INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V6<<,, The Journey Continues Here!

arct
post Oct 2 2008, 02:31 AM

377 posts

ahhh, can anyone help me with this?

i would like to know more about this mobo : Jetway PM9MSR2-VC,

i cant seems to find any more info or specification on the jetway official site

i would really like to know the specs and features of this mobo,

eg:
what does the extra 4 pin holes on the board does? does it support 24 pin atx psu?

could it support dual channel memory for this mobo?

if it does what is the best ddr to get if im running a prescott p4 2.4a (133 x 18) in order to get the best sync / bandwidth etc? (currently running at stock clock, what if i planned to oc?)

where can i download bios and driver updates for this mobo?

thanks alot in advance!

thanks!
Jcsy
post Oct 2 2008, 02:48 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

QUOTE(dlwl @ Oct 2 2008, 01:21 AM)
the biostar looks ok, at least give the 478 an extended lifespan laugh.gif
too bad cant support my proc leh..mine only 400MHz FSB cry.gif anyway i don't think the next upgrade for my home rig will be this, most probably will jump to newer tech like C2D or AM2.

finally finished reformat + reinstalling program + games on my home 478 rig. already using tuneup 2008 and tunexp as recommended. after reformat it's now more responsive, but still slightly slow and not really up to my liking tongue.gif
suggest to turn off some services u dont use

some start up entries

the biostar looks like the asrock, which issnt ok biggrin.gif

but biostar is a better brand though... it will support my proc however i might move to quad technology immediately .. smile.gif
spideysam
post Oct 2 2008, 02:57 AM

937 posts

err tis p4 thread for pentium 4... lol... jcsy u put so many harddisk in your pc ar... -.-!!! lol
ac_N1
post Oct 2 2008, 09:30 AM

brotherhood of the leaves
1,029 posts

QUOTE(spideysam @ Oct 2 2008, 02:57 AM)
err tis p4 thread for pentium 4... lol... jcsy u put so many harddisk in your pc ar... -.-!!! lol
sign0014.gif sign0014.gif sign0014.gif
Jcsy
post Oct 2 2008, 10:13 AM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

lol no cdrom ma tongue.gif

i only use cdrom when i install windows tongue.gif
KahLooN
post Oct 2 2008, 12:06 PM

~(^^)~
704 posts

QUOTE(arct @ Oct 2 2008, 02:31 AM)

eg:
what does the extra 4 pin holes on the board does? does it support 24 pin atx psu?

if it does what is the best ddr to get if im running a prescott p4 2.4a (133 x 18) in order to get the best sync / bandwidth etc? (currently running at stock clock, what if i planned to oc?)

thanks alot in advance!

thanks!
Here what I have found regarding the particular board from http://www.jetway.com.tw/jw/motherboard_view.asp?productid=123&proname=PM9MSR2-VC
# Full Support Intel mPGA 478 Pentium 4 CPU.
# VIA P4M800CE + VT8237R.
# Support FSB 800MHz.
# Integrated S3 Graphics UniChrome Pro Processor.
# 1 AGP 8X and 2 32-bit PCI Slots Design.
# Support 4 IDE and 2 Serial ATA Devices with RAID.
# Support RAID 0 . 1 . 0+1,JBOD (S-ATA).
# 8 USB2.0 Connectors Embedded.
# AC 97 6 Channel Audio CODEC
# VIA 10/100 LAN Supported
# Micro ATX

You can browse to the link i provided to further reading.
ravewar
post Oct 2 2008, 12:50 PM

*Retired Drifter & M-ITX Fan*
686 posts

QUOTE(arct @ Oct 2 2008, 02:31 AM)

eg:

thanks alot in advance!

thanks!
hey!!! I have this board. still in the box, getting ready for my p4 2.8ht.

what u are referring to the additional 4pins on the mobo is the PSU connector, whereby it has a 24-pins block. according to the manual, which u can find HERE, in page 12, they did not mention on the additional 4 pins power connector.

they only mention about connecting the power connector to the 20pins, AND to the OTHER 4 pins which is at the rear of the mobo, near the power mosfets.

On my mobo, the additional 4 pins is covered and blocked with a sticker which is labelled "For 24-pin ATX V2.2 Power Supply".

This would mean the current type PSUs.

As to whether you should connect it or not.....well, I only used the 20pins and the 4 pins in the rear.

I'm not removing the label, so I would not be able to know it it's ok to fix the 24 pins in or not....no 24pins psu... biggrin.gif

Added on October 2, 2008, 1:02 pm
QUOTE(dlwl @ Oct 2 2008, 01:21 AM)
the biostar looks ok, at least give the 478 an extended lifespan laugh.gif
too bad cant support my proc leh..mine only 400MHz FSB cry.gif anyway i don't think the next upgrade for my home rig will be this, most probably will jump to newer tech like C2D or AM2.

finally finished reformat + reinstalling program + games on my home 478 rig. already using tuneup 2008 and tunexp as recommended. after reformat it's now more responsive, but still slightly slow and not really up to my liking tongue.gif
the MSI looks alright as well....and using intel chipsets....should be reliable....

anyway those 2 mobos would definitely give some extra mileage for the P4s... flex.gif good for ppl needing to rebuild their P4 systems...

going to C2D...well....it would cost quite alot...IMHO...alot of ppl told me that rebuilding a P4 is gonna cost more....well, i found out it's half true...if u build a dual core system, them it's cheap....if a mid-range C2D system, then it's gonna cost alot more..."branded" rams, better procs, better mobos, better PSU, etc...

This post has been edited by ravewar: Oct 2 2008, 01:02 PM
fylon
post Oct 2 2008, 01:13 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Anyways, rebuild a P4 system isn't cheap. Take consideration on the price of DDR ram and AGP card. Unless ur going for onboard graphic.

C2D/CD rigs is depend on user setup thou.. IMHO, the main thing that cost the is the mobo. PCIe GC, DDR2 ram and LG775 proc are having hugh price drop atm. Especially the 5 series & 7 series proc. Ofcause, take away the "BRANDED" one. With the budget of 700-900, its enough to setup a decent CD/C2D machine already.

Because most of the thing can be reuse like PSU, CD-ROM and HDD. In my case, i only spent 750 for my current rigs. Plus minus i sold out my P4 parts i spent less tan 200 for it. Well.. Lastly, it depend on luck to hunt some nice item with low price in garage sales also. tongue.gif
ravewar
post Oct 2 2008, 01:17 PM

686 posts

yes boss....agree with u...

but for P4, rebuilding would be cheaper ma, since u change mobo, if mobo kong la....all others no need to change ma...

my c2d system...costed me quite a sum...because wanted 1 system to "rule" my other system... biggrin.gif
KahLooN
post Oct 2 2008, 02:50 PM

~(^^)~
704 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Oct 2 2008, 01:13 PM)
Anyways, rebuild a P4 system isn't cheap. Take consideration on the price of DDR ram and AGP card. Unless ur going for onboard graphic.

C2D/CD rigs is depend on user setup thou.. IMHO, the main thing that cost the is the mobo. PCIe GC, DDR2 ram and LG775 proc are having hugh price drop atm. Especially the 5 series & 7 series proc. Ofcause, take away the "BRANDED" one. With the budget of 700-900, its enough to setup a decent CD/C2D machine already.

Because most of the thing can be reuse like PSU, CD-ROM and HDD. In my case, i only spent 750 for my current rigs. Plus minus i sold out my P4 parts i spent less tan 200 for it. Well.. Lastly, it depend on luck to hunt some nice item with low price in garage sales also. tongue.gif
Agree, parts for DDR and AGP not worth for investment anymore. With the price, a decent C2D can be assemble with other parts still reusable. nod.gif

@ravewar
If everything KO then is time to shift. tongue.gif
ravewar
post Oct 2 2008, 04:51 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(KahLooN @ Oct 2 2008, 02:50 PM)
@ravewar
If everything KO then is time to shift. tongue.gif
yup, if everything KO, then time to jump ship an dmove to CD/C2D liao.... nod.gif

but if just the p4 mobo konged...then only change mobo oni lor.... tongue.gif
TSraymond5105
post Oct 2 2008, 06:58 PM

5,341 posts

Thread is going to EOF already.Prepare for V7 ? bruce.gif If whole set P4 gone,just say bye bye to P4 already.No need to rebuild them,wasting $$ and effort to do so.

Added on October 2, 2008, 6:59 pmThread is going to EOF already.Prepare for V7 ? bruce.gif If whole set P4 gone,just say bye bye to P4 already.No need to rebuild them,wasting $$ and effort to do so.

Added on October 2, 2008, 7:00 pmThread is going to EOF already.Prepare for V7 ? bruce.gif If whole set P4 gone,just say bye bye to P4 already.No need to rebuild them,wasting $$ and effort to do so.

This post has been edited by raymond5105: Oct 2 2008, 07:00 PM
ac_N1
post Oct 2 2008, 07:17 PM

brotherhood of the leaves
1,029 posts

QUOTE(ravewar @ Oct 2 2008, 04:51 PM)
yup, if everything KO, then time to jump ship an dmove to CD/C2D liao.... nod.gif

As for me even only mobo kong i'll sell off the rest of my rigs and go for E2XXX system brows.gif
Jcsy
post Oct 2 2008, 09:00 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

touch wood

if my system dies, ill spend some money, fix it and move to a quad

then make the PC do something else such as host something or do some testing of applications on it biggrin.gif
ravewar
post Oct 2 2008, 10:02 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ Oct 2 2008, 09:00 PM)
touch wood

if my system dies, ill spend some money, fix it and move to a quad

then make the PC do something else such as host something or do some testing of applications on it biggrin.gif
exactly...u would still wanna get the "old lady" up and running again, ...and along the way, get another system to backup lor... biggrin.gif

arct
post Oct 2 2008, 10:19 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(KahLooN @ Oct 2 2008, 12:06 PM)
Here what I have found regarding the particular board from http://www.jetway.com.tw/jw/motherboard_view.asp?productid=123&proname=PM9MSR2-VC

You can browse to the link i provided to further reading.

this is the exact site i went to, but the problem is i coudnt see any info displayed on this site. clicked on the specification tab and no info is shown, the same goes with all the other tabs (driver, bios, etc) sad.gif

QUOTE(ravewar @ Oct 2 2008, 12:50 PM)
On my mobo, the additional 4 pins is covered and blocked with a sticker which is labelled "For 24-pin ATX V2.2 Power Supply".

This would mean the current type PSUs.

As to whether you should connect it or not.....well, I only used the 20pins and the 4 pins in the rear.

I'm not removing the label, so I would not be able to know it it's ok to fix the 24 pins in or not....no 24pins psu... biggrin.gif
i've got one 24 pins psu, so should i connect it to the 24 pin to it and then still connect the other 4 pins to the 4 holes socket?

would just like to make sure cuz i dun wanna spoil it again. (its my bro's comp im refering to, i once spoiled my bro's pc before this)

anyway thanks!

em0ti0n
post Oct 2 2008, 10:58 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(ravewar @ Oct 2 2008, 04:51 PM)

if my mobo ko, i will dump everything at my room corner and never use again..
put as display... well no one use it anymore at home.. all have lappy.. rolleyes.gif
fylon
post Oct 2 2008, 11:10 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Spam before V6 been closed! lust.gif Haha.. Well.. For normal user, maybe mobo kong tan just get a replacement one will do. But for OC kaki, if mobo kong.. No point to find replacement already. Cos is hard to get the extinct high end part and even got it will cost like a bomb. And also, the only mobo that left @ the market now is low end type. Cant full fill their OC needs. So once mobo kong, tan time for new tech. laugh.gif

em0ti0n
post Oct 3 2008, 12:15 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Oct 2 2008, 11:10 PM)

Spam before V6 been closed! lust.gif Haha.. Well.. For normal user, maybe mobo kong tan just get a replacement one will do. But for OC kaki, if mobo kong.. No point to find replacement already. Cos is hard to get the extinct high end part and even got it will cost like a bomb. And also, the only mobo that left @ the market now is low end type. Cant full fill their OC needs. So once mobo kong, tan time for new tech. laugh.gif

yup + its hard to find new mobo with SDRAM to match my ram. so no point to replace it...
dump it to a dark corner... hahahaha sign0014.gif sign0014.gif sign0014.gif
TSraymond5105
post Oct 3 2008, 12:42 AM

5,341 posts

Hi all,last spam here.EOL of this V6 thread.The journey continues at V7. party.gif

0.1994sec    1.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:53 PM