haha.. driving in Penang won't make you lost. You will ended up on the island too... not like KL bring you to god-knows-where. unless you cross the bridge xD
Travel Penang, Accomodations, Attractions & Guides
Apr 24 2008, 06:34 PM
1,352 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
haha.. driving in Penang won't make you lost. You will ended up on the island too... not like KL bring you to god-knows-where. unless you cross the bridge xD
Apr 25 2008, 04:38 PM
19 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Well, the snake temple is located near the airport.
Contrary to belief, there is still a snake there. It just so happens that it belongs to the photographer. Do cross the snake temple out from your travel itinerary. Unless you absolutely have to see the industrialised side of penang island. Kek Lok Si, is a grand, disney-fied version of a chinese temple. Rather than drive all the way there, it would be better to drive all the way up to the Air Itam dam. That, is worth a visit, particularly in the early morning. It's located on the same road that goes to Kek Lok Si. As for drivign around penang, heck you better get a map. or a local guy. you might end up driving in rounds since the pre-war shoplots all looks the same. and it's pretty easy to get lost in penang, with all the one way roads. since the roads are pretty narrow, once you missed a turn it's pretty hard to backtrack. oh, and the bikes are the king of the roads here. enjoy your drive here haha... |
May 14 2008, 06:36 PM
115 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Going to Penang this weekend -will be staying at the former Ferringgi Beach Hotel -(now they have changed to Hydro Majestic -does not sound like a hotel name-haha).
I am quite familiar with Penang but not very familiar with eating places in Batu Ferringi. Any suggestions on good food anywhere near the beach? Will stick to the beaches this time -except probably dinner at Gurney Drive. This post has been edited by akmar_m: May 15 2008, 11:05 AM |
May 15 2008, 03:06 AM
371 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I stay in Penang island since I was born (except went to AUS and KL to study), since I am so free right now (holiday) until August, was thinking if anyone interested if I say charge about RM 50 per day and take those who are interested to visit place and eat food that most probably only a real Penangites knows how to go?
Interesting places: Air Itam Dam Batu Ferringhi Beach Botanical Garden Burmese Temple - Lorong Burma, Pulau Tikus Butterfly Park Ferry Service Fort Cornwallis Kek Lok Si Khoo Kongsi – Cannon St./Armenian/ Beach Kuan Yin Temple Museum - Lebuh Farquhar Penang Bridge Penang Hill P. Ramlee House Snake Temple Sun Yat Sen Penang Base - Lebuh Armenian St.George Church - Lebuh Farquhar Tropical Fruit Farm Tropical Spice Garden Wat Chayamangkalaram - Lorong Burma, Pulau Tikus Youth Park Shopping: Queensbay Mall Gurney Plaza Prangin Mall Nice food: Assam Laksa Char Koay Kak Char Koay Teow Cendol Chicken Rice Chinese Pasembur Curry Mee Fish Head Beehoon Fried Oysters with eggs Hokkien Prawn Mee Ice Kacang Indian Mee Goreng Joo-Hoo Eng-Chai (Steamed Cuttlefish) Koay Teow Soup Loh Bak Nasi Kandar Popiah Rojak Sar Hor Fun Advantages of following my car: 1) You won't get lost 2) Eat real Penang food, not those tourist location like Gurney Drive 3) Won't get conned by Taxi This post has been edited by Yeapy: May 15 2008, 05:02 PM |
May 15 2008, 11:26 AM
400 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Penang |
As a Penangnite, let see how I can help here...
Shopping: Note: We are nowhere near the fancy KL, Klang Valley and Selangor. All we have here is: 1) Queensbay Mall - about 75% the size of Midvalley (excluding Gardens). Not much people there unless it's weekends and public holiday. A lot of shops situated there and Penang Island one and only Jusco is there. 2) Gurney Plaza - This is our "in" place and Penang's flagship shopping complex. I can say it's our 1-U and with a new wing coming up this August, expect more stuff to 5) be coming in. 3) Prangin Mall - This is another "category" of shopping. Well, to make things easy, this is considered Penang's "Sg. Wang" to a lesser extent. Cheap, tacky and rare stuff are all there. This is the place to go if you want to see another face of Penang or buy IT Stuffs. 4) BJ Complex and Midlands - These are the two "fallen" complexes, much like Subang Parade a few years ago. I wouldn't expect them to be revitalize again unless somebody really rich comes in to buy over them. This is also another place to get IT Stuffs. 5) Komtar - I felt embarassed to say anything about this. This place is basically almost dead if it wasn't for the offices for the state government and authorities are still there. 20 years ago this is the de facto most happening place in Penang. Food: Ahh yes, this is our pride and joy. We have food everywhere and they are quite cheap compare to most other places. 1) Restaurant - I wouldn't recommend anything because I am lousy at this category. You can check out Victoria Station, the Ships, a number of chinese restaurants around. 2) Hawker food and centre - No matter where you go. They are everywhere. I don't where you want Hokkien Mee, Wan Tan Mee, Char Koay Teow, Chendul, Ais Kacang, or anything else, you can find it easily. My recommendation for now is the hawker centre opposite Penang Chinese Girl School (PCGHS) and the seafood porridge shop on the way to the airport. Contrary to common belief, the hawher food near Gurney Drive is not as good as you think and almost ridiculously expensive. 3) Fast Food and Coffee Joints - We don't have a lot of Donuts shop, we don't have Burger King and drivethrough is not that common here. If it's late and you are hungry, Greenlane's McDonald is a good place to be. Also, I think I only saw once Gloria Jeans around. Tourist Attraction: Seriously, I really don't know where tourist will go when they come to Penang. 1) Beaches - we are no Gold Coast. The last time I visit Batu Ferringhi beach is when I was 10. People still saying it's a good place to be though. 2) Kek Lok Si - possibly the most famous tourist attraction here. Near Air Itam and there's a wet market at the bottom hill and a dam on top of the same mountain. 3) Penang Hill - still a good tourist attraction. Surprisingly there are renovation and upgrades made on top of the hill. 4) Bird Farm, Butterfly Farm, Reptile Farm - If you are really interested. 5) Gurney Drive and Esplanade - The "near the down" beach I saw those documentaries in Penang and I can't believe that there are so many tourist attraction in Penang which I never been to. I guess you can use the Lonely Planet guides for more help then. Hotels and Accommodation One thing I have problem is that cheap accommodation here is "lousy" accommodation. I really wish we have more motels or budget hotels in the future. The Tune Hotel is coming in on December I think. You can find a lot of hotels near Batu Ferringhi. Seriously, that place is like a very tone down version of Australia's Gold Coast. If you want to stay in the city, you can go to Sunway Hotel, Cititel, Hotel Malaysia, Vistana Hotel, Gurney Hotel, Everygreen Hotel, G Hotel and Northam. There are business suites near the FTZ such as the Krystal Point Suites and B-Suites. Hope that helps. |
May 15 2008, 11:49 AM
2,614 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
You are missing out the clan houses in Penang.. Khoo Kongsi is a must see!!
And I do recommend Butterfly Farm.. because it's the nicest in Malaysia |
May 15 2008, 03:53 PM
1,269 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(vkeong @ May 15 2008, 11:49 AM) You are missing out the clan houses in Penang.. Khoo Kongsi is a must see!! True Butterfly are great !! With Rm10, its a real value visited there. 1 more things is Taman Rempah near Bt Feringghi. So realxing when you take a train trip inside there and hanging at their cafe with lovely smell.And I do recommend Butterfly Farm.. because it's the nicest in Malaysia |
May 15 2008, 04:51 PM
4,669 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: just now or what? |
QUOTE(vkeong @ May 15 2008, 11:49 AM) You are missing out the clan houses in Penang.. Khoo Kongsi is a must see!! And I do recommend Butterfly Farm.. because it's the nicest in Malaysia Next since you are there, visit the Batik Factory, its opposite the now defunct Mutiara Beach Resort, the owner there really takes the trouble to explain how batik is made, my kids learnt about batik making from there. Geez... I come from Penang too but the only thing I know is to hunt with my nose and tastebuds... LOL.. Dont forget the mee goreng mamak at Siam Road... the accompanying wan tan mee is v good too... loads of lard!!!! The deep fried pig intestines broth at New Lane... ermm... Duck Koay Teow soup... one road off Burmah Road... the curry mee and Lorong Seratus Tahun! Yeah the original one.. (u have a branch in SS2). While you are around... try the chendol at Penang Road.. errr... there are various Nyonya Restaurant in Penang... the one at the complex in Swatow Lane.. forgot the name... has got quite decent Nyonya food at reasonable price! Try the Perut Ikan.. Many will also not forget to leave Penang without the Tambun Pneah... well, Him Heang is kinda bossy.. but some other brands are not too bad... also arm yourself with a bottle or two of Ghee Hiang's sesame seed oil... the best I have tasted so far.. gee.. I can ramble on and on Penang food.. Hawker food that is... still the best in Malaysia. |
May 16 2008, 02:39 PM
37 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
sigh...i want to go back to penang again....
but cannot!!! have to wait for another 2 months at least... sigh Added on May 16, 2008, 2:43 pmall the talk about penang food is making me hungry.. and i just had lunch.. This post has been edited by lunarbubbles: May 16 2008, 02:43 PM |
May 23 2008, 12:54 AM
8 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Auto city new place for dining and car sale, a lot of local and international restaurant. is new sign for mainland. Easy access through Juru highway exit. There also have fun fair behind of auto city3. Enjoy.
May 23 2008, 11:13 AM
^ true dat. try TAO's Japanese Buffet
May 24 2008, 12:53 AM
558 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: Penang |
QUOTE(Putraskyline @ May 15 2008, 03:53 PM) True Butterfly are great !! With Rm10, its a real value visited there. 1 more things is Taman Rempah near Bt Feringghi. So realxing when you take a train trip inside there and hanging at their cafe with lovely smell. owh.. where is the exact location?? didn't know got such a wonderful place. |
May 26 2008, 02:26 PM
103 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(vkeong @ May 23 2008, 11:13 AM) -Kirishima Cititel Penang, Jalan Penang • Tel: 604-370 1188 for german food.. u can try Ingolf's Kneipe..every wednesday they got special price set dinner. it's very nice and the portion is big. enuff for two ppl.. -Ingolf's Kneipe Jalan Sungai Kelian, Tanjong Bungah, Penang • Tel: 604-899 5796 Cuisine: German |
May 26 2008, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(lynnoyw @ May 26 2008, 02:26 PM) |
May 26 2008, 03:13 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(alex13 @ May 15 2008, 11:26 AM) As a Penangnite, let see how I can help here... then there's 1 ah, as you drive from GD up to BFerringhi / T Bungah, you'll see this shopping complex on the right side. Shopping: Note: We are nowhere near the fancy KL, Klang Valley and Selangor. All we have here is: 1) Queensbay Mall - about 75% the size of Midvalley (excluding Gardens). Not much people there unless it's weekends and public holiday. A lot of shops situated there and Penang Island one and only Jusco is there. 2) Gurney Plaza - This is our "in" place and Penang's flagship shopping complex. I can say it's our 1-U and with a new wing coming up this August, expect more stuff to 5) be coming in. 3) Prangin Mall - This is another "category" of shopping. Well, to make things easy, this is considered Penang's "Sg. Wang" to a lesser extent. Cheap, tacky and rare stuff are all there. This is the place to go if you want to see another face of Penang or buy IT Stuffs. 4) BJ Complex and Midlands - These are the two "fallen" complexes, much like Subang Parade a few years ago. I wouldn't expect them to be revitalize again unless somebody really rich comes in to buy over them. This is also another place to get IT Stuffs. 5) Komtar - I felt embarassed to say anything about this. This place is basically almost dead if it wasn't for the offices for the state government and authorities are still there. 20 years ago this is the de facto most happening place in Penang. and what about Sunshine Square? Still alive ah? hehe. Gama also like ghost building already. well, at least E-gate there has a TESCO for grocery shopping. |
May 26 2008, 03:18 PM
^ Island Plaza is it? Good if shopping for clothes or food.. else it's pretty boring
May 26 2008, 03:54 PM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
should be la. one of the more recent shopping complexes.
ahh i still remember last time - Bukit Jambul so "heng" with the ice-skating. - Komtar was shopping haven. nowadays ah..........aihh - Midlands also, once i stayed around the hotel there. the shopping complex also not so nice already. - Sunshine Square, if not mistaken has one of PG's earliest cineplex. |
May 28 2008, 10:23 AM
1,125 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Malacca - Malaysia Status: Happy-ing :) |
planning to stay around seberang jaya or butterworth area this sunday night
on a low budget (below RM100) found these hotels: Ambassadress Hotel Apollo Hotel Beach Garden Hotel Berlin Hotel Butterworth Travel Lodge Capital Hotel City Hotel & Restaurant Federal Hotel Metro Hotel Paris Hotel which are recommended? thanks in advance |
May 28 2008, 10:45 AM
557 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: AS PEE |
QUOTE(lynnoyw @ May 26 2008, 02:26 PM) -Kirishima Cititel Penang, Jalan Penang • Tel: 604-370 1188 for german food.. u can try Ingolf's Kneipe..every wednesday they got special price set dinner. it's very nice and the portion is big. enuff for two ppl.. -Ingolf's Kneipe Jalan Sungai Kelian, Tanjong Bungah, Penang • Tel: 604-899 5796 Cuisine: German the 1 with nice waterfall design? |
May 29 2008, 12:45 AM
46 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
aah this is one mouthwatering thread, all these talk about food, hungry hungry.. if i'm not wrong, Ingolf's is also a bar at night. anyone heard of Line Clear Nasi Kandar with their famous nasi kandar? i haven't been there, any directions would be appreciated
really sad what happened with midlands shopping mall, used to go there a lot, now even the IT shops are slowly trickling out. if you're into architecture, there are a lot of great stuff around like the old colonial houses and the georgetown area. @kamwah haven't heard of any of those hotels hehe, why not stay at sunway hotel, it's got a new shopping mall beside it as well. not sure about the pricing though This post has been edited by ringrong: May 29 2008, 12:46 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0336sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:40 AM |