Perdana V6 Owners, share ur experience!! V-sixers

NeuroOne
post Jun 16 2010, 11:02 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(Zetty24 @ Jun 16 2010, 02:14 PM)

I really hope tht someone can help me. I owned a 2005 V6 (enhanced). Mileage is at 102K km. For the past few mths, everytime i start the engine, a loud noise will follow it but moments later it stops. When in motion, if i reach 110kmph-120kmph....it will make tht sound again. Sent it to Proton Service Centre in Bangi....they told me its bcoz of the conerod bearing (is this right) is damaged and it is eating into my drive shaft.

Solution: they need to overhaul the engine and replace the damage parts....total cost = ><RM3K.

Is this the normal cost for this kind of work unsure.gif ? Can somebody suggest any other workshop tht i can go to for 2nd opinion? by the way....i'm staying in Bandar Baru Bangi.

Really thinking of letting go my Perdana, although rasa cam sayang la pulak...too much cost to bare la  cry.gif
i don't know if its true that the conrod bearing is causing the sound or not.
but i dont think conrod bearing will have anything to do with ur driveshaft.
conrod bearing is connected to conrod. driveshaft is a long way from a conrod. no direct connection...

the numbers 9,10,11,12 is conrod bearing.
and the whole thing is a conrod.

Added on June 16, 2010, 11:07 pm
QUOTE(knight_kriss @ Jun 16 2010, 11:36 AM)
i have editted my budget....so what's ur opinion??
why people saying perdana is a fuel guzzler?
bcoz ppl always compare perdana fuel consumption with myvi, wira, waja consumption.
if any other 2.0 car copare with perdana, its about the same.
perdana full tank 64L can go about 720km on hiway, 500km in town.
its bloody good enough for me.
and u get a big, comfortable car.

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Jun 16 2010, 11:07 PM
NeuroOne
post Jun 16 2010, 11:23 PM

495 posts

for that budget, u can get up to year 2002 perdana.
maintenance cost is normal just like any other car.
but to do major servicing will cost a bit more (bcoz more pistons and v configuration).
spare part are plenty. new, ori, taiwan, 2nd hand, kedai potong.. all got.
prices are reasonable. even cheaper than daihatsu, toyota, honda spares..

roadtax is around rm390 for 2.0 car (cant remember exact figure).
insurance is up to u la. how much u value the car and how many extra insurance item u add.

no matter a standard perdana, or modded (v6twinturbo or evo or rvr)
the prices will hover aorund the same figure (car price is based on manufacturing year right?..)

standard v6 can climb cameron no problem. genting will be just enough power. (for me la..)
for ease of mind, get a manual v6. or even better, get a manual turbo... hehe...

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Jun 16 2010, 11:26 PM
NeuroOne
post Jun 17 2010, 01:21 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(knight_kriss @ Jun 17 2010, 12:28 PM)
thnx sifus for the detailed explaination......that what i really need to know

between the these two....which is more comfortable to ferry passengers e.g: 3 normal adult, at the back for long journey....coz this car will be used as balik kampung car also....hope can give opinion

thnx again
for me, the answer is perdana.
i dont own a waja, but have driven waja (and being driven in it) many times before.
long distance woud be perdana hands down with the comfort and spaciousness.
fyi, mitsubishi created the v6 galant/eterna/emeraude for long distance cruising..

but for the perdana seats, i think the first model v6 (before enhanced version) has the best seat.
i feel that the v6 enhanced seats are a bit keras than the first model v6.

Added on June 17, 2010, 1:25 pm
QUOTE(Zetty24 @ Jun 17 2010, 10:07 AM)
NeuroOne,

do you know any reliable workshop that i can bring my car for a 2nd opinion....yg would not rip me off just bcoz i'm a woman  shakehead.gif ? I'm staying in Bangi but working in KLCC...so mana2 pun blh within this vicinity. Really desperate nih icon_question.gif
u can try EON appointed service centre (company name Trisilco) in puchong. near the indian temple.
or in pandan indah, normal workshop not Proton or EON, a fren's workshop actually (well, i repaired my car there and became frens with the owner).
i'll PM u the phone no..

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Jun 17 2010, 01:27 PM
NeuroOne
post Jun 17 2010, 02:09 PM

495 posts

that's my opinion la. how my butt feels.. hehe..
NeuroOne
post Jun 17 2010, 10:53 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(Zetty24 @ Jun 17 2010, 05:14 PM)
Thanks! Will try to go there this Saturday smile.gif.
Also, is it advisable to change from Auto to Manual GB for Perdana? How can i get the parts?
yes. better change to manual, if u dont mind changing gears. hehe..
and u can feel the true power of the egine with manual gb.
parts can be found in kedai potong.
its not hard to find manual box for perdana v6, but the other parts that's rare(pedal, cable, lever, clutch pump, mounting, etc)
but if u contact the no (pandan indah workshop) they should be able to find those stuff...

Added on June 17, 2010, 11:07 pm
QUOTE(knight_kriss @ Jun 17 2010, 10:12 PM)
thnx u bro for ur in depth comparison between these two car.......man it really gimme a real dilemma....hehehe rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

may i know the fuel consumption of these two car??is it really perdana are more fuel guzzler than waja??is it really that bad??coz usually i drive around 110-120 only...but in desperate time i'll speed more than that, that's why i need better car than my current wira 1.3......

thinking to find stock perdana v6 that already converted to manual gearbox.....or should i go for evo/tt converted perdana instead?? or just normal waja??

which is more practical for daily life??
now u cannot compare the fuel consumption of perdana and waja.
they are different class.
like u compare altis with camry.
and perdana is not a fuel guzzler la.
compare with other 2.0 car, about the same consumption.

my auto v6 with full tank (64L) can get around 700km hiway or 480km town drive.
get a manual and u can get more...
top speed i can go 220kmh. manual at least the same speed and gets it faster..
top speed stability is surely perdana win la.
cornering is also good, with the multilink suspension front and rear.
for me, hi speed cornering is very good, only slow and sharp cornering a little slow as perdana heavier than waja.
but still, if ur car is standard (standard suspension, tall thin tyres) sure goyang la..

ps: u will regret getting a waja compare to perdana... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Jun 17 2010, 11:07 PM
NeuroOne
post Jun 21 2010, 08:15 AM

495 posts

what digital meter u got?

as i know, there are no digital meter for perdana/eterna/emeraude/galant.
but u can get digital meter for racing cars (universal one that can be programmed).
but that is super expensive...
NeuroOne
post Jun 21 2010, 05:01 PM

495 posts

ohh..

if u want, u can add another after-market meter.
search for Apexi RSM.
NeuroOne
post Jun 25 2010, 10:00 AM

495 posts

my car has recently given me this makan-minyak-hitam problem.
the cause: head bengkok..
now i have repaired it, it looks like the problem solved.

ABS is important for me, coz in an emergency u never know what will happen and u need all the help (technology) u can get.
but if u always drive without ABS, practice emergency braking without it. u may do without it..
even evo or v6 twinturbo have ABS..

u want less FC: manual v6 NA, then manual v6 twinturbo or manual evo.
easier maintenance: get evo. 4 pistons and many spareparts. then, manual v6, then manual v6 twinturbo.
all engines models are mostly reliable..
but if it has problems, i think evo will cost less coz of lesser piston, less parts, easier to dismantle and easier put back together..

manual gb will generally last u forever, auto sadly will at least cause problem sometime..

Added on June 25, 2010, 10:10 am
QUOTE(raymond1003 @ Jun 21 2010, 05:04 PM)
Oh, so cannot integrate into the dash meter 1 lo? must got something extra?
ya la..
i have never seen or heard any digital odometer for v6.
unless u do custom it la..

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Jun 25 2010, 10:10 AM
NeuroOne
post Jun 29 2010, 01:16 PM

495 posts

RVR turbo auto?
piping diameter should be 2.5"
muffler inlet also should be 2.5" la.
muffler better get s-flow for auto.
NeuroOne
post Jul 1 2010, 07:44 AM

495 posts

good good..
better get manual than auto.. hehe..
even i use auto.. hehe..
NeuroOne
post Jul 5 2010, 01:20 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(knight_kriss @ Jul 1 2010, 10:03 AM)
bro neuro...

u used stock perdana or converted one??

neen ur opinion ler......perdana with evo 3 engine manual, year 1996....price 31,000.....it is worth it????
mine stock only.
like masterpump commented, it's worth it.
but nego kaw kaw la first.
try to get below 30K if u can la coz 1996 price is below 20K already.

ok, if stock Perdana Sei RM20K
Evo3 halfcut RM8K
pasang RM1.8K
FMIC, IC piping, exhaust piping, muffler RM1.7K
wear n tear parts RM500

how much already?
but then, if u do the above, u will get satisfaction and u wil know how ur car will behave.
or find a really nice converted car, and u are ready to go......

Added on July 5, 2010, 1:21 am
QUOTE(master pump @ Jul 1 2010, 10:55 AM)
haha. nyesal ke bro? tongue.gif

Added on July 5, 2010, 1:24 am
QUOTE(blueapple @ Jul 4 2010, 11:25 PM)
I planning to buy perdana year 2005 or 2006, any advice on this car on the problems that is usually found on the year mention perdana?
a comon prblem on perdana is the stock auto gearbox.
but since mid-205, all proton has installed external ATF cooler for the gb.
so it is considered lasting la...

other than that, i dont think got any problems la.
engine, good. body, good. interior, good. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Jul 5 2010, 01:25 AM
NeuroOne
post Jul 12 2010, 09:39 AM

495 posts

leaking is normal problem.
just change the gasket, filter.

btw, whats GB convertor?
NeuroOne
post Jul 12 2010, 04:29 PM

495 posts

i think koh meant his atf oil sump leaking from the sides.
of not, he will say got hole or puncture..
i think its just the gasket or the sealant not bonding well or maybe slipped like u said.
and if around the torque converter got leaking, try check the oil seal on the inside of the gb behind the torque converter.
NeuroOne
post Aug 4 2010, 07:37 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(nicedevil @ Jul 21 2010, 08:16 PM)
dear perdana sifu, i looked at mudah and there's one perdana with evo 3 engine. the price is around 30k for 1995 model.
in your opinion is it worth it?
and there's another version which is much more expensive (50k) with the same engine but a newer model (2002)
which one do you think is better?
is performance between these two are the same? what about reliability issues with the 1995 model? higher maintenance maybe???   i'm confused...
performance wise, same if the parts inside the evo3 engine is stock.
if got modifications, then not same la.
handling wise, depends on the suspension and other mods that has been done such as adding strut bars, anti-roll bars, etc..

reliability is mostly depends on the engine and gb.
the body structure still kuat. maybe got to change the bushes only.
but beware also of rust on body or undercarriage.

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Jul 22 2010, 02:00 PM)
hey guys i reaaly need your help. i am a student and planning to get a second-hand perdana. looking for yr 05 or newer. the price would be somewhere around 50 k, right ?
if i plan to sent the car for overhauling where can it be done ? 
do you"ll know any reputable perdana sellers ?
thanks in advance
can overhaul at proton service centres or any workshop for that matter.
but why do u want to overhaul?
u might just need to do major service, if the car already hit 100K km mileage.

i dont know any reputable seller but i do know a reputable workshop. (its where i send my car to be maintained or repaired)

ps: i got a fren who wants to sell his white perdana 1999 v6 twin turbo manual...

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Aug 4 2010, 07:41 AM
NeuroOne
post Aug 5 2010, 12:49 AM

495 posts

u want original or cap ayam?
got ori koito, bosch or plain cap ayam...
NeuroOne
post Aug 5 2010, 01:10 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(silbii @ Aug 5 2010, 01:06 AM)
i dont mind anything as long as it fits perfectly and looks new and doesnt have water/ moisure in it in years to come lol...
so u got eh? how much?
pm me for individual front set and rear set...
or maybe one of each...if you set one by one ler...the problematic one are the front-right and left-rear
and yes, cheaper is better...as long as reliable...don't mind 2nd hand also smile.gif
for info...my pv6 is the first gen from year 99 but changed to alfa look...not sure if the lamps are still the same with the new pv6 alfa
pm me ya...
thx mate!
no, i dont have rite now but i search for u.
but omnipotent has offered his headlights, go nego la.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(gotdamsg @ Aug 5 2010, 01:17 AM)
how to make the headlights much brighter? HID cannot because of JPJ, am I correct? Any solutions for this?
try a higher wattage bulbs or booster relay..

QUOTE(knight_kriss @ Aug 5 2010, 08:28 AM)
bro....sorry if i'm thinking too  much.......but it is still worth it to buy a perdana evo when the fuel price are going to increased after this??
perdana with stock evo manual fuel consumption is a little better compared to stock auto perdana v6 or auto sei.
if u are always racing here there, then sure la kuat minum petrol....
NeuroOne
post Aug 6 2010, 09:04 AM

495 posts

u can retrofit the projectors.
a forumer here done it.
a fren of mine made several angel eye + projector headlights for sale (using r32 projector if im not mistaken la..)

retrofitted projector + angel eye is fine, but HID is not.
so i dono if JPJ will saman u or not...

but if i got the money, i'd do the demon eyes headlights.
awesome look bro.........
NeuroOne
post Aug 6 2010, 02:37 PM

495 posts

lewatmalam:
get adjustables la.
look for springrate 8kg front, 4kg rear.

koh:
ur brakes tak makan?
what brake pads r u using?

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Aug 6 2010, 02:39 PM
NeuroOne
post Aug 6 2010, 02:54 PM

495 posts

many brands available: hotbis, hwl, gab malaysia, HIT, improve.
price, i dono, look in mudah got hotbits old model rm1350, new model rm1680.
NeuroOne
post Aug 18 2010, 12:27 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(lewatmalam @ Aug 8 2010, 05:56 PM)
Neuro: I remembered you said you were using Pennzoil ATF Oil right ? How much you buying it ?
about rm75-80
btw, penzzoil is doing a sale 23-26 august @umw penzzoil shah alam.
can get cheaper price than that..

QUOTE(advocado @ Aug 8 2010, 06:00 PM)
I notice Perdana on the roads are getting lesser & lesser. Is there a problem with it's maintenance?
terbalik from me, i see more and more modded perdanas..

QUOTE(peris @ Aug 8 2010, 11:57 PM)
salam bro neuro and hi guys..long time not check in this topic...
i've a few questions ..
after overhauled my v6,i can feel that it became less responsive..the pick up is slow and heavy..
it's hard for me to overtaking..why eh? is't got any relation with GB since it's the original one since 2000
n another one is when my car accelerate ,between 80-100km/h,i can feel the car vibrating ,the worst is my left passenger seat will shake like earthquake .
icon_question.gif
have u tuned your ECU back?
can u describe what u have done for the overhaul?

Added on August 18, 2010, 12:31 pm
QUOTE(vernoz @ Aug 18 2010, 06:34 AM)
hi there..newbie coming..intrested to participate in perdana v6 owners discussion..

looks like everybody get advise from Neuro One..i think i know him..very good knowlegde in perdana v6..congrat bro..

hope to join in other discussion..

koh- i never heard perdana using NGV..but i heard perdana using NOS before..
alaa vernoz. we know each other.
knowledge so and so only...
u also pro..

FYI, vernoz had one of the fastest NA V6 that i have ever known. thumbup.gif
but sold his car oredi..

QUOTE(peris @ Aug 18 2010, 12:12 PM)
welcome bro..
guys..
i want to lowered my v6 ,  is't by using lowered spring?
lowered spring can, adjustable recommended.. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Aug 18 2010, 12:31 PM

18 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0493sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:48 PM