Average Joe
822 posts

wow...
u juz got ur kit 2 months ago...
and u r peforming on next month?
not bad, huh?

i've been drumming for 4 years..
n i still dun hv a drumset yet... sad.gif

for the cymbals question, u gotta ask other pro... cuz im facing the same problem as well...

if ur hats budget is 200-400, i think u can try paiste 201 which currently got promotion at Bentley...
mayb Sabian B8...

from wut they said, dun get brass cymbals... bronze cymbals will do...

anyway, welcome to the family... tongue.gif
nickoholic
post Apr 22 2008, 01:32 AM

42 posts

Thanks a lot saru, im so touched to be accepted. Oh,yeh i just got my beloved drumkit after waiting for close to 10years. N finally i got it. Before this i was facing space problems coz i live in linked house. But now its in my bedroom,ho ho ho!
Probably saru,ure having the same prob i had b4? no probs which cant be solved! a drumset is most important for a drummer! A must hv! no replcement,not even practice pads.

how much is paiste 201 and sab b8 going for at bentley? i dont mind used but must be good condition otherwise itll look odd to match with my current kit.

lyn forummersr selling staggs for quite an ok price but i just cant accept buying instruments without knowing how they sound b4 i pay. agree?smile.gif

This post has been edited by nickoholic: Apr 22 2008, 01:36 AM
saru88
post Apr 22 2008, 02:53 AM

Average Joe
822 posts

yeah agree wif u...
im getting my drumset soon once i got enuff money...

opps... i 4got the price for paiste 201... but u can always drop by bentley... sabian b8 u can go to any yamaha stores like beatspot to check..

i've tried stagg sh & dh hats n crash b4..
sounds good... at least for its price...
dun expect too much on it by comparing wif B8pro, ZHT n stuff...
haha... but pretty decent for home-used...

if u r goin for performance, of coz u need betta cymbals...
Namqul
post Apr 22 2008, 09:04 AM

790 posts

for hats, 400 is quite hard to get 1. unless ur talking bout used hats. i think b8 will cost about 450 per pair. well, if lurk around youtube or drum forums, most ppl will say that b8 is still bad. ppl throw away b8 cymbals like frisbees. dang i hate to see that clip. but if you really are on a tight budget and cant wait too long to save more money. then go for it.
pokgaizai
post Apr 22 2008, 11:19 AM

684 posts

QUOTE(Namqul @ Apr 22 2008, 09:04 AM)
for hats, 400 is quite hard to get 1. unless ur talking bout used hats. i think b8 will cost about 450 per pair. well, if lurk around youtube or drum forums, most ppl will say that b8 is still bad. ppl throw away b8 cymbals like frisbees. dang i hate to see that clip. but if you really are on a tight budget and cant wait too long to save more money. then go for it.
what they throw those were cracked lo... laugh.gif
they mentioned in the video description....

yea 400 can get a nice used hats... just.. be patience and hunt ! flex.gif
saru88
post Apr 22 2008, 04:40 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

haha... yeah.. cracked 1...
im gonna kill them if the throw those new n fresh cymbals! haha...

B8 is bad? can elaborate more?
kari_convention
post Apr 22 2008, 05:18 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(saru88 @ Apr 22 2008, 04:40 PM)
haha... yeah.. cracked 1...
im gonna kill them if the throw those new n fresh cymbals! haha...

B8 is bad? can elaborate more?
hahaha those frisbee-cymbal-flying-video!!

most of drummers especially in US said Sabian B8 is bad simply because its like the lowest level of Bronze cymbals... Yeah, it used B8 bronze which have lesser tin bronze rather than B20 in higher end Sabian/Zildjian but the fact that the price of cymbals there are low and their buying power was great, they usually go for higher end cymbals... Its not like here where average earner's paycheck is almost the same as a pair of Zildjian A New Beats..

Unless if you're a professional gigging drummer or recording studio drummer, I dont see the point that you MUST buy expensive cymbals... Because most of the time you will play in your room where only you and (maybe) your neighbor and family hear you play. A set of Sabian B8 or Paiste 201 cymbals are fairly enough if you just want to practice in your room and maybe plays small2 gigs. And from my experience playing in numbers of gigs here in KL, usually in house kit doesnt have full miking system. So no matter if you are using B8, or K Custom Hybrid hats or whatever crap cymbals, the sound of your cymbals are barely noticed. So please dont feel down if you have B8, Paiste 101, ZBT or anything. I myself own 2years++ cheap Meinl Headliner Crash/Ride and I'm proud of it because its my very first cymbal!

but people may ask me, if that the case, why i want to buy expensive Zildjian cymbals for my kit? Well, I've played for nearly 9 years and I think I deserve good cymbals besides i am a drum geek and paying all my drums stuff with my own money. smile.gif
saru88
post Apr 22 2008, 05:35 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

haha... yeah... the price is damn cheap over US there...

so i'm asking my friend to bring back a set B8 pack which just costs around 700rm here... plus... an 18' crash is free if u purchase... (wow!)...

i cant afford to buy expensive cymbals...
for practise, i think 201 or B8 is more than enuff edi... (at least betta than stagg sh or dh, rite?)

-Nintedo Wii-
post Apr 22 2008, 07:13 PM

723 posts

well, nickoholick: to ur search for a crash between a crash and a splash, i suggest you go for a thin crash either 16" or 14" because i have a 16" B8 crash (thin) and it has the higher pitch thats somewhat splashlike and it has the sorta lasting kinda feel of a crash... like a splash but crash-like.... umm i dont know how to explain...
if you wanna get a crash thats a crash/splashy cymbal, i think the B8 or 201... because the staggs are kinda thrashy and would be more suitable for a chinaish crash sound i think... i like staggs but there sound is unique and not as clean as other cymbals (IMO)

For the hats, B8's and XS20's are good... i have B8 hats and i think theyre pretty good... WAAAAAAAAAY better than brass cymbals anyway... but ive tried the stagg SH hats and theyre actually quite nice, and if you manage to get your hands on a pair, go for the DH hats, i think theyre better than B8's.

But XS20's are good if you want a more musical hihats.... the B8 is a more cutting sortof hihat cymbals and are quite hi pitched, which is good if you want hats that cut through the music (the B8pro are more cutting and are good for music that has a very noticeable hihat) the XS20 hats are actually pitchwise right in the middle of the AA and AAX series...

i got a lot of info on the sabian cymbals from reading up about them before and from looking at a book and watcho\ing videos of them tongue.gif

The XS20's are probably the best choice imo.... cos theyre made in the same process as the AA cymbals (sabian B20 bronze) and theyre alot cheaper than AA's or Avedis.... but thats if you want a cymbal that you wont want to replace after a while...

the B8's are really good if you play something that has a aggresive sortof cutting sound (rock, punk) imo but if you play music where you want the cymbals to kinda blend with the music (ie Jazz or Progressive Rock) then go for something with a more low pitch... of course cymbals that blend more can be good for a lot of rock music too though so i really think its up to your ears...

I only have my insight on stagg and sabian cymbals... tongue.gif but i do know that whatever it is, dont buy brass cymbals....
because even B8 bronze cymbals can be good too, i mean theyre not only used in beginner cymbals but B8 bronze is also used in Paiste's 2002 series (used by John Bohnam of Led Zeppelin) and Paiste Rude cymbals (Used by Joey Jordison) and the new Sabian APX cymbals use B8 bronze too!

But whatever it is, if your in a tight budget go for the one that fits, but if you hear a cymbal that sounds perfect for your taste, you might just wanna consider saving up the extra cash for it, so try them out first
nickoholic
post Apr 22 2008, 07:13 PM

42 posts

oops i was about to ask stagg sh or dh hats ok or not? 14" or 13"?
-Nintedo Wii-
post Apr 22 2008, 07:16 PM

723 posts

oh well Dh hats are definately good if you can find them XD
i like 14"..... but its mainly a preference thing about sizes...

ive only tried the SH series and woulld say that their pretty good but if you can manage to get the DH series their even better... but imo the SH hats dont project as much as the B8's...
nickoholic
post Apr 22 2008, 07:25 PM

42 posts

ic..im just looking for a fair piece of hats to replace my current china made hats which r horrible,n they sound very very low pitch.

im looking for high pitch type like(when closed): psitt psitt psittt..! lol
is it true thicker hats produces higher pitch sound when closed?

yes, 14" hats r the normal size. I tot of getting 13" thinking it wud produce higher pitch but i wonder in the near future will i be able to find a mute pads for such size?

saru88
post Apr 22 2008, 08:24 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

so far, FYI, mute pads smallest for hats r only for 14"...
Namqul
post Apr 22 2008, 09:06 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(kari_convention @ Apr 22 2008, 05:18 PM)
hahaha those frisbee-cymbal-flying-video!!

most of drummers especially in US said Sabian B8 is bad simply because its like the lowest level of Bronze cymbals... Yeah, it used B8 bronze which have lesser tin bronze rather than B20 in higher end Sabian/Zildjian but the fact that the price of cymbals there are low and their buying power was great, they usually go for higher end cymbals... Its not like here where average earner's paycheck is almost the same as a pair of Zildjian A New Beats..

Unless if you're a professional gigging drummer or recording studio drummer, I dont see the point that you MUST buy expensive cymbals... Because most of the time you will play in your room where only you and (maybe) your neighbor and family hear you play. A set of Sabian B8 or Paiste 201 cymbals are fairly enough if you just want to practice in your room and maybe plays small2 gigs. And from my experience playing in numbers of gigs here in KL, usually in house kit doesnt have full miking system. So no matter if you are using B8, or K Custom Hybrid hats or whatever crap cymbals, the sound of your cymbals are barely noticed. So please dont feel down if you have B8, Paiste 101, ZBT or anything. I myself own 2years++  cheap Meinl Headliner Crash/Ride and I'm proud of it because its my very first cymbal!

but people may ask me, if that the case, why i want to buy expensive Zildjian cymbals for my kit? Well, I've played for nearly 9 years and I think I deserve good cymbals besides i am a drum geek and paying all my drums stuff with my own money.  smile.gif
true2. unless ur going pro or thinking of going far with drumming. then go for high ends. if your only playing for small event such as weddings or dinner or something, its not like your audience can tell the difference what cymbals ur playing dude. haha.

was about to ask bout your wait for each cymbals dude. hehe. if only i have the same amount of patience as yours. thats why i always end up with some mid range stuff. haha.

QUOTE(nickoholic @ Apr 22 2008, 07:25 PM)
ic..im just looking for a fair piece of hats to replace my current china made hats which r horrible,n they sound very very low pitch.

im looking for high pitch type like(when closed): psitt psitt psittt..! lol
is it true thicker hats produces higher pitch sound when closed?

yes, 14" hats r the normal size. I tot of getting 13" thinking it wud produce higher pitch but i wonder in the near future will i be able to find a mute pads for such size?
dude. that psitt psitt psitt was really funny! come try this, i like this splash that goes pish pish pish. haha. go youtube around and try find hats that suit your sound. you can always embed the vids here for extra opinions and comments.

QUOTE(saru88 @ Apr 22 2008, 08:24 PM)
so far, FYI, mute pads smallest for hats r only for 14"...
haha. true. im currently looking for 13" ones. anyone here know where i can find? or it does not exist everywhere?
nickoholic
post Apr 22 2008, 09:45 PM

42 posts

yes i heard mutes r only for 14 at the mo. Sigh but i like 13inch. I wonder is there a way to mod the ones meant for 14:p

Thanks namqul, checking out youtube is a great idea.
I'm now checking prices fr burgercis enquiring cymbals;)

U guys r great help!
pokgaizai
post Apr 22 2008, 09:56 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(-Nintedo Wii- @ Apr 22 2008, 07:13 PM)
well, nickoholick: to ur search for a crash between a crash and a splash, i suggest you go for a thin crash either 16" or 14" because i have a 16" B8 crash (thin) and it has  the higher pitch thats somewhat splashlike and it has the sorta lasting kinda feel of a crash... like a splash but crash-like.... umm i dont know how to explain...
they call it semi-crash? tongue.gif

Added on April 22, 2008, 9:58 pm
QUOTE(nickoholic @ Apr 22 2008, 09:45 PM)
yes i heard mutes r only for 14 at the mo. Sigh but i like 13inch. I wonder is there a way to mod the ones meant for 14:p

Thanks namqul, checking out youtube is a great idea.
I'm now checking prices fr burgercis enquiring cymbals;)

U guys r great help!
i just cover my hihats with old t-shirt cool2.gif

Added on April 22, 2008, 10:01 pmooh ya namqul, do you hav any sound/ vid clips of your 14" exo crash? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by pokgaizai: Apr 22 2008, 10:01 PM
saru88
post Apr 22 2008, 10:34 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

i really need saw any mute pads for 13" hats...
only for 14" onwards...

any1 knows if there is mute pad for splash like 10"?

cover wif shirt aint a very bad idea tho... haha...
kari_convention
post Apr 22 2008, 11:38 PM

586 posts

why dont you just cut the 14" mute pad into 13"???
nickoholic
post Apr 22 2008, 11:40 PM

42 posts

yes cymbals can be covered with cloth n shirts, but what about toms n snare?
saru88
post Apr 22 2008, 11:45 PM

Average Joe
822 posts

toms n snare can get mute pads lor... lolx...

18 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:28 AM