and have to submit them up in 2 weeks time. you know, the LA told us to select something which we are confident to score in..not something out of interest....so maybe i'll scrap cancer related titles by Dr. Ng and take some molecular related ones instead.

haha..why so is 'coz dr. ng's titles scare the heck out of me. due to my lack of knowledge, the titles don't make any sense to me...but whatever it is....i supposed i'll consult him before making any final decisions.

one thing for sure though is that i wouldn't take dr. wong's seaweeds related title...not my cuppa.

so seniors...time to share? LOL...thanks in advance.
and .. calling for akane! hehee...seems like you know a lot about utar eh? so i might as well ask ya...if there was any commemoration ball held before in FES utar?
no right? I have yet to hear of any (maybe i'm wrong)...because i would really love to plan one for the '09 graduates. (have you graduated already?)
any insights?
Wooo, judging from your post, I guess you must be from Biotech. Nice to meet ya !
Herm, I dont think they have organized any ball/graduation dinner in FES yet. So far, I know there is a graduation dinner for final year students every year, organized by UTAR in hotel ballroom. Maybe you can try to organize one in FES, I'm very much willing to participate if anything materialize.

p/s: I'm in the same batch as Sun Rae, Y3S1 Biochemistry

QUOTE(SuN_RaE198 @ Jul 16 2008, 04:57 PM)
No, not a biomed student, but biochem. The seniors are only a small number, like around 50 or 100, but the juniors are more, growing every semester. Requirements for STPM/A levels/Foundation? There's actually a biomed final year student around, see if he comes here. tongue.gif
laugh.gif So this sem many are gona choose Dr Woo? She's very likely to "shoot" you if you dont know the basics or dont take the initiative to search before you ask. Mind me asking what course are you in? We'll be picking FYP titles as well. biggrin.gif
whistling.gif Molecular titles are also in high demand, so i guess really need to be in the lecturer's good books.
Darn. Dr Woo = proteomics. I see protein also scare liao. Herm, considering about Dr Kho and Dr Choo (izit). Both have some interesting projects over there. Dr Hii's fermentation project is another interesting thing to do. Tried it before during my training, culturing actinomyces in a 2 L fermenter. Blardy syiok. But when it comes to waste treatment time, its a blardy complex and time wasting process. Lol.

QUOTE(jenzl @ Jul 16 2008, 10:20 PM)
hehee...nice to know you...I'm in biotech course. I seriously do not know because I'm actually interested in cancer research and was an intern at institute of medical research during my 2nd sem. i was placed in the molecular department. so...i have some basics in molecular work and..some in their NPC research. only very basics stuff~lah....so....haihz..never mind...i think the first choice will still be molecular work...rite?

at least more safe.....uhmm...rite?

opinions?
Weee, my guess is correct ! You are from Biotech. Group wat then ?

Cancer stuff, I guess you can ask more about it from the Cancer research team. There are some projects that are yet to be announced, it could be related to that. But so far, most are related to epidemology studies only a few are wet lab work. Haha. I'm planning to choose molecular work also. But abit worried about the competition.

This post has been edited by Akane: Jul 17 2008, 09:03 PM
jenzl
post Jul 21 2008, 05:54 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(SuN_RaE198 @ Jul 16 2008, 10:37 PM)
sweat.gif i think ur in one of my classes this semester. tongue.gif instrumental methods.

Haha. What you did sounds very familiar. I was attached to the biochemistry dept during my IA, doing cancer research as well. laugh.gif doing mostly molecular work and immunology. doh.gif

Did you get the FYP titles today? I am also considering choosing molecular related FYP titles, but i guess the competition will be quite tough. sad.gif
yeap..got it...sighs...already round up the 6 titles...so what's next? have to make an appt with the lecturer?
and yea yea wink.gif am in the IM class too!

Added on July 21, 2008, 6:00 pm
QUOTE(Akane @ Jul 17 2008, 09:02 PM)
So far, I know there is a graduation dinner for final year students every year, organized by UTAR in hotel ballroom. Maybe you can try to organize one in FES, I'm very much willing to participate if anything materialize.

oh...you mean for all the courses?
hahaa..i really had the semangat before this...typing letters and stuff...but now...the fire seems to be going off. maybe will shrink into something smaller...just for the biotech group perhaps..if it's confirmed that nothing is on for the graduates
p/s: I'm in the same batch as Sun Rae, Y3S1 Biochemistry
Darn. Dr Woo = proteomics. I see protein also scare liao. Herm, considering about Dr Kho and Dr Choo (izit). Both have some interesting projects over there. Dr Hii's fermentation project is another interesting thing to do. Tried it before during my training, culturing actinomyces in a 2 L fermenter. Blardy syiok. But when it comes to waste treatment time, its a blardy complex and time wasting process. Lol.
Weee, my guess is correct ! You are from Biotech. Group wat then ?

Cancer stuff, I guess you can ask more about it from the Cancer research team. There are some projects that are yet to be announced, it could be related to that. But so far, most are related to epidemology studies only a few are wet lab work. Haha. I'm planning to choose molecular work also. But abit worried about the competition.
sounds pretty interesting training you had there!
so you've chose your 6 titles?
btw...i'm in group 2 wink.gif

This post has been edited by jenzl: Jul 21 2008, 06:01 PM
SuN_RaE198
post Jul 21 2008, 08:10 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(jenzl @ Jul 21 2008, 05:54 PM)
yeap..got it...sighs...already round up the 6 titles...so what's next? have to make an appt with the lecturer?

hahaa..i really had the semangat before this...typing letters and stuff...but now...the fire seems to be going off. maybe will shrink into something smaller...just for the biotech group perhaps..if it's confirmed that nothing is on for the graduates
laugh.gif thats fast. i havent even found the top6 titles i am interested in. doh.gif Not many places for molecular stuff this sem. Expecting a tough fight if i decide to apply for that.

Yup, make appointment, talk bout the project i guess. Hopefully the lecturers are free. biggrin.gif
Akane
post Jul 21 2008, 09:18 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(jenzl @ Jul 21 2008, 05:54 PM)

I have rounded 8 for myself. But my interest are only at the top 3. Still undecided to put which one as first choice yet. Hehe.

Yeah, the training in that particular MNC was interesting ! In fact, the Final Year Project List, a few project is related to the project I was involved there. But not sure whether wanna repeat the same thing again, since most of it involve a lot of Microbiology work. I am more into Molecular Biology experimental techniques stuff.

Eh, group 2 ! Haha. So you must know See Yee, Cheng Zu, Zi Yi there ? Haha.

QUOTE(SuN_RaE198 @ Jul 21 2008, 08:10 PM)
laugh.gif thats fast. i havent even found the top6 titles i am interested in. doh.gif Not many places for molecular stuff this sem. Expecting a tough fight if i decide to apply for that.

Yup, make appointment, talk bout the project i guess. Hopefully the lecturers are free. biggrin.gif
Haha. I have a strong interest in Dr. Kho and Dr. Soon's project. Dr. Kim's G6PD project are kinda interesting as well. But, the scope is Molecular ? What does she meant by there ? Molecular Biology work, or some sort of epidemology and statistical work ?

This post has been edited by Akane: Jul 21 2008, 09:19 PM
aki_067
post Jul 21 2008, 10:22 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Akane @ Jul 21 2008, 09:18 PM)
I have rounded 8 for myself. But my interest are only at the top 3. Still undecided to put which one as first choice yet. Hehe.

Yeah, the training in that particular MNC was interesting ! In fact, the Final Year Project List, a few project is related to the project I was involved there. But not sure whether wanna repeat the same thing again, since most of it involve a lot of Microbiology work. I am more into Molecular Biology experimental techniques stuff.

Eh, group 2 ! Haha. So you must know See Yee, Cheng Zu, Zi Yi there ? Haha.
Haha. I have a strong interest in Dr. Kho and Dr. Soon's project. Dr. Kim's G6PD project are kinda interesting as well. But, the scope is Molecular ? What does she meant by there ? Molecular Biology work, or some sort of epidemology and statistical work ?
Dr.Kim is very strict.
I think she is quite demanding in students' work.
Many students are pressured being taught by her....
but she is good.
dun forget....
she is strict...

i can't find any interesting topics to do for my fyp..........
sigh*
all seems so difficult.......
but i die die also want to choose wet lab
SuN_RaE198
post Jul 21 2008, 10:33 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(aki_067 @ Jul 21 2008, 10:22 PM)
Dr.Kim is very strict.
but she is good.
dun forget....
she is strict...

sigh*
laugh.gif i agree. doing dry lab kindof takes the fun out of doing a project. biggrin.gif

are you from biotech or biomed? dr kim doesnt seem to be that strict, in class la. FYP i duno. smile.gif

aki_067
post Jul 21 2008, 10:38 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(SuN_RaE198 @ Jul 21 2008, 10:33 PM)
laugh.gif i agree. doing dry lab kindof takes the fun out of doing a project. biggrin.gif

are you from biotech or biomed? dr kim doesnt seem to be that strict, in class la. FYP i duno. smile.gif
I"m from biomed.
but but dr.kim is quite scarry at times.........
she is erm........no easy to get along with.......
and she will definitely won't spoon feed her students....
SuN_RaE198
post Jul 21 2008, 11:03 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(aki_067 @ Jul 21 2008, 10:38 PM)
I"m from biomed.
Haha. I dont want to find those lecturers which are too easy. Spoon feeding means nothing much will be learnt anyway.

But you are scaring us. laugh.gif will need to reconsider.

aki_067
post Jul 21 2008, 11:28 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(SuN_RaE198 @ Jul 21 2008, 11:03 PM)
Haha. I dont want to find those lecturers which are too easy. Spoon feeding means nothing much will be learnt anyway.

But you are scaring us. laugh.gif will need to reconsider.
ahahaha....
it's just my personal opinion.
spoon feeding is not reli that bad... i would die if the lecturer just throw me all by myself.....i might blow up the machines in the lab accidently........heheh....
i'm still waiting for dr.anthony's title to be out.
might be doing his projects or dr.chew's.
Akane
post Jul 22 2008, 02:01 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(aki_067 @ Jul 21 2008, 10:22 PM)
Dr.Kim is very strict.
but she is good.
dun forget....
she is strict...

sigh*
There are a few interesting work. But it seems those are the highly in demand wan. Haha. Jz list down your choice and consult the lecturer first. Decide later.

QUOTE(aki_067 @ Jul 21 2008, 10:38 PM)
I"m from biomed.
Haha, I dont expect lecturers to spoon feed me cause I think I am indepedent enuff and motivated enuff to conduct works by myself. But getting along is another point. I can talk for hours with Dr Soon, but never talk to Dr Kim before. And getting along with lecturers is a serious point to consider. Hehe. I dont expect to face a "black face" woman/man day and nite throughout my FYP.

This post has been edited by Akane: Jul 22 2008, 02:03 AM
aki_067
post Jul 22 2008, 05:36 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Akane @ Jul 22 2008, 02:01 AM)
There are a few interesting work. But it seems those are the highly in demand wan. Haha. Jz list down your choice and consult the lecturer first. Decide later.
Haha, I dont expect lecturers to spoon feed me cause I think I am indepedent enuff and motivated enuff to conduct works by myself. But getting along is another point. I can talk for hours with Dr Soon, but never talk to Dr Kim before. And getting along with lecturers is a serious point to consider. Hehe. I dont expect to face a "black face" woman/man day and nite throughout my FYP.
dr soon can really talk alot............she's worse than my grandmother...hahaha....but she is indeed a nice lecturer.

went to see a few lecturers today regarding fyp.

there are a few projects on cancer cells such as the projects from dr.anthony, and dr.chew.

I'm almost done with my research.
i've decided my top 3....just dunno which one to put 1st, 2nd and 3rd....gosh...headache.....
Akane
post Jul 22 2008, 07:53 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(aki_067 @ Jul 22 2008, 05:36 PM)
dr soon can really talk alot............she's worse than my grandmother...hahaha....but she is indeed a nice lecturer.

went to see a few lecturers today regarding fyp.

there are a few projects on cancer cells such as the projects from dr.anthony, and dr.chew.

I'm almost done with my research.
i've decided my top 3....just dunno which one to put 1st, 2nd and 3rd....gosh...headache.....
Wow. You see those lecturer liao ah ? Planning to see them on Thursday. Haha.
jenzl
post Jul 23 2008, 12:17 AM

20 posts

haha...just too bad I don't have any chance to be the mentioned lecturers' students. I wonder if they will be teaching me in the 2nd sem (forgotten what subjects I will be having in 2nd sem..LOL...all I remember is fermentation...and btw dr. hii is really friendly wink.gif )

so far I've went to consult several lecturers who are not in my considerations but it's good to know what their projects are all about. tmrw, i'll be consulting those whose titles are of my interest. i hope they are all available at the time when I go!

oh..yea! I know see yee and cheng zhu they all..LOL..wah...seems like they famous wey?

btw..i too agree with "die die also want wet lab" statement. I die hard want wet lab...hahaa..if not, why wanna be in the course? seriously, doing stats although bearable but in the long run, if I'm asked to do stats every single day (makan stats, tidur stats, hidup stats style), I will really 'die hard'...hahahaa....i'm just not a maths person.

and i don't think i'll want to do anything which requires me to collect my own sample. first off, to me it's pretty risky (though it is so even with molecular work...at times, much more risky)...and second...haha...(referring to dr. sit's title)...collect plants! I seriously don't know which is which....i mean....ah...they seemingly look the same to me (now).

and of course...due to many many reasons, I wouldn't pick dr. wong ching lee's title. (although she is a nice lady..no pun intended)
aki_067
post Jul 23 2008, 12:33 AM

42 posts

actually there's many great lecturers teaching biomed students.
I'm just so glad that i'm taught by them...
well, i'm not sure about biotech students and biochem....
but biochem and biomed has a few combined subjects right? so we tend to have same lecturer.

wet lab will be my final decision!
but i'm kinda worried abt culturing human cells bcoz i neva learn that b4....

hey jenzl,
which projects r u interested in and who r the lecturers in charging?
Akane
post Jul 23 2008, 09:17 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(jenzl @ Jul 23 2008, 12:17 AM)
haha...just too bad I don't have any chance to be the mentioned lecturers' students. I wonder if they will be teaching me in the 2nd sem (forgotten what subjects I will be having in 2nd sem..LOL...all I remember is fermentation...and btw dr. hii is really friendly wink.gif  )

so far I've went to consult several lecturers who are not in my considerations but it's good to know what their projects are all about. tmrw, i'll be consulting those whose titles are of my interest. i hope they are all available at the time when I go!

oh..yea! I know see yee and cheng zhu they all..LOL..wah...seems like they famous wey?

btw..i too agree with "die die also want wet lab" statement. I die hard want wet lab...hahaa..if not, why wanna be in the course? seriously, doing stats although bearable but in the long run, if I'm asked to do stats every single day (makan stats, tidur stats, hidup stats style), I will really 'die hard'...hahahaa....i'm just not a maths person.

and i don't think i'll want to do anything which requires me to collect my own sample. first off, to me it's pretty risky (though it is so even with molecular work...at times, much more risky)...and second...haha...(referring to dr. sit's title)...collect plants! I seriously don't know which is which....i mean....ah...they seemingly look the same to me (now).

and of course...due to many many reasons, I wouldn't pick dr. wong ching lee's title. (although she is a nice lady..no pun intended)
Yeah, so far Dr. Hii is really nice. Same goes to Dr. Soon. Seriously, these types of lecturers are those that I can get along well.

Hehe, to be frank with you, I was part of Biotech foundation student as well. Jz that, I changed into Biochemistry during y1s1. Hence, dont be suprised if I can name a lot Biotech student. Cheng Zu, Woie Kit were part of my gang during my foundation years. Lol.

Collecting your sample could be very fun, but you might not get expected result. Dr Sit's title are for those plant maniac. My friend is aiming for that, and he is preparing a proposal now for him.

QUOTE(aki_067 @ Jul 23 2008, 12:33 AM)
actually there's many great lecturers teaching biomed students.
I'm just so glad that i'm taught by them...
well, i'm not sure about biotech students and biochem....
but biochem and biomed has a few combined subjects right? so we tend to have same lecturer.

wet lab will be my final decision!
but i'm kinda worried abt culturing human cells bcoz i neva learn that b4....

hey jenzl,
which projects r u interested in and who r the lecturers in charging?
Haha. Great lecturers. I have a few too. But we Biochem student tend to irritate the lecturer as well. Its no suprise if a lecturer compared my batch of students with other batch of students. And mostly those lecturers will make bad comment about us in front of them. Its so evil of them.
aki_067
post Jul 23 2008, 10:46 PM

42 posts

it seems like there r a few of us here who is gonna start our FYP soon yeah?

I need some opinion from you all regarding my FYP selection.

my chosen top 2 titles:
1. gene expression studies of transcription involved in the control and regulation of lipoprotein metabolism, acute phase response and inflammation....
(mostly molecular work:PCR, DNA extraction, electrophoresis...)
(dr.chew)

2.Combined effect of photodynamic therapy and chemotherapeutic effect against human cancer cell
(cell culture, electrophoresis, flow cytometry)
(dr.anthony)

i dunno which one to put in 1st choice.....both also i wan.....uurrgghhhh!!! doh.gif
i kept thinking about it day and nite.......makan, tidur also kept thinking abt fyp.......damn kanasai......

both projects involves culturing cancer cells which is interesting and topic 1 involves cloning which sound even more interesting. both lecturers are great. i heard from senior that dr. anthony even brought his students to library and pick books for them to read....
Akane
post Jul 23 2008, 11:49 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(aki_067 @ Jul 23 2008, 10:46 PM)
it seems like there r a few of us here who is gonna start our FYP soon yeah?

I need some opinion from you all regarding my FYP selection.

my chosen top 2 titles:
1. gene expression studies of transcription involved in the control and regulation of lipoprotein metabolism, acute phase response and inflammation....
(mostly molecular work:PCR, DNA extraction, electrophoresis...)
(dr.chew)

2.Combined effect of photodynamic therapy and chemotherapeutic effect against human cancer cell
(cell culture, electrophoresis, flow cytometry)
(dr.anthony)

i dunno which one to put in 1st choice.....both also i wan.....uurrgghhhh!!! doh.gif
i kept thinking about it day and nite.......makan, tidur also kept thinking abt fyp.......damn kanasai......

both projects involves culturing cancer cells which is interesting and topic 1 involves cloning which sound even more interesting. both lecturers are great. i heard from senior that dr. anthony even brought his students to library and pick books for them to read....
Wow. Both are interesting stuff. But I dont like cancer cell much, hence its not my cup of tea. Prefer to do something related to industrial uses/ plantation biochemistry. biggrin.gif

Dont know how 2 projects are run, since I'm not that familiar with cancer cell stuff. But, a piece of advice, its relatively hard to get good result when PCR is involve. Unless the lab is super clean, else your stuff could be contaminated easily. Especially when you are sharing the lab with so many students. A good tips for you, try to ask your senior which lecturer is not so result oriented. Lecturer that are result oriented will tend to give a hard time to the student, by asking the student to repeat till everything is "perfect".
aki_067
post Jul 24 2008, 12:08 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(Akane @ Jul 23 2008, 11:49 PM)
Wow. Both are interesting stuff. But I dont like cancer cell much, hence its not my cup of tea. Prefer to do something related to industrial uses/ plantation biochemistry. biggrin.gif

Dont know how 2 projects are run, since I'm not that familiar with cancer cell stuff. But, a piece of advice, its relatively hard to get good result when PCR is involve. Unless the lab is super clean, else your stuff could be contaminated easily. Especially when you are sharing the lab with so many students. A good tips for you, try to ask your senior which lecturer is not so result oriented. Lecturer that are result oriented will tend to give a hard time to the student, by asking the student to repeat till everything is "perfect".
thanks akane.
your comments r much appreciate...i shall talk with my seniors.

actually i dun really like anything that has got to do with PCR, protein purification, chromatographic and stuffs lor...but many exp involves PCR...can't avoid from it...majority of my coursemates also dun like PCR bcoz of the lecturer and the teaching assistant who taught us last time was errr......( i guess u should know who i meant..heheh)

the thing is, i plan to study master's in future so i think that i will be able to learn more by doing wet lab and PCR is the so-called basic method one must know, as well as gel electrophoresis etc right? *sigh*

no offense akane but I dislike anything which has to do with plants.....
i prefer bacteria or animal related stuff...
i guess we have diff affection...

71 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:16 AM