29 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V6<<,, The Journey Continues Here!

fylon
post Mar 17 2008, 07:10 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

LOL.. Both of u going to hunt some item? Lol..

@edmin
Our rigs support MAC OS? Hm.. Was wandering about this. If can then i wanna migrate to mac! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by fylon: Mar 17 2008, 07:12 PM
fylon
post Mar 17 2008, 07:45 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Owh.. Just went to my fren's office visit his new server. IBM blade and i saw he was using MAC. Looks prertty cool.. laugh.gif Thats why i wander can our system support MAC or not. Haha..

Btw, which version of linux are the most compatible with our system? I mean in term of driver issues. I do saw quite a few of linux such like red hat, ubuntu, deforal and so on.. Just wander which one is doing good. Btw, whats the different with linux and windows and MAC? Still cant get it. laugh.gif Just know mac are vice versa of Windows.
fylon
post Mar 17 2008, 08:42 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(charliemah @ Mar 17 2008, 08:21 PM)
Geezz...i wonder why still got ppl using S478.
Myself exchanged s478 3.0GHz HT for a S775 3.06GHz.
lolx
@charliemah
There were some ppl which still using S370 instead of S478. Why we cant use S478 then? This is a place for old school user to hang up and share they experiences on this system. We still using S478 is because its performance & power is enough for our daily task. And we make use & utilized of the power. Although its outdated in compare to current system like C2D. But well, is enough for us. No point to get a good system but under utilize it. It's a waste of money. PC are not just for OC & gaming. There were still lots more stuff can be do with it.

Then let me ask u, why u wanna use socket T? wink.gif How much had u learned on Scoket T and how much had u fully utilized ur rigs right beside gaming and OC? alright.. No hard feeling behold to my word. Just my 2 cent on why there were still some user still using old school. Anyways, if my words hurt ur feeling, i apologize for it. Just I'm try to bring out the facts the thinking of old school user. Cheers!

This post has been edited by fylon: Mar 17 2008, 08:45 PM
fylon
post Mar 17 2008, 08:51 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@herojack41
Its not an article la! sweat.gif Statement instead. laugh.gif Anyways, just i wanna make the thing clear. This are the fact of why we still stick to old school like P4. Well.. No point u just get a quad core for gaming and OC for fun. Right? With the power of Quad, u can even do lot much of thing such like multi tasking, encoding video/audio and lot more. doh.gif

Just somehow, i cant stand when ppl is saying old system is out and totally no value. No. Its wrong, even though is old, but heck.. Ur current latest system was a revolution from the old system. bruce.gif
fylon
post Mar 17 2008, 10:26 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@edmin
Ehe.. Speed doesnt matter as long as not like turtle will do already. Slow by few secs doesnt make any different. whistling.gif

P/s: Oh yea.. Back to my question regarding to linux.. Any good and better OS to intro which is compatible with our system? What i scare is driver issues. whistling.gif Wanna give a try on other system.. brows.gif

@Ray
CALM DOWN!! *putting 3 biji table fan blowing on him* tongue.gif Haha.. Dont panas la! Not good for health man! Guess this kid had learned his lesson.

@charliemah
Its because ur question are sensitive. *Atleast for me, it sounds like abit look down on my system. Altough maybe u dont meant it but u had hurt the feeling of the old school user at this thread without notice. Thats why everyone stand up to defend their baby. smile.gif

Just like what edmin says, why we still using it is because it still enough for our use. And we are SATISFIED with the power and performance it gave. Hence i guess u had got the answer for ur question.

P/s: Oh yea.. Until now i guess, S478 still owning its antique value.. Put ur eyes on current system, LG775 based P4 is totally PHASED out and it dont even worth a penny. 775 based P4 proc wont hook up more then RM150 i guess. *from what i can see in garage sales* But for S478, another different story. S478 3.0Ghz proc at least can hook up to RM200. See the antique value. I hope u see it. icon_rolleyes.gif Old doesnt means out but the value it own are priceless.

This post has been edited by fylon: Mar 17 2008, 10:35 PM
fylon
post Mar 17 2008, 10:34 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@charliemah
Refer to my previous post again.. Some add on. Anyways, no hard feeling. Look at the bright side, atleast now u learned a lesson which is u cant gain it on other thread. tongue.gif

@raymond5105
Haha.. Kabu do keep his Socket A as well. This is a good question for him as well. tongue.gif Duh.. Just let them say whatever they want.. But I'm still proud of my Black Pearl! lust.gif

P/s: Any name for ur rigs? Guess u still name it. brows.gif Btw.. Found some nice AGP on sales. Try ur luck ray.. The 76GS DDR3 seems interesting.. C/O is RM200.. See can hook it with RM250 or not.. lust.gif

PALIT GeForce 7600GS DDR3
HIS ATI Radeon X800PRO DDR3

This post has been edited by fylon: Mar 17 2008, 10:43 PM
fylon
post Mar 17 2008, 10:47 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@edmin
LOL! I dont mean that kind of super heavy duty encoding.. laugh.gif For the type of encoding that u mentioned, it really need the powah of quad to done. Well.. For normal usage like applications / games few secs of delay doesnt make any different right. biggrin.gif Ever try do encoding stuf with server based system? Any different with normal desktop?

Woah.. That gonna be hard.. bruce.gif Thought can use my SC on linux.. shakehead.gif Ubuntu is the penguin version right? Tested the linux OS in the Asus EEE pc before.. Well not so bad.. Just quite simple. Everything is straight to the point no fancy stuff.

This post has been edited by fylon: Mar 17 2008, 10:49 PM
fylon
post Mar 17 2008, 10:55 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Lol.. Like astro advertisement.. Macam macam ada.. brows.gif So do me, my system was the primary rigs for me. Will gonna bring it to continue my degree again, soon. Haha.. But i thought u got an old school lappy edmin? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by fylon: Mar 17 2008, 10:56 PM
fylon
post Mar 17 2008, 11:18 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

QUOTE(edministrator @ Mar 17 2008, 10:58 PM)
Itu lappy company, not mine.  laugh.gif  that's my main workstation in the office. Pity the lappy, heavy duty processing of autocad, photoshop, print server, programming platform, video encoding etc. hope company can sponsor me a new dell xps1330 this year lor...wakakaka....
Haha.. I thought it was urs. laugh.gif Nvm.. As long as can be us ok liao. Company usually very jimat one. tongue.gif But i was lucky when that i was working with HP, i was using their HP DV2715TU then change to their 1316AU.. Both are nice system but pity vista based. bruce.gif

Owh.. Yea. Tested the OS before on the EEE. Cause my uncle might be wanna let go his EEE at pretty low price to me. So think was about wanna grab it for further study use or not. Since i saw a post says that the EEE PC can be slot in OSX Leopard. lust.gif

@Ray
Lol.. But the performance should be on par with 76GS since is the DDR3 ver. Bloody red PBC.. biggrin.gif
fylon
post Mar 17 2008, 11:33 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Haha.. U got the point as well. Hm.. the eee is for makcik right? tongue.gif But i just think off can have handy note book for carrying my stuff eg. like docs for presentation or hang starbuck for surfing only. tongue.gif

P/s: Edmin, ur using the same vga cooler as me right? The zalman FS-V7.. I just wander does the function GPU Fan Setting in nTune works with our cooler? Since i dont connect the cooler fan power to the GC, instead i use the Y-Cable that come along with the cooler to run the fan. I guess it the intelligent fan control function didnt work right? Since the power were not from the pbc/GC itself. Just wanna get a clarification regarding to this issues. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by fylon: Mar 18 2008, 12:39 AM
fylon
post Mar 18 2008, 03:22 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Haha.. If LG775 then dont use P4 anymore unless EE edition. Or else, stick to S478. Guess nothing much different with LG775 & S478 P4, both are same architecture and system. Right? biggrin.gif Just finish watch the Terminator series.. 1 Go morning til now. Some conversation been skipped. whistling.gif
fylon
post Mar 18 2008, 03:37 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@edmin
So that function is useless for our card right. Jus the thermal sensor is working working only. Thanks for the information.. thumbup.gif

Was ripping my CDs to mp3 format.. lust.gif Ram really play important roll in this. Haha.. Rip into highest bit rate 320kbps.. brows.gif 1 CD takes less then 5misn to be done. Well.. Guess is not an heavy task for P4 right. biggrin.gif

P/s: Btw, is CD quality effect the ripping speed? I tried on both original CD and *ehm type.. Can feel the different of speed when ripping.

This post has been edited by fylon: Mar 18 2008, 03:40 PM
fylon
post Mar 18 2008, 03:46 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Haha.. I convert into MP3 so can slot into my handphone. biggrin.gif Btw, did APE & FLAC been widely support by most of the player for now.. hmm.gif

P/s: Ic.. I thought the quality of CD effect the speed thou. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by fylon: Mar 18 2008, 03:48 PM
fylon
post Mar 18 2008, 04:06 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Yea.. I do heard about the FLAC and APE format before. But didnt to read more about this. Thanks for telling. Got chance wanna try. Hah.. Btw, roughly how big for a file in this format? Roughly an audio file with 5mins length. Or the size is depend on the bit rate like what mp3 does?
fylon
post Mar 18 2008, 04:13 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Ic.. Just googled it. At least my fav player, Winamp is support this format. Haha.. Was ripping some audio files into this format now for testing purpose.

P/s: WAH!! shocking.gif Tested to rip the audio file from Audio CD to FLAC with level 10 compression factor, a 6mins long audio takes 40MB space per song. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by fylon: Mar 18 2008, 04:16 PM
fylon
post Mar 18 2008, 04:19 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Same here.. Audio files all are played with winmap, for video format i prefer KMPlayer. Haha.. Just shock with the level 12 compression factor of FLAC.. The file size is incredibly BIG!

P/s: Hm.. Testing with different format and found like the size for compression are almost the same. The winmap provide 12 level of compression factor, the lower compression level i choose the bigger the file is. sweat.gif Is that normal? Seems like the faster the compression speed the bigger then files.

This post has been edited by fylon: Mar 18 2008, 04:27 PM
fylon
post Mar 18 2008, 04:28 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Ic.. Do the dbpoweramp have the compression factor like winamp does and the file that been compressed is big?
fylon
post Mar 18 2008, 04:52 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@Kabu
Haha.. Audio discussion only, while learning new stuff from uncle. biggrin.gif Haha.. Yea! Cant hear out the different yet might due of my old turtle speaker lo. Now not the time to invest speaker.. Haha! Casing come to 1st priority for me. tongue.gif

Having problem with ur rigs?
fylon
post Mar 18 2008, 10:50 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

@khai84siong
Speaker? Hehe.. We just discuss about audiophile today. brows.gif Well.. Lets wait for edmin common regarding to ur question. Btw, the speaker u mention sell at good price? biggrin.gif

Guys.. 2600XT AGP is on bulk sales now.. drool.gif RM570! sweat.gif

@edmin
Just now i use ATI Tools to scan artifacts on my card with mild OC (Core from 560 up to 620 / Mem from 700 up to 800) and i let the software run by itself and i went, 2 hrs after i came home, my system got restarted and my whole desktop turn blue. sweat.gif Any idea?

This post has been edited by fylon: Mar 18 2008, 10:53 PM
fylon
post Mar 18 2008, 11:27 PM

~ The Revival ~
4,431 posts

Still mange to get into desktop and the whole screen become blue. Something like when CRT monitor wanna dead and the RGB color get mad whole screen become blue. I dont manage to take the pic cos when i touch the mouse and the color turn back to normal but will got shadow at the back for the icon that i pointed at. Thing go back normal after restart.

Hm.. CPU and ram been stress before am im pretty sure they can handle the current speed. Oh yea.. One thing regarding to ATI tools (not TRAY tools), i use the find max core & mem speed function right, even got artifact comes out on the 3D view but it still state that no artifact found. Especially finding max mem speed, even my whole screen got white dots and distortion already but it seys no artifact found. Is that normal? I was using the .26 version not the beta version.

29 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0446sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:13 PM