Perdana V6 Owners, share ur experience!! V-sixers

lewatmalam
post Apr 18 2010, 06:10 PM

118 posts

hey guys, i need some advice. I'm wanting to get a PV6 and i know the problems about the GB and i know they can be fix. What i'm concerned is the few questions i have below :

1. Maintenance Cost & Frequency (I travel about 4,000km monthly)

2. How's the FC based on 50/50 city and highway ?

3. Are the parts reasonably priced ?

4. I have a budget of around 40k, which year should i get ?

lewatmalam
post Jun 10 2010, 11:40 PM

118 posts

just wanted to know this. I heard from a friend that the PV6 GB only last for about 60-70k km. Is this true ? My PV6 GB was changed recently and also added a ATF cooler. Was wondering how long would it last.
lewatmalam
post Jun 11 2010, 08:14 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(Omnipotent @ Jun 11 2010, 08:50 AM)
don't trash the gb...keep it below 4k rpm and change ATF every 20k kms, AT filter every 40k kms. ATF cooler is also a must if it does not come with one. Mine 130k kms since new still swapping gears smoothly and quietly. blush.gif
ok seems reasonable. will definitely follow the advise.
lewatmalam
post Aug 4 2010, 11:46 PM

118 posts

to all my pv6 brothers out there. need some advice. I'm thinking of changing my springs to Eibach but i'm thinking maybe changing the Shocks to maybe GAB with springs would be better. I travel long distance and i'm on standard 16" rims. Just want something not too hard but still comfy but with better handling la.
lewatmalam
post Aug 6 2010, 02:15 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(lewatmalam @ Aug 4 2010, 11:46 PM)
to all my pv6 brothers out there. need some advice. I'm thinking of changing my springs to Eibach but i'm thinking maybe changing the Shocks to maybe GAB with springs would be better. I travel long distance and i'm on standard 16" rims. Just want something not too hard but still comfy but with better handling la.
Nobody can give me some advise on the above subject ah ?
lewatmalam
post Aug 6 2010, 02:44 PM

118 posts

what brand and what price la ?
lewatmalam
post Aug 8 2010, 05:56 PM

118 posts

Neuro: I remembered you said you were using Pennzoil ATF Oil right ? How much you buying it ?
lewatmalam
post Aug 18 2010, 06:30 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Aug 18 2010, 12:16 PM)
now u have it in tis forum. currently i running NGV in MIXER systems. just wan to find out any more V6 user r running on NGV or not.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Shiok meh using NGV ? Got power or not ? Careful buddy nanti blow up on you hehehehe

Added on August 18, 2010, 6:34 pmabout rm75-80
btw, penzzoil is doing a sale 23-26 august @umw penzzoil shah alam.
can get cheaper price than that..

Wah that cheap ah, that day i send my mum's car to change Toyota ATF, they charged me RM 145 while Mitsubishi Diaqueen was RM 150. Is that price overboard ah ? But that's inclusive of installation la.

I need to change my ATF and also the filter soon. Any good tips on brand and costing ah ? Normally the foreman charge how much for workmanship ah ?

This post has been edited by lewatmalam: Aug 18 2010, 06:34 PM
lewatmalam
post Aug 18 2010, 08:22 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Aug 18 2010, 06:45 PM)
using NGV not syok on power la. but syok n monthly saving la. pump in Rm10 can travel up to 180km.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

blow up? do u read those news?

all case blow up has been confirmed is coz by those own modification. many out there blow up coz they modified their own tank n using the non-approve tank on their vehicle. go for the licensed installer n use JPJ SIRIM approved tank. sure no problem.  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

my father & his fren last time also using NGV. running on it bout 2yrs+ also nothing goes wrong.  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
No oomph la without the full power but the savings is a great thing la. Is refueling a problem ah ? Everytime i see those taxi queuing up like mad to refuel. If like that big headache la. How much was your conversion. Does it take half the boot ah ?
lewatmalam
post Aug 18 2010, 08:49 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Aug 18 2010, 08:25 PM)
refueling not problem as the pump pressure as quick enough to fill up the tank. i did the conversion on Mixer type bout RM3800. also i asked bout sequential is bout RM7000. the tank using 77L sure will eat half of the boot space.  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

saving is the main purpose.  brows.gif  brows.gif
What's the difference of Mixer and sequential ?
lewatmalam
post Aug 18 2010, 09:13 PM

118 posts

complicated man, i think i'll just stick to petrol hehehe
lewatmalam
post Aug 18 2010, 09:36 PM

118 posts

i have a huge problem with my left headlamp. It has some moisture inside and won't dry up. What can i do to rectify this problem. Damn ugly la
lewatmalam
post Aug 18 2010, 10:24 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(koh_424 @ Aug 18 2010, 09:43 PM)
even day time hot weather also wun dry up??
No la won't dry up la
lewatmalam
post Aug 19 2010, 07:54 PM

118 posts

lewatmalam- blow with hot air and seal at the edge of the lamp..then your prob solved..i believe ur lamp are not the ori one..correct me if im wrong..hehe

It's Koito. Is that ori ? I think it is hehe. You mean blow with hair dryer directly on the outside ah ? Use what to seal ? Those black color sticky thing we see in the accessories shop ke ?
lewatmalam
post Aug 20 2010, 05:15 PM

118 posts

OKU - Orang Kurang Upaya hahaha can park at certain dedicated parkings hahahaha....sorry ah

As for the headlamps, i will do it when i have the time, nowadays too busy with work.

I think i'm gonna buy the ATF and filter myself then bring to my mechanic to do it. This way i don't get sharked.
lewatmalam
post Aug 21 2010, 12:35 AM

118 posts

QUOTE(vernoz @ Aug 20 2010, 08:35 PM)
polish the headlamp also bro..get the polish from spray wshop..use the polish machine with kain jeans..shining wooo..
polish ah, i bought the headlamp cleaner and it did actually work. not bad too but not shining la hahaha
lewatmalam
post Aug 26 2010, 05:57 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(sallehin @ Aug 26 2010, 12:24 PM)
The hatch is slightly lower in power but higher torque compared to the PV6, right?

But... when I googled around for 'peugeot Turbo', found this site...
http://uk.cars.yahoo.com/car-reviews/car-a...75-1005931.html
and  got this info:
CAR: Peugeot 308 Turbo GT  175bhp!  (not 140bhp)
PERFORMANCE: 0-60mph 8s;  Max Speed 140mph (225km/hr)
Not forgetting the Peugeot's size man. It's much lighter too
lewatmalam
post Aug 27 2010, 04:22 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(sallehin @ Aug 26 2010, 10:27 PM)
WRONG! After reading specs, I found out Peugeot 308 is larger and heavier than proton perdana.

Weight
Perdana=1336kg
Peugeot 308 Turbo=1430kg
Peugeot 308 VTi=1387kg

Dimensions:
Perdana: 1730W x 1400H x 4610L
Peugeot 308: 1815W x 1498H x 4274L
[peugeot only shorter than Perdana because it has no boot, other dimensions much larger]
Hahahaha sorry my wrong

Added on August 27, 2010, 4:23 pm
QUOTE(sallehin @ Aug 27 2010, 11:39 AM)
Found this pic from a blog..
our Perdana looks like a subcompact car only when compare side by side with Peugeot 1.6 Hatch. ohmy.gif
man this photo makes our perdana look so uncool man

This post has been edited by lewatmalam: Aug 27 2010, 04:23 PM
lewatmalam
post Sep 30 2010, 07:24 PM

118 posts

What's the difference of using 2 pot disc brake
lewatmalam
post Oct 8 2010, 10:15 PM

118 posts

if brakes shudder then how ah ? Sometimes have sometimes don't. But when travelling fast and then press on the brakes then surely will shudder. Feels like the disc has problems. But then again my ABS sensor light is on and i haven;t the time to get it fixed hehehehe

0.0373sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:57 PM