279 posts

long post.. @@
jitshiong
post Apr 7 2008, 12:29 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(ewelmay @ Apr 7 2008, 12:05 PM)
I have one question. My gliders absolutely love mealworms. When I wave a wriggly worm in front of them they will immediately grab it and start munching like chicken drumsticks as the worms are pretty small. But what about crickets? How do you normally feed them? Just pull their 2 long legs out and give it to the while the crickets are still alive/active or do you bash them first? Coz, for crickets, I notice they entire body are kinda watery so if I were to bash the crickets will it be like too disgusting and messy?  wink.gif
I gave it to them whole, tent time where u can see then jumping around to catch them.
They just eat it the same way.
It's fascinationg to see them catcht he crickets, but disgusting the way they eat them.
thisiskj
post Apr 7 2008, 12:40 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(ewelmay @ Apr 7 2008, 12:05 PM)
I have one question. My gliders absolutely love mealworms. When I wave a wriggly worm in front of them they will immediately grab it and start munching like chicken drumsticks as the worms are pretty small. But what about crickets? How do you normally feed them? Just pull their 2 long legs out and give it to the while the crickets are still alive/active or do you bash them first? Coz, for crickets, I notice they entire body are kinda watery so if I were to bash the crickets will it be like too disgusting and messy?  wink.gif
Normally i would just see fellas masuk life crickets inside and let them hunt themselves.. well.. let the pro's speeeek.. what say u? if grab the two hind legs better gua.. cause they can't jump d.. hehehe =P evil.. but sakit..
ewelmay
post Apr 7 2008, 12:40 PM

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 7 2008, 12:29 PM)
I gave it to them whole, tent time where u can see then jumping around to catch them.
They just eat it the same way.
It's fascinationg to see them catcht he crickets, but disgusting the way they eat them.
Oh without even pulling out the 2 long legs? hmm.gif
jitshiong
post Apr 7 2008, 12:42 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(ewelmay @ Apr 7 2008, 12:40 PM)
Oh without even pulling out the 2 long legs?  hmm.gif
Leg also can eat wan ma, only the skinny part cannot eat.
U can also hold the tiny leg n let them grab the cricket.
ewelmay
post Apr 7 2008, 12:53 PM

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 7 2008, 12:42 PM)
Leg also can eat wan ma, only the skinny part cannot eat.
U can also hold the tiny leg n let them grab the cricket.
Ok... let me experiment and then feedback on the results.

My gliders kinda have developed this bad habit that during play time I will give them some mealworm treats and at the beginning they will jump and eat on my shoulder but for the past 2 days they have escalated their habit and now they jump on top of my head and start munchign the mealworms. It's totally disgustin' to have leftover mealworm corpes all over my hair sad.gif and they seem to enjoy seeing me squirm... they will look down from the top of my head after that to look at my reaction..

I'd hate to picture the idea of crickets leftovers...
jitshiong
post Apr 7 2008, 01:08 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(ewelmay @ Apr 7 2008, 12:53 PM)

My gliders kinda have developed this bad habit that during play time I will give them some mealworm treats and at the beginning they will jump and eat on my shoulder but for the past 2 days they have escalated their habit and now they jump on top of my head and start munchign the mealworms. It's totally disgustin' to have leftover mealworm corpes all over my hair  sad.gif and they seem to enjoy seeing me squirm... they will look down from the top of my head after that to look at my reaction..

Hahaha, they'll grab the food n eat elsewhere.
Guess they think that ur head is high n safe so they eat there.
If u dun like that then u might wanna feed them in the cage.
Then u won't get the leftovers on ur body.
thisiskj
post Apr 7 2008, 01:21 PM

279 posts

hahahaha so cute.. well.. u're their tree.. so they grab their fav food and eat at their fav tree lor.. hehehe =P
Pennywise
post Apr 7 2008, 01:43 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Apr 7 2008, 09:31 AM)
Hmmmm... now that I am not sure. Never tried before but you gotta really know what goes in. Some fruits gliders should not take. An example would be bananas.

I would still stick with holistic dogfood coz that is what I know tongue.gif
Not enough bonding and playtime. What have you been doing lately?
Becareful, most Malaysian fruit branches are toxic. The only branches that are safe would be from the Hibiscus plant and the guava tree. The best branches comes from the eucalyptus tree but kinda hard to get here.

LOL you gotta be brave to feed mealworms or crickets lah. I can even grab mealworms using my fingers and let them wiggle about LOL.
Cleaning up is not like how you clean a dog. It is quite easy. Just change the substrate of the tray whenever you see alot of poo and leftovers.

They won't leave any internal stuff from the insects, just the fiberous exoskeleton that they chew and spit out. Look like little brown pellets.

A weekly wipe or wash is fine. I usually wipe every few days with plain water coz if you wipe and overpower the cage with another type of smell, then your gliders would musk more, this happens with males more. Since you wanna get females, you don't need to worry bout smell.
Hi Hun,

Thank you for educating me, again. It's good that they dont dirty their cage so badly. Sometimes, quite lazy to clean also but once a week is fair enough.

What do you mean by substrate? Is that newspaper or do you mean things like those errr... wood wood stuff ppl put for their hamster to reduce odour?

When do you think the sugar gliders will be available?

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 7 2008, 10:44 AM)
NOt much cleaning i guess....
I change the newspaper everyday, wash the cage once a week.
JUst rinse it cos they'll mark more if it's too clean.
They need to feel home with the smell
hahaha
OK... now this is interesting. Thank you for sharing. I just home they wont make me smell like them!! Hahaha...
emino
post Apr 7 2008, 02:48 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

Hehe... finally got the larger cage from Joan. She even have 'personalized service' for me! brows.gif flex.gif
Thanks a lot Joan!

Teddy is a bit cautious around his new cage, but I've seen him running around in his wodent wheel already! woohoo!
krynzpeaches
post Apr 7 2008, 02:58 PM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

QUOTE(thisiskj @ Apr 7 2008, 12:22 PM)
long post.. @@

Opsss, sorry tongue.gif

QUOTE(ewelmay @ Apr 7 2008, 12:53 PM)

My gliders kinda have developed this bad habit that during play time I will give them some mealworm treats and at the beginning they will jump and eat on my shoulder but for the past 2 days they have escalated their habit and now they jump on top of my head and start munchign the mealworms. It's totally disgustin' to have leftover mealworm corpes all over my hair  sad.gif and they seem to enjoy seeing me squirm... they will look down from the top of my head after that to look at my reaction..

No need to pull their hind legs also can, they know which part is edible and which is not.

Yes, you can give them alive or put them to sleep first by putting them in the freezer for a brief 30-60 seconds smile.gif No bashing up needed wink.gif

You can teach your suggies not to mess around your head, might take a while, but it's possible. I teach all mine not to climb or play on top of my head after the one incident where Iggy poo-ed on my head shakehead.gif

So everytime they wander on top of my head, I will quickly scoop them up and say "No, not on my head" not sure if they really understand, but everytime they go on top of your head, scoop them down immediately, don't just freeze and let them go about on your head smile.gif

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Apr 7 2008, 01:43 PM)
What do you mean by substrate? Is that newspaper or do you mean things like those errr... wood wood stuff ppl put for their hamster to reduce odour?

Substrate to catch all to the poo and pee smile.gif Best we found so far for glider cage is Litter Star or Breeders Celect. Or else normal newspapers will do but you need to change it like every 2-3 days, unlike using a good substrate, only change it once a week smile.gif

The wood shavings like for hamsters one can also be used, but make sure if you are using any substrate there is a wire mesh between the substrate and your suggies.

-----

The Sugar Glider Complete Multivitamin has Arrived!

KP
jitshiong
post Apr 7 2008, 03:11 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Apr 7 2008, 01:43 PM)
OK... now this is interesting. Thank you for sharing. I just home they wont make me smell like them!! Hahaha...
My friends say i smell like them.
I dunno, i'm too used to their smell de.
Haha, dun even think it's smelly anymore
saramic
post Apr 7 2008, 03:20 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Apr 7 2008, 02:58 PM)
You can teach your suggies not to mess around your head, might take a while, but it's possible. I teach all mine not to climb or play on top of my head after the one incident where Iggy poo-ed on my head shakehead.gif

So everytime they wander on top of my head, I will quickly scoop them up and say "No, not on my head" not sure if they really understand, but everytime they go on top of your head, scoop them down immediately, don't just freeze and let them go about on your head smile.gif
Substrate to catch all to the poo and pee smile.gif Best we found so far for glider cage is Litter Star or Breeders Celect. Or else normal newspapers will do but you need to change it like every 2-3 days, unlike using a good substrate, only change it once a week smile.gif

-----

javascript:emoticon(':x')
KP
hahaha.... luckily mine don't eat on top of my head but they love sleeping there... best view in town doh.gif so now most the time me walking around like those people who carries a basket full of fruits/water jugs etc on their heads... can enter race of who can walk the fastest while balancing suggies on the head flex.gif

This post has been edited by saramic: Apr 7 2008, 03:27 PM
ewelmay
post Apr 7 2008, 03:21 PM

Opsss, sorry tongue.gif
No need to pull their hind legs also can, they know which part is edible and which is not.

Yes, you can give them alive or put them to sleep first by putting them in the freezer for a brief 30-60 seconds smile.gif No bashing up needed wink.gif

KP
Thanks for the 2 tips thumbup.gif .. btw, the freezing part, how long before the crickets gain consciousness after 'pengsan' ?
Pennywise
post Apr 7 2008, 03:24 PM

5,796 posts

Opsss, sorry tongue.gif

The wood shavings like for hamsters one can also be used, but make sure if you are using any substrate there is a wire mesh between the substrate and your suggies.

-----

KP
Ok, is Litter Star / Breeders Celect available here? Where to buy and what's the price? How long can a pack last?
Yes, i will make sure there is a gap between them and the substrate.

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 7 2008, 03:11 PM)
My friends say i smell like them.
I dunno, i'm too used to their smell de.
Haha, dun even think it's smelly anymore
krynzpeaches
post Apr 7 2008, 03:25 PM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

***Gathering Update***

I was just informed by Mr. Bryan (Regional Manager of PLC) that starting next week Pet Safari Ikano will be under going a major renovation which will only be completed in June 2008.

He apologizes for the inconvenience but are still agreeable and supports our gathering... He is hoping that we can postponed it to June with the launch of Pet Safari new look...

HOW???

What say you guys?

Do you wanna wait or wanna find another venue?

At the moment looking for another venue will be quite tight and a bit of a rush... Waiting for June is fine what with a newly renovated place, but it is kindda a while...

Any input appreciated.

KP

Added on April 7, 2008, 3:29 pm
QUOTE(ewelmay @ Apr 7 2008, 03:21 PM)
Thanks for the 2 tips  thumbup.gif .. btw, the freezing part, how long before the crickets gain consciousness after 'pengsan' ?

No worries wink.gif

Erm, not sure how long they pengsan, cuz normally it doesn't get to regaining consciousness once being grabbed by the monsters tongue.gif

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Apr 7 2008, 03:24 PM)
Ok, is Litter Star / Breeders Celect available here? Where to buy and what's the price? How long can a pack last?

Yes, both are available here at most big pet shops.

How much and how long does it last has just been explained by me on the prev page yah icon_rolleyes.gif

KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Apr 7 2008, 03:29 PM
bonai
post Apr 7 2008, 03:30 PM

1,254 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Apr 7 2008, 03:24 PM)
Of course la.. no need to suggest if u can't get it here..
KP already mentioned the price.
I've seen somewhere Hun posting that she buys Breeder Celect at Pet Shack and Litter Star at Pet Family..

Hurm, bout the gath, if do at Pet Safari, won't it burst up the selling of underaged joeys at Toby's?
Yeah, if I were Toby I would try to avoid such gathering that 100% against me.
If Mr Bryan won't let the gath there, have to postpone again la.. aduhai.. how bout postpone to 2018 icon_rolleyes.gif ?
saramic
post Apr 7 2008, 03:35 PM

236 posts

[quote=krynzpeaches,Apr 7 2008, 03:25 PM]
***Gathering Update***

I was just informed by Mr. Bryan (Regional Manager of PLC) that starting next week Pet Safari Ikano will be under going a major renovation which will only be completed in June 2008.

He apologizes for the inconvenience but are still agreeable and supports our gathering... He is hoping that we can postponed it to June with the launch of Pet Safari new look...

HOW???

What say you guys?

At the moment looking for another venue will be quite tight and a bit of a rush... Waiting for June is fine what with a newly renovated place, but it is kindda a while...

Any input appreciated.

KP

cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

was soooo looking forward to the gathering as we couldn't make it for the midvalley one....
now have to go petshack more often to let my suggies kpc wif joan's suggies tongue.gif

jitshiong
post Apr 7 2008, 03:38 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Apr 7 2008, 03:25 PM)
***Gathering Update***

HOW???

What say you guys?

Any input appreciated.

KP

Aww... sad.gif
Was looking forward for the gathering...but what to do?
I'm ok for both, new location is fine as well as postponing it to june.
Hehe, if cannot tahan can always meet up at a certain location n create a fuss ma.
Ppl will gather to look at our pets.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 7 2008, 03:40 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Aiyoh.... June ah.... Well, I'm ok with June, in fact, better for me since I'm on holidays during that time.

Anyway, we are organizing the gathering under Pet Lovers Center, not Toby Pets.... So.... dunno what Toby would do but I think if they join us and see for themselves the right way to care for gliders, they then can improve. That would be better for the joeys too.

Breeders Celect and Litter Star can get at Pet Safari.

125 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:54 PM