Perdana V6 Owners, share ur experience!! V-sixers

Omnipotent
post Oct 25 2010, 10:00 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(JLean @ Oct 25 2010, 09:26 AM)
Sigh, My Perdana GBox just passed away 2 months back and changed to a recon once and hopefully it's working fine for me. I have been using the GBox for 9 years and I can consider myself lucky because some people's Perdana GBox can even last for 2 years.

Besides that, I have added a ATF cooler which cost me around RM450 cz I wanted a bigger once for a better and faster cooling.
how many kms done in those 9 yrs?
JLean
post Oct 25 2010, 05:59 PM

74 posts

@ Bro Omnipotent: Used almost 170k km .. I know it's little for 9 year old car cause it seldom travel long distance. Normally travel town.
Omnipotent
post Oct 25 2010, 10:47 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(JLean @ Oct 25 2010, 05:59 PM)
@ Bro Omnipotent: Used almost 170k km .. I know it's little for 9 year old car cause it seldom travel long distance. Normally travel town.
thanks for the info...mine also seldom used...9th year baru 138k kms...seldom travel town...mostly for work to and fro cyberjaya.
NeuroOne
post Oct 26 2010, 09:06 AM

495 posts

my gb worked for about 150K kms then got overhauled.
then worked again for some 25K km then it totally died!
Omnipotent
post Oct 26 2010, 09:11 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Oct 26 2010, 09:06 AM)
my gb worked for about 150K kms then got overhauled.
then worked again for some 25K km then it totally died!
wah...don't scare me wei.. tongue.gif
NeuroOne
post Oct 26 2010, 09:40 AM

495 posts

haha. if urs till ok, then no worries la.
mine after the overhaul still not at 100% working condition.

after it died then only i know what is the problem.
but i changed to different engine. so, no use la. hehe..
JLean
post Oct 26 2010, 09:45 AM

74 posts

Yea, bro omnipotent. If you always maintain your car then no probs yeah. Just make sure sure change the trans oil regularly every 10k or less. =). It would be fine. The only prob perdana has is the GBox only. Ntg much seems to be appearing.
Omnipotent
post Oct 26 2010, 09:51 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(JLean @ Oct 26 2010, 09:45 AM)
Yea, bro omnipotent. If you always maintain your car then no probs yeah. Just make sure sure change the trans oil regularly every 10k or less. =). It would be fine. The only prob perdana has is the GBox only. Ntg much seems to be appearing.
wah 10k or less is too often already...i do it every 20k.

thankfully i don't get stuck in jams very often. summore now old already no more fire (not easily agitated by other drivers) so kalah pun kalah lah, janji gb tak overwork...lol

touchwood, will update if gb showing signs of failure cry.gif
JLean
post Oct 26 2010, 09:53 AM

74 posts

So how's V-Sixers going on lately @Bro Neuro one.

Added on October 26, 2010, 9:55 am@Bro Omnipotent: Owh, it's just my suggestion. Besides that, do you have a Auto Transmission Fluid Cooler ( ATF Cooler ) because it cools down the GBox from overheating that cause the damage. =)

This post has been edited by JLean: Oct 26 2010, 09:55 AM
Omnipotent
post Oct 26 2010, 10:02 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(JLean @ Oct 26 2010, 09:53 AM)
@Bro Omnipotent: Owh, it's just my suggestion. Besides that, do you have a Auto Transmission Fluid  Cooler ( ATF Cooler ) because it cools down the GBox from overheating that cause the damage. =)
yeah, it got one installed when the car was at 50k kms...that time my dad still driving it...i was driving a waja back then but i advised my dad to install the atf cooler on the V6...

then i've also installed one on the waja and my brother's wira 1.6 as well...

we were lucky because the mechanic was my dad's friend and he manage to source these 2nd hand oil coolers (took out from Pajeros)

NeuroOne
post Oct 26 2010, 10:33 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(JLean @ Oct 26 2010, 09:53 AM)
So how's V-Sixers going on lately @Bro Neuro one.

Added on October 26, 2010, 9:55 am@Bro Omnipotent: Owh, it's just my suggestion. Besides that, do you have a Auto Transmission Fluid  Cooler ( ATF Cooler ) because it cools down the GBox from overheating that cause the damage. =)
Vsixers are still strong llike before.
see my siggy, they got events every month, that's not including 3 TTs every week.
tak larat mau join la. haha.

anyway, changing ATF every 10K km is too often, the ATF still clean.
i've done that before just for experiment.
fyi, i now change every 15-20K km depends on the ATF color.
if already black, i change. if not, wait till 20K km.
and change the ATF filer set every 40K km or every 2nd time changing the ATF.
Omnipotent
post Oct 26 2010, 12:14 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Oct 26 2010, 10:33 AM)

fyi, i now change every 15-20K km depends on the ATF color.
if already black, i change. if not, wait till 20K km.
and change the ATF filer set every 40K km or every 2nd time changing the ATF.
bro neuro, aren't you driving a TT? still using the same autogb as NA ke?

i don't wait until black ler...mine when change at 20k kms still bright red...the mechanic always say "very sayang" the oil still can use then he funnel them into a separate container and use it for free power steering top-up for his other customers.

NeuroOne
post Oct 26 2010, 12:25 PM

495 posts

not TT, but RVR auto.
malas to play manual + i've got some kind of spine problem since i had a motorcycle accident in 2002.

ya la, not mean i wait until black.
everytime i change at 20K km, only once it becomes black.
the other times, still have red color. altho a bit darker than normal la.

my mech also say very sayang when he sees the ATF still red color. haha..
bayern24
post Oct 26 2010, 01:00 PM

hi V SIXERS, got questions here, my father want to buy perdana and he saw some perdana fit with evo engine, any problem with that? in term of gearbox?

This post has been edited by bayern24: Oct 26 2010, 01:11 PM
NeuroOne
post Oct 26 2010, 02:36 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(bayern24 @ Oct 26 2010, 01:00 PM)
hi V SIXERS, got questions here, my father want to buy perdana and he saw some perdana fit with evo engine, any problem with that? in term of gearbox?
ur father wants to play2 turbo?
if not, better get the normal v6. but beware of the gb.
if evo or twinturbo manual, the gb will not give any problem.
bayern24
post Oct 26 2010, 02:53 PM

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Oct 26 2010, 02:36 PM)
ur father wants to play2 turbo?
if not, better get the normal v6. but beware of the gb.
if evo or twinturbo manual, the gb will not give any problem.
he is young in heart. hehe... this is car that attract his attention because that owner claim that it is FC is good better than my dad honda accord 2.2 1996. http://www.mudah.my/Perdana+evo+3-7446233.htm.
lewatmalam
post Oct 26 2010, 07:48 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(bayern24 @ Oct 26 2010, 02:53 PM)
he is young in heart. hehe... this is car that attract his attention because that owner claim that it is FC is good better than my dad honda accord 2.2 1996. http://www.mudah.my/Perdana+evo+3-7446233.htm.
Correct me if i'm wrong but this model is the 2.0SE converted body to alfadana and Evo engine right ? If really wanna find one with Evo, get a PV6 convert. For one thing, the seats are helluva lot better hehehe
bayern24
post Oct 26 2010, 08:15 PM

you mean this http://www.mudah.my/Proton+perdana+v6+evo+2-7431860.htm. any advice on this so called evo in term of fc, performance and other related.
NeuroOne
post Oct 26 2010, 08:51 PM

495 posts

the first one (with grey rocker cover) the engine looks senget.
the 2nd one is ok.

performance wise:
very powerful 270ps engine, 2wd makes it more powerful (less power loss as 4wd).
u will feel the g-force pull compared to ur H22A.
people not familiar with fwd turbo must beware as there will be a lot of torque steer.
can get 250kmh no problem.

FC:
can be better than normal auto v6 or maybe auto h22a as it is manual.
but the FC can be high if always boosting.
hiway can save FC as u are cruising, in the vacuum range not boost.

but:
evo manual gb is close ratio.
cruising at 110kmh is around 3.5K rpm. bunyi bising.
sometimes, ppl tend to change the clutch plate to performance one like heavy duty or semi racing or racing clutch. so clutch keras.

if ur father likes smooth engine and always travelling, better get twinturbo.
if dont mind the bising, get evo.
evo more powerful than twinturbo.
twinturbo can maintain top speed much longer.
FC about the same...
raymond1003
post Oct 26 2010, 09:20 PM

138 posts

dai ko here, what is the different among 2005 , 2007 and 2009 model? They named as enhanced , enhanced 2 and enhanced 3 ge wo

72 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:19 PM