As a Christian, I would strongly advise you to pray to God. He will guide you, lead you, wherever you wanna make a decision.
Religion crashing with bf, sad stress sucks stupid and stonning
Mar 6 2008, 07:51 PM
179 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
As a Christian, I would strongly advise you to pray to God. He will guide you, lead you, wherever you wanna make a decision.
Mar 6 2008, 11:20 PM
371 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
IMO, I don't like I & C in some way(but not absolutely hate) because :
Christian = Call other god as evil, shows no respect to other people's religion. Islam = Label other non-believer in a very bad word, I forgot what is it though. Buddha= Never say other god's bad thing. "sek jek si hong, hong jek si sek" All good religion , be it Buddha, C & I taught people to be a good person. Why let religion separate the 2 of you? If I am your bf, and I like you truthfully, I won't care you are a Christian. But I think the main problem lies on your family, who don't allow their daughter to marry a non-Christian right ? Added on March 6, 2008, 11:29 pm QUOTE(jactval @ Mar 6 2008, 07:51 PM) As a Christian, I would strongly advise you to pray to God. He will guide you, lead you, wherever you wanna make a decision. How does the god guide/lead you ? Call to you handphone ? I don't like this kind of advise when people are asking for a more practical solution. NOT HELPING AT ALL!Actually it all depends on what you want ? Choose the way you or both sides think are the most beneficial to both sides. E.g. wanna respect your parents decision, don't want to make them angry or sad, losing a daughter after so many years rising her etc... OR ask your parents, this is the guy I love, I will make my own decision. This is not China in 19th century! This post has been edited by Yeapy: Mar 6 2008, 11:29 PM |
Mar 7 2008, 03:11 PM
767 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Beverly Hills |
a same religion is a must for me...i don want conflict after marrid
Mar 9 2008, 01:58 AM
0 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Mar 9 2008, 02:03 AM
1,648 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ, Malaysia |
sigh i smell religious flames coming
I'm a Christian myself, and frankly, I don't like the "don't worry, leave it to God" thing either. Want something done? God gave you hands, feet and brains. Go do it yourself. Don't be so lazy. Think practically, and realistically. Religion is without a doubt a deciding factor for many relationships in our culture. So deal with it. If you can clearly see it's not gonna progress anymore, why holding on? Be smart and move on. |
Mar 9 2008, 02:23 AM
Forum Admin
44,415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Yeapy @ Mar 6 2008, 11:20 PM) How does the god guide/lead you ? Call to you handphone ? I don't like this kind of advise when people are asking for a more practical solution. NOT HELPING AT ALL! try posting advice without having to hit at other people's given advice, especially when you have no idea where they're coming at. anyway she's advicing from a Christian POV. and from my POV her advice might even be the best here, just that not everyone (especially non-Christians) understand her reply. i won't elaborate, lest it turns into religious discussion. edited : there will be religion based advices. there will be also the non-religious based advices. the choice is up to TS. This post has been edited by goldfries: Mar 9 2008, 03:10 AM |
Mar 9 2008, 03:03 PM
179 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(Yeapy @ Mar 6 2008, 11:20 PM) IMO, I don't like I & C in some way(but not absolutely hate) because : Christian = Call other god as evil, shows no respect to other people's religion. Islam = Label other non-believer in a very bad word, I forgot what is it though. Buddha= Never say other god's bad thing. "sek jek si hong, hong jek si sek" All good religion , be it Buddha, C & I taught people to be a good person. Why let religion separate the 2 of you? If I am your bf, and I like you truthfully, I won't care you are a Christian. But I think the main problem lies on your family, who don't allow their daughter to marry a non-Christian right ? Added on March 6, 2008, 11:29 pm How does the god guide/lead you ? Call to you handphone ? I don't like this kind of advise when people are asking for a more practical solution. NOT HELPING AT ALL! Actually it all depends on what you want ? Choose the way you or both sides think are the most beneficial to both sides. E.g. wanna respect your parents decision, don't want to make them angry or sad, losing a daughter after so many years rising her etc... OR ask your parents, this is the guy I love, I will make my own decision. This is not China in 19th century! QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 9 2008, 02:23 AM) try posting advice without having to hit at other people's given advice, especially when you have no idea where they're coming at. goldfries being an understanding man here anyway she's advicing from a Christian POV. and from my POV her advice might even be the best here, just that not everyone (especially non-Christians) understand her reply. i won't elaborate, lest it turns into religious discussion. edited : there will be religion based advices. there will be also the non-religious based advices. the choice is up to TS. This post has been edited by jactval: Mar 9 2008, 03:05 PM |
Mar 9 2008, 04:52 PM
32 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
why dun ur bf become a christian 1st and then after
2 years you 2 become buddhist 2gether and follow this formula every 2 years. sometimes i wonder whether human being dumb or god dumb or the religion itself .... ps: why people always drag their god into their problem.... |
Mar 9 2008, 07:16 PM
0 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(picasso1901 @ Mar 9 2008, 02:22 PM) why dun ur bf become a christian 1st and then after 2 years you 2 become buddhist 2gether and follow this formula every 2 years. sometimes i wonder whether human being dumb or god dumb or the religion itself .... ps: why people always drag their god into their problem.... ya things won be settle when bring god inside.. that doesnt mean i don trust in god.. he does exist.. he decide what he wants to do up there.. we might pray to him to be feel a bit peacuful.. but things down here we settle ourself.. why dun ur bf become a christian 1st and then after 2 years you 2 become buddhist 2gether and follow this formula every 2 years.----- good idea |
Mar 9 2008, 10:45 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(picasso1901 @ Mar 9 2008, 04:52 PM) ps: why people always drag their god into their problem.... generally humans have problem follow the laws / rules set, regardless set by who.............even those set by the deity they believe. |
Mar 10 2008, 01:00 AM
21 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(MaryWong @ Feb 27 2008, 11:42 AM) Well, Ok, my friendis a all-time Christian, strong believer. She is the President of Christian Fellowship in our school. During her younger days, she only dated one Christian boy. In the end, they broke up after 8 years. 3 years later, she marry a man. This man is a strong Buddhist. Family also strong Buddhism. Yet, they still lived together happily. Despite the husband family is strong buddism, they respected her beliefs. During Chinese New Year reunion dinner, they still let her say her prayers before the meal.i think this have occur several couples. my situation is...He, Buddhist. Me, Christian. At the beginning of the relationship, i once force him to become a christian. but then, i give up coz i dun wanna him to be so difficult in choosing himself and me. so i respect him. now after we together more than 2 years. he now showing up that i must become a buddhist to so we can marry. the thing is, my parents will nvr let us marry if he is not christian. But his parents doesnt have this issue, i guess. so he said, a girl married to a man should follow the man's religion. and must work together as husband and wife and this is been practices since olden days. so i argued, i said this is kinda ridiculous. How can possible you can force me to be something that i dun wanna be? i nvr insist him to become a christian, but now he's forcing me now. There's not respect, discussion and further more. I'm a strong minded woman, who will not be easy to change my decision. Everything issues other than to change my religion i will be fine with it. but why cant he just be tolerate me and stop forcing me? if you are in the situation, wouldnt you will ask that "IF malaysia want every citizens to become MUSLIMS, and you have no freedom to choose ur religion, do you wanna?" he speechless and say he will leave the country then. i said now is not leave or leave but about the relationship. relationship is not easy to say leave...but it's painful to make a decision that you dun wanna. what do u all think? This is called understanding and not making one another bend and break themselves for you. |
Mar 11 2008, 10:45 AM
98 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Kinrara,Puchong,KL |
QUOTE(atlantis2007 @ Feb 27 2008, 12:51 PM) MaryWong, any suggestion here shouldnt be put into ur relationship. Not so easy like you said. Can you tell me what religion for their future kids?In any case ur going to marry him, its going to be a Buddhist-Christian. A mix, in a simplified word. There is nothing to choose about. I understands how a strong Christian believer would be and a Buddhist as well. Something to share, I have a relative whom his dad is a Christian and mum a Buddhist. They go to Church together on Sunday and to the Buddhist temple, i.e Wesak day. Its needless to ask ones to convert. |
Mar 11 2008, 10:54 AM
1 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
well....sad to see that.
i'm a pure buddhist (not taoist) i'm saying with my own perspective... buddhist won't force ppl into believing their faith....and never said that husband busshist, then wife must be buddhist... and we do respect other religion as well, never say other religion 'devil' or whatsoever.. for christian, if i'm not mistaken, praying to statue is a sin. and religion other than christianity is 'wrong-wrong-wrong' and would be punished in judgement day (pls correct me if i'm wrong....i do attend quite some number of christian bible class.....but it's quite a long time ago...although i'm buddhist, but i do learn from other religion as well...no hard learning what's good for us, right?) conflict will arise for the whole life.....now u wanna convert each other to ur own religion.....(as a fact....most of the time, christian always tend to be very strong in this matter..)...have u ever think of later when u get married, when ur mother/father in law's praying, will u feel hard about it and wanna change their religion ? condemn about their religion? saying that they're praying devil? (that's what always happen in the society and causing disharmony of the family...) u'll have at least 20-30 years to be with ur husband and his family....can u tolerate their religion without condemning and ordering a change in them?(it's hard right? cause praying other than GOD is a sin for christianity and u don't want ur beloved to be punished in judgement day) what about after getting married (with still having different religion)....who will ur children follow ? u would want to children to be christian (cause u think it's the right thing to do). however, ur husband would want ur children to be buddhist, so does his parents....and conflicts come again~~......never ending conflict and conflict unless both of u understanding enough and respect each other in ur relationship..... in religious matter.....LOVE JUST AIN'T ENOUGH!!! understanding and not making one another bend and break themselves for you is the key word to have a happy relationship. as i can see that BOTH of u r not understanding enough.....good luck to u my dear. This post has been edited by Sharvyn: Mar 11 2008, 10:59 AM |
Mar 11 2008, 01:18 PM
214 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Kepong, KL |
QUOTE(MaryWong @ Feb 27 2008, 11:42 AM) Well, You're a Christian, you have a relationship with God. You know what the Bible says about being unequally yoked when you marry a non Christian.i think this have occur several couples. my situation is...He, Buddhist. Me, Christian. At the beginning of the relationship, i once force him to become a christian. but then, i give up coz i dun wanna him to be so difficult in choosing himself and me. so i respect him. now after we together more than 2 years. he now showing up that i must become a buddhist to so we can marry. the thing is, my parents will nvr let us marry if he is not christian. But his parents doesnt have this issue, i guess. so he said, a girl married to a man should follow the man's religion. and must work together as husband and wife and this is been practices since olden days. so i argued, i said this is kinda ridiculous. How can possible you can force me to be something that i dun wanna be? i nvr insist him to become a christian, but now he's forcing me now. There's not respect, discussion and further more. I'm a strong minded woman, who will not be easy to change my decision. Everything issues other than to change my religion i will be fine with it. but why cant he just be tolerate me and stop forcing me? if you are in the situation, wouldnt you will ask that "IF malaysia want every citizens to become MUSLIMS, and you have no freedom to choose ur religion, do you wanna?" he speechless and say he will leave the country then. i said now is not leave or leave but about the relationship. relationship is not easy to say leave...but it's painful to make a decision that you dun wanna. what do u all think? I think the question is, who's more important to you? Your non-christian boyfriend whom you shouldn't have got yourself involve with in the first place or God who knows absolutely everything about you and love you enough to die for your sins. God is a God of grace, He gives you choices. He gave you what He thinks is right, but the choice is still yours. |
Mar 11 2008, 01:28 PM
279 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Feb 27 2008, 11:44 AM) Meh WTF is wrong with husband being Buddhist and wife being Christian? I agree...coz i have many friends which is mix religion which some of them are buddhist with christian or chinese with indian but all have their own life...exp: mom is christain while dad is buddhist and they still leave happily ever after....as long u love him and he love u.....Love is stronger then any religion.......Think bout it.....As long as wife helps out (prepare offering etc) when the Buddhist/Taoism/Muslim husband need to pray then ok la... (vice versa) Bleh... think so much for wat. |
Mar 12 2008, 12:52 PM
16 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
just like the games, the power of love always defeat the GODs..hehe
Mar 12 2008, 05:19 PM
173 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Sunway |
i have the same situation with you .. haih
i have once wan to run away from this situation and i also have tried to go to her church for around 1 years to understand the christian. But now i we didnt talk about our religion ady, she do her christian while i am still buddhist, i gues me and her will be peace until we decided want to married...zzz...i cant imagine what will happen when we going to married...lol.. but her mother is christian while her father not lo.. her mother dun like me because i m not christian while her father ok with me..haha..lol.. guess i am mabit better den u |
Mar 13 2008, 03:40 AM
8 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(CutieLynette @ Mar 11 2008, 01:18 PM) You're a Christian, you have a relationship with God. You know what the Bible says about being unequally yoked when you marry a non Christian. You shouldn't have said this to her, you are implying or giving her pressure to quit on the relationship and you are not helping her.I think the question is, who's more important to you? Your non-christian boyfriend whom you shouldn't have got yourself involve with in the first place or God who knows absolutely everything about you and love you enough to die for your sins. God is a God of grace, He gives you choices. He gave you what He thinks is right, but the choice is still yours. |
Mar 13 2008, 12:33 PM
2 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
wah....
its about heart and family. its hard to determine, but for me the most importants things is bout both of your strength of love. May LOVE can settle you both down |
Mar 13 2008, 01:52 PM
Forum Admin
QUOTE(badboyboy @ Mar 13 2008, 03:40 AM) You shouldn't have said this to her, you are implying or giving her pressure to quit on the relationship and you are not helping her. TS ask for opinion, that's what she gets. some people put relationship first. others put God first. CutieLynette's advice isn't wrong. to those who are not of the same religion, that may SEEM inappropriate but have you ever wondered that your advices are also deem inappropriate to those who have religion? Advising others to quit a relationship isn't wrong either. This thread is an open thread, I would that all of you maintain some respect towards other's given advices before i close the thread. |
| Change to: | 0.0246sec
5 queries
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:56 AM |