Photography Canon L Lens Thread, L-coholics Anonymous

vikingw2k
post Apr 26 2010, 04:44 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(Faizul Busran @ Apr 26 2010, 08:41 AM)
Tq Viking for ur useful info.
Somehow I would recommend Canon 17-55mm f2.8 IS USM instead of 24-70 if you are planning to use on 450D smile.gif
goldfries
post Apr 26 2010, 04:47 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

for the general purpose (meaning covering wide) - i would second what viking mentioned.

furthermore the 17-55 f2.8 IS is cheaper and comes with IS.
post Apr 26 2010, 05:46 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

unless people really want enjoy full frame.

btw the rumor is strong about the 24-70 2.8 IS leh.. hold ya willpower to buy 24-70L first laugh.gif
Mavik
post Apr 26 2010, 06:41 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

the IS would definitely help a lot smile.gif
empire23
post Apr 26 2010, 09:28 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Thinking about a new Canon L, but i have no faith in Japanese build quality these days, after the repeated failures of the 1Ds and some of my lenses. Haven't caught up with L lenses in a long time. Am extremely happy with my 35mm 1.4L and haven't used anything else on my camera bodies for more than a year. I hope their build quality is getting better instead of worse.

Canon 10x42L IS anyone brows.gif
vikingw2k
post Apr 26 2010, 09:32 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Apr 26 2010, 09:28 PM)
Thinking about a new Canon L, but i have no faith in Japanese build quality these days, after the repeated failures of the 1Ds and some of my lenses. Haven't caught up with L lenses in a long time. Am extremely happy with my 35mm 1.4L and haven't used anything else on my camera bodies for more than a year. I hope their build quality is getting better instead of worse.

Canon 10x42L IS anyone brows.gif
You should give 24mm f1.4 Mark II L USM a try. One of my favorite walkabout lens together with my 35L
empire23
post Apr 26 2010, 09:37 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Apr 26 2010, 09:32 PM)
You should give 24mm f1.4 Mark II L USM a try. One of my favorite walkabout lens together with my 35L
Interesting lense, but i've seen negative reviews regarding edge detail and focus speed. But to me the most important is that it survives abuse and to find reviews whereby the reviewer takes it trekking and so on aren't easy. 24mm would be extremely useful.

My 70-200 with 2x extender has been relegated to range/spotting duty, but will retire it in favour of Leica or Hensoldt optics by the end of the year.
vikingw2k
post Apr 26 2010, 09:40 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Apr 26 2010, 09:37 PM)
Interesting lense, but i've seen negative reviews regarding edge detail and focus speed. But to me the most important is that it survives abuse and to find reviews whereby the reviewer takes it trekking and so on aren't easy. 24mm would be extremely useful.

My 70-200 with 2x extender has been relegated to range/spotting duty, but will retire it in favour of Leica or Hensoldt optics by the end of the year.
Hmm, I suppose the negative reviews were pointing towards its predecessor 24L Mk1? Mark II perform miles better than the Mk1. biggrin.gif

Gemeniswong
post Nov 17 2010, 08:44 PM

155 posts

EF24-70mm f/2.8L II USM -is the replacement model soon? coz this lens price are dropping.....

Added on November 17, 2010, 8:47 pm
QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Apr 26 2010, 04:44 PM)
Somehow I would recommend Canon 17-55mm f2.8 IS USM instead of 24-70 if you are planning to use on 450D smile.gif
If you are loaded, get EF16-35mm f/2.8L II USM, then go for FF ....then EF24-70mm f/2.8L II USM anf then EF70-200mm f/2.8L.

This post has been edited by Gemeniswong: Nov 17 2010, 08:47 PM
lie_bizkut
post Nov 26 2010, 11:15 AM

84 posts

just have 1 L lens. 70-200 F2.8. non IS la. very satisfied. my workhorse..

bu IS is better,huhuhuhu
azrull nazreen
post Dec 11 2010, 09:49 AM

127 posts

anyone know how much it cost to repair my 18-55mm IS ??
the auto focus broke..cant use it..
only can use manuals..
TSianho
post Dec 11 2010, 10:15 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(azrull nazreen @ Dec 11 2010, 09:49 AM)
anyone know how much it cost to repair my 18-55mm IS ??
the auto focus broke..cant use it..
only can use manuals..
This is L lens thread la, not kit L ens thread. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: Dec 11 2010, 10:16 AM
Jurlique
post Dec 11 2010, 10:40 AM

The Hajok
1,695 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 11 2010, 10:15 AM)
Mind to explain what is L lens?
What's the difference between L lens and kit lens?
iz1011
post Dec 11 2010, 11:17 AM

516 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 11 2010, 11:15 AM)
who knows next time Canon come out with L series Kit lens..haha..

L lens is the Canon's top-of-the-line lenses.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canon_L_lens

read it then u will know what's L lens dy.

This post has been edited by iz1011: Dec 11 2010, 11:20 AM
TSianho
post Dec 11 2010, 03:24 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(iz1011 @ Dec 11 2010, 11:17 AM)
who knows next time Canon come out with L series Kit lens..haha..

L lens is the Canon's top-of-the-line lenses.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canon_L_lens

read it then u will know what's L lens dy.
U don't know that there is an L lens that comes in a kit? laugh.gif Just that no1 calls it a kit lens as that name is commonly given to the 18-55IS.

I don't need to read wikipedia on L lens la. I started this thread in case you didn't notice. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: Dec 11 2010, 03:44 PM
iz1011
post Dec 11 2010, 07:27 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 11 2010, 04:24 PM)
U don't know that there is an L lens that comes in a kit?  laugh.gif  Just that no1 calls it a kit lens as that name is commonly given to the 18-55IS.

I don't need to read wikipedia on L lens la. I started this thread in case you didn't notice. laugh.gif
i know la.
just for the guys upstairs la..
only one model come with L series kit lens~~

CooLeRthings
post Dec 19 2010, 01:21 PM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 11 2010, 10:15 AM)
wei, kit lens also got L 1 ok tongue.gif
my one is kit lens wor, mean i can't join here a?
TSianho
post Dec 19 2010, 04:37 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(CooLeRthings @ Dec 19 2010, 01:21 PM)
wei, kit lens also got L 1 ok tongue.gif
my one is kit lens wor, mean i can't join here a?
Cannot! Cheap L not counted. tongue.gif
CooLeRthings
post Dec 19 2010, 05:24 PM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 19 2010, 04:37 PM)
Cannot! Cheap L not counted.  tongue.gif
So mean! sad.gif

but i do agree is consider 1 of the cheapest L...
the F4 is kinda rubbish leh...
i might wanna let go this and get a 24-70mm F2.8L better..

This post has been edited by CooLeRthings: Dec 19 2010, 05:25 PM
allenlyk
post Dec 19 2010, 06:13 PM

1,125 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 19 2010, 04:37 PM)
Cannot! Cheap L not counted.  tongue.gif
24-105L cheap meh? also need 4-5k dy.. tongue.gif

42 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled