Upgrade for free? lol,i guess he is selling off his rig very soon. Kabu,interested to get his mobo?
INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V6<<,, The Journey Continues Here!
Apr 9 2008, 09:59 PM
5,341 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Upgrade for free? lol,i guess he is selling off his rig very soon. Kabu,interested to get his mobo?
Apr 9 2008, 10:40 PM
fylon,if do a lot of vidoe converting..try to get c2d if you afford. Sure this dual core will be much mich faster than our S478. The S939 opty is a dream only lol. Single core opty is suffering in multitasking,think twice before you decide to get. Yet i see the opty performance in gaming also so so only.
Apr 10 2008, 08:49 AM
@fylon,opty they have single and dual core series.I guess the dual core series is rocks.For today's trend,i would rather recommend to get intel base dual core for long term investment.Running out of HDD? Time to get the new SATA 500GB 32MB cache model from Seagate.
Apr 10 2008, 02:43 PM
He still not yet get the watercooling set. I bet if watercooling set reaches his hand...hmm...4.2GHz o/c is coming to show us here.
Apr 10 2008, 03:30 PM
fylon,i guess on watercooling set you may give a try on it. Erm..maybe you try 4.1GHz and see. Pumping uo vCore is fine if using watercooling set.
Apr 10 2008, 04:04 PM
Lol,who knows later he gets an low end C2D for himself. Recently he's busy with converting videos...Maybe he has already plan to get a faster cpu for his daily job.
Apr 10 2008, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(fylon @ Apr 10 2008, 07:51 PM) @Kabu Yea.. Ur right. Even the mobility version of c2d can smoke us far away. |
Apr 10 2008, 10:53 PM
pengster,see you letting go your canon.What was the original price you bought?I think dual core is already overkill on daily usage. Even like fylon doing video converting,he also can fully utilze it unless he runs 4 video encoding at the same time.
Apr 11 2008, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(fylon @ Apr 10 2008, 11:34 PM) @Pengster fylon,you are wrong.I tried this encoding and gaming at the same time with P4 HT last time. I was on Zero Hour gaming and was using using EO Video to convert my movies.Guess what ? I was still manage to play my game but is just slightly slower than normal mode(2 virtual cpu for gaming).That time i was o/cing my 2.6C to 3.2GHz+. What is the software are you using to do encoding?But i think today if playing C&C 3,i have no idea if the game can run smooth.Haha.. Yea! So do me.. @Ray Actually i hope i can half gaming half doing video encoding. But due of P4 limitation, i only can do 1 heavy task at a time. Hahaha.. Dun think P4 can stand for half gaming half encoding. |
Apr 11 2008, 01:41 PM
@kabu and fylon,i think foing for S939 X2 isn't that worth. If really want AMD X2,go to AM2 socket.I think now right kabu and fylon start to look for X2 around already. S939 X2 performance compare to single core S939 is about the same side by side. First batch of X2 from AMD isn't that popular as the limitation of its' performance.
Apr 11 2008, 02:33 PM
@kabu,i think your athlonXP is able to play movie or anime smoothly right?Not to say mp3. But if you are playing HD anime then is another story already.
@fylon,even AMD is slightly cheaper i will still go to Intel C2D. No doubt when comes to o/c it can smokes AMD away. |
Apr 11 2008, 02:54 PM
@fylon,on the HD side.I think it's hard for everyone of use use HD1080 on the screen. Even on a 17" inches LCD,i cannot enjoy the HD1080 from it but i get the slightly lower resolution at 1024 on the horizontal view. For 19" inches LCd,i bet it will slight exceed the standard of HD1080 too. Although always people mention on HD,but not all displays are able to set at the HD1080 resolution. Please correct me if i'm wrong.
Apr 11 2008, 07:48 PM
Guess maybe most of you might be shifting to new core already.This old school thread going to die or inactive within this year.
Apr 12 2008, 01:21 AM
@fylon,siggy also remvoved already. lol. So serious on running stock speed.Depends on games you play,speed of proc does the matter.
Apr 13 2008, 12:16 AM
@kabu,so eager for labtop ? C2D kah ?
Apr 13 2008, 09:13 PM
@fylon,your case seems like is CRT monitor related,not the GC or mobo.
Apr 14 2008, 04:53 PM
@fylon,problem solved already ? Lappy is fragile but is always portable. lol,pros and cons behind among dekstop and labtop.But for me i still prefer a desktop over a labtop. If really necessary,then will get a labtop.
Apr 15 2008, 01:11 PM
@fylon,all the C2D selling are very cheap.
I think my bios version is 1009 one,1010.003 beta i don't when it's out.Seems like your mobo is having problem on the power on issue. Maybe you try to clear the bios first before flash back to 1009 to see whether it's solved ? |
Apr 15 2008, 01:33 PM
fylon,seems like our old school will be dying soon.nowadaysvery few ppl are using s478. LGA775 mobos,if you are looking for 915chip then you can get the cheap one lo. But C2D is not supported. Looking for 965 and above,those mobos are still fetching a certain level of $$ in 2nd hand market.
Apr 15 2008, 06:14 PM
@fylon,S370 is very old already. I remember when i was getting my S42.Those P3 1GHz was promoting like hot cake.Every single shop was selling them madly.The earlier batch of P4 1.3GHz to 1.6GHz wasn't that popular until those 1.7GHz batch came out.
@raven143 ,want to make a vote?Which mobo do you think is the best for S478? |
| Change to: | 0.0232sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:30 AM |