71 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

University UTAR comments plz, do you have other choice?

TSmphpopular
post Apr 3 2008, 02:03 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(Adri@n @ Apr 3 2008, 10:27 AM)
does utar in kampar hav engineering courses and actuarial science degree now?
Enginering i am not sure about it

But i know that 2009 January there will be first batch of Acturial student there..

U can call or email utar if u got enquiry, they often reply faz thru email
DragonMebius
post Apr 3 2008, 03:59 PM

ZGMF-X20A
1,282 posts

QUOTE(Adri@n @ Apr 3 2008, 10:27 AM)
does utar in kampar hav engineering courses and actuarial science degree now?
engineering courses got...
I got the form for Degree...
The form got mention some engineering courses will in Kampar for the 1st year...
ahgirl
post Apr 3 2008, 05:43 PM

then how bout UTAR at sungai long?diploma student will start their degree 2nd year and finish 2 years degree there..how is their management and facilities?
deitylord
post Apr 3 2008, 10:27 PM

248 posts

those who wants to go UTAR pj campus
prepare to double park and kena saman
over the 3 years im here...i kena over 10 saman

fight for parking constantly..
10 am class 7 am+ go there to get parking
-.-
sunshine88
post Apr 3 2008, 10:29 PM

65 posts

Use bus or bicycle lorr... drool.gif
ahchak
post Apr 4 2008, 12:35 AM

Well...
558 posts

Th intake is around 24 May. How if i register late, let's say around end of june and get in that time. Can or not? Cuz i'm waiting for my local result.
Akane
post Apr 4 2008, 12:49 AM

1,197 posts

A bit risky, but I have seen people doing that in the past. However, some course will not take in anymore students as soon as the course commence. So depend on your luck la. Try to enquire more on this from the faculty office.
maxz663
post Apr 4 2008, 12:57 AM

40 posts

i'm utar sg long student, 2 years at there and last sem for me now...so far, everything smooth no problem at all...try give Utar some time to improve as is still a new U compare with others...
SuN_RaE198
post Apr 4 2008, 09:46 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(ahchak @ Apr 4 2008, 12:35 AM)
Th intake is around 24 May. How if i register late, let's say around end of june and get in that time. Can or not? Cuz i'm waiting for my local result.
for last year, many students came the day after the local university's results were out and got turned away.

its already 4weeks into the course, you might miss out on many things especially in the coursework marks, so there's a very very low chance they will accept you in. smile.gif
TSmphpopular
post Apr 4 2008, 07:24 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(deitylord @ Apr 3 2008, 10:27 PM)
those who wants to go UTAR pj campus
prepare to double park and kena saman
over the 3 years im here...i kena over 10 saman

fight for parking constantly..
10 am class 7 am+ go there to get parking
-.-
U studying in PJ? which block? my brother in PD... He alway say, if class at around noon 10-12, better u direct park bak ur car in your house and walk go..... bcoz like tat u nonid pay for tat saman. he say, Utar alway ask people to car pool, while lecturer all drive one car by themselve even living in same area, action konon..... student all car pool, but car park stil dun hav... Why don't utar lecturer park outsdie and let student park inside?? is it applicable...
LYR
post Apr 4 2008, 09:37 PM

No one is indispensable
1,866 posts

QUOTE(transhumanist92 @ Apr 2 2008, 06:46 PM)
Is the Bachelor of Science (Hons) Physics in UTAR is recognised??????
not yet and expected to be recognized on Feb 2009 .

QUOTE(R3D_D3vilz @ Apr 2 2008, 09:15 PM)
Is mechanical engineering course offered in utar kampar now?
i dont think so. i suggest you to call UTAR directly.

This post has been edited by LYR: Apr 4 2008, 09:39 PM
SuN_RaE198
post Apr 4 2008, 09:42 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(mphpopular @ Apr 4 2008, 07:24 PM)
U studying in PJ? which block? my brother in PD... He alway say, if class at around noon 10-12, better u direct park bak ur car in your house and walk go..... bcoz like tat u nonid pay for tat saman. he say, Utar alway ask people to car pool, while lecturer all drive one car by themselve even living in same area, action konon..... student all car pool, but car park stil dun hav... Why don't utar lecturer park outsdie and let student park inside?? is it applicable...
no offence, but have you heard of this happening anywhere?

even if out of respect, you will let the lecturer have the parking lot even if there is only one and you both saw it at the same time rite? icon_rolleyes.gif

the parking problem is everywhere, more so in PJ since its a more congested area. by car pooling, one less person will have to search for parking. biggrin.gif ur bro dun need to search for parking if he car pools.
Akane
post Apr 5 2008, 12:30 AM

1,197 posts

Parking an issue? Try to go TBR and see whats happening there. It happens everywhere. Even in FES we have the issue of locating parking at times. And we pay RM 300 for our parking lot. No big deal, its the same thing in whole Malaysia.

You like it or not, its the same thing happening around PJ. Parking lot is rare after 10 am. Areas like UTAR PJ, surrounded by factories and office only worsen the parking issue. Either you arrive there early to get a place, or park far away and walk your way towards the campus.
IpohBoY
post Apr 5 2008, 12:55 AM

722 posts

Does UTAR requires MUET in order to graduate?
sunshine88
post Apr 5 2008, 03:03 AM

65 posts

well, MUET is compulsory for students applying using STPM. It is stated in their website in the application form.
Not so ,for students from other qualifications.
CaptWong
post Apr 5 2008, 07:04 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(R3D_D3vilz @ Apr 2 2008, 09:15 PM)
Is mechanical engineering course offered in utar kampar now?
Well. Not Yet... I am a "foundation in science leading to mechanical engineering" student... But Mechanical engineering will be available at Kampar at year 2010.. This year and next year will still remain at Setapak.. They need time to move those engineering equipments..

Added on April 5, 2008, 7:38 pm
QUOTE(mphpopular @ Apr 1 2008, 06:29 PM)
For a stpm student, if you household not generating a high monthly income, and your result not as well as you expect, and public Uni do not give wat you want.

At laz, what choice do you have except UTAR.

Why UTAR?
- fees cheap
- 3 years for degree
- choice less
- the one and only sound nice bcoz named University

Ppl often ask me, why dun KTAR?
- SPM student will still going for ktar, bcoz 2year diploma, 2 year advance diploma
- but STPM student hav no choice, imposible you wan them after spending 2 years for form 6, now spending 4 more years for advanced diploma?
- lastly, STPM willl go for UTAR

Am i a supporter of UTAR? no no no
I juz wan to let u know, UTAR is not as good as you think also.

You know what happened to foundation new intake student? last year is rm 4000 ++ for foudation studies, this year bcome rm 7000++, our inflation rates also did not exceed 100%, but UTAR inflation already gone until 90%, scary.

Don't expect UTAR having a olympic size swimming pool like KTAR or other colleges, the cocuriculum activity can be considered 0, what you willl saw is those, maths society, english society etc.

The worse thing, Utar degree year 3 student (havent graduate) but teaching utar foundation students?

Equipment like classroom o mic o sound system, broken.

Juz to let you know all this, but you still can choose for it, cause i heard they are building a new campus in KAMPAR.
But heard ppl said they pakat wif the construction company, cause all the house beside the UTAR kampar is belong to the construction company, and there only for rent, and expensive.

Anyone ex student UTAR can come and giv more better opinion, maybe i only saw the negative sides of UTAR....
Yo dude.... long complaints here huh...
ok first of all.. "SPM student will still going for ktar, bcoz 2year diploma, 2 year advance diploma"
Yo dude, you are now receiving a reply from a SPM student who is currently pursuing his foundation study in UTAR..

Secondly, rising fees?? hmm... i would say if you bro is studying in UTAR, he is receiving a quality education with a very very affordable price already...and please.. you can actually compare UTAR's foundation fees with other universities' foundation fees, and let me know what do you think about UTAR's foundation fees again biggrin.gif

Nextly, olympic size swimming pool? what makes you think we are not going to have that? dude, Kampar campus is still undergoing developments and constructions!!! No sane person would put 1300 acres of land into a waste!! and oh ya... I am now a proud member of UTAR music club which have just organized "celebrity night" last week... hmm.. tell me more about "the cocuriculum activity can be considered 0"

Equpiment like classroom o mic o sound system broken... yes.. this i have to admit... however, i think this problem only occurs in PJ campus... However, one thing you can see from this "broken PA system" is that the lecturers still try very hard to teach us without the presence of PA system.. they shouted so loud until they had sorethroats the next day.. Now i guess this has shown the lecturer quality of UTAR biggrin.gif ( oh ya, this PA broken thingy does not occur everyday, maybe you are that unfortune to so happen to see this at the day you come )

LOL? UTAR degree year 3 student teaching foundation student?? where did you hear this from?? as far as i know, all my lecturers now have at least a degree qualification.. and most of them have their masters already... one of them is even doing her PhD now... and i would say that they are very dedicated lecturers.. Most lecturers encourage us to seek consultation hours with them if we do not understand their lectures..

Er... about the forming collusion with construction company thingy... Why don't you see it in this way... UTAR is actually helping students to get their accomodations easily.. The whole row of houses are only for students.. I sense some great campus life here.. MY GOD! you said that the rentals are expensive?! Obviously, i think you didn't have any experience on renting house yet.. enough said...

That's all i have to say.. If you do not agree on what i've said... feel free to reply my post.. I love to reply to critics about UTAR... coz in this way, i can practise my english and writing skills and i can also defend my university which is a place that i strongly recommend others to come to get their tertiary education..

Cheers~~

This post has been edited by CaptWong: Apr 5 2008, 07:38 PM
yukiz
post Apr 5 2008, 09:27 PM

★ ★ ★ ★
516 posts

QUOTE(mphpopular @ Apr 4 2008, 07:24 PM)
inside PD block gt car park la...but it is reserved for lecturer ony...

d reason utar didnt open d parking to student is to prevent disagreement...u see,d parking space is limited,so ony
few very lucky/early application will get to book a parking slot in PD blok,wat happen to other who didnt get it...they
will blame utar saying that utar is unfair coz ony give certain student d privilege lo...so to prevent that,utar at PJ didnt offer any parking slot for d student...

kyoko4eva
post Apr 5 2008, 10:21 PM

idle!
908 posts

QUOTE(IpohBoY @ Apr 5 2008, 12:55 AM)
Does UTAR requires MUET in order to graduate?
yes, of course those from stpm dun need to take again since they took it during stpm
but those from other qualifications need to take it during their course of study

i'm not sure what band is needed to graduate, band 3 i guess
LYR
post Apr 6 2008, 12:08 AM

No one is indispensable
1,866 posts

QUOTE(kyoko4eva @ Apr 5 2008, 10:21 PM)
yes, of course those from stpm dun need to take again since they took it during stpm
but those from other qualifications need to take it during their course of study

i'm not sure what band is needed to graduate, band 3 i guess
for applicants with STPM, you'll require MUET to enrol into UTAR. however, i'm not sure the minimum requirement for MUET. for SPM holder, mostly they will look at your GCE-O. besides, UTAR doesnt provide MUET for those who wish to take. therefore, you can register as private candidate to take the test outside. i'm planning to do so too.
IpohBoY
post Apr 6 2008, 01:54 AM

722 posts

Then isnt there a conflict? How come applying using STPM qualification need MUET(band 4-written in the list for some course) while the foundation students themselves need not sit for MUET in order to graduate? It's like...some shitty foundation students who cant speak proper english can get into degree while some better ones (band 3) cant enrol in it. No offence, correct me if i am wrong

71 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:41 PM