4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

University UTAR comments plz, do you have other choice?

SuN_RaE198
post Apr 4 2008, 09:46 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(ahchak @ Apr 4 2008, 12:35 AM)
Th intake is around 24 May. How if i register late, let's say around end of june and get in that time. Can or not? Cuz i'm waiting for my local result.
for last year, many students came the day after the local university's results were out and got turned away.

its already 4weeks into the course, you might miss out on many things especially in the coursework marks, so there's a very very low chance they will accept you in. smile.gif
SuN_RaE198
post Apr 4 2008, 09:42 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(mphpopular @ Apr 4 2008, 07:24 PM)
U studying in PJ? which block? my brother in PD... He alway say, if class at around noon 10-12, better u direct park bak ur car in your house and walk go..... bcoz like tat u nonid pay for tat saman. he say, Utar alway ask people to car pool, while lecturer all drive one car by themselve even living in same area, action konon..... student all car pool, but car park stil dun hav... Why don't utar lecturer park outsdie and let student park inside?? is it applicable...
no offence, but have you heard of this happening anywhere?

even if out of respect, you will let the lecturer have the parking lot even if there is only one and you both saw it at the same time rite? icon_rolleyes.gif

the parking problem is everywhere, more so in PJ since its a more congested area. by car pooling, one less person will have to search for parking. biggrin.gif ur bro dun need to search for parking if he car pools.
SuN_RaE198
post Apr 9 2008, 01:04 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(Areshie @ Apr 9 2008, 12:18 PM)
But i heard the utar in perak is less of facilities .. even the lecturer from Utar in sungai loong don wan to go there = = all quit teaching utar when thier are force to go there lolzzz ..
how sure are you that the lecturers quit due to the lack of facilities? some of the staff i know plan to quit when UTAR fully shifts to Kampar. This will happen eventually, but this is because they prefer working in KL or they have family here.

SuN_RaE198
post Apr 12 2008, 10:29 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(mphpopular @ Apr 12 2008, 09:41 PM)
Haha. Do you realise that building a bridge is go thru government sector, since when you heard that the highway ,the penang bridge is build by private?

You could propose and do the full proposal for the government to get approval. When you have go thru more life real situation, then you will understand what is the utar is going on.

Too sad so many people still defending UTAR, goodluck guys.

I have written all i know about UTAR. so, which to choose, is on your hand.
Perhaps you might want to take note of something. Most people who are "defending" UTAR are UTAR students themselves, people who have actually been through and experience first handedly what it is like studying in UTAR. However, for sure there are some students who are not satisfied with the university. But then, there is not one university where all the students are satisfied,isnt that right? Although i do admit that there are some things which are lacking, i also believe that a young university needs time in order to gain experience and improve. I am happy with what i am experiencing now.

You cannot compare building the Penang bridge with a bridge that connects an housing estate to a university. I havent been to Kampar personally, but i believe the government wont just simply approve a bridge which benefits only students, and perhaps some lecturers of a certain university. Even if they do plan to build a bridge, the bridge will not simply materialise overnight. It does take time to build a bridge you know?

Is that all you know about UTAR? If thats all,i do hope you will come and interact with more UTAR students to get a better look on our lives rather than "defaming" UTAR based on the few people you know. smile.gif most UTAR students are quite friendly.
SuN_RaE198
post Apr 13 2008, 10:51 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(mphpopular @ Apr 13 2008, 10:30 PM)
Erm, as they said, i anti UTAR. so i juz like to comment on some la.

Equipment UTAR setapak sure is enough for all. But if i say the news le. people will say again, i anti utar la, say this all happen everywhere la.

So, i say it in middle view, my fren now in degree year 1 sem 2, they're facing a problem whereby as following :

Some machinery is cost more than 10k, when doing the practical, practical lecturer demand the student to buy a lab manual for themselve, and told them, refer to lab manual. ( this is very common )

But half of the semester have pass thru, and the practical lecturer havent teach anything yet. One student pass the lab manual to lecturer ( cause lecturer don't have lab manual ) and ask him to explain for them.
Studnet : Sir, i know you don't have lab manual, you also nonid to do the practical, we only nid you to explain how to do.
Sir : Erm, ( reading and reading ) this practical thing, u refer to lab manual la. all is inside.

Studnet all conclusion : the lecturer is scare the machine will break down and nid to pay for it? or the lecturer duno do it at all?

This is one of the incident, so i hope this is not the whole of UTAR.

By the way, find more mechanical enginering studnet in UTAR to ask, it would be the best.
But if you want  me to introduce some, better don't, cause all my fren in UTAR is "anti utar" juz like me.
sweat.gif Please dont be immature and merajuk ppl say you seem to be anti-UTAR la. We are just asking you to see things as a whole and not focus only on the bad side, or based on limited views.

I will try and find out if i have friends studying ME to confirm this. However, as far as i know, based on bioscience courses, the part of the lecturer being afraid that the machine will break down and need to pay for the repairs are baseless. Lecturers are humans too, they do understand that there is no point purchasing expensive equipment and not using it. Most machines used in bioscience courses dont come cheap either. They do allow the students to use the machines, but of course, telling them to use it carefully according to the manual/instructions.

So one thing that i can confirm, this doesnt happen to the whole of UTAR.
SuN_RaE198
post Apr 22 2008, 05:54 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Apr 22 2008, 05:02 PM)
when got intake beside may ? and all new student all MUST 100% study at kampar ?
Next January. Even if they do have intakes in Aug/Sept, its usually those courses which are not so popular.

If you check their advertisements/website, you will see a list of courses in their respective campuses. smile.gif They still offer courses in KL and PJ. But i guess sooner or later they will have to shift to Kampar.
SuN_RaE198
post Apr 23 2008, 12:03 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(Nine9 @ Apr 22 2008, 11:40 PM)
eh... i wan ask ask, need wear formal or informal when to class ? perhaps what should and what should not wear ?
QUOTE(bennyhwl @ Apr 22 2008, 11:59 PM)
sure informal la.... College/University is u pay money 1 ler.... Not they give u salary ler. When working, u only no have right to decide. -.-
In Sg Long, IINM you need to wear formal on mondays.

In FES, most students just wear normal..like Tshirt and jeans. If you intend to stand out, they dont stop you from wearing shorts tongue.gif Not supposed to but isnt strictly enforced.
SuN_RaE198
post Apr 26 2008, 04:56 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(mphpopular @ Apr 26 2008, 11:27 AM)
One thing i can sure about UTAR is. they did not really care about qualification. janji u pass all the minimum. then they let you in and  let you die away.

My bro hav ask the head of PD block in PJ campus. He told my bro, i expected your tis batch student will only have 30% pass.

But when the guy persuade my brother go study. He juz say. this sschool good. this course good. apa also goood.

After go in, another pattern.

Added on April 26, 2008, 11:38 am

Super good advice. TQ. It is very valuable from you.
The minimum entry requirement is just that, the minimum. Any less than that means you will not be offered a place, but having the minimum doesnt guarantee you the place.
So the one thing you are sure about utar isnt accurate.

Those who do not manage to do well, or at maintain 2.0 and above for 2 consecutive semesters will be terminated. So you will have to do your own part as well, whether you die away or not depends on your effort, not solely the lecturer's. No matter how good the lecturers are, they cant help you unless you do your part. I have to disagree with you about the part where they let you die away, because my lecturers were always ready to help, even going out of their way to help answer our questions. biggrin.gif but perhaps that is just in FES, cant say bout other campuses. Maybe my other friends can help.

SuN_RaE198
post Apr 29 2008, 11:10 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(kajikin @ Apr 29 2008, 10:38 PM)
my juniors are all from UEC .. standard of utar getting lower since 18 years old can enter university... old batch students are more likely to be stpm or diploma students
Why do you think the standard is getting lower because they accept 18-year olds?
btw, I entered UTAR a few months after i turned 18, with STPM.
SuN_RaE198
post Apr 30 2008, 03:22 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(Dai Dee @ Apr 30 2008, 11:35 AM)
ermm 1 question...im goin 2 enter utar for d may intake dis year...n ive been offered graphic design..however if i wished 2 change 2 another course is it possible??just wondering
Yup, if there are still places in the course you want. Do it earlier so your name will be reflected on the course name list, save the trouble of explaining that u changed course to every lecturer.

I remember you will have to pay a nominal fee to change, 100 if im not mistaken. smile.gif
SuN_RaE198
post Apr 30 2008, 05:21 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(Dai Dee @ Apr 30 2008, 04:59 PM)
hmm okay okay...so do i change when i enter utar durin the intake or earlier beforehand??...thx btw
Like i said, changing now will prevent the need for you to explain to your lecturers that you changed course and ur name isnt on the name list.

Also, changing earlier is safer coz you can never be 100% sure that the course you want to change to will still be available. smile.gif
SuN_RaE198
post Apr 30 2008, 10:59 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(kajikin @ Apr 30 2008, 07:37 PM)
if u finished stpm ,you should be around 19++ and by the time your result out you should be 20++
u finished your stpm at the age 17++ wow i though that was spm.  hmm.gif

Added on April 30, 2008, 7:38 pm

u think uec standard can compare to stpm ? i think you should get the fact instead
I finish SPM at 16+, STPM at 18+ and joined degree before 19. sweat.gif i should know how old i am, dont you think? whistling.gif

And yes, i do think UEC can be compared with STPM, at least from my coursemates. They might not be outstanding, but comparable to STPM and foundation. Personally, in my course, the top3 students are from Foundation, UEC and STPM, one each. So even if the pre-U courses are not equal, the results during degree years depends more on your hard work, not the pre-U course you took.

Added on April 30, 2008, 11:03 pm
QUOTE(Dr@gon @ Apr 30 2008, 08:40 PM)
Sorry to interrupt, but is there anyway to apply for course transfer before the course commences?  unsure.gif
Because from the guide that comes together with the offer letter, it states that course transfer can only be applied within first two weeks after the course commences.  sad.gif
I really scare it will be a mess for course transfer.  unsure.gif
sorry bout this, not very sure, during my time they allow you to change the course by filling up the form even before the course commences.
perhaps you can try calling to check? would have checked for you, but its exam season now, dont go to uni. smile.gif

it is seriously easier if you manage to change courses before it commence, but if their system doesnt allow it.. wink.gif no choice lo.

This post has been edited by SuN_RaE198: Apr 30 2008, 11:03 PM
SuN_RaE198
post May 1 2008, 11:19 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(kajikin @ May 1 2008, 11:02 PM)
yo .. akane i dun think you get the point ?? how u can compare malaysia with other country ? smart so how? do you think our education is base on your grade or age ?? its base on race ... this is malaysia not other country.. so how u can compare malaysia with other country ??  bumi's can go matrix and go in university younger than us stpm students ... so u wanna compare age when entering university ?? lol i cant denied sunrae is a genius finishing stpm at 18++ but does evertyone can do it ?? no ... people like are u are too naive, wake up this is malaysia education, you talking about
doh.gif It doesnt take a genius to finish STPM at 18+. There are many students doing that. And i thought you were comparing the age of STPM and UEC grads, no? whistling.gif
From your post, it is obvious you are a non-bumi. I do admit that there are some limitations on non-bumi, but lets not go into there since it isnt allowed except in RWI. You dont need to compare everything with other races. You make do with what you can achieve, what you can do. Anyway, there are other alternatives despite not being able to get matrix. You can say UTAR is one of them, many people have this perception anyway. smile.gif

But what was your point again? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by SuN_RaE198: May 1 2008, 11:27 PM
SuN_RaE198
post May 2 2008, 11:21 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(kajikin @ May 2 2008, 08:02 PM)
i guess in my days there is no option rather than form 6, a level is about 10k per semester, i guess you guys are lucky since, you all can take uec and jump from standard 3 to 5, i think utar/ktar is a nice place for the one who is left out in ipta application, in my days many students drop out after spm and stpm, cause they cant find a place in local university, ya u can go to uni after high sch, but my days is not practical, maybe im outdated =X
sweat.gif are you like really really old? dropping out after spm/stpm isnt that common nowadays.

QUOTE(mentos09 @ May 2 2008, 10:56 PM)
if i took engineering course at utar...which campus am i going?...setapak or pj
depends on which engineering course. smile.gif
SuN_RaE198
post May 3 2008, 12:04 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(mentos09 @ May 3 2008, 02:00 AM)
which campus will i be going to if i took
1.falcuty of science
2.Bachelor of Science (Hons) Biomedical Science
3.Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) Chemical Engineering
4.Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) Biomedical Engineering
thx
if its in May08 intake, they should all be in Setapak but will shift to Kampar sooner or later. smile.gif
SuN_RaE198
post May 15 2008, 06:18 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(JLShenWui @ May 15 2008, 01:49 PM)
Passing the minimum requirement would do. Whether or not you can surpass the pressure and eventually surrender and quit, that's another story. tongue.gif
whistling.gif you are totally wrong in this. if you search around, you will find someone complaining about not being offered the course he/she wanted although he/she met the minimum requirements. they are just MINIMUM, not a guarantee of offer. biggrin.gif
SuN_RaE198
post May 15 2008, 08:33 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(shimy @ May 15 2008, 08:30 PM)
wats de minimum requirement 2 enroll UTAR's acturial science?
they do not release the minimum for each individual course, but generally the minimum is 5credits smile.gif
SuN_RaE198
post May 17 2008, 10:28 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ May 17 2008, 07:34 AM)
tHEN, NO POINT study  STPM if UTAR is your First choice.

Foundation course save it a lot of time & u GET the course u wan (like what u guys said)
well, many students are like me, we chose to study form 6 because we couldnt decide what to study after form5. rather than forcing ourselves to commit to something we might not like in the future, we bought some time by taking form6.

besides the point, form6 allows you to study more, explore a wider area, since foundation is specific for the course you chose. biggrin.gif

SuN_RaE198
post May 17 2008, 04:34 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(JLShenWui @ May 17 2008, 03:31 PM)
rclxms.gif agree agree. Going through form 6 will give you a better kickstart in the local institution like UTAR, and better kickstart means higher cgpa in the beginning of the semester,easier to maintain than struggling to push up later.

Anyone studying in the Setapk campus?
join the UTAR thread in the kopitiam. biggrin.gif many of us from Setapak.

QUOTE(fylon @ May 17 2008, 04:14 PM)
Hey guys.. Just wander will UTAR admission will still consider to accept those enroll in last mins?
they usually do if the course is not filled. but last minute is defined as during orientation week or at most first week or so, not after public university results are announced. smile.gif
SuN_RaE198
post May 18 2008, 08:35 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(satz @ May 18 2008, 08:32 PM)
i just dont care bout those JPA fellows edi coz they juz wanna trap us !!!
and i don't want to get little salary in malaysia for ICT sectors coz i will b bonded sommore....

so now i edi applied for UTAR although i know i will miss 4 or 5 classes but i can cope up
dats not a prob...

but i want some comments about UTAR for chemical engineering ........

bad or good comments, i want to hear bout it...

so i can make a wise decission where i wont regret later.....
why will you miss 4 or 5 classes? rclxub.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:57 PM