33 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

ASUS motherboard overclocking discussion, ASUS mb owners come to discuss here.

`my`
post Mar 30 2008, 09:09 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 30 2008, 08:42 PM)
sishh.. a silly question aint it..
Ain't Rampage an X48 mobo and Maximus an X38. So going from X48 to the original X38 would mean going back rite? So what's wrong with the current or latest BIOS? hmm.gif

Or, I just get you wrong here. hmm.gif
lichyetan
post Mar 30 2008, 09:20 PM

2,295 posts

some slight OC of mine with Blitz Formula, still testing out... will try run orthos blend test later...

cstkl1
post Mar 30 2008, 09:22 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(`my` @ Mar 30 2008, 09:09 PM)
Ain't Rampage an X48 mobo and Maximus an X38. So going from X48 to the original X38 would mean going back rite? So what's wrong with the current or latest BIOS?  hmm.gif

Or, I just get you wrong here.  hmm.gif
x48 is just a higher bin x38
other than that the rampage formula board and maximus is the same
so using the right afudos u can flash the rampage bios into the maximus
to get full mem overclocking especially the performance levels
and also better gtl range.

u need engineering afudos if u want to flash back.

lichyetan
post Mar 30 2008, 09:33 PM

2,295 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 30 2008, 09:22 PM)

i also finding a version of afudos to flashback or downgrade bios version for blitz formula, any idea? or source?
`my`
post Mar 30 2008, 09:38 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 30 2008, 09:22 PM)

So, my previous question ain't silly. It's just you downgraded back meaning the latest BIOS got prob. icon_rolleyes.gif

I know flashing BIOS is to solve previous problem but usually people will flash to latest, so that's why I'm asking why downgrading back? Is there a problem. So it's nothing silly. whistling.gif
cstkl1
post Mar 31 2008, 02:25 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(`my` @ Mar 30 2008, 09:38 PM)
So, my previous question ain't silly. It's just you downgraded back meaning the latest BIOS got prob.  icon_rolleyes.gif

I know flashing BIOS is to solve previous problem but usually people will flash to latest, so that's why I'm asking why downgrading back? Is there a problem. So it's nothing silly.  whistling.gif
again ure silly
its flashing a different mobo bios..
if shit happens dont u want to go back to the bios meant for ure mobo..

thats y u need the engineering afudos.

its not downgrading..its A DIFFERENT BIOS ALL TOGETHER..

do a google and find out difference with rampage formula and maximus formula
also its possible to flash a asus p5e into a maximus or a rampage formula but u might lose out some features for the p5e.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Mar 31 2008, 02:27 AM
`my`
post Mar 31 2008, 10:20 AM

54 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 31 2008, 02:25 AM)
again ure silly
its flashing a different mobo bios..
if shit happens dont u want to go back to the bios meant for ure mobo..

thats y u need the engineering afudos.

its not downgrading..its A DIFFERENT BIOS ALL TOGETHER..

do a google and find out difference with rampage formula and maximus formula
also its possible to flash a asus p5e into a maximus or a rampage formula but u might lose out some features for the p5e.
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

Told you it's almost the same thing. Different BIOS coz different chipset. I know Maximus and I know Rampage. Don't come and say silly coz you don't know everything too. The difference only you've experience. God damn it, what an arrogant person you are. Enough said bout that.

My question was what's wrong with the current BIOS? Could you just state you have some difficulties and problems rather than saying other people silly. Or you're trying to brag that yourself as an enthusiast so you can call noob to others doh.gif Everyone knows if you go from current to latest coz you have some problems with the current. But when flashing Maximus to Rampage or the othe way round, not many people have done that. So the consequences and results should be shared.

Sorry if this post offence you or any other people. I'm just saying that I asked a simple question and the answer from an experience person is 'Silly'. I'm really frustrated with the attitude that is being given just because you have the luck and experience to experiment with many hardwares. Have some manners please, this is a place to share and not to brag yourself. The information shared will benefit more people than just me. 'nuff said here. Pardon me Admin and Mods. notworthy.gif
cstkl1
post Mar 31 2008, 10:50 AM

6,799 posts

sorry ppl but a repy to something thats totally irrelevant to this thread.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Mar 31 2008, 10:57 AM
QiW
post Mar 31 2008, 11:13 AM

354 posts

anybody wanna mail me their copy of ENGINEERING AFUDOS for back flashing ?? hehehehe tongue.gif
LExus65
post Mar 31 2008, 01:03 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

rampage seems to give quite a good range of gtl, may be that what i need for my e2220 to break ghz with lower voltage....the bloody chip default pll voltage is so high

hrm.... may be i should try rampage bios too.....may be i'll consult cstkl1 later when i got time.... so many work pile up late, need to find more time to play with my maximus.

bokbeng, not many p5e user around here i guess
cstkl1
post Mar 31 2008, 02:25 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Mar 31 2008, 01:03 PM)
rampage seems to give quite a good range of gtl, may be that what i need for my e2220 to break ghz with lower voltage....the bloody chip default pll voltage is so high

hrm.... may be i should try rampage bios too.....may be i'll consult cstkl1 later when i got time.... so many work pile up late, need to find more time to play with my maximus.

bokbeng, not many p5e user around here i guess
look at iriz posting in the quads..
he just flashed to rampage..
now 3.2ghz at 0.01v+ on stock voltages..
heck his nb voltage and fsb voltage also ridiculously low with the rampage bios.

best of all it was done with his mem at maximum bandwidth at trd 7.. which is easier to set on rampage bios.

so its definitely the way to go..

Added on March 31, 2008, 2:26 pm
QUOTE(QiW @ Mar 31 2008, 11:13 AM)
anybody wanna mail me their copy of ENGINEERING AFUDOS for back flashing ?? hehehehe tongue.gif
http://www.tyan.com/tech/matrix_flashUtility.aspx

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Mar 31 2008, 02:26 PM
QiW
post Mar 31 2008, 04:08 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 31 2008, 02:25 PM)
look at iriz posting in the quads..
he just flashed to rampage..
now 3.2ghz at 0.01v+ on stock voltages..
heck his nb voltage and fsb voltage also ridiculously low with the rampage bios.

best of all it was done with his mem at maximum bandwidth at trd 7.. which is easier to set on rampage bios.

so its definitely the way to go..

Added on March 31, 2008, 2:26 pm
http://www.tyan.com/tech/matrix_flashUtility.aspx
ok .. thanks ... will try and see what happens .. tongue.gif
`my`
post Mar 31 2008, 06:34 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Mar 31 2008, 10:50 AM)

Aye, no further comments on that. 'Nuff war already + still have respect for seniors. nod.gif

By the way, sorry if again a silly question, comparing Maximus and P5E WS Pro, which one would be better for OCing with E8xxx Penryns. Coz Maximus would be preferable as it is meant for gamers and serious OCers. I'm not too sure bout WS Pro, but I'm attracted to the additional features though. notworthy.gif
TSahsiah
post Apr 1 2008, 07:00 AM

Asus ROG Fan
875 posts

It is ok to question and answer here. Please use polite word as we are all learning here.
lichyetan
post Apr 1 2008, 04:01 PM

2,295 posts

ok, some noob question, for CPU OC, we can test via prime95 in-place fft to check stability whether its enough voltage, for memory, we can test through blend test and memtest.
Here is my noob question, how do we detect if there are insufficient NB volt, FSB Vtt or PLL ? we should check it using what software, so far my OC have been tested with OCCT, Orthos and Prime, all passes at least 7 hours mark. The settings are FSB: 458 DDR2 1100 with settings on the screenies,
but when i tried higher FSB for higher memory clock speed, such as 1130, 1140 i can pass 32M SuperPI, but failed orthos blend with 4096mb mem in uses in just few minutes and sometimes it can hold till 1 hour... i have tried bumping the NB volt but it doesnt help, so wat NB voltage settings its suitable for me to run my p35(Blitz Formula SE) for FSB above 475? been following anandtech's performance level's guide, so far i did with performance level 7. or my case is just insufficient vdimm to run 1130 or 1140... dun dare to raise the ram voltage over 2.2v.
fesick
post Apr 1 2008, 04:16 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

waa..cool bro..i just request u to post sp1 at crucial 4gbkit thread..
now u post edi..
cstkl1
post Apr 1 2008, 09:05 PM

6,799 posts

licyetan
u really increased the latencies
and then lowered the trd

so no diff on ure trd... heck might be even worse ..
the reason is the following

and sishh this is the default
and u went much more looser than this
write to precharge delay = 12
write to read delay = 9
and the one thats really bad..
all to precharge delay default is 3.. by putting 6.. ure latencies and bandwidth just took a hit..
so ure 1100 mhz just for show dude..

dont even want to ask whats ure

bank delays are.. surely atrocious.

write to read
read to read and write to write.
for asus mobo is denoted with (D)
default should be 5 for write to read
and the others is 6...
but u can easily make all of them either 5-5-5- or 5-4-5 ( 4 for read to read bank delay)
run a everest bandwidth test.. and watch ure latencies on mem and L2.

the asus mem settings are already tight..

u just need to change the trd..
all to precharge delay just leave it

and the bank delays advice to leave it at stock..

change the ai skew to strong.. and disable any from of t2 dispatch, static read etc..
it will intefere with the ai skew.

and hmm the reasoning for ure failure.. in overclocking
cause ure just testing very little mem..
try memtest.. with 2096 mb and heck even play avi file.. willing to bet it will hang.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Apr 1 2008, 09:15 PM
TSahsiah
post Apr 1 2008, 10:10 PM

Asus ROG Fan
875 posts

@QiW,

I managed to revert back my motherboard BIOS with a tool called AMIFLASH.COM and it must be executed in Dos environment. Please PM me your email address and I can email that program to you.

@All,

I reflashed my P5K Deluxe to 0404. Compare to 0809. 0404 is more OCable. I managed to push my memory higher compare to 0809.

I did use MemTest86+ to test the bandwidth for Transaction Booster and Boost Level or Relax Level. I will update the result in the first post.

overclockalbert
post Apr 1 2008, 10:11 PM

1,058 posts

huh! that was some stuff of explanation.

lichyetan
post Apr 2 2008, 12:04 AM

2,295 posts

hey bro, just read ur guide, but i realise i cant change the all to precharge delay, i cannot change it in memset, yet cannot find it in my bios... WTH... Blitz formula dont have this feature? and also there are no AI skew settings also... i'll try lower the settings as i leave them all at auto at the moment... will get back here once i change the settings... now trying to lower all those timings... thanks for the info bro... and also the anadtech's guide are good too... thumbup.gif
here is the screenies of my bios, no settings for the ai skew and all to precharge delay
latest updates, tried memtest... all to precharge delays still 6, it might be the ram default, cannot find a way to change it... but changed some of them...

This post has been edited by lichyetan: Apr 2 2008, 09:53 AM

33 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:21 AM