42 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Photography Canon L Lens Thread, L-coholics Anonymous

yushin
post Nov 22 2009, 03:40 PM

3,329 posts

With high ISO capability of camera now, I think those F4L lenses should already enough. 70-200 F4L is half the weight of F2.8L.
TSianho
post Nov 22 2009, 03:49 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Nov 22 2009, 03:40 PM)
With high ISO capability of camera now, I think those F4L lenses should already enough. 70-200 F4L is half the weight of F2.8L.

I dont care how heavy it is coz it's such a buuuuuuuuuuuutiful lens. The f4 simply cannot do what the f2.8 does. Dont forget the 70-200 f4L is not weather proof too.

post Nov 22 2009, 03:50 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

70-2004 f4 USM not weather sealed ka ? sweat.gif
L must weather sealed mah... haiyo sad.gif
TSianho
post Nov 22 2009, 03:53 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Nov 22 2009, 03:50 PM)
70-2004 f4 USM not weather sealed ka ? sweat.gif
L must weather sealed mah... haiyo sad.gif
f4 IS is sealed. f4 is not. I think the f2.8 oso not sealed.
yrh0413
post Nov 22 2009, 04:06 PM

12,214 posts

honestly I find telephoto hard to use without IS... I used to own the 70-200 f/4 L on my ex 300D... darn, the handshake is so terrible.
IMspiration
post Nov 22 2009, 04:11 PM

118 posts

Iish. The f/2.8 IS is really expensive, but i REALLY dont feel like upgrading after getting the f/4 IS, and to also experience what Uncle ianho experienced. biggrin.gif Anyway, is it okay to get a copy of the lens from bhphotovideo.com? is the warranty going to be international or us only? The price is really cheaper as compared to local sets. sad.gif
yrh0413
post Nov 22 2009, 04:44 PM

12,214 posts

i still very much prefer to touch and test any lens before I make my purchase.... getting from overseas is cheap but you'll cry if you got a lemon copy.
yushin
post Nov 22 2009, 04:47 PM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Nov 22 2009, 03:49 PM)
I dont care how heavy it is coz it's such a buuuuuuuuuuuutiful lens. The f4 simply cannot do what the f2.8 does. Dont forget the 70-200 f4L is not weather proof too.
oops, I mean the IS version.

Added on November 22, 2009, 4:53 pm
QUOTE(IMspiration @ Nov 22 2009, 04:11 PM)
Iish. The f/2.8 IS is really expensive, but i REALLY dont feel like upgrading after getting the f/4 IS, and to also experience what Uncle ianho experienced. biggrin.gif Anyway, is it okay to get a copy of the lens from bhphotovideo.com? is the warranty going to be international or us only? The price is really cheaper as compared to local sets. sad.gif
I have the heavy 70-200 F2.8 IS, every time I use that lens, I keep thinking what the F4IS version would feel like. argh... must control...

This post has been edited by yushin: Nov 22 2009, 04:53 PM
kapalterbang_737
post Nov 22 2009, 05:07 PM

859 posts

I've upgrade my tele lens from EF-S 55-250 IS to 70-200 f4 IS and recently 70-200 f2.8 IS. If u have the moolah, just take the 70-200 f2.8 IS. I love every bit of this lens. Quite regret didn't bought it at the first place because i lost money when upgrade from time to time. The only drawback was i wish it wight just like the f4 IS..
IMspiration
post Nov 22 2009, 05:11 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(kapalterbang_737 @ Nov 22 2009, 05:07 PM)
I've upgrade my tele lens from EF-S 55-250 IS to 70-200 f4 IS and recently 70-200 f2.8 IS. If u have the moolah, just take the 70-200 f2.8 IS. I love every bit of this lens. Quite regret didn't bought it at the first place because i lost money when upgrade from time to time. The only drawback was i wish it wight just like the f4 IS..
I think i really have to test it out before i buy that beast == Anyone's willing to lend it to me for a day? biggrin.gif

Argh, still the same question, anyone of you out there ever bought lenses online from the US, and shipped to your doorstep?
TSianho
post Nov 22 2009, 06:59 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Nov 22 2009, 04:47 PM)
oops, I mean the IS version.

Added on November 22, 2009, 4:53 pm

I have the heavy 70-200 F2.8 IS, every time I use that lens, I keep thinking what the F4IS version would feel like. argh... must control...
Don't maaaaaaan. When u see the loss of bokeh u will know y u hafta carry the big mama. I don't miss my f4 the slightest bit.

QUOTE(IMspiration @ Nov 22 2009, 05:11 PM)
I think i really have to test it out before i buy that beast == Anyone's willing to lend it to me for a day? biggrin.gif

Argh, still the same question, anyone of you out there ever bought lenses online from the US, and shipped to your doorstep?
I have but it was just cheap lenses for my Sony Alpha. I certainly won't b buying rm7-8k lenses online man. Though the US merchants r very reliable n do refunds n exchanges willingly, the postage is gonna kill u.
IMspiration
post Nov 22 2009, 10:33 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Nov 22 2009, 06:59 PM)
Don't maaaaaaan. When u see the loss of bokeh u will know y u hafta carry the big mama. I don't miss my f4 the slightest bit.
I have but it was just cheap lenses for my Sony Alpha. I certainly won't b buying rm7-8k lenses online man. Though the US merchants r very reliable n do refunds n exchanges willingly, the postage is gonna kill u.
Not being safe, or the cost? blink.gif
TechnoDude94
post Nov 23 2009, 01:08 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

Uncle Ian, I thought that all L-lenses are weather-proofed?
yrh0413
post Nov 23 2009, 07:54 AM

12,214 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Nov 23 2009, 01:08 AM)
Uncle Ian, I thought that all L-lenses are weather-proofed?
older Ls are not weather-sealed... like the 300mm f/4 L IS USM, 4000mm f/5.6 L USM...
TechnoDude94
post Nov 23 2009, 07:57 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

@yrh0413:
Is the 70-200 F4L (Non-IS) weather sealed?
teddie
post Nov 23 2009, 07:58 AM

helo kawan
1,601 posts

non-is is not weather sealed
davidmak
post Nov 23 2009, 08:09 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(teddie @ Nov 23 2009, 07:58 AM)
non-is is not weather sealed
Not all L-lens are weather sealed unfortunately. You can quite accurately guess whether a lens is sealed by looking at the mount. There should be a rubber gasket/seal.
IMspiration
post Nov 23 2009, 09:18 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Nov 23 2009, 07:54 AM)
older Ls are not weather-sealed... like the 300mm f/4 L IS USM, 4000mm f/5.6 L USM...
Woots, I want that 4000mm f/5.6 L USM! brows.gif
yrh0413
post Nov 23 2009, 10:12 AM

12,214 posts

yawn.gif sticky keyboard early in the morning...
TechnoDude94
post Nov 23 2009, 03:42 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

@teddie:
I see, thanks for clarifying.

42 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0235sec    1.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:07 AM