Samsung SGH i780 Discussion Thread

wayfeel
post Apr 15 2010, 07:51 PM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

I bought an i780 for RM 650 from a 'fren' claiming it's a 'demo set' , maybe its a 2nd hand unit ,not sure but it sure look pristine enuff to be believable demo set.

warranty till July 10, with all original packaging and acc , 2 batts, desktop charger, n others. but 2nd hand or not, tis thg look all new.

this phone is amazing but there r few annoying quirks:

1. the ringing tone is too soft even at max setting.
2. the BT earphone has no direct button to de/activate BT earrphone during call but need go 1 menu tier deeper
3. I cant find the copy contact from SIM to contact.

transferring my cotacts from old phone to new phone is quite a nightmare everytime new hp

my version is PDXHL2 , someone said as long as stable, no need to upgrade, ok. but how latest is my version? tahnks.

anyway, I put that version into the box http://www.samsungmobile.com/support/i780/...ountry=my&os=xp but it says my version is incorrect n pls try again. wats up?

Added on April 16, 2010, 1:17 pm

the battery i gotten is a 1000mAh rated as opposed to gsmarena i780 battery is 1480mAh. this kind of differences kinda upsetting sometime when u gt the lower of the deal

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Apr 16 2010, 01:17 PM
wayfeel
post Apr 16 2010, 03:29 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ Apr 16 2010, 02:57 PM)
The soft ringtone on i780 is a known fact and there is actually something you can do with a little tweak within the device itself... go to this xda forum : i780 ringtone tweak and explore what can be done... but then tweak it at your own risk...  brows.gif  i've done it before and it works...

as for the upgrade, your version should not have problem upgrading... i suspect you've a typo error maybe... type in DXHL2 and it should work...  icon_rolleyes.gif
all battery for i780 in Malaysia are 1000mAh as i've confirmed it with Samsung Malaysia, so too bad for us though...
THANKS for ur helpful reply, ahtiang, very much appreciated. it gave me hope that the sound can be increased lol

I am indeed too new with samsung's mobile gadgets to know all these n although a 2 yrs old model i780 in which i only get to know in 2 days. previously I was waiting for the grey on black version of nokia xm 5530 (cuz budget rm700) for 2 months or more and when it arrived iwas still doubtful wich to get - btw full touchscr n qwerty hp. when i discovered the i780 in that two days, i was sold, also in that 2 days. and here i am, a virgin but proud samsung user lol wat an experience

yea i was very disappoined if not shocked wit the volum n hope that the tweak will work, i believe in it. from winmo 5.0 to symbian os (G900) and convinced symbian is the ftw now that back to Winmo 6.1, however, feels very refreshing n more variables meaning less boring heh

IF i upg my version, wht improvement should i expect? shd i upg, wat do u advice.

if the 1480mAh version, do they get two batteries too? can i buy a smsg ori 1480mAh for my smsg, perhaps from ebay n the likes, compatible? anyone done tis before?

Added on April 16, 2010, 4:50 pm
QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ Apr 16 2010, 02:57 PM)
The soft ringtone on i780 is a known fact and there is actually something you can do with a little tweak within the device itself... go to this xda forum : i780 ringtone tweak and explore what can be done... but then tweak it at your own risk...  brows.gif  i've done it before and it works...

DAMN, it works !
very happy.

wan ask does smsg hp is like sony ericsson that the speaker easy 'pecah' when on max setting, unlike nokia one speaker durability very tahan...is there any quirks/weakness of the smsg hp that i should particularly cautious of?
i set to 18db on the RVOL ( the only setting i edit) the max is 22db or sthg i tink. wat did u guys set tis to?

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Apr 16 2010, 04:51 PM
wayfeel
post Apr 16 2010, 06:26 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ Apr 16 2010, 05:57 PM)
hi wayfeel,

personally, i think you should upgrade to WM6.1 via the Samsung official upgrade site which you already visited and the last official ROM released by Samsung for this model is DXIB1... so far as i recall the last time i used this ROM, it was very stable indeed...

i'm now using a custom build ROM built by xda forumer ironeagle which is running on WM6.5.5 based on the core of DXIB1... it's rock solid stable to far... wink.gif

on the speaker of i780, so far i have no issue with it and as always with all electronic stuff... don't push it to it's limit hahaha... leave some space for it to breath biggrin.gif just my 2cents though..

i've tried to scout for the 1480mAh battery here in MY before but no luck in getting one... on ebay? erm... a little skeptic about it... but then there is a well known 3rd party battery which churn out 3000mAh from Mugen but at the expense of thicker cover which looks superbly ugly to me, but if you need the hardcore juice, then that's the one you should be goin to...

anyway, welcome to i780 world...
yea i saw the mugen battery. dont worry , im not THAT desperate.

i am currently running on WM 6.1. ok i will check out the DXIB1. lastime ive dabbled enough with O2 xphone 2 n symbian UIQ G900, now abit fed up to wan to dabble here n there.

anyway on short note, wat can i expect from DXIB1 or the ironeagle for that matter. idk watst the fuss on the xda, can highlight to me?
wayfeel
post Apr 17 2010, 01:19 AM

2,114 posts

wich better iGo or Garmin MXT. can someone pinpoint/pm me to the link to the origina1 software/map? i nvr use gps before. mine i780 is stock. appreciated

i browsed almost all pages here but not yet i see any link to theme/icons , etc for i780?

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Apr 17 2010, 12:45 PM
wayfeel
post Apr 17 2010, 03:45 PM

2,114 posts

regarding to SPB Mobile Shell , somebody from http://forum.mypdacafe.com/viewtopic.php?f...8638&start=1125
wrote tis:

"Attention to those who use i780 to connect to internet via other bluetooth phone with unlimited data plan. Do not install SPB Mobile shell 3.xx. It will cause our i780 ,sometime, unble to connect to internet or disconnected. Every time need to software reset to be able to connect again. It took me long time to figure out this."

is he saying don instl spb mshell ? i worry tis prog will stir the peace lol
wayfeel
post Apr 17 2010, 10:47 PM

2,114 posts

wow guys hv u heard abt the samsung i350 Intrepid?
http://www.phonearena.com/htmls/Samsung-In...iew-r_2295.html

check the magnified pics, it look sleek. i wonder how much is it priced

wayfeel
post Apr 18 2010, 03:32 AM

2,114 posts

the intrepid is wee bit larger than i780. seriously, i780 is the biggest i can accept which is tolerable btw.

ive seen the B73n0 n non touch scr is a no-no since ive been using tchscr all along. all my fren r using blackberries so naturally i was curiously desirous of qwerty. I didnt like the E7n design at all, i wud probably consider it if it had tchscr.

my unexpected discovery of the i780 that hv best of both worlds was an instant ecstasy! (tchscr of an iphone, finger sensitive track of E72, qwerty of blackberry - well almost lol) n the design appeals to me , was a given, such upclassness. altho far from perfect but to me, it owns all pda/smartphone/qwerty in the market incl intrepid n B73n0 rofl gdnite!
wayfeel
post Apr 18 2010, 12:42 PM

2,114 posts

[/quote]

Added on April 18, 2010, 12:43 pm
QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ Apr 18 2010, 11:07 AM)
hmm... can't blame Samsung though for the low spec of the camera megapix coz they target this phone for business segment, thus all business segment phone have relatively low spec camera but bumped up high in others area such as Processor (32-bit Marvell PXA310 624 MHz processor which is far much more juice than HTC Diamond) and Memory (128 MB RAM, 256 MB ROM)...

very agree. there is no perfect package. name me one phone that is perfect (in general sense of word), very likely it will hv only either touchscreen or qwerty. Not quite ignorant is bliss, U dont find the best thing but U make the best out of things. sry abit philosophical here smile.gif

I own a SE G900, it is 5MP but i tell u it is worse than i780 2MP, yes it is true, it's tht horrible that i feel the i780 camera 2MP is an upg from my G900 5MP lol 2MP is for bizmen to take photo of their product. btw, compact camera nowadays very capable too. I bring my Fujifilm F31fd to work.

-------

seriously, ter really in no way i can save/move some sms to another (own) folder? omg...

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Apr 18 2010, 03:17 PM
wayfeel
post Apr 18 2010, 08:45 PM

2,114 posts

need fast help here. cuz impatient to change theme edi lol

here got pointUI http://community.pointui.com/topic/direct-...st-build-number

is QVGA rite? which version is stable? is pro/lite need pay so i get Free version ? instal the pointUI cab installer to card or hp mem better? i beh tahan wan change eye candy theme liao lol the default theme is unbelivably boring ....

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Apr 18 2010, 08:57 PM
wayfeel
post Apr 19 2010, 02:26 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(gu~wak_zhai @ Apr 19 2010, 02:12 AM)
yes download the free qvga version.. u need to pay for the pro version.. i used the pro version last time n it works well.. but after few weeks it started to get unstable.. then i uninstall it ald.. u can try the free version though.. then tell us whether it is stable.. biggrin.gif
i instled pro n delete edi cuz it kept prompt me in the phone, sien lorzz. so i instl the free one, worked equally well but the 'theme' look distorted n look bad. it's not the size not ngam, it just dont look 'original' but cheapalak theme by unprofessional lol so i use back i780 default theme except use own background.

do u know any installer that can clean kao kao unwanted programs? BEFORE i instl the pointui pro, my hp is 142mb free. AFTER i uninstalled the pro, left 140mb, meaning got 2mb rubbish didnt 100% cleaned lol so abit 'bu shuang' ...but window all the while never efective in uninstallation zzzz
wayfeel
post Apr 19 2010, 08:29 PM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(gu~wak_zhai @ Apr 19 2010, 12:44 PM)
in tis case i use SK tools lor.. try googling it.. the software itself bundled wif alot of tweaking and cleaning tools.. smile.gif
sweet. thanks. tweaking yay interesting but tread with care huh. heh. wat hv u tweak so far n does it rly work on a phone that is rather fast already? (well at least on paper spec haha)
wayfeel
post Apr 21 2010, 01:05 AM

2,114 posts

some of the pics here very nice
http://forum.gsmhosting.com/vbb/f487/320x3...lpapers-707753/
wayfeel
post Apr 24 2010, 09:53 AM

2,114 posts

i asked the 'dealer' i got my i780 from eh for the 1450mah batt he sed that for us version oni.

so he got oni non original version 1750mah for rm 104. i was wondering if it is mugen brand? if yes, is mugen brand considered good n reliable? if it no, is it safe n stable n worthy to buy ?

any idea if tis is not the 'bulging' rear cover version rite? just to confirm.

pls advise. thanks

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Apr 24 2010, 09:55 AM
wayfeel
post Apr 24 2010, 09:53 PM

2,114 posts

u guys just use 1000mah x2? not enuf for me man, i do sales...i can use 2 batts in 2.5days....like everyday charging tis 1000mah...abit shitty... i edi power save the brightness n all else economical power usage even clearning my tskmgr . i nt even use wifi/gps at all. just medium freuency of call n sms...if less, 1 batt myb 2days...if got many calls 1-1.5days /batt

at first i rly kena tricked by the 1480mah gsmarena, yeah half my fault i took for granted....tt why i rly considering 1750mah....abt brand u r rite its risky if some cheapalak brand, i must enquire more on this

....anyone use anything beside stock 1000mah n mugen 3000?

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Apr 24 2010, 09:55 PM
wayfeel
post Apr 24 2010, 09:59 PM

2,114 posts

is momax reliable/safe brand? 1000 vs 1480 vs 1750 is a bloody big difference. like 75% more!
wayfeel
post Apr 24 2010, 10:31 PM

2,114 posts

950/1000mah........

they may as well sell the i780 with 600mah n let it kill the model...................
wayfeel
post Apr 25 2010, 02:26 PM

2,114 posts

ironeagle rom is to imitate winmo 6.5? can it install on 6.1?

myphone can instal to 6.1? cuz mine is 6.1
wayfeel
post Apr 27 2010, 05:51 PM

2,114 posts

anyone use mybatterylife program or the likes for i780?

Added on April 28, 2010, 8:04 pm
QUOTE(wayfeel @ Apr 24 2010, 09:53 PM)
u guys just use 1000mah x2? not enuf for me man, i do sales...i can use 2 batts in 2.5days....like everyday charging tis 1000mah...abit shitty... i edi power save the brightness n all else economical power usage even clearning my tskmgr . i nt even use wifi/gps at all. just medium freuency of call n sms...if less, 1 batt myb 2days...if got many calls 1-1.5days /batt

at first i rly kena tricked by the 1480mah gsmarena, yeah half my fault i took for granted....tt why i rly considering 1750mah....abt brand u r rite its risky if some cheapalak brand, i must enquire more on this

....anyone use anything beside stock 1000mah n mugen 3000?
wow I changed my setting from 3G to GSM 800/1800 network, n now my battery last alot longer.

usually before change. my battery change every 1.5days with medium use. after change to gsm (no 3G) , last night alone call 30 minutes, n today full day of medium usage (>15 smses, >30m -1hr calls) , it's already 1 day now , now remaining 75% , only used 25 % only from lastnite ! I keep cheking the battery bar twice, thrice as if disbelieving

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Apr 28 2010, 08:05 PM
wayfeel
post May 28 2010, 01:45 AM

2,114 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ May 25 2010, 11:07 PM)
Hi, just want to check if we can use i780 to make video calls?
sure can. there is a tiny camera on top the lcd is specially for video call so ur honey can hv video call seeeeex with u

Added on May 28, 2010, 1:48 am
QUOTE(bob @ May 11 2010, 10:24 AM)
TQ
btw, i already switch to manual select & choose GSM ....
but on top of the screen still appear 3G icon ... is that normal???
did u set the network selection to manual instead of automatic (default) ?

This post has been edited by wayfeel: May 28 2010, 01:48 AM
wayfeel
post Jul 5 2010, 07:58 PM

2,114 posts

guys, need help .urgent.

why my charger for i780 when charging , keep flashing orange kaler...means what...frustrating when i dont understand morse code...

thx

Added on July 5, 2010, 8:00 pm
QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ Jun 19 2010, 11:24 AM)
Samsung just announced a close replacement to i780... it's the B7350 (OMNIA PRO 4) which has a 320x320 'Touch Screen'!!!... and it will have the WM 6.5.x OS... maybe we can plug it's ROM out and mod it into our i780...  brows.gif

http://wmpoweruser.com/?p=17119
buy Wave instead lol
1ghz proc and super amoled...1.5k oni, what a steal

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jul 5 2010, 08:00 PM

0.0340sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:49 PM