U Mobile The U-Mobile Thread

cybpsych
post Nov 5 2009, 02:21 PM

---------------------
65,300 posts

QUOTE(Alphawolf @ Nov 5 2009, 10:31 AM)
average speed currently today in the morning is ok, better than last night. i went to UM's website and did a speed test and it averages 955kbps+ (still way short of 3.6mbps though...am i expecting too much  hmm.gif ). I am living on the fifth floor by the way..and had lodged a report with the CS last night and they promised to look into this issue. one plus thing is that the CS is damn eager to help..but honestly i am still a digi fan through the years (they had sent me a t-shirt, a cd and a thermos haha), so this u-mobile broadband MIGHT be a stopgap measure for me until Digi expands into my area

u mobile has changed for the better thumbup.gif

actually 1-2 signal bars with 955kbps+ is ok, considering ur location is a 'blackhole' brows.gif

nvm, u've oredy escalated this to CS, let them review ur area and hopefully the signal/performance will be upgraded soon.

btw, if u're on twitter add them (@umobile018) for faster response! <-- at least simple q&a la. hahahah ... i'm following them and getting friendly responses too.
cybpsych
post Nov 5 2009, 05:38 PM

---------------------
65,300 posts

QUOTE(silvadesk @ Nov 5 2009, 05:21 PM)
Thanks to you guyz here, for all the genuine and sincere feedback, I've finally activated my UB68 and I must say that I am pretty satisfied with the connection so far. I was able to watch video successfully which I've never got with my previous provider!  rclxms.gif

Hope that the connection will be always be this good.  thumbup.gif

how fast is the activation (between subscription -> ready-for-use)?
cybpsych
post Nov 6 2009, 10:45 AM

---------------------
65,300 posts

QUOTE(silvadesk @ Nov 6 2009, 09:54 AM)
I hate to say this but it took them more than 48 hours although they promised me 24 hours. When I called the guy who dealt with me, he said that they had some 'technical problems' to which I responded "You forgot to register my subscription izzit?!"

Haha. But in the next 24 hours, they activated the line for me.  nod.gif

hahaha their standard activation period is *within 3 days*. so u're still safe smile.gif

some forumers here got activated in 24hrs (best-case scenario).

as long as u're not activated longer than 3 days, then it'd be acceptable. sweat.gif
cybpsych
post Nov 6 2009, 10:48 AM

---------------------
65,300 posts

QUOTE(zwanvedder @ Nov 6 2009, 10:10 AM)
Just subscribe yesterday n activated within 2 hours,my house not in 3g area...but still able to get 2 bars hsdpa...dload speed around 100++kb/s...
But browsin seems slow abit

that's normal, considering u're bordering coverage area.

what plan u're using?

do some observation within 1 month. if ur speed is averaging 100++kB/s then u can safely use UB40 plan (2GB on 1mb/s=125kB/s).

no point subscribing UB68 plan if u cant enjoy that speed smile.gif <-- unless u need the 5GB data allowance! sweat.gif

cybpsych
post Nov 6 2009, 02:00 PM

---------------------
65,300 posts

ub68 not really true unlimited lah. 5GB data allowance bfore FUP kicks in (slower speed).

their meaning of 'unlimited' = no extra charges after 5GB biggrin.gif

the rest of the plans, ub20 and ub40 have fixed data allowance. excess usage will be charged 1sen/KB.

this new ub68 suppose to replace previous u68 (surf with u) plan. if u're on u68, u need to terminate it and resubscribe the new ub68.

also, ub68 allows u to downgrade to lower plans (ub68->ub20/ub40). if u're on lower plan, u can upgrade to higher plans (ub20->ub40/ub68 or ub40->ub68)

Read gwong's post #2204.
cybpsych
post Nov 6 2009, 03:27 PM

---------------------
65,300 posts

what type of capping r u referring to?

which plan r u referring to?
cybpsych
post Nov 6 2009, 03:51 PM

---------------------
65,300 posts

NO capping and extra charges on UB68 after 5GB. Only speed throttling.
cybpsych
post Nov 6 2009, 05:27 PM

---------------------
65,300 posts

QUOTE(liz*einnef @ Nov 6 2009, 04:36 PM)
Thank U ya =)

lol i'm not umobile smile.gif so thank them!

we're here to support each other! that's what this forum is for! wink.gif

cybpsych
post Nov 6 2009, 05:39 PM

---------------------
65,300 posts

QUOTE(anep @ Nov 6 2009, 05:31 PM)
capping and throttling not same meh?

lol my definition of capping is different smile.gif

ok, to simplify it: UB68 has 5GB FUP. Excess usage past 5GB will have slower speed without extra charges applied.

cybpsych
post Nov 6 2009, 09:19 PM

---------------------
65,300 posts

no idea. their FUP didn't state it.

From the T&C of U Broadband...
...we may at our absolute discretion manage your bandwidth, suspend or terminate the Service including without limitation, reducing your speed.

cybpsych
post Nov 7 2009, 04:57 PM

---------------------
65,300 posts

wahhh so fast biggrin.gif

so did u notice any speed throttling now? if no, then GOOD!! wink.gif
cybpsych
post Nov 13 2009, 07:26 AM

---------------------
65,300 posts

alvinddm <-- *show off!* biggrin.gif
cybpsych
post Nov 15 2009, 07:51 AM

---------------------
65,300 posts

i'm facing similar case yetserday night. VERY bad. keep dc.

using alternate DIGI 3G also same.

after checking wif some frens (using celcom3g or maxis3g), all facing similar issue.

looks like yesterday night's crappy service happens to all ISPs (didnt check streamyx biggrin.gif)
cybpsych
post Nov 20 2009, 11:02 AM

---------------------
65,300 posts

guys, it'd be wise and efficient to call umobile's CS when u experience the d/c or cant connect issue.

they will log ur report and escalate for action. without any input from us, they can't do anything to help us back! wink.gif
cybpsych
post Nov 21 2009, 10:31 AM

---------------------
65,300 posts

have u called their CS?

if not, there's nothing we can help here as it's mostly technical issue.
cybpsych
post Nov 23 2009, 10:02 AM

---------------------
65,300 posts

mine at home is around -85dbm++. in the office, around -60dbm++
cybpsych
post Nov 23 2009, 10:31 AM

---------------------
65,300 posts

yeah, my location always get -85dbm++ cuz of congestion and qty of users connected.
cybpsych
post Nov 25 2009, 09:15 AM

---------------------
65,300 posts

QUOTE(Eddx @ Nov 24 2009, 10:13 PM)
did u all get the 'cannot connect to network' in firefox when browsing a few pages at 1 go at night? i'm having it every night, i cant open and load several pages..need to press re-fresh only load. Time to call CS? sad.gif

i have the same opinion as irontech's.

it's also a good idea to call CS to report the issue BUT ONLY at that particular moment.

eg. if u experience issue at 1013pm, call CS immediately. They can help to verify the congestion status at that particular moment. If u call the next day, it won't serve any good cuz it may be working fine/uncongested.
cybpsych
post Nov 25 2009, 11:15 AM

---------------------
65,300 posts

i'm sure there's no 7.2mbps.

the *extreme* high speed may due to caching.
cybpsych
post Nov 28 2009, 08:24 PM

---------------------
65,300 posts

disconnect, and unplug the modem out.

then reconnect the modem and redial again.

24 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0529sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:40 AM