don't think its too cramp...
you could always bring your glider out to play...
concerning about worms, did you try to cut the head off???
i see branches in your cage? is it safe???
Sugar Glider V5, Mini Suggie gathering. View post #7
Apr 6 2008, 08:14 PM
535 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
don't think its too cramp...
you could always bring your glider out to play... concerning about worms, did you try to cut the head off??? i see branches in your cage? is it safe??? |
Apr 6 2008, 08:56 PM
3,706 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
litter star & breeder celect which is better?
Apr 6 2008, 09:27 PM
535 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
breeder celect more expensive... so i think it is better.... ahahaha
Apr 6 2008, 09:46 PM
12,047 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Setapak |
QUOTE(klubbkidd @ Apr 6 2008, 08:12 PM) It looks ok. You don't need to hang the hammock till it is so straight and rigid. Just nicely, like how humans sleep on hammock would do. Lose and a bit "U" shape.QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Apr 6 2008, 08:56 PM) Both are good, just Breeder Celect is more expensive. but I prefer Litter Star for gliders, Breeders Celect for tortoise and reptiles, Careline Wood pellet cat litter for hedgehogs. Hahahah.... my home got many packs of different substrate and bedding. It is your own personal preference lah. Both brands are good. |
Apr 6 2008, 09:56 PM
2,778 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: about:robots |
weehee got my ADSL port burned as well. few days no internet already
thinking of to terminate phone line and streamyx ASAP. moving out to new house soon. hun when the date will be decided? |
Apr 7 2008, 12:20 AM
141 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Apr 7 2008, 12:43 AM
1,254 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Apr 7 2008, 01:56 AM
699 posts Joined: May 2006 |
cage 160 ,hammock ,tunnel and sleep pouch 50 ,wheel 90 ++ ,vine 10 -15 ,water bottle 10 maybe ,glider slurp 20 ,ranting 10 maybe
so total like 300 ++ |
Apr 7 2008, 03:46 AM
279 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
eh fellas.. can we actually feed feret food to gliders ah as treats or something like that.. i see their ingredient is a mixture of chicken meat and fruits.. from the picture la.. the packaging is totally japanese.. and me aint one.. so i was like.. of a picture of feret.. oh.. fruits.. oh got chicken here.. well.. definitely not chicken feed.. =P what am i crapping.. =P selling cheap for Rm 9 at pets wonderland..
Apr 7 2008, 05:11 AM
699 posts Joined: May 2006 |
mine crab a lot lately than the 1st time i got her
wonder why ah? not enuff love isn't it? |
Apr 7 2008, 07:08 AM
21 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Actually apart from the cage (which I got for RM90 in Shah Alam but hard to find so RM95 at Pet Shack is more than fair), and the branches (think it's safe... not sure... isn't it?... cause my Joey Jr loves it even though he's not stable on anything), everything else came from Pet Shack - the sugar glider owner's heaven (sucking up to be first on the list for bonding pouch - cause I'm second at the moment).
As for the worms, yikes! I have to cut the heads off???!!!! Pengsan lah camni. I may look scary, but am more scared of worms. They're icky! Damn. But I take it apart from the branches, there is no questionable risk of cramping, which is good. Will fix the hammock. Thanks for the tips guys! PS - Looking for another suggie to keep mine company. |
Apr 7 2008, 08:51 AM
5,796 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Just curious - is there a lot of cleaning up to do?
They eat worms and crickets. They poo / pee as they like. They live in a cage. Is there a lot of cleaning to do? Like cricket leftovers? Worms internal? etc? Can I just wipe the cage with Dettol or something on the weekend, air it for few hours and put them back inside? |
Apr 7 2008, 09:31 AM
QUOTE(thisiskj @ Apr 7 2008, 03:46 AM) eh fellas.. can we actually feed feret food to gliders ah as treats or something like that.. i see their ingredient is a mixture of chicken meat and fruits.. from the picture la.. the packaging is totally japanese.. and me aint one.. so i was like.. of a picture of feret.. oh.. fruits.. oh got chicken here.. well.. definitely not chicken feed.. =P what am i crapping.. =P selling cheap for Rm 9 at pets wonderland.. Hmmmm... now that I am not sure. Never tried before but you gotta really know what goes in. Some fruits gliders should not take. An example would be bananas.I would still stick with holistic dogfood coz that is what I know QUOTE(mamata @ Apr 7 2008, 05:11 AM) Not enough bonding and playtime. What have you been doing lately?QUOTE(klubbkidd @ Apr 7 2008, 07:08 AM) Actually apart from the cage (which I got for RM90 in Shah Alam but hard to find so RM95 at Pet Shack is more than fair), and the branches (think it's safe... not sure... isn't it?... cause my Joey Jr loves it even though he's not stable on anything), everything else came from Pet Shack - the sugar glider owner's heaven (sucking up to be first on the list for bonding pouch - cause I'm second at the moment). Becareful, most Malaysian fruit branches are toxic. The only branches that are safe would be from the Hibiscus plant and the guava tree. The best branches comes from the eucalyptus tree but kinda hard to get here.As for the worms, yikes! I have to cut the heads off???!!!! Pengsan lah camni. I may look scary, but am more scared of worms. They're icky! Damn. But I take it apart from the branches, there is no questionable risk of cramping, which is good. Will fix the hammock. Thanks for the tips guys! PS - Looking for another suggie to keep mine company. LOL you gotta be brave to feed mealworms or crickets lah. I can even grab mealworms using my fingers and let them wiggle about LOL. QUOTE(Pennywise @ Apr 7 2008, 08:51 AM) Just curious - is there a lot of cleaning up to do? Cleaning up is not like how you clean a dog. It is quite easy. Just change the substrate of the tray whenever you see alot of poo and leftovers.They eat worms and crickets. They poo / pee as they like. They live in a cage. Is there a lot of cleaning to do? Like cricket leftovers? Worms internal? etc? Can I just wipe the cage with Dettol or something on the weekend, air it for few hours and put them back inside? They won't leave any internal stuff from the insects, just the fiberous exoskeleton that they chew and spit out. Look like little brown pellets. A weekly wipe or wash is fine. I usually wipe every few days with plain water coz if you wipe and overpower the cage with another type of smell, then your gliders would musk more, this happens with males more. Since you wanna get females, you don't need to worry bout smell. |
Apr 7 2008, 09:50 AM
1,254 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(klubbkidd @ Apr 7 2008, 07:08 AM) Actually apart from the cage (which I got for RM90 in Shah Alam but hard to find so RM95 at Pet Shack is more than fair), and the branches (think it's safe... not sure... isn't it?... cause my Joey Jr loves it even though he's not stable on anything), everything else came from Pet Shack - the sugar glider owner's heaven (sucking up to be first on the list for bonding pouch - cause I'm second at the moment). You were supposed to knew that you'll be dealing with mealworms when you get a glider..As for the worms, yikes! I have to cut the heads off???!!!! Pengsan lah camni. I may look scary, but am more scared of worms. They're icky! Damn. But I take it apart from the branches, there is no questionable risk of cramping, which is good. Will fix the hammock. Thanks for the tips guys! PS - Looking for another suggie to keep mine company. |
Apr 7 2008, 10:29 AM
279 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
oOo Dog FOOD also can.. not just cat food la. hrm.. actually dog food and cat food almost the same rite..
Apr 7 2008, 10:43 AM
1,868 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Penang, USJ, Seremban |
QUOTE(mamata @ Apr 7 2008, 05:11 AM) hehehe, not enuff love....jsut spend more time bonding. as time goes by, the crabbing will go off too... wait, os it a pair? male/female pair? sometimes when they r pregnant they tend to be grumpier. hehehe, sorry i dunno ur background.LOL! |
Apr 7 2008, 10:43 AM
Well, dry dogfood and catfood can use but we only use as a treat. Most mass breeders and petshops would tell you to feed dogfood and catfood as a staple but this would just cause complications. The glider would have severe liver and kidney problems later. So only limit as a treat, like 1 to 2 kibbles a day. I normally give once a week, sometimes a few times a week lah, depending on my liking.
Apr 7 2008, 10:44 AM
1,868 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Penang, USJ, Seremban |
QUOTE(Pennywise @ Apr 7 2008, 08:51 AM) Just curious - is there a lot of cleaning up to do? NOt much cleaning i guess....They eat worms and crickets. They poo / pee as they like. They live in a cage. Is there a lot of cleaning to do? Like cricket leftovers? Worms internal? etc? Can I just wipe the cage with Dettol or something on the weekend, air it for few hours and put them back inside? I change the newspaper everyday, wash the cage once a week. JUst rinse it cos they'll mark more if it's too clean. They need to feel home with the smell hahaha |
Apr 7 2008, 10:58 AM
2,047 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Ampang, UK Side ;) |
QUOTE(ggMing @ Apr 4 2008, 05:48 PM) I see now... It's a sleeping pouch designed in a way to open wide easily to enable the owner to get the suggie out... It will only help the owner get the suggie out easily, not stopping the suggie from being pouch protective yah because being pouch protective is a behaviour, something you need to change slowly. QUOTE(rafiqos @ Apr 4 2008, 10:13 PM) YES... Normally, be prepared for some blood scene! QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Apr 5 2008, 04:02 PM) 2 more weeks till 19 April.... wonder if they have given KP the exact date or not. 2 joeys are currently staying in my room, and boy, they are sure noisy. Every night calling out for their mom. LOL, they have already reached 60 days OOP, their parents dislike them already. These 2 joeys need to learn to grow up. My. Bryan has not returned my email yet. I will give him a call today to see what is the outcome... I have a worrying feeling that the Toby Pet owners are against the gathering idea lah Some joeys take more time to grow up than others, that's why most breeders will say that the joeys will be ready to go to new homes after 8 weeks out of pouch or ready to be separated QUOTE(siokjinlim @ Apr 5 2008, 04:23 PM) when i get my suggie, is it ok to keep it in my room?? apart from the noise they make (cos i sleep, i tidur mati If you maintain their cage hygine pretty well, it should be okay. If it's dirty and not regularly clean than it will not be good for you and even your suggie. Currently, I'm trying out this new organic air sanitizer. Good for cleaning the air, the cage and even cleaning the suggies Will keep everyone updated on the product QUOTE(kerell @ Apr 5 2008, 08:37 PM) hey guys..i hve some Q over here..its seems that my glidee..have the penis pop-out..is he horny or what? its been like that almost a week..any reason??? It is absolutely NORMAL. Upon reaching maturity you will be able to see this phenomenon with all male gliders. Sometimes you will even catch them "flossing" (cleaning their p-p) This will go on as long as they are active and not something you should worry about unless he cannot retract it back inside QUOTE(jitshiong @ Apr 5 2008, 11:45 PM) Quincy trying to get rid of the 2 joeys too. They try to cling on her when she wanna eat. Starting to irritate her. Haha, that's quite normal but the mother still sayang the joeys, not something to worry about. She just wants some time of her own QUOTE(bonai @ Apr 6 2008, 10:35 AM) before this i also got problems feeding mealworms.. crickets is ok.. then i asked KP, she told me to cut off the head and squeeze the delicious juice out the mealworm and give it to them.. thanks KP! good idea, but didn't work for the joey.. So i tried to dip the mealworm into yogurt or slurp.. take 2-3 days before they knew that mealworm was delicious.. at start, they only eat the inside leaving the outside and throw it away as far as they could, arghh! but now they eat em all! Cutting the mealworms head and squeezing out the juices or dipping it in slurp is just a way to teach joeys about eating insects. Different ways work with different joeys. The only way that works 100% is by letting their actual birth parent to teach them how to eat the insects in the first place, that never fails. QUOTE(silverwineus @ Apr 6 2008, 12:43 PM) Litter Star is not that expensive. 1 bag can last for a month if you are using the black cage with pointed roof that most of the owners here are using... (Change weekly) But, if you're cage is any bigger than that black cage with pointed roof, it can be expensive to spend on substrate regardless of what brand. Reason being you will need more of it to cover the tray space. I used to use Litter Star when I was using the black cage with pointed roof too but when I upgraded to the bigger cage I just use newspaper as the substrate and changing it more regularly like every 2-3 days. For bigger cage, using newspaper is more cost effiecient but if you wanna use Litter Star or Breeders Celect as substrate also no problem, only costly a bit lor QUOTE(klubbkidd @ Apr 6 2008, 08:12 PM) Don't worry so much if your joey or any other joey don't know how to eat mealworms yet... They will learn in time cuz usually it's their parents who teaches them how when they are about 6-7 weeks out of pouch. With humans, they may take more time. QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Apr 6 2008, 08:56 PM) Both are good and so far safe for suggies. Cost wise, if you calculate it carefully, it's actually about the same cuz a 3.5 liter Litter Star is RM13.90 while a 6 liter Breeders Celect is RM22.00 Breeders Celect is also environmental friendly QUOTE(klubbkidd @ Apr 7 2008, 07:08 AM) As for the worms, yikes! I have to cut the heads off???!!!! Pengsan lah camni. I may look scary, but am more scared of worms. They're icky! Damn. Cutting the heads off is just for the first time when introducing your suggie to mealworms and if they won't take it as whole. Once they have learn the wonders of mealworms, not need to cut the head of or anything, just give it like that Mealworms are icky for almost all first timers, but once you're used to it, it's really nothing at all QUOTE(Pennywise @ Apr 7 2008, 08:51 AM) Just curious - is there a lot of cleaning up to do? They eat worms and crickets. They poo / pee as they like. They live in a cage. Is there a lot of cleaning to do? Like cricket leftovers? Worms internal? etc? Can I just wipe the cage with Dettol or something on the weekend, air it for few hours and put them back inside? Nope, not much cleaning compared to cats and dogs. The cleaning can be done every 2-3 days infact, but for my cat I know everyday I have to scoop out the poo! Not much cricket left overs actually or even mealworms, the exoskelton pulp they leave is very little and will dry up for easy sweeping If you don't take your whole cage and wash(like I used to) then there's not need to take it out for airing or drying. Wiping it with a mild safe soap or Dettol is good enough or can try the new product I just found about, seems to work wonders! KP |
Apr 7 2008, 12:05 PM
9 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
I have one question. My gliders absolutely love mealworms. When I wave a wriggly worm in front of them they will immediately grab it and start munching like chicken drumsticks as the worms are pretty small. But what about crickets? How do you normally feed them? Just pull their 2 long legs out and give it to the while the crickets are still alive/active or do you bash them first? Coz, for crickets, I notice they entire body are kinda watery so if I were to bash the crickets will it be like too disgusting and messy?
| Change to: | 0.0206sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:17 PM |