cars that has Xenon or HID factory installed are OK.
cars that retrofit HID, are not.
my car only use normal H4, Osram Cool Blue 5000K.
still not bright enough...
Perdana V6 Owners, share ur experience!! V-sixers
Oct 12 2010, 02:43 AM
495 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Putrajaya |
cars that has Xenon or HID factory installed are OK.
cars that retrofit HID, are not. my car only use normal H4, Osram Cool Blue 5000K. still not bright enough... |
Oct 18 2010, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(koh_424 @ Oct 12 2010, 08:54 AM) i think all sixer driver also feel tat the headlight output is not enough for them. even now i using Philips Xtreme also feeling poor. mayb will install a relay kit on it to boost more power on the bulb. those Estimas, Mercs, Bimmers are speeding la. sumtime u c those JPJ get roadblock. they will tahan those Estima, Merz, BMW, Alphard & etc. dunno wat is the main purpose. but i think it should b the HID kacau gua. i dont think JPJ tahan them for the factory installed Xenon. QUOTE(Omnipotent @ Oct 12 2010, 11:05 AM) your previous HID sold already? Philips Xtreme already very short lifespan (half of normal bulbs) if you boost it will be shorter still (if you use daily maybe need to change every 4 - 6 months) i think if the HID retrofit with projetor lens will make it harder to determine if its HID.this coming 1st Nov I would have used my retrofitted HID for 1 yr already. Almost everyday use (morning to work before sun comes out and night go home after sun goes down) except Sunday. So far got stopped once by police patrol car and once by JPJ roadblock but never got saman cos they were unable to determine if i was using HID. They stared at my headlamps for a few times then just asked me to show my driver's license. Then they asked me to go. not trying to say HID is legal or difficult to catch but just sharing my experience (maybe i'm lucky so far) and I must say that driving with proper HID is really pleasant and useful when you are travelling at 120 kph in total darkness on a highway. Added on October 12, 2010, 11:07 am i heard bendix kuat makan the brake disc so i was skeptical to use. the spare part shop recommended me Trestor Advantage. This is the one i'm using now which solved the high speed vibration when braking. the old Bendix are the ones that makan the discs. the newer Bendix are said to be ok. but dono la, as i dont use it. QUOTE(peris @ Oct 12 2010, 03:52 PM) i asked about the relay kit at the acc shop n the tauke said,perdana using a plastic cover .if add relay, the headlamp may got kesan terbakar..i dont know how to explain..is't true ?? what's the cause of water like embun in our headlight ? kesan terbakar coz more electricity will be pumped to the bulbs making it hotter and brighter.n one more thing..i just called POWERZONE..they quote the price for extractor rm900 + piping bullet Rm550 ..muffler maintain..any comment?? also shorten the lifespan. QUOTE(Omnipotent @ Oct 12 2010, 05:43 PM) i got it from the famous sparepart shop in Sea Park. RM80 Osram NB short lifespan?i've personally used and gone through 2 sets of Osram NB. Slightly better than stock but lifetime very short (geram la need to change every 9 months) and when 1 of the bulbs kaput then visibilty lagi teruk especially when it kaputs beginning/middle of the week and you have to wait till weekend baru dapat beli replacement, so make sure you have a spare bulb all the time. if you read through this entire thread you will find a post on my journey towards HID retrofit... my Osram CoolBlue is already 2years old. maybe coz not so bright as NB? QUOTE(koh_424 @ Oct 12 2010, 11:14 PM) yes bro. i have sold my HID to another Perdana fellow my brakes very the kuat. haha.did anybody encounter the PV6 rear brake not so grip? i feeling the car was pushing toward when i brake til hardest. even in 2pot now also feel like rear brake r making me throwing out. even after inspection at Puspakom, the fella puji my brakes as very kuat. huhu safety safety. but my rear are also ventilated (from Galant). maybe your rear brake pads are not good? or the brake pressure from servo are low? QUOTE(lewatmalam @ Oct 17 2010, 01:11 AM) actually i might just end up buying a china hid and test as i really don't wanna spend almost a thousand like brother koh just to swap it with someone else due to JPJ install the HID in your fog lamp, not the headlamp.Oh ya, what if i get 3000k HID, JPJ won't catch right ? |
Oct 21 2010, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(koh_424 @ Oct 18 2010, 06:34 PM) i have changed the brake servo (Eterna). also installed a new pair of brake pad on it few months back. i got it as a complete set front + rear, disc, caliper, hub, knuckle.how much u brought ur rear disc? servo still ori v6. QUOTE(Omnipotent @ Oct 18 2010, 11:37 PM) i'm thinking of getting a new set of wheels for him...i'd like to keep it comfortable so i'm keeping it at 16 inches...any ideas what sort of wheels suit this "beast"? he's metallic black in color... naik satu tingkat la.go for 17" QUOTE(lewatmalam @ Oct 18 2010, 11:44 PM) Mine's also still 16" as i travel alot and don't wanna be in a situation of getting my tires burst or rims crooked. Although i'm thinking of lowering the car using Eibach springs. Any advice ? Don't really wanna use adjustable s as i think the ride would be too bumpy eibach, good. got to pick suitable absorber for it, to complement each other nicely.adjustable, even better... hehe.. |
Oct 21 2010, 11:47 PM
haha. already getting old are we?...
Oct 23 2010, 06:34 PM
QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Oct 23 2010, 03:56 PM) Hi guys, wanna know hw much if change to new/recon auto gb for v6 2000? and if add atf cooler will bw hw much? thanks recon gb rm1800: trade-in old gb, warranty 6 months, include install and ATF.look for nice after market ATF cooler like Works Engineering or Hayden. prices varies from rm300-450. when installing the ATF cooler bypass, the radiator line. |
Oct 26 2010, 09:06 AM
my gb worked for about 150K kms then got overhauled.
then worked again for some 25K km then it totally died! |
Oct 26 2010, 09:40 AM
haha. if urs till ok, then no worries la.
mine after the overhaul still not at 100% working condition. after it died then only i know what is the problem. but i changed to different engine. so, no use la. hehe.. |
Oct 26 2010, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(JLean @ Oct 26 2010, 09:53 AM) So how's V-Sixers going on lately @Bro Neuro one. Vsixers are still strong llike before.Added on October 26, 2010, 9:55 am@Bro Omnipotent: Owh, it's just my suggestion. Besides that, do you have a Auto Transmission Fluid Cooler ( ATF Cooler ) because it cools down the GBox from overheating that cause the damage. =) see my siggy, they got events every month, that's not including 3 TTs every week. tak larat mau join la. haha. anyway, changing ATF every 10K km is too often, the ATF still clean. i've done that before just for experiment. fyi, i now change every 15-20K km depends on the ATF color. if already black, i change. if not, wait till 20K km. and change the ATF filer set every 40K km or every 2nd time changing the ATF. |
Oct 26 2010, 12:25 PM
not TT, but RVR auto.
malas to play manual + i've got some kind of spine problem since i had a motorcycle accident in 2002. ya la, not mean i wait until black. everytime i change at 20K km, only once it becomes black. the other times, still have red color. altho a bit darker than normal la. my mech also say very sayang when he sees the ATF still red color. haha.. |
Oct 26 2010, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(bayern24 @ Oct 26 2010, 01:00 PM) hi V SIXERS, got questions here, my father want to buy perdana and he saw some perdana fit with evo engine, any problem with that? in term of gearbox? ur father wants to play2 turbo?if not, better get the normal v6. but beware of the gb. if evo or twinturbo manual, the gb will not give any problem. |
Oct 26 2010, 08:51 PM
the first one (with grey rocker cover) the engine looks senget.
the 2nd one is ok. performance wise: very powerful 270ps engine, 2wd makes it more powerful (less power loss as 4wd). u will feel the g-force pull compared to ur H22A. people not familiar with fwd turbo must beware as there will be a lot of torque steer. can get 250kmh no problem. FC: can be better than normal auto v6 or maybe auto h22a as it is manual. but the FC can be high if always boosting. hiway can save FC as u are cruising, in the vacuum range not boost. but: evo manual gb is close ratio. cruising at 110kmh is around 3.5K rpm. bunyi bising. sometimes, ppl tend to change the clutch plate to performance one like heavy duty or semi racing or racing clutch. so clutch keras. if ur father likes smooth engine and always travelling, better get twinturbo. if dont mind the bising, get evo. evo more powerful than twinturbo. twinturbo can maintain top speed much longer. FC about the same... |
Oct 27 2010, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(raymond1003 @ Oct 26 2010, 09:20 PM) dai ko here, what is the different among 2005 , 2007 and 2009 model? They named as enhanced , enhanced 2 and enhanced 3 ge wo haha. seriously, i also donno.but from the outside, the difference i see are the bumper lips (chrome, now black) and the rims with different design. QUOTE(bayern24 @ Oct 26 2010, 09:38 PM) then i think twin turbo suitable for him. twinturbo has no gb prob right? which is better auto or manual?. i manual, no problem.auto, may experience same prob as perdana v6 tranny. QUOTE(JLean @ Oct 27 2010, 12:00 AM) Erm, that depends. Normally Manual ones no prob with the GBox. Only look out for the Auto GBox ya bro bayern24. So if he likes to travel the Twinturbo suites him. If he's heart is still young like you then Evo suites you 2. hahaz yep, Monday - Shah Alam, Wednesday - Wangsa Maju, Friday, Taman Tun Dr Ismail.Added on October 27, 2010, 12:02 am@ Bro NeuroOne: "Vsixers are still strong llike before. see my siggy, they got events every month, that's not including 3 TTs every week. tak larat mau join la. haha." Wao, still having 3 TT's a week huh. Not bad not bad. Normally Friday having at Tmn Tun . Still same place?? Yeap, saw those upcoming events on ur tab. =) as for other chapters, i not sure.. QUOTE(dreamZz @ Oct 27 2010, 09:45 AM) Dear V-Sixer, u may ask proton but newer perdanas dont have those gb lock.I jz bought a used perdana v6, but i noted the dealer do not pass me the gearbox lock key. Just curious that wher got sell the gearbox lock? as i want to get one and reinstall it my perdana. Thanks search at mudah.my or maybe lelong? maybe u can take the gb lock to a locksmith? |
Nov 1 2010, 11:14 AM
press switch to ON.
use stalk /lever on steering wheel. hehe. sorry, it's like teaching ppl how to use pulak. if u have used it before, and now its not functioning, maybe its just the wiring behind the steering wheel became loose. |
Nov 1 2010, 05:25 PM
temp. prob, check radiator fan, radiator cap, thermostat, radiator leaking?, radiator sumbat/blocked, radiator head too old (karat) and hoses.
or maybe engine head bengkok already.. semput at 170kmh? timing ok? plugs? or maybe its got to do with overheating prob. shakes and rattles: a lot of things can contribute to that. balancing, alignment, tyre bengkak, bushing koyak, mounting koyak, suspension prob, etc.. |
Nov 2 2010, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(akv6 @ Nov 2 2010, 08:57 AM) Thanks bro neuro1 on your advice. I will have those things checked out. My mechanic advice me to try and flush the radiator first. That should be ok, right? flushing is ok but will not solve it if the radiator is clogged with debris (besi karat, etc)Bro, how do I know whether the timing is ok? What is the normal rpm at idle? Hmmm... plugs. Never had changed them before since I got it - secondhand, enhanced II. Thanks again. Appreciate it. BTW, I live nearby you - kajang. Added on November 2, 2010, 9:38 amAiyoo.. all this talk of auto GB giving way after 100k is really scaring me lah And my PV6 is strictly a weekend drive... I put a sanction on myself from driving it on weekdays but everyday feel gatal want to drive one This weekend driving to Kuantan... for v6, rpm at idle should be around 700-800. maybe just check the plugs, see if the plugs colors are ok. brownish is good. if black or white or oily or plug tip short/cracked, not good. aiyo, dont be afraid, change ATF every 2 service intervals and change ATF + filter every 4 service interval. (1 service interval 7000km?) u should be ok. and dont always trash the gb, play top speed ok, dont always play traffic-light-drag-race. kajang where? if u are in the neighbourhood, we can go TT.. This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Nov 2 2010, 10:59 AM |
Nov 2 2010, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(akv6 @ Nov 2 2010, 11:24 AM) Thanks for the top tips bro! rpm wise (as per your quoted rpm above), my pv6 should be just fine. ur car has been lowered or standard height?But my plugs, are just about due. Intending to go for Bosch but don't know which model yet I've been goin through the thread and noticed that you guys have TTs on wednesday at NZ - If I can find the time, sure I'll join one. No drag racing for me bro... Also no top speed. But I enjoy taking corners on my pv6, it feels planted and maintains its lines very well. I had a drive to Frasers recently... really enjoyed the drive (though I can't say the same for my passengers). handling feels sharp and crisp... Engine response, superb Love the car at purchase and still loving the car now. i also like cornering eventho not as good/fast as compact cars la kan.. wanna join TT? tomorrow we go la.. QUOTE(tuo850 @ Nov 2 2010, 01:47 PM) my milage is 300k alredi and still using the ori GB. install the atf cooler and it should last a bit longer. driving long distance every weekend (1000 km) at speed 120-140, hard driving style (rpm > 4k) this is an example of a lucky few with reliable autobox.. this is one tough horse! |
Nov 3 2010, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(akv6 @ Nov 2 2010, 03:21 PM) Unfortunately my ride is still standard gaban. Only modifications (improvements?) are 17inch wheels and Sony Xplod HU. i'm going to TT wangsa maju tonite.Once contemplated on lowering, but family man car lor. So need consider comfort of wife and kids Anyway, the cornering capability is ok enough for me (at the moment)... I'm after all no Lewis Hamilton myself wanna join? |
Nov 3 2010, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(dreamZz @ Nov 3 2010, 04:35 PM) Dear all, check again. smell it. I jz bought a perdana v6, but early morning i noted when i start engine for a minute or two. Then my exhaust start blowing white smoke for a while then dissapear then the vapor from exhaust is keep on increase and finally water drip out. If i press fuel pedal the water will splash out bit. According to foreman, water drip out from exhaust meant the engine is good. But white smoke also blowing for a while once started the engine. So this 2 theory seem like contrast. 2nd, is semi-synthetic oil suitable for v6 which is 10 years old car? Thankssss... is it white smoke or water vapor? water vapor=good, white smoke=bad semi-syn still ok. but fully syn not recommended. QUOTE(coded_arsenal @ Nov 3 2010, 09:30 PM) Hi guys, just wana ask any good mechenic who can do repair for the gearbox issue? around seri kembangan - Puchong.....my perdana already started givin hissing sound when i shift the gear.....only no sound when i put on P....... so rasa2 nya gearbx problem lah... what kind of hissing sound?Really urgent to find a good workshop coz this is my only mean of transport currently to work......hope u guys can help me out. hissing is more like something bocor.. angin keluar ke.. a workshop in taman medan knows a gb specialist. and one in johor... and if gb needs to be overhauled, it may take at least one day. take out, overhaul, install-back. banyak makan masa woo. Added on November 3, 2010, 10:12 pm QUOTE(lewatmalam @ Oct 27 2010, 06:58 PM) anyone knows how much it cost to change the rear double wishbone ? Mine's making a lot of noise already and needs changing change the bushings je.This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Nov 3 2010, 10:12 PM |
Nov 4 2010, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(coded_arsenal @ Nov 3 2010, 10:28 PM) hissing mcm something bergesel, bila masuk P senyap, bila start masuk R,N,D dah mula berbunyi...masa gerak gear berat dan susah nak syift masuk gear.....saya kat Seri Kembangan Equine park........dan saya rasa kalo ada yg dekat2 esok saya dah bole hantar sabtu ni terus.... so kalau ada yg dekat2 sini, sharing2 laaa tu nak kena test dulu tu.check ur PM, i gave u the workshop (taman medan) owner number. QUOTE(lewatmalam @ Nov 4 2010, 12:11 AM) i dono how much, have not change it myself. hehe.but u can use back all the arms. sent to workshop, take out all the arms, buy bushings, have to press out all the bushings/getah, then press back in new ones.. QUOTE(akv6 @ Nov 4 2010, 08:48 AM) White smoke in the morning its quite common actually... so my guess is that its ok. white smoke is a no no.Personally I wouldn't recommend using semi synthetic. My PV6 eats up semi synthetic and I end up having to top up half way through the service interval. Added on November 4, 2010, 8:50 am Sorry couldn't make it lah bro. Sent my daughter to clinic and only managed to get home at almost 10. Next time maybe usually in the morning, its vapor not smoke. then at the exhaust tip can see small drips of water. if ur engine eats oil, then must be something wrong somewhere. yes, sometimes old engine do eat oil but only tiny bit. your exhaust got white smoke during idle? or got white smoke while driving/moving? or non at all? ok TT maybe next time. i went home at 1.30am but ppl are still lepakking.. This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Nov 4 2010, 10:44 AM |
Nov 4 2010, 11:34 AM
QUOTE(Omnipotent @ Nov 4 2010, 10:51 AM) been using semi syn since 50k kms...no makan until now going to be 140k kms my car also using semi-syn until 175K kms no probs. hehe.bro neuro, tukar bushing needs special tool? my bawah pokok mechanic can do ah? he's only got a few spanners and pliers and screwdrivers yes, need special tool. need to send to machine shop. |
| Change to: | 0.0374sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:50 PM |