Travel Penang, Accomodations, Attractions & Guides

weirdguy
post Feb 14 2011, 12:12 PM

587 posts

Hello,

I am planning to have my pre-wedding photography, taken in Penang. I need advise on hotel selection, mainly for photography purpose. Convert the hotel room to a studio.

My hotel list so far include the following:
1- Eastern & Oriental (E&O)
2- Lone Pine

What do you think?
If you have alternative or suggestion, I will like to hear.
kit_chai83
post Feb 14 2011, 05:09 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(weirdguy @ Feb 14 2011, 12:12 PM)
Hello,

I am planning to have my pre-wedding photography, taken in Penang. I need advise on hotel selection, mainly for photography purpose. Convert the hotel room to a studio.

2- Lone Pine

What do you think?
Hard Rock Hotel?

weirdguy
post Feb 14 2011, 05:42 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(kit_chai83 @ Feb 14 2011, 05:09 PM)
Hard Rock Hotel?
Care to explain the reason you suggest Hard Rock Hotel?
DarkNite
post Feb 14 2011, 07:06 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(weirdguy @ Feb 14 2011, 12:12 PM)
Hello,

2- Lone Pine

What do you think?
Would pick E&O cos of its rich heritage and ambiance. Nearby Heritage building and scenery are awesome too. You have 100 year old Churches, Fort Cornwallis, the Victoria Clock Tower, Ancient Chinese mansion, Chinese temples, Indian Temples and Fabulous Kapitan Keling, etc.
I have seen couples posing at 1am at these places!!! sweat.gif

The Botanic gardens and Penang Bridge are great for pre-wedding photography also.
trippin2
post Feb 15 2011, 11:44 PM

66 posts

I read about the cny events in the heritage areas, did anyone visit? How was it?
skon9
post Feb 16 2011, 12:44 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(trippin2 @ Feb 15 2011, 11:44 PM)
I read about the cny events in the heritage areas, did anyone visit? How was it?
Its pretty nice, but I felt last year was better..

Some of the photos from penang state tourism facebook page:
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?id=35880687452&aid=286128
kit_chai83
post Feb 17 2011, 11:06 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(weirdguy @ Feb 14 2011, 05:42 PM)
Saw some wedding photo in a magazine took at there, it's nice.. there is a room right next to swimming pool, the view is nice

http://penang.hardrockhotels.net/logo-and-images.php

Click the Lagoon Deluxe Room picture

This post has been edited by kit_chai83: Feb 17 2011, 11:07 AM
DarkNite
post Feb 17 2011, 01:54 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Tonight Penang will explode! iT IS cHAP gOH MEH!
Ami Tsun
post Feb 17 2011, 03:07 PM

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Feb 17 2011, 01:54 PM)
Tonight Penang will explode! iT IS cHAP gOH MEH!
Explode?? U planted bomb ke? smile.gif

The 8th day's "bai ti kong" nite was great, lots of fire crackers(ilegal??) and fireworks from local residential houses..

Ami Tsun
post Feb 17 2011, 03:20 PM

QUOTE(Nosense @ Feb 12 2011, 02:26 PM)
One thing that I am not sure on is the parking.  Penang is still using the coin parking meter and if I park at a lot then realize that the coin meter is not working.  Should I just leave it or find a lot with a workable coin meter.  Will I get a parking fine if the coin meter is not working?
I parked at one of those lot just 2 weeks ago, behind Oriental Hotel, Leith Street. Didn't realise meter rosak until after I parked and wanted to slot coins. So, I asked the laundry shop uncle to help me jaga and reason with if saman people come. He told me, no worry la, nvm wan, meter spoilt, wont kena saman wan. Later, I heard other people say, not suppose to park at those meter rosak lot....

Astroranagun
post Feb 22 2011, 02:25 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(weirdguy @ Feb 14 2011, 04:42 AM)
The one and only Hard Rock Hotel in malaysia? also the 1st hard rock hotel in south east asia.....
skon9
post Feb 22 2011, 12:07 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(Astroranagun @ Feb 22 2011, 02:25 AM)
The one and only Hard Rock Hotel in malaysia? also the 1st hard rock hotel in south east asia.....
Wrong, the first Hard Rock Hotel in SEA is in Bali, Indonesia. tongue.gif
DarkNite
post Feb 22 2011, 12:44 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(skon9 @ Feb 22 2011, 12:07 PM)
Wrong, the first Hard Rock Hotel in SEA is in Bali, Indonesia. tongue.gif
These people damn smart. They must have known this...
http://www.budgettravel.com/feature/10-isl...ie,6815/?page=3
10 Islands to See Before You Die
Number 7 : PENANG: Treat yourself to Malaysia's unique fusion of cultures and flavors
Start your food crawl at stalls that crowd the streets of Georgetown, Penang's largest city and Malaysia's food capital.

The delectable fare on offer memorably mingles Malaysian, Chinese, Indian, and European flavors. Foodies in search of supreme bliss should head to the marketplace Ayer Itam—adjacent to Kek Lok Si (the Temple of Supreme Bliss)—to dine on a variety of dishes based on rice, noodles, fish, shellfish, chicken, pork, vegetables, eggs, and coconut.

Look for lor bak (deep-fried marinated minced pork served with a chili sauce); lok-lok (skewered seafood, meats, and vegetables); and ikan bakar (grilled or barbecued fish marinated in spices and coconut milk, wrapped inside banana leaves, and grilled over hot coals).

The same fusion of cultures is evident in the local architecture, which ranges from modern high-rises to buildings built by 19th-century British colonialists. Add to the mix beach resorts, preserved mangroves, small fishing villages, and a share of temples, mosques, and churches.

Kek Lok Si best exemplifies this coexistence. At seven stories, it's the largest Buddhist temple in Southeast Asia, and it reflects the shared values of Mahayana and Theravada Buddhism—designed with a Chinese octagonal base, a Thai-accented middle tier, and a Burmese-style peak.

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Feb 22 2011, 12:45 PM
demolationz
post Feb 23 2011, 02:03 AM

LYN Dedicated Member
2,250 posts

If i stay at tune hotel jalan burmah , is it near ferry ? port cornwillis ? can walk ? or need taxi ? thanks in advance (:
egyprince
post Feb 23 2011, 01:13 PM

On my way.....getting stronger each day
1,277 posts

QUOTE(demolationz @ Feb 23 2011, 02:03 AM)
If i stay at tune hotel jalan burmah , is it near ferry ? port cornwillis ? can walk ? or need taxi ? thanks in advance (:
The place u stated there all need teksi. It is around 10minute trip by teksi. Ferry is just beside Port Cornwilis
demolationz
post Feb 23 2011, 02:53 PM

LYN Dedicated Member
2,250 posts

QUOTE(egyprince @ Feb 23 2011, 01:13 PM)
The place u stated there all need teksi. It is around 10minute trip by teksi. Ferry is just beside Port Cornwilis
10 mins trip by taxi cry.gif so , how about taxi fare overthere ? btw , last time got gerai gerai overthere at port cornwillis . Then , terbakar rite ? where they pindah eh ? icon_question.gif
PangurBan
post Feb 23 2011, 03:23 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(demolationz @ Feb 23 2011, 02:53 PM)
10 mins trip by taxi  cry.gif  so , how about taxi fare overthere ? btw , last time got gerai gerai overthere at port cornwillis . Then , terbakar rite ? where they pindah eh ?  icon_question.gif
aiyoyoyo, no need taxi lah. Walk ohso can, not that far. Just keep going down burma road and keep going in that same general direction and you will hit the seafront. The jetty is just a little further up the seafront to the left.
stimix
post Feb 23 2011, 03:30 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

For certain ppl 3km walk is not far but for average M'sian & walking under the hot sun..That's far wor..siao meh...
demolationz
post Feb 23 2011, 04:17 PM

LYN Dedicated Member
2,250 posts

QUOTE(PangurBan @ Feb 23 2011, 03:23 PM)
aiyoyoyo, no need taxi lah.  Walk ohso can, not that far.   Just keep going down burma road and keep going in that same general direction and you will hit the seafront.  The jetty is just a little further up the seafront to the left.
Thanks bro , will look foward to it notworthy.gif

Added on February 23, 2011, 4:18 pm
QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 23 2011, 03:30 PM)
For certain ppl 3km walk is not far but for average M'sian & walking under the hot sun..That's far wor..siao meh...
haha , ofcos meh . many average malaysian lazy nowaday . hmm.gif Got new event now eh at penang ? icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by demolationz: Feb 23 2011, 04:18 PM
skon9
post Feb 23 2011, 06:47 PM

384 posts

QUOTE(demolationz @ Feb 23 2011, 04:17 PM)
Got new event now eh at penang ?  icon_rolleyes.gif
Have a look here: http://www.visitpenang.gov.my/

142 Pages « < 71 72 73 74 75 > » Top

0.0363sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:41 AM