12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Bottom

A skinny ba$tard's log, Unilateral 5x5 to 5x10

TSiamyuanwu
post Apr 28 2009, 12:37 AM

2,425 posts

Dayum... 85 is my max. And you could just do 10 reps of it.
I so fxcking paiseh.
JonYeap
post Apr 28 2009, 12:44 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

hmm... its not my max 10 reps.
but i dont push myself further coz i need to complete my leg press, leg extension, calf raises again.

squat, leg extension, leg press, calf raises.
all high reps sets... 15-30 reps
yeah_guyz
post Apr 28 2009, 11:09 AM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Apr 28 2009, 12:37 AM)
Dayum... 85 is my max. And you could just do 10 reps of it.
I so fxcking paiseh.
go from 60kg and do 20reps

keep increasing the weight by 2.5kg everytime u hit the gym
you will see that your body adapt to it damn fast
pizzaboy
post Apr 28 2009, 12:13 PM

9,495 posts

Sorry eh...my max BS is only 180KG not 190KG.

If your legs aren't sore till you can't walk, for at least 3-4 days, you're not using enough weight. Anyway, this cannot be achieved like in a random time. You first have to build your work capacity by going through 2-3 weeks with 50-55-60% of your 1RM for 5 sets of 20 reps.

Then play around 60-65% and try hitting about as many reps as possible ABOVE 20 reps for two sets for about 2-3 weeks.

Then finally work to your BODYWEIGHT and then try to hit 50-60x for two sets. Try to hit above 120 reps in that two sets. Do this for another 2 weeks.

Then try your 100 rep bodyweight squats. The preparation takes between 6-8 weeks, then you try it once and you walk away wit loads of extra muscle.
JonYeap
post Apr 28 2009, 01:32 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

haha... i dont even wanna dream on doing that crazy weights... kaka... 85kg for 100 reps?
i think i will die even reaching 20 reps.
kakakakkaka...
give me a year also dunno can or not.
kirk, try 100kg 100 reps...
hehe... mental torture... =.=

maybe i will try 50kg for 50 reps... thats the most insane thing i would try i guess...
TSiamyuanwu
post Apr 28 2009, 07:32 PM

2,425 posts

Ooooh. Let me put it in point form.

Week 1:
50% 1RM
5x20

Week 2:
55% 1RM
5x20

Week 3:
60% 1RM
5x20

Week 4-6:
60-65%
2x max (at least 20)

Week 7-8:
Bodyweight
2 x 60 (or more)

D-day:
Bodyweight
1 x 100

D-day + 7
Octopussy legs.
pizzaboy
post Apr 28 2009, 09:07 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Apr 28 2009, 07:32 PM)
Ooooh. Let me put it in point form.

Week 1:
50% 1RM
5x20

Week 2:
55% 1RM
5x20

Week 3:
60% 1RM
5x20

Week 4-6:
60-65%
2x max (at least 20) The reps, BEGIN at 20. 20 and below, not even counted.

Week 7-8:
Bodyweight
2 x 60 (or more)

D-day:
Bodyweight
1 x 100

D-day + 7
Octopussy legs.
yeah_guyz
post Apr 29 2009, 08:58 AM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/894464 brows.gif

you all is going crazy route, i cant imagine what will it be to me if i done 100reps =.=
20reps with bodyweight already crazy tax my leg
coolz_iced
post May 29 2009, 01:20 AM

92 posts

hai yuan.. what happening.. so quite here.. also can see some spider web.. tongue.gif
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 4 2009, 08:58 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(coolz_iced @ May 29 2009, 01:20 AM)
hai yuan.. what happening.. so quite here.. also can see some spider web..  tongue.gif
Aku malas lah, baru-baru ni.

Pindah rumah, out station assignments.
Buat dips and plank kat bilik hotel aje. Toksa lah update about doing dips and plank.

Anyway, I'm using the hundredpushups.com programme. But instead of doing pushups, I'm using bodyweight dips.
If I can eventually get to 50 dips in a single set, I'd be damn happy already.

Playing around with cacated iron cross+L-sit. Can't do it yet. I only manage 15s on a 'peace' cross.
Lets see how long it would take for me to increase the hold to 1 minute.
Amended: I tried doing it again. It's not even close to a cross. It's a wide grip dip position at best, around 90cm wide. My wrist is too damn weak to even try anything close. Ah well, I'll just be happy with a low L-sit for 15s. =)

Just got an *ahem-ahem* copy of Buiding the Gymastik Body. Maybe I'll get a set of gymnastic rings to play around.
Taobao.com is full of cheap stuff!

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jun 4 2009, 09:41 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 11 2009, 11:05 PM

2,425 posts

I think I'm having attention deficit disorder.
I've been jumping from 1 programme to another in weekly basis.

After a year of SL 5x5,
Then went to W4SB, tak sampai sebulan... gym schedule was interrupted for 3 weeks,
Then I go do GVT to try to bulk up for my Phuket trip, which lasted for a mere 1 week. Other gym members were complaining that I was hogging the only barbell for 1 hour to myself.

Now I'm doing some Pavel 40 crap. High frequency to get strength up.
40 days, 5x a week:

warm up 15s for each: High knee, jumping jacks, skipping, left-right, push ups, crunches, mountain climbers, burpees.
Posterior chain: Squat or DL 2x5
Upper body push: BP 2x5 (hmmm, should I alternate with military press?)
Upper body pull: Row 2x5
Explosive training: CnJ, DB swings, SB snatches 1x20-50
Anterior chain: abs wheelie, hanging leg raise, weighted plank.
Rope skip if I feel like it.

Everything must kaotim in 45min.
-----
I also seem to have conflicting interests. I want a some what BBer-athlete-fitness model type of body.
But I am kept attracted to strength based training because it a lot more fun to do. It's fun to do swings, CnJ, DB snatches, DL, squats. It's no fun doing curls and skull crushers & plank.
JonYeap
post Jun 11 2009, 11:37 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

then i guess u will not be anything if u continue swinging around without a goal...
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 12 2009, 12:49 AM

2,425 posts

Since you mentioned it, my goal is to get strong, for now. Looks will come with strength.

90kg 3RM squat
120 1RM DL
50kg row
40kg CnJ

Sounds a bit far fetch. Reach for the sky, at least if I fail, I'll fall on the clouds. X^D
coolz_iced
post Jun 12 2009, 11:30 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 12 2009, 12:49 AM)
Since you mentioned it, my goal is to get strong, for now. Looks will come with strength.

90kg 3RM squat
120 1RM DL
50kg row
40kg CnJ

Sounds a bit far fetch. Reach for the sky, at least if I fail, I'll fall on the clouds. X^D
wahh.. nice poundage. thumbup.gif

so it mean your body already have some mass n thickness, rite?
update some picture la.. because you mainly do strength based workout, show me your back. i bet your lats already grow and have nice v-shape already.

this is my workout..
day 1: some squat, bench, row, deadlift - heavy/medium day (sometimes i skip squat)
day 2: delt, tricep, bicep, trap. e.g.. ohp, smitch seated ohp, closed grip bench press..
day 3: off
day 4: some squat, bench, row, deadlift - medium/heavy day (sometime i skip squat)
day 5: delt, tricep, bicep, trap. e.g.. ohp, smitch seated ohp, closed grip bench press..
day 6: sleep
day 7: sleep

try it.. it fun.
my way on weight increment, e.g. for deadlift, i will stick for that weight maybe 2 week or more before i slowly increase. so my body, muscle, joint, spine can adapt that heavy toll and became strong.

my workout seem to be taxing but i listen to my body n know my limits.

my food intake is suck.. still low on protein.. budget.. tongue.gif ...

darklight79
post Jun 12 2009, 11:59 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 12 2009, 12:49 AM)

90kg 3RM squat
120 1RM DL
50kg row
40kg CnJ

Mate, with all due respect. I'm not dissin' any strength programs but you've been on them for so long and still haven't reached them, then it's time a change.

Seriously now, ask Jon Yeap, he has met my 2 training partners in person and trained with them more than a few times. They've been on nothing but a conventional bodybuilding program and they've hit those goals in less than a few months. My partner's stats under my supervision for 4 months or so:-

110kbs squat x 10
140kg deadlift x 1
70kg row x 9
I don't know about C & J because we don't do that.

It's either your diet needs tweaking or a conventional strength program is not your cup of tea.
JonYeap
post Jun 13 2009, 03:01 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

hehe i started around 3 months back but simply only.

current stat is
squat 125-130kg 1RM
deadlift 160kg-170kg 1RM
barbell row 80kg 6 reps

TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 26 2009, 08:48 PM

2,425 posts

Crap, I think I'm under eating.

How the heck you guys can row 70-80kg with your back parallel to the floor?
Shit lah, I'm a rabbit! Lift like a rabbit, eat like a rabbit. cry.gif

Worse, body weight dropped a bit. Probably because summer is in.

Added on June 29, 2009, 12:24 amWanted to take some pic to record some progress. When I looked at them and compared to past pics... fxck! The difference is so little, I feel ashamed to even say I work out.

Time to eat!

Added on July 3, 2009, 11:25 pmThe idiot who tulanated me last time did bench press today, with legs high up in the air.

70kg bench press... not bad!
Until I saw that the poor lady owner of the gym (who was his spotter) had to do a hybrid of deadlift-cum-row during every rep. Probably lifting 20-25kg (or more) for him, she was grunting louder than he was. The shittiest BP I've ever seen. Cannot press so much, then reduce the weight lah.
Nasib baik he didn't ask me to spot. I'd let the bar compress his chest a little before I actually pull it up. Nyek nyek nyek!

Another fella quarter smith squats all the plates in the gym, only to have the lady gym owner 'spot' him. She was literally squatting a large portion of the weight. Might as well just call it the tethered-double-smith-squat. doh.gif
He's a cool dude though. But I just like thrashing his smith squats online because I tak boleh tahan looking at it.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Aug 20 2009, 11:03 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Aug 20 2009, 11:04 PM

2,425 posts

Confirm that my diet is cacated. I upped my intake and poof, I'm now gaining weight.

Did a weird sh!t routine that I composed myself.
Does it make any sense at all? No it doesn't.
So why still do it? Because I love these exercises. And that's all the motivation I need for today!

The usual warm up:
15sec of each: skipping on the spot (with high knee), jumping jacks, running on the spot, jumping side to side, pushups, crunches, mountain climber, burpees.
According to a research from West Point (no1 US military school), this warm up can help trainees run faster and jump higher. And I find it a quick way to get my metabolism up.

5-10 vertical jumps.
I found out that [max effort] jumping spikes up your nerves. There was once, I was so lethargic I actually napped for 10 minutes in the gym before I started training. And became totally groggy. After a few jumps, I'm hyped up, and ready to go! rclxms.gif

Most are done with 90-120s rest:

1) [push] Inclined DB press --> 13kg 2x20 4min rest
2) [legs] Bulgarian split squat --> 35kg bar 2x10 [fried my legs too soon]
3) [pull] Chin up + face pull super set --> 2x max chin ups + 2lbs face pull on the cable row
4) [legs] Pistols --> 1x10 [I feel that I might puke if I did an extra set]
5) [a$$] Alternating DB upright row --> 13kg 2x10
6) [legs] Single arm DB swings --> 13kg 2x10 [last few reps, my form were getting sloppy]
7) [pull] Self supported DB rows (aka 2 point row) --> 13kg 2x10
8) [a$$]] DB snatch --> 13kg 2x10
9) [abs+shoulder] Turkish get-up --> 13kg 2x2 [my grip was giving up from all those DB power movements]
10) [abs] Plank with 10kg on my a$$ --> 40sec

Approx 80 min. This is pretty tough. My heart rate never dropped even with 90s rest between sets. And I'm continuously panting and sucking air. And the weirdest thing is I had a side stitch for a while (those pain on the side when jogging or running). LOL!

After taking a shower, I noticed that I'm in a surprisingly good mood. laugh.gif And I feel refreshed. Like a runners/cardio high!
I'm putting this routine into my permanent programme! Whoever is crazy enough, do try it out too!

P.S. while doing the swings, a dude came over and asked me if I practise Sanda (散打chinese kickboxing). YES! Objective tercapai. I'm looking forward to a fighter's physique.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Aug 20 2009, 11:07 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jan 30 2010, 11:35 AM

2,425 posts

The Armstrong Pull Up Workout

Training sets

Week 1
Armstrong
Day 1, 5x max: 11 8 6 5 4
Day 2, pyramid: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 6 5 4 3 2 1
Day 3, 9x training sets: 2 2 2 2 2 2 3 3 3
Day 4, max training sets: 30 x 3
Day 5, repeat most difficult: pyramid 1 2 3 4 5 6 6 6

Hundred Push ups:
(set 1+2: spiderman + rock climber; set 3+4: rock climber; set 5: close grip x20, normal to failure)
Day 1: 10 12 7 7 30
Day 3: 10 12 8 8 25
Day 5: 11 15 9 9 30

By day 4, slight fatigue is setting in. Day 5, fatigued. I'd normally take the stair, but I just don't feel like it. That's what 90 pull ups can do to me! LOL!
Stretching on day 6+7. blush.gif
nandayryu
post Jan 30 2010, 11:44 AM

1,072 posts

do u guys take any pills 2 build up ur body ?

12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0281sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:03 PM