Samsung SGH i780 Discussion Thread

-ahtiang-
post May 11 2010, 09:21 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(bob @ May 11 2010, 10:24 AM)
TQ
btw, i already switch to manual select & choose GSM ....
but on top of the screen still appear 3G icon ... is that normal???
hmm.gif not too sure about the icon for GSM though... so how's the battery life goes after you switched over to GSM band? is it better? if yes, meaning you successfully on the GSM band and not the 3G band...

will try on my unit to see what icon it will show when switched to GSM band... btw, you're on WM6.1 rom?

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: May 11 2010, 09:22 PM
gu~wak_zhai
post May 11 2010, 11:38 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

hmm i switched and there's no more 3g icon... hmm.gif quite weird in ur case..
bob
post May 12 2010, 09:25 AM

* hari2mau *
1,707 posts

QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ May 11 2010, 09:21 PM)
hmm.gif not too sure about the icon for GSM though... so how's the battery life goes after you switched over to GSM band? is it better? if yes, meaning you successfully on the GSM band and not the 3G band...

will try on my unit to see what icon it will show when switched to GSM band... btw, you're on WM6.1 rom?
mine is WM6.1 ...

3G or E icon still appear ... dunno why?
i already select CelcomGSM only ...

battery life not sure yet .... hv to wait until tomorrow

-ahtiang-
post May 15 2010, 12:32 PM

435 posts

I suspect that when you're on GSM band and if you trigger any data connectivity, the icon may turn to either G (GPRS) or E (EDGE)... but then if you still see 3G... then something quite funny...

I've another phone on Celcom line and when i downgrade my line to 2G band, my phone will display EDGE connectivity (this Celcom line is tied up with a BlackBerry device, so it may not be accurate when compared with the i780)...
bob
post May 17 2010, 11:46 AM

* hari2mau *
1,707 posts

QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ May 15 2010, 12:32 PM)
I suspect that when you're on GSM band and if you trigger any data connectivity, the icon may turn to either G (GPRS) or E (EDGE)... but then if you still see 3G... then something quite funny...

I've another phone on Celcom line and when i downgrade my line to 2G band, my phone will display EDGE connectivity (this Celcom line is tied up with a BlackBerry device, so it may not be accurate when compared with the i780)...
something funny or wierd on my i780 ..... 3G or E icon still apper eventhough i switched to GSM.
also nothing change on battery life ...
SUSlimengseng
post May 21 2010, 10:11 PM

257 posts

Good news.

Time to upgrade to winmo 6.5

http://www.samsungmobile.com/support/i780/...untry=my&os=xp#
-ahtiang-
post May 21 2010, 10:28 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(limengseng @ May 21 2010, 10:11 PM)
aren't that link is for Win Mobile 6.1 DXIB1 ROM? hmm.gif
lordgamer3
post May 22 2010, 04:37 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(limengseng @ May 21 2010, 10:11 PM)
WOOHOO thank you for the great news was always looking forward to this.However do u know any place that offer to do d flashing ?? thanks
-ahtiang-
post May 22 2010, 06:33 PM

435 posts

that link was released by SAMSUNG very long time ago for the Windows Mobile 6.1 Upgrade and not 6.5 upgrade...
L7Awesome
post May 25 2010, 11:07 PM

418 posts

Hi, just want to check if we can use i780 to make video calls?
wayfeel
post May 28 2010, 01:45 AM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ May 25 2010, 11:07 PM)
Hi, just want to check if we can use i780 to make video calls?
sure can. there is a tiny camera on top the lcd is specially for video call so ur honey can hv video call seeeeex with u

Added on May 28, 2010, 1:48 am
QUOTE(bob @ May 11 2010, 10:24 AM)
TQ
btw, i already switch to manual select & choose GSM ....
but on top of the screen still appear 3G icon ... is that normal???
did u set the network selection to manual instead of automatic (default) ?

This post has been edited by wayfeel: May 28 2010, 01:48 AM
nothingology
post Jun 15 2010, 02:11 PM

31 posts

i've found a problem (digi 3g users)

last time, an annoying msg (ALS - SELECTED LINE ID: 1) was prompted, we had to set HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Security\Phone\Skin - Enabled=0 to solve the problem.

If the value is set to 0, i'm unable to make video call (digi-digi), so i'm forced to change it back to 1, unfortunately... the annoying msg is back ><

anyone has the solution? thanks a lot smile.gif
bob
post Jun 16 2010, 02:56 PM

* hari2mau *
1,707 posts

QUOTE(wayfeel @ May 28 2010, 01:45 AM)
sure can. there is a tiny camera on top the lcd is specially for video call so ur honey can hv video call seeeeex with u

Added on May 28, 2010, 1:48 am
did u set the network selection to manual instead of automatic (default) ?
already use manual network selection but still the same
-ahtiang-
post Jun 19 2010, 11:24 AM

435 posts

Samsung just announced a close replacement to i780... it's the B7350 (OMNIA PRO 4) which has a 320x320 'Touch Screen'!!!... and it will have the WM 6.5.x OS... maybe we can plug it's ROM out and mod it into our i780... brows.gif

http://wmpoweruser.com/?p=17119
aepock
post Jun 29 2010, 01:48 PM

181 posts

Dear All Sifu,

Please point me to i780 wm6.5 upgrade guide....currently i'm using wm6.1....Thanks.
shogun_125
post Jun 30 2010, 10:39 AM

557 posts

i dont think the upgrade is still available.. btw why we need to upgrade to 6.5?.

Added on June 30, 2010, 10:40 am
QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ May 11 2010, 09:21 PM)

switching the phone to 2G will deliver good result on battery life.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by shogun_125: Jun 30 2010, 10:40 AM
wayfeel
post Jul 5 2010, 07:58 PM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

guys, need help .urgent.

why my charger for i780 when charging , keep flashing orange kaler...means what...frustrating when i dont understand morse code...

thx

Added on July 5, 2010, 8:00 pm
QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ Jun 19 2010, 11:24 AM)
Samsung just announced a close replacement to i780... it's the B7350 (OMNIA PRO 4) which has a 320x320 'Touch Screen'!!!... and it will have the WM 6.5.x OS... maybe we can plug it's ROM out and mod it into our i780...  brows.gif

http://wmpoweruser.com/?p=17119
buy Wave instead lol
1ghz proc and super amoled...1.5k oni, what a steal

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jul 5 2010, 08:00 PM
SUSP1Maggot
post Jul 6 2010, 01:19 AM

39 posts

Hi Folks;

Recently my i780 departed with me...she is only 1 year old...somehow, i got frustrated over something and smash her with a hammer into pieces.

I wanna let go of the 2 batteries, 1 desktop charger, 1 stylus, 1 usb cable, 1 capcase silicon cover. all for RM150...COD in PJ area or POS LAJU.

This post has been edited by P1Maggot: Jul 6 2010, 01:20 AM
cd-x
post Jul 6 2010, 04:19 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(bob @ May 17 2010, 11:46 AM)
something funny or wierd on my i780 ..... 3G or E icon still apper eventhough i switched to GSM.
also nothing change on battery life ...
E means EDGE, its not 3g.

also always check on your programs, bluetooth, wifi, etc... turn it off if u dont use it.

press n hold OK button to see if got any program running in background.

u can also use task manager to end task/kill unwanted program just like windows on pc.
Click: Start> Settings> System> Task Manager.

Added on July 6, 2010, 4:20 am
QUOTE(P1Maggot @ Jul 6 2010, 01:19 AM)
Hi Folks;

Recently my i780 departed with me...she is only 1 year old...somehow, i got frustrated over something and smash her with a hammer into pieces.

I wanna let go of the 2 batteries, 1 desktop charger, 1 stylus, 1 usb cable, 1 capcase silicon cover. all for RM150...COD in PJ area or POS LAJU.
do u sell seperately? interested with capcase silicon cover (what color?) n 1 battery. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cd-x: Jul 6 2010, 04:20 AM
SUSP1Maggot
post Jul 6 2010, 09:41 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(cd-x @ Jul 6 2010, 04:19 AM)
E means EDGE, its not 3g.

also always check on your programs, bluetooth, wifi, etc... turn it off if u dont use it.

press n hold OK button to see if got any program running in background.

u can also use task manager to end task/kill unwanted program just like windows on pc.
Click: Start> Settings> System> Task Manager.

Added on July 6, 2010, 4:20 am
do u sell seperately? interested with capcase silicon cover (what color?) n 1 battery.  biggrin.gif
black color bro...take all la bro for 150bucks..easier for me and 4 extra batteries on the go...hehehehehe the capdase silikon looks really macho on i780 and they hardly come by anymore

This post has been edited by P1Maggot: Jul 6 2010, 09:51 PM

39 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:25 PM