University UTAR comments plz, do you have other choice?

TSmphpopular
post Apr 1 2008, 06:29 PM, updated 18y ago

bar chartist
2,214 posts

For a stpm student, if you household not generating a high monthly income, and your result not as well as you expect, and public Uni do not give wat you want.

At laz, what choice do you have except UTAR.

Why UTAR?
- fees cheap
- 3 years for degree
- choice less
- the one and only sound nice bcoz named University

Ppl often ask me, why dun KTAR?
- SPM student will still going for ktar, bcoz 2year diploma, 2 year advance diploma
- but STPM student hav no choice, imposible you wan them after spending 2 years for form 6, now spending 4 more years for advanced diploma?
- lastly, STPM willl go for UTAR

Am i a supporter of UTAR? no no no
I juz wan to let u know, UTAR is not as good as you think also.

You know what happened to foundation new intake student? last year is rm 4000 ++ for foudation studies, this year bcome rm 7000++, our inflation rates also did not exceed 100%, but UTAR inflation already gone until 90%, scary.

Don't expect UTAR having a olympic size swimming pool like KTAR or other colleges, the cocuriculum activity can be considered 0, what you willl saw is those, maths society, english society etc.

The worse thing, Utar degree year 3 student (havent graduate) but teaching utar foundation students?

Equipment like classroom o mic o sound system, broken.

Juz to let you know all this, but you still can choose for it, cause i heard they are building a new campus in KAMPAR.
But heard ppl said they pakat wif the construction company, cause all the house beside the UTAR kampar is belong to the construction company, and there only for rent, and expensive.

Anyone ex student UTAR can come and giv more better opinion, maybe i only saw the negative sides of UTAR....

TSmphpopular
post Apr 1 2008, 07:19 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

Ya, i think you're lucky in Kampar, btwn, if u come and c my little bro in PJ . wao, tat is really a place i cant imagine, i advice my brother go there, and utar telling my bro, u nid to delay for 1 year. omg...

That day i went into my bro lecturer hall. tat is really unimagineable, broken mic, no sound PA system, all trash on floor, echo too heavy. You should try your life in PJ. Kampar as i know, out side was pretty, but inside i dunno.
TSmphpopular
post Apr 3 2008, 02:03 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(Adri@n @ Apr 3 2008, 10:27 AM)
does utar in kampar hav engineering courses and actuarial science degree now?
Enginering i am not sure about it

But i know that 2009 January there will be first batch of Acturial student there..

U can call or email utar if u got enquiry, they often reply faz thru email
TSmphpopular
post Apr 4 2008, 07:24 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(deitylord @ Apr 3 2008, 10:27 PM)
those who wants to go UTAR pj campus
prepare to double park and kena saman
over the 3 years im here...i kena over 10 saman

fight for parking constantly..
10 am class 7 am+ go there to get parking
-.-
U studying in PJ? which block? my brother in PD... He alway say, if class at around noon 10-12, better u direct park bak ur car in your house and walk go..... bcoz like tat u nonid pay for tat saman. he say, Utar alway ask people to car pool, while lecturer all drive one car by themselve even living in same area, action konon..... student all car pool, but car park stil dun hav... Why don't utar lecturer park outsdie and let student park inside?? is it applicable...
TSmphpopular
post Apr 6 2008, 10:35 AM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(calvinloke @ Apr 6 2008, 10:23 AM)
just a question here. according to the counsellor, i need to do a foundation in arts in order to pursue a degree in information technology. i thought it should be a science foundation? hmm?
I'm not sure about information technology, but as i know, for actuarial science, you can take foundation arts or foundation science, it doesn't matter.

Bcoz for foundation science, u wil study such as,
Chemis 1, chemis 2
Physic 1, physic 2
math 1, math 2
webpage, programming
management, economic.

But foundation is juz to prepare you towards University life, the whole foundation is let you earn general knowledge more, bcoz when u pursuing your degree, you not studying other not related subject anymore.

As you can study foundation arts, i strongly recommend you go forward.

Reasons, ratio of girls in arts is around 1:1, the life happier there.

science, around 10:1, it would be a suffering. Studying wif girl made a better result. they appeared hardworking (not all la)
TSmphpopular
post Apr 7 2008, 11:46 AM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(yaphong @ Apr 7 2008, 02:35 AM)
I am in my final year of UTAR.
And I can tell you, got money go other universities.

UTAR is not bad, but not good either.
They literary cram people in my FES campus.
Well they want to earn more money = accept more students = congested.

UTAR's library isn't that well equipped, but still ok.

Just remember, UTAR is just so-so only. Not bad, but not good either.

Plus if you are going to Setapak FES, the only sports activity they offer in the campus is table tennis.
Bro, i love ur words. i support you, i think it should be the same thing happen in PJ. too crowded. 120 sttudent stuck inside a class where only can fit in 100 people. and it continues for a semester, complaint maded, but nothing changes.

By the way, I truely wish UTAR will be able to perform better in KAMPAR, at least there is a new campus.

I not coming out from form 6 either. But i truely believe that form 6 got alot good english speaker as well. But y some cannot fight with UTAR foundation?

Utar foundation students got alot of presentation every semester, they have more experience than mUET student. Not for all MUET la.

Fro example, my bro, 2nd semester, they have 3 presentation for public speaking and so on. i think around 5 presentation. This is wehreby differences from MUET student.

Tat y i saw when alot of MUET went into UNI degree first sem, they tend to worry for the presentation wherby foudation student already get used to it. It takes time for MUET to take experience

This post has been edited by mphpopular: Apr 7 2008, 11:53 AM
TSmphpopular
post Apr 11 2008, 07:52 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

Don't worry about PTPTN bcoz, all utar subject is applicable for PTPTN... and don't worry is it accredited o not, cause if u work in private company, they wont care so much, unless you going to apply government job.

but i'm curious, y all PJ campus student suffer while other campus is not bad, what an unfair. PJ is main campus? what a bad place.

Y must everyone say UTAR is good? did u think b4 some priviledges is belong to us, we should fight for it, and not juz only say yes to it. We have our own right to request for what we want.

1)
I admit that 190 rent (kampar) is cheap if compare to KL. but dun try do calculation wif me. I can briefly explain to you.
Comparing to KL, 190 is called very cheap. But 190 rent in Kampar is considered high, according to land revaluation and survey on Kampar that area, the rent for a single storey house which is 22*65 (3 room 1 bathroom) should be around 400 per month. If you compare the rent back to Kampar own area, the rent is considered high. some more Kampar which is considered as a rural area should not achieve that high rent. Mayb KL is expensive, but it is capital of our country.

2)
Utar admin is doing work by those moz easy way. first, they do as wat LAN say. LAN say what then they do wat.
Did you ever comparing those subject in a course between UTAR and others. You will know that UTAR is wasting first year for nothing for moz of subject.

3)
UTAR buses mayb increases. But why don't you juz build a bridge in KAMPAR. It is moz jimat than using buses in long term. Y use bus? UTAR
earn money.... Buses increases does not mean that u will get buses in every half hour.

UTAR student mostly will face tis problem. class at 12 am. But the last bus is at 9.30. so how? take 930 bus and waste time in school. Did it worth?
Then ppl will say buy motor buy car la. Then i wan ask, if they build bridge, walk also can reach la. If the housing area is not owned by that construction company, then did we nid to walk so far? Did UTAR really fight something better from us? or juz keep earning money?

4)
Did you heard before UTAR president son come here study? where he get his benz S class which is worth for 7 digit? is from our money

5)
UTAR PJ PD block currently financial situation :
Calculation of UTAR degree year 1 student : 1 group 20 student, average value for group is 44.
44 group X 20 student X 3800 fee per person for 1 sem (3 month) = 3344000.

Cost of UTAR operate :
Building rental : 100000 for 3 month
Electricity and water : 30000 for 3 month
Administritive expenses : 180000 for 3 month
Lecturer : 450000 for 3 month
Other expenses : 100000 for 3 month
Don't say about renovation, bcoz UTAR PD nvr renovate

Total revenue for every 3 month : 2484000
NOTE : THIS IS ONLY AMOUNT OF REVENUE FOR YEAR 1 DEGREE STUDENT for UTAR PD BLOCK ONLY.

If you add up 3 year studnet in PJ PD BLOCK, then add with PJ PA PB PC student. THEN add with SETAPAK and SG LONG. THEN YOU WILL Know how much they earn.

And such high revenue. yet still create a low standard environment, low standard of lecturer + teaching method. Where does our money go?
Their pocket. And now you still don't want fight for your right and get what you suppose to get?

If they unable to give a good quality. THEN UTAR shouldn't become a spoiler. UTAR gives us choice and hope. but they break your dream hope after you come in. IF THIS IS THE WAY, i rather suffer in PUBLIC UNIVERSITI.

TSmphpopular
post Apr 12 2008, 12:05 AM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(sevenheaven @ Apr 11 2008, 10:34 PM)
I can get a house with 1 HUGE master room attached with bathroom, 1 medium room, 2 single room all attached with bathroom and 1 HUGE living room and a BIG kitchen for RM400 through an agent.

Then my friend found the exact same type of house for RM250 only. Just that without ceiling fans. Haiya. But my mum insisted that I should stay in Westlake. Westlake is such a rip off! Expensive and We can only wash our clothes  once per week? Absurd!

And not to forget about the parking space in UTAR Kampar! I heard that we have to pay RM300 per year and Rm200 Per year in Westlake. Though I don't have a car, just find it ridiculous!

The distance to school, the westlake homes, the far away from town issue, the management and the stupid guards which wouldn't let us in even we have our student id. They say there will be more bus but I doubt. Even in PJ area, we don't have much bus anyway. I doubt there will be 20 buses as people claims as it should be.

Added on April 11, 2008, 10:46 pmSo sad lah, at the same time unhappy with UTAR, but no other choices. I know many people will say, you don't like UTAR then go to LKW, INTI, Taylors, Sunway etc. etc. lah!

If i got the money I will be there lah. KDU foundation course is Rm14,000 overall. But UTAR is RM7000. BUT! UTAR increase from RM4000 to RM7000. You Judge.

I even have a lecturer who claims that UTAR foundation course is there for a 'good will'. She say she don't earn much and UTAR don't earn much from Foundation studies. But they still have this course because they want to 'help' students out.

By looking at the calculation above, I see they do earn very very much. From PA, PB, PC, PD and added a new PE. Actually we have 2 PE, but now they rent a new one beside PD block.

Where all the money comes from lah?

Yes, I do admit I dislike Kampar because it's a kampung place. You can say I am selfish and I wanna play around in city places instead of really studying in Kampar.

Hello, don't gimme such bullsh-t ok? Study for degree doesn't mean have to turn yourself into jailbird and pay unnecessary price for such outcome.

I am just unhappy, that's all.
Ya, i agree. but i wish at least u all kampar will be better in PJ. cause PJ expenses all high. but still environment like shit. only thing is, ONE U, IKEA, IKANO, MIDVALLEY and so on only.

You still ok like tis. cause you know my brother foundation studies even worst, teached by degree year 3 studnet. is it UTAR SO Lack of lectuerer???

Added on April 12, 2008, 12:21 am
QUOTE(LYR @ Apr 11 2008, 09:19 PM)
mphpopular,
come to UTAR Perak Campus and i'm sure that you'll take back your words.  smile.gif anyway, i'm wondering how did you get the amount of the operating cost of UTAR.  hmm.gif
If you are studying costing , then you will be able to calculate all. This is what my job does. I hope i can accept UTAR wif full of my heart.

PJ PD block, dean, the head of PD block.
He always said : I am master from America, i talking america language america slank.
But his english is even worst than those in secondary school. worst than even a small little boy. Cant even pronouns speak nor use correct word.

He most clever thing is, Plz do not make noise. If not i will deduct your mark from your CGPA (ugutan)

Lecturer also cant speak well, what we still can hope. I admit kampar good. i already go inside and c before. But did you think of how many money he cheat u every month. (we calculate one aspect : living)

Why i nvr criticise on other college or UNI like ktar? bcoz they charge a reasonable price for their own facilities and locations. ktar half prices of UTAR, and he providing This level of services, which is reasonable. The profit margin for UTAR is already too high, they already bcome earning company. not a charity uni. tis uni is corrupted alrady

This post has been edited by mphpopular: Apr 12 2008, 12:21 AM
TSmphpopular
post Apr 12 2008, 09:41 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

Haha. Do you realise that building a bridge is go thru government sector, since when you heard that the highway ,the penang bridge is build by private?

You could propose and do the full proposal for the government to get approval. When you have go thru more life real situation, then you will understand what is the utar is going on.

Too sad so many people still defending UTAR, goodluck guys.

I have written all i know about UTAR. so, which to choose, is on your hand.

TSmphpopular
post Apr 13 2008, 10:30 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Apr 12 2008, 01:24 PM)
Whats the feedback for mechanical eng in UTAR? My friend is interested to go ther... just an inquiry for my friend who's not a LYN member...
So i hope you can help me out.
My friend completed a diploma in telecommunications eng in MMU and is working...so he missed the intakes.

But he would like to start coll around may coz he's just finished bonding with his company
Erm, as they said, i anti UTAR. so i juz like to comment on some la.

Equipment UTAR setapak sure is enough for all. But if i say the news le. people will say again, i anti utar la, say this all happen everywhere la.

So, i say it in middle view, my fren now in degree year 1 sem 2, they're facing a problem whereby as following :

Some machinery is cost more than 10k, when doing the practical, practical lecturer demand the student to buy a lab manual for themselve, and told them, refer to lab manual. ( this is very common )

But half of the semester have pass thru, and the practical lecturer havent teach anything yet. One student pass the lab manual to lecturer ( cause lecturer don't have lab manual ) and ask him to explain for them.
Studnet : Sir, i know you don't have lab manual, you also nonid to do the practical, we only nid you to explain how to do.
Sir : Erm, ( reading and reading ) this practical thing, u refer to lab manual la. all is inside.

Studnet all conclusion : the lecturer is scare the machine will break down and nid to pay for it? or the lecturer duno do it at all?

This is one of the incident, so i hope this is not the whole of UTAR.

By the way, find more mechanical enginering studnet in UTAR to ask, it would be the best.
But if you want me to introduce some, better don't, cause all my fren in UTAR is "anti utar" juz like me.
TSmphpopular
post Apr 26 2008, 11:27 AM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(Akane @ Apr 15 2008, 12:48 PM)
Frankly speaking, those who enter FES are average or above average student. Unless you met all requirements, the chances are slim. Especially these days when FES is so cramp and they narrow down the number of students taken in for each course. Hence, only the best of the best will be selected in. But there is no harm trying. If your friend is a qualified one, I am sure they will take him/her in.
One thing i can sure about UTAR is. they did not really care about qualification. janji u pass all the minimum. then they let you in and let you die away.

My bro hav ask the head of PD block in PJ campus. He told my bro, i expected your tis batch student will only have 30% pass.

But when the guy persuade my brother go study. He juz say. this sschool good. this course good. apa also goood.

After go in, another pattern.

Added on April 26, 2008, 11:38 am
QUOTE([="@k£LwIN@"=] @ Apr 24 2008, 01:20 AM)
hello juniors ..haha... how r u all? My dad sent me this link and I juz had a quick browse-thru, so I'm gonna put my 2 cent in hehe..

FYI, I'm currently pursuing 2-yr Master of Biotech (Food Science & Tech) at RMIT, Melbourne smile.gif

Yeah, I was like you guyz, UTAR sux, rite? Lolz.. in terms of facilities (I mean Setapak coz I've never been to Kampar), UTAR wasn't that good and was not up to standard, I expected a CAMPUS life with balanced life style.

if u talk about academic-related skills and job-related skills (FYI again, I worked in a pharmaceutical factory for 2 months b4 I came to Melbourne) such as presentation skill which is important in presenting ideas, procedures and all sort thing when u r in work or when u wanna present your reports and discuss with other international students.. UTAR gave everything u needed smile.gif Frankly speaking, I can ensure u guyz UTAR syllabuses are within international standards. I'm glad my lecturers in UTAR teached me everything that is applicable in my job and Master course in Australia. Imagine, when u're studying in a class with people from all around the world, Mali, Macau,Taiwan, China, Maritius, India, Australia, Arabian countries, and etc u may think "Oh, I'm frm UTAR, a lousy Uni, I won't b as good as others" then u r wrong! As a second-upper class grad, I'm happy with what I've been equipped with, I may not b the best in the class but I would say I am competitve enough for the Master course smile.gif

the problem is the students' attitude, they were always hoping for tips, hints and etc.. low initiative to learn and to explore more abt what's happening out of the textbook or the exams, for example biotech world, new technique for vaccination such as DNA vaccination, new genetically-modified crop that can be a new source for biofuel and stuff

Ask yourself, have u done your reports, assignments, practicals seriously? Have u learnt the proper skills to write your report? do you reference or in-text ref your reports properly? What do u actually have to write for your intro, material & methods and blabla to make the whole report flows? How to do a good presentation?.. these little small things are very very useful n are goin to b crucial in the future, either u r goin to work or further study. And u were given so many chances to practice but u were complaining at that moment, which myself had neglected as well(not to say totally) LOlz... if not I'll suffer here like my friends from Macau and Taiwan, they had a hard time with English coz their degree was Chinese-medium. Furthermore, one of them DOES NOT know how to do a proper referencing,it's kinda disgrace for a graduated undergrad student who should have familiarized it when she was doin thesis or some kinda project, and she DOES NOT know how to look for journals and etc etc etc.. Trust me, u will get annoyed when ppl started asking u the things they should have known...

So now, take up the initiative, do your homework or researches first b4 start throwing questions to your lecturer(s). I think they will b more than happy to answer questions from a prepared student smile.gif Over and out!

Cheers!

Regards,
Kelwin
Super good advice. TQ. It is very valuable from you.

This post has been edited by mphpopular: Apr 26 2008, 11:38 AM
TSmphpopular
post Apr 26 2008, 11:45 AM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(Akane @ Apr 26 2008, 11:42 AM)
I'm not sure about other Faculty, but in FES, if you dont have an average result, dont even dream of entering there.
FES has an unsual tighter criteria in selecting the students. Especially if you are from STPM/A-Levels, where the place are limited for them. As for Foundation students, entering FES requires them to a minimum pass in Foundation Science Stream, which I dont think is something easy to handle as well. As for STPM/A-Level/UEC student, due the numbers of Foundation student, their places are limited to around 30 per course for each semester intake. Most of the time, only those who had a better result will get a place, while others might jz get some less popular course.

Why they dont care about qualification? How well the students do in university will determine how good is the uni. Is either the students are bullcrap themself, that the lecturer give up on them or the lecturers already do all they can, but no changes in the student. I seriously havent seen ONE lecturer in FES that is willing to tell us "Oh, I expect 70% of you guys fail". All I hear every single sem is "I expect not to see your face next semester, so you better dont fail !".
Mayb different people got different experience gua. So sad to heard the head say such thing to my brother.

But i very look toward like relationshiop between classmate in UTAR. bcoz my formal uni, relationshiop classmate tak ada.

TSmphpopular
post May 2 2008, 10:39 AM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(cken88 @ Apr 30 2008, 08:00 PM)
can any1 tell me does utar kampar hav hostel??...coz i entering utar kampar in middle of may..if rent a hse at nearest housing area,it's take a long distance to go utar
Kampar have hostel by UTAR one.. but currently full already. they now are locating new student to kTar hostel. whereby they say got buses wor.... U believe it o not lor

But nearby got housing area also.... Quite cheap ..but only nid to wory for your trasporting problem
TSmphpopular
post May 29 2008, 08:03 AM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

Long time nvr show up here. Juz to increase some info.
You cant direct compare the cost living in Kampar direct to KL area, it is not proportional. A living cost for Kampar shouldn't go so far, only mean the hostel.
I saw every year, student paying extra charges for the following :
Activity and Recreation rm100
Resource Centre RM200
Development RM300
Insurance RM9

Insurance, i agree wif it since nowadays utar don't have time to take care the safety of student around PJ or Setapak, so buy you an insurance, anything happen, still got money for your parents. (Still, Utar think for the student benefit, good thing)

I have asked the office for the reason of others fee. By their explanation is like below:
Activity and Recreation : the 2 ping pong table in PD block, sharing swimming pool facilities wif KTAR, PC block sports area and some others activity held by UTAR around campus area (Does utar held any activity?)

Resource centre : You are using the computer lab and library from our school. wble also need money to operate it as well.

Development : Painting over UTAR, renovation on utar. Lift maintainance, toilet repair, air-cond service. computer lab.

So, Juz my 2cent. are you going to pay rm600 for those unreliable computers in lab? Does UTAR really make any renovation in PJ area?

After that, office direct me to phone over finance department as they can provide better explanation. We cant argue on this fees, since many people and UTAR will be telling you, if you don't want pay, then don't study here lar. So, my aim only explaining some of the weird cases in utar. Not to boycott.

One of utar lecturer (myfren), telling me that, he/she(private confidential) not really know about the resouce and activity fees. but the development fee is a donation for Kampar campus.

A organisation have thousand and millions of excuses to gaining more money. Ya, you does nid to pay for your study. But is it equivalent to what you get?

Don't aim your cannon on me, all utar defenders. I juz want to add some info. It's kinda heart pain to see all people shooting TS in TS's own forum...Haha.

For AS student, juz my 2cent again, there is two round of student kicking in around Y1S2 and Y2S2. If you check back the student record, many student accepted into actuarial science (AS) this course without really taking into consideration about the ability of the student. UTar does a good job by providing everyone to study AS since UKM and UM setting a 4.0CGPA for STPM student to join( with limited seats around 40 in UKM,UM juz open AS course last year, so i'm not sure).
What i want to mention is, in Y1S2 and Y2S2, there is alot of student around 30% change course since they unable to continue AS study (you can check the record or ask AS student to tell you truth). Why doesn't UTAR set a tighter rule to let studnet join AS, but they only accept all student although the student don;t have the qualification for AS? Reason: You will be ending change course in utar and paying more to utar. Especialy foundation student, bcoz foundation cert not really gets recognition from other UNI. Imposible for you to change to other UNI and start wif foundation again. You will mostly stay in UTAR in other subject.
Note: The case i just mention only apply to AS. Other courses don't have such a high rate in changing course.

Added on May 29, 2008, 8:13 am@reyzai
Haha. Ya, you get it right. i'm enjoy dota as well. Sad case is Milinium Court now have bcome Mahsa College (MC change to MC) and does not accept any utar student anymore.
Not only PC many pretty. I think your utar FAM faculty also have 65% of girls population.
Next, I been working already, so i open up this thread juz to wish can telling utarian some truth that nvr shown up.

UTAR still will be choice(only one) for many people, the fees low compare others. Juz the "low" is not suppose the "low" we should get. Haha, i get confused by my "low" as well.

This post has been edited by mphpopular: May 29 2008, 08:21 AM
TSmphpopular
post Jun 1 2008, 10:07 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

No matter you choose to pay or not, You only have the choice to pay it. UTAR finance department will have one conclusion for you, If you don't want to pay, Juz don't become UTARIAN. That is such simple for them. Hehe. Work harder for your future to all of people here. Good lucks.
TSmphpopular
post Jun 3 2008, 10:30 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

Appeal sure can. Wrote a letter for DEAN. TEll him/her that u will hardworking and blar blar blar. Sure can. Ask student affair department, they should be able to help u out
TSmphpopular
post Jun 29 2008, 05:55 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

It's been a time for not be around here. I come up with a new subject, and might need your judgement for this. There is no correct or wrong in this subject since there is two point of view, based on outsiders, or based on STPM graduate students.

UTAR is still accepting new student for their courses. You only have to go office by yourself. And take the form and fill in there, and make sure you pay before you take the first step into UTAR. They are still accepting new students from STPM. You would be asking, why not accept new students?

Firstly, UTAR May intake had started for 5 weeks. PLZ NOTE: IT IS 5 WEEKS. I believe any one that have studied in UTAR have clearly understand that 5 weeks is not a short period.

Utar one semester only 14 weeks. 5 weeks which is 1/3 of it. Fees paid still is in full amount (This is quite Ok for me, bcoz there is no point for UTAR to discount you). But as an utarian, you should understand that many exams will be started at week 5 and 6. First assignment due date will be around this period as well. How a new student able to study all stuff for the previous 4 weeks in 1 weeks and face exam. How are they going to pass up their assignment after 1 weeks of study? Plz be reminded that they are still new in that environment.

As what i mentioned earlier, there is no correct or wrong. It is StPM students choice to join in although late for 4 weeks. I believe it is good for StPM students, bcoz they nonid to wait for 6 month for the next intake.

But, is it UTAR have considered the situation of those STPM students after they join in the UTar? Might be UTAR will held extras classes for them (only might be, we dunno at all), but how are the students going to face exam for the week 5 and assignemtn?

Again UTAR gains again when the students going to repeat, resit their paper. First semester result might greatly impact the STPM studnet CGPA in coming 3 years time.

Juz judge it yourself.

Regards,
mphpopular

Added on June 29, 2008, 5:58 pm
QUOTE(weihao2005 @ Jun 29 2008, 05:42 PM)
they just charge and din do anything about it(setapak utar)..btw i had rm300 every year for development fee..do you guy have this charge in the student bill?i charged for 3 years alreadi..rm900 gone for nothing..damn..
Activity and Recreation 100
Resource centre 200

I did mentioned this in this thread earlier. I did not really follow this thread. So i did not know what are the guys are comments about it.

YOu might get some clue about how this 300 is used in our UTAR in my previous post in this thread.

Added on June 29, 2008, 6:21 pm
QUOTE(SuN_RaE198 @ Jun 4 2008, 03:57 PM)
nope, i checked..even the utar website says two semesters. smile.gif so ur friend must be kidding. tongue.gif
Dont worry. I can confirm that your statement is false.
UTAR officially stated in their rules, student who continually fail CGPA for 2 sems will be terminated with no excuses.

I'm not sure about 6 weeks.
But I'm sure that Dean is allowing students to fail for continuously 4 semester. What you need to is only go to office. Wrote a letter to Dean, then request approve. Done. The only thing they worry is, are you able to pay without your PTPTn loans.

The valid point UTAR will terminate a student is :

1) Student join in politic activities.
2) Student get arrested for dealing with crimes. (They sure terminate you, cause if people telling this students is from UTAR, then where should UTAR put their face)
3) Student who unable to pay the fees. (I think this is the most frequent case. Many student get stopped out when PTPTN loan cancelled, then try to use parent's EPF money also fail, then juz simple, you get out of my school immediately.)

This post has been edited by mphpopular: Jun 29 2008, 06:21 PM
TSmphpopular
post Jun 29 2008, 06:28 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(KEAN @ Jun 28 2008, 05:39 PM)
i'm a member of a club in Utar
can anyone please let me know how much is each Utarian paying for the activities fee per semester?
RM100?
how does Utar utilize this portion of money in student activities?
really wanna find out more
Your money will go under Kampar development. And under the Benz that used by our president. Juz tat simple.

Simple is a way to generate a cash flow for their usage.

I know, people are telling me, inflation is going up. So, fees muz go up.

I wish to know, did utar incurred such a high fees? Where is our Uncle LIm money goes? Haha. I made my point of view.

But i'm sure alot will defend for UTAR as well. Wish UTAR doing better. Even a governemtn can go under corruption, then how will a UNI not going under corruption. UTAR = non-profit organisation? Yeah, it might happens when they sell of their benz and drive proton saga.

TSmphpopular
post Jun 29 2008, 06:39 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(Akane @ Jun 29 2008, 06:27 PM)
MPH bro. Mind I ask this questions, how long you have been in UTAR ?

Let me tell you this fact, based on FES. We DONT ACCEPT new students starting from the 4th week. In fact, students coming in after 3rd-4th weeks are students who have already PAID their fees even before the course started. Hence, this basically means, new students who wish to register in a course should have submitted their stuff and fully paid before 2nd/3rd week. So far, I have yet to encounter one new students joining in after week 2, but I have seen students going out after week 5. You judge.

And do you know the resit/supp paper fees. Basically that 50% of that fees will goes to the lecturer and department of Examination, as they have to remark your paper again and re calculate your CGPA. Another 50% goes to the uni. Hence, if you claim that UTAR makes a lot from students resitting their paper, you might also want to blame the lecturers for setting super tough questions since they can gain some extra allowance by marking those supp/resit paper. But why not putting the blame on the students itself. If they have study harder and pay more attention in class, most probably they will not flunk their main paper. I dont know about other Faculties, but in FES, we have almost the best crop of students due to the strict admission into Science and Engineering course. Yet, the flunking rate is high. That means, is either, the standard set was too high, the students being lazy bump, or the lecturers wants to fail you at all cost.
Again+ always, get attacked again. Haha... cry.gif

You can get the prove of new student going into UTAR KAMPAR, jzu go to UTAR kampar by coming monday.

I meant STPM students. IF they come in and juz for fail, why utar allow them? Did i say anything that i don't agree wif resit paper fees? I only worry for our STPM students.

I think you might be a good students as well. You will nvr understand the feeling of students who failed in their paper. Did you saw before those students who make 10 times harder than you and still getting fail?

As i mentioned, the last post, there is both good and bad. I juz bring it up for u all as a reference. I have no intention to shoot utar. But i get shoot again. Try to analyse from 9 different viewing angle. Not juz from one. This might broaden your knowledge.

Did i need to tells that where i graduate from and what is my qualification now? Haha.

No offence bro. Juz to share out here.

Added on June 29, 2008, 6:51 pm
QUOTE(Akane @ Jun 29 2008, 06:33 PM)
Do more research before you come out with a post like this. Its a simple hierrachy theory here. He is the president, of course he will get the best extra incentive. Its just like how MAS can provide a S class for their CEO, Idris Jala. Same things goes to other ministers, CEOs, GM, and others. Heck even a company like Continenal can provide Nissan Sentra for manager rank officers.

And mind you, our dean only drives a Honda City even he is cashing in about 8k+ per month. Thats is a very low salary compared to most private university dean, which can earn up to 120-180k per year.

Seriouly, I dont know why you can come out with so much conspiracy theory. Haha. I have seen TARC President going in-out of the college in her Benz, but yet I din listen to any complaints from TARC students.
Aiya, still get attacked.

I actually is under the group who are greatly oppose that CEO should have a greater benefit.
I personally agree that CEO should be the laz who takes benefits while the workers in the moz bottom line of company should get greater benefit.
This is under imbalance system in our country.

You is agree with those system that set-ed in our world.
But i'm the one who disagree with those unbalanced or unequal system.

Hehe. Seems like our profile crash.
Juz continue wif your point, it is valid as well. I always agree with all of the points given.

This post has been edited by mphpopular: Jun 29 2008, 06:53 PM
TSmphpopular
post Jun 30 2008, 04:53 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

I have no choice if you all don't believe me. Hehe.

And i did not underestimete our StPM student. I am worrying for them. As you know, late for school for 4 -5 weeks might effect greatly on their result. You see ah, how can i comment? If i said StpM is better than foundation student, then people said, you now underestimate foundation?

If i said Foundation better, now i underestimate stpM?
As i mentioned earlier, I believe those Stpm student that decided to go in now sure have their confident and so on.

I bring up this issue is not saying Stpm student ability. But is to comment on why Utar still accepting new student.

Juz go over Kampar, you will saw many new students on today.

You didn't see and nvr heard it, it doesn't mean it does not happen.

0.0430sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:12 AM