Religion crashing with bf, sad stress sucks stupid and stonning

aleluya
post Mar 13 2008, 03:14 PM

I'm Teh Powah!
1,134 posts

After so many years, it is still sad to see that people always misconcept this:

Buddhist is not a religion, it is a teaching to guide you to lead a happy life, simple without 7 biggest sins of human.. greed, hate......
But misconcept makes that people think that we pray to certain god, is a buddhist..

Despite what people say, it is very shameful to say that, taoism is not really a religion after all.. if you read through the tao books and teaching, it is a way to respect our ancestor; and i believe that; it is ok to use incense to pray them; as a sign of respect, after all without our ancestor we will not be here either...

Guan Yu, Kuan Yin, or any other statue placed in temple; they are once ancestor that respected by all the people..
as i see, people always bring the issues of religion, is simple; because they don't understand it and simply choose to believe in certainty, yet not understand it...

christian and islam are beautiful religion, both of them are very well in creating a good human; but you see, during the era of christianity, how many church had modify the bible and to earn for their sake? I dare to say the bible originally is for people to believe in good way, without any extra issues like saying other religion as devil.. it's the man that changes it.. jesus himself never blame others for not believing him, instead, he proves it and he showed us how beautiful is god in christian..

and i do believe 1 thing, if you are a strong religion, so what if you don't do good deeds? you ain't going to heaven just because you pray for god but you kill and harm others...

if religion is an issue in relationship, then it's not worth it, after all it is not religion that creates the massiveness, it is the people who misunderstand religion that creates this.. religion should be beautiful, and not argument in it..

if people can understand their own religion very well, it will not create chaos even in a relationship... so i don't see religion as a real issue anyway, it's just the people who wants control over their partner create it.. same goes to family..

P.S: if you find my quoting on religion is against your belief, don't take and feel offended, it is what i feel for religion; and if you are a strong believer and understand your religion very well, you wouldn't shout like a devil wink.gif
speare
post Mar 15 2008, 08:04 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(MaryWong @ Feb 27 2008, 11:42 AM)
Well,
i think this have occur several couples.

my situation is...He, Buddhist. Me, Christian.
At the beginning of the relationship, i once force him to become a christian.
but then, i give up coz i dun wanna him to be so difficult in choosing himself and me.
so i respect him.

now after we together more than 2 years.
he now showing up that i must become a buddhist to so we can marry.
the thing is, my parents will nvr let us marry if he is not christian. But his parents doesnt have this issue, i guess.
so he said, a girl married to a man should follow the man's religion. and must work together as husband and wife
and this is been practices since olden days.

so i argued, i said this is kinda ridiculous. How can possible you can force me to be something that i dun wanna be?
i nvr insist him to become a christian, but now he's forcing me now. There's not respect, discussion and further more.

I'm a strong minded woman, who will not be easy to change my decision.
Everything issues other than to change my religion i will be fine with it.
but why cant he just be tolerate me and stop forcing me?

if you are in the situation, wouldnt you will ask that
"IF malaysia want every citizens to become MUSLIMS, and you have no freedom to choose ur religion,
do you wanna?" shakehead.gif

he speechless and say he will leave the country then.
i said now is not leave or leave but about the relationship.
relationship is not easy to say leave...but it's painful to make a decision that you dun wanna.

what do u all think? unsure.gif
well. in the end it is whether u guys can continue anot?
n plus the factor of religon thinggy it does affect ur future,
never know that one day u guys might be arguing over such a thing.
if ur a stong christian then knowing that ur parents will surely say no to a non then why did u start the relationship?
*im not saying that im against any religon here*
it applies to all.

SUSalexcky
post Mar 15 2008, 10:31 PM

business Sifu
842 posts

hi

i have same situation with u too..i'm christian n she's a buddist.

actually i didnt force her to convert but she willing to go to church wit me i already satisfied

just pray to God she will accept him one day..anyway we r getting married tis yr

just pray to God ask for direction if u feel he is the rite one then follow God direction

cheers
ken811
post Mar 16 2008, 08:10 AM

QUOTE(aleluya @ Mar 13 2008, 03:14 PM)

Buddhist is not a religion, it is a teaching to guide you to lead a happy life, simple without 7 biggest sins of human.. greed, hate......
But misconcept makes that people think that we pray to certain god, is a buddhist..

Despite what people say, it is very shameful to say that, taoism is not really a religion after all.. if you read through the tao books and teaching, it is a way to respect our ancestor; and i believe that; it is ok to use incense to pray them; as a sign of respect, after all without our ancestor we will not be here either...

Guan Yu, Kuan Yin, or any other statue placed in temple; they are once ancestor that respected by all the people..
as i see, people always bring the issues of religion, is simple; because they don't understand it and simply choose to believe in certainty, yet not understand it...

christian and islam are beautiful religion, both of them are very well in creating a good human; but you see, during the era of christianity, how many church had modify the bible and to earn for their sake? I dare to say the bible originally is for people to believe in good way, without any extra issues like saying other religion as devil.. it's the man that changes it.. jesus himself never blame others for not believing him, instead, he proves it and he showed us how beautiful is god in christian..
yes Buddhist is started as a teaching at early days same goes to Christian and Islam
before it became a religious Christian is a teaching of Jesus while Islam is a teaching of Muhammad...
but now days all is considered as a religion.

Buddhist is similar to Hinduism in which they have lots of God and Goddesses

anyway to TS slowly find your soul mate, he wont be far away...
mirky_mirage
post Mar 17 2008, 04:32 PM

92 posts

TS

i m buddhist while my bf is christian.. we hv been together for 7yrs n i would say we nvr hv a single arguement in tis issue (religion).. his mother is a strong christian believer while my parents r strong buddhist believer but they nvr put pressure on us..

when he pray, i will juz sit aside til he finish lo.. then i will join him back..
when i pray, he will help in preparing those barang-barang..
i think is more to a respect n tolerate to each other..

to us, religion is not an issue as long as we love each other, tats it..
if u luv him, u hv to accept his everything.. his frens, his family......his religion.. if he luv u, he will accept ur everyhting too..

cheers..
DannGun
post Mar 17 2008, 04:59 PM

688 posts

TS, my 2 cents.. ( i myself a christian)

If he ask you to convert, then ask him to forget about the relationship. He should respect your beliefs. And, vice versa if you ask him to convert too.

Marriage is between you and him. Do not care about your family or his family's objection to the marriage. If both of you listened to your parents, that means your love is not strong. If you love him, you should not listen to your parents, and he too, should not listen to his parents.

There is no big fuss about this. Your bf is a buddhist, you're a christian. Both of you can eat anything you want(except some buddhists who can't eat beef).. It will be complicated if a relationship involves muslim and non-muslim..

You can go to church, and if he wanna follow, it's alright. You can follow him go to temple as well, but if you don't want to take the colok, it's alright. You can eat free noodles and coffee the temple while waiting for him...
I have many friends whom one of their parents is christian and buddhist. They still live harmoniously, with buddhist statue and Jesus' picture in their house.

Based on your part 2 story, it appears that your relationship with him was hopeless as he doesn't want to compromise and insisted that you convert to buddhism.

kimmie
post Mar 18 2008, 04:42 PM

KIM IMPOSSIBLE
1,532 posts

QUOTE(mirky_mirage @ Mar 17 2008, 04:32 PM)
TS

i m buddhist while my bf is christian.. we hv been together for 7yrs n i would say we nvr hv a single arguement in tis issue (religion).. his mother is a strong christian believer while my parents r strong buddhist believer but they nvr put pressure on us..

when he pray, i will juz sit aside til he finish lo.. then i will join him back..
when i pray, he will help in preparing those barang-barang..
i think is more to a respect n tolerate to each other..

to us, religion is not an issue as long as we love each other, tats it..
if u luv him, u hv to accept his everything.. his frens, his family......his religion.. if he luv u, he will accept ur everyhting too..

cheers..
have u tried alpha? its a common ground area where non believers come to dicuss and understand what christianity is all about.no pressure.just dinner,video and sharing:) maybe u should try to understand why he and his family are into christianity in the 1st place

Added on March 18, 2008, 5:28 pm
QUOTE(ken811 @ Mar 16 2008, 08:10 AM)
yes Buddhist is started as a teaching at early days same goes to Christian and Islam
before it became a religious Christian is a teaching of Jesus while Islam is a teaching of Muhammad...

yeah sadly most ppl take it for granted and count it as religion; it shouldnt be so but a relationship instead...and ull find life more meaningful

This post has been edited by kimmie: Mar 18 2008, 05:28 PM
a13solut3
post Mar 20 2008, 06:43 AM

Whiner FTW!
1,757 posts

At very first, why bother talking about religion?

Religion is nothing, it's just a forms of name.

Don't tell me you all are religious, if you are, you won't make a single darn sin.

But all of us are sinner, isn't it?

-----

Ok, just for god sake, can't you just get married but stick to your own religion? If HE want you pray to chinese god, just pray lor, if YOU want him to pray to christ, then pray lor..

Do this both stuff can kill your family or yourself issit?

So the important issue here is understanding and respect, not about religion. Heck care with it..

Well, but not for muslim though >< ( I'm not racist, just when you converted into this one, you must do what you suppose to do or GET PUNISHED by them... ) and, they forced us to convert especially when get married, which is totally craps..

No freedom = suck
Freedom = the way of Musou!
kimmie
post Mar 20 2008, 09:22 AM

KIM IMPOSSIBLE
1,532 posts

im not religious or wat...im sure i am a sinner...even the saint has sinned before what more we mere human mortals?even brilliant scientist beliefs there is a powerful being creating and sustaining this whole universe.....

i too thought its nothing,religion is religion mah~ but the real fact is if u reallyyyy have a religion is really matters in long term.beliefs...say example: X is in a cult new wave religion...pray to god of hell. hates heaven feel is boring and nothing to do wherelse hell have this and that and the devil is real with him giving all he needs on earth wherelse Y is a muslim, hates the devil , loves god...this belief is not only shown during festive season but everyday life and conduct...how can darkness and light mix?
fujkenasai
post Mar 20 2008, 10:14 AM

1,137 posts

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif this turns out to be a religious preaching thread.

kimmie
post Mar 20 2008, 11:24 AM

KIM IMPOSSIBLE
1,532 posts

if one person says religion is not a problem & shouldnt be a problem between a realtionship no one complains but if i or anyone states otherwise why should it be an issue? im just giving my 2cent of experience and opinion
WinnieH
post Mar 22 2008, 09:40 PM

432 posts

you know what.....? if he cannot accept you for who YOU ARE, then say sayonara to him. i know its easier said than done, but what more can you do? you yourself hated it when your guy forces you to convert.... and from the way you expressed yourself, i don't believe you'll ever leave christianity. i doubt your guy will leave buddism for you, because if he could do so, he would have done it a long time ago to save all this trouble............

and let's say if you really get married, do you think you'll be happy if he's constantly telling you to convert and stuffs? then by that time maybe you'll start asking him "why should i convert? why don't you convert?" and such... and the marriage, my dear... will be an awful one.
kimmie
post Mar 24 2008, 10:12 AM

KIM IMPOSSIBLE
1,532 posts

TOTALLY AGREE with winnieH point of view....its hard but its better for the future; ull be much happier
KVReninem
post Mar 24 2008, 10:54 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(aleluya @ Mar 13 2008, 04:14 PM)

and i do believe 1 thing, if you are a strong religion, so what if you don't do good deeds? you ain't going to heaven just because you pray for god but you kill and harm others...

if religion is an issue in relationship, then it's not worth it, after all it is not religion that creates the massiveness, it is the people who misunderstand religion that creates this.. religion should be beautiful, and not argument in it..

if people can understand their own religion very well, it will not create chaos even in a relationship... so i don't see religion as a real issue anyway, it's just the people who wants control over their partner create it.. same goes to family..

P.S: if you find my quoting on religion is against your belief, don't take and feel offended, it is what i feel for religion; and if you are a strong believer and understand your religion very well, you wouldn't shout like a devil  wink.gif
i like your point of view, at the end of the day..there is only ONE GOD..there isnt 3 or more.Religion is purely a believe itself for sinner to seek sanctuary on.

QUOTE(ken811 @ Mar 16 2008, 09:10 AM)

it is the media, words and explaination, the seperation of views and path which make it like a religion. Look at Islam and Christian, both have common ground of good deeds and belief, but why both fail to reconcile?ended with crusade?
Religion is never a religion after all...

QUOTE(kimmie @ Mar 18 2008, 05:42 PM)
have u tried alpha? its a common ground area where non believers come to dicuss and understand what christianity is all about.no pressure.just dinner,video and sharing:) maybe u should try to understand why he and his family are into christianity in the 1st place

Added on March 18, 2008, 5:28 pm
yeah sadly most ppl take it for granted and count it as religion; it shouldnt be so but a relationship instead...and ull find life more meaningful
sometime, small issue can be a big issue, especially when extremist meet extremist

To MaryWong

As christian, how religious are you to judge others and convert them?Isnt we are tought as a common deed to respect other religions view?
and please, respect your bf religion and if you cant stand it, quit the relationship, simple as tat.
Love a person for who they are, not for the religion they are in...
2 years of relation shud hav build you a strong foundation of tolerance not trying to convert kind of relationship agenda.

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Mar 24 2008, 10:56 AM
meiyan07
post Mar 29 2008, 10:14 AM

30 posts

So, this a religion problem. This is ur both matter. If you both really loves each other so much. Please don't care about who's is Christian or Buddist.

Let's me tell you. Me myself also christian and my bf is buddist, we have been together almost 3 years 8months. My family and his family is really open-minded. They never force us to join religion. As long as I must go church each sunday to pray and still believe in Jesus. My bf family understand my situation. And my family happy with that also.

Don't be too strict to the man of your like or care or love. Just be yourself. So, you're a strong-minded person. Please think carefully, finding a real love is not easy. Find a suitable partner for your whole life journey also not easy.

When you found someone is really suit you up. Please don't care about what religion he in. Except he is Muslim, you can reject it.

regards,

jaymee flex.gif

fujkenasai
post Mar 29 2008, 10:26 AM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(meiyan07 @ Mar 29 2008, 10:14 AM)
So, this a religion problem. This is ur both matter. If you both really loves each other so much. Please don't care about who's is Christian or Buddist.

Let's me tell you. Me myself also christian and my bf is buddist, we have been together almost 3 years 8months. My family and his family is really open-minded. They never force us to join religion. As long as I must go church each sunday to pray and still believe in Jesus. My bf family understand my situation. And my family happy with that also.

Don't be too strict to the man of your like or care or love. Just be yourself. So, you're a strong-minded person. Please think carefully, finding a real love is not easy. Find a suitable partner for your whole life journey also not easy.

When you found someone is really suit you up. Please don't care about what religion he in. Except he is Muslim, you can reject it.

regards,

jaymee flex.gif
Do you have something against muslim or something?
kapitan
post Mar 30 2008, 08:42 AM

2,205 posts

Unless one of you are Muslim, then why bother about this.
Other races are not bound to convert when two soul tied the knot.

Why dont you ask back your parents why they oppose him? Issit really bcos of religous? What kind of restriction that Christianity has that would forbid you from marrying a man from another race?
fujkenasai
post Mar 30 2008, 09:56 AM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(kapitan @ Mar 30 2008, 08:42 AM)
Unless one of you are Muslim, then why bother about this.
Other races are not bound to convert when two soul tied the knot.

Why dont you ask back your parents why they oppose him? Issit really bcos of religous? What kind of restriction that Christianity has that would forbid you from marrying a man from another race?
Its just muslim here in malaysia...........
Isnt there a phrase that love conquers it all?
Darren
post Mar 30 2008, 10:29 PM

1,324 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Mar 30 2008, 09:56 AM)
Its just muslim here in malaysia...........
Isnt there a phrase that love conquers it all?
Since our government has made it a law that anyone marrying a Muslim must convert, then there is no helping it.
But other races, I dont think its a problem at all...
goldfries
post Mar 31 2008, 02:06 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(meiyan07 @ Mar 29 2008, 10:14 AM)

regards,

jaymee flex.gif
care to explain WHY being a MUSLIM makes it different?

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0277sec    1.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:45 PM