Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V3

raven22
post May 7 2008, 09:24 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(fiqz4ce @ May 7 2008, 07:49 AM)
hye..i am a student..
i want to ask..which is the best laptop..i mean its brand..some said dell is better..while acer is easily broken..
is it true?
i want a gaming laptop..ranging from 3k-4k..
i look acer have a high spec at low price..while dell high spec at high price..
and..mobility radeon 2400xt is it better than 8600gt or 8400gs?
Actually Radeon 2400 & 8600gt do not have much difference , but Radeon 2400xt is slightly better ...
u can have a look at ASUS F8 maybe slightly sighthly above 4k.
calvin_ng
post May 7 2008, 09:40 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

Interms of quality and reliability....

I still prefer to stick to brands like DELL, HP and IBM......

I've used twinhead before... notebook is so so but the service center louzy

Dell I have never send to service before... but my cousin send once for modem... (got struck) and I can say the dell service is DARNN Fast!!!!!
come to house repair on spot... WOW!!!!

IBM (TinkPad) so far did not manage to KILL or spoiled..!!!! <-- damn solid fella!!!!

HP (compaq v3222) - Like the price like the performance..!!! got dead pixel on LCD when bought send to HP tower for warranty claim (done in 2 hours) EXPRESS!!!!!
- Battery went dead after 6 months (I used alot) send for warranty claim
they change a NEW set of BATT and a NEW Mother Board (AWESOME) they also clean my processor fan!!!!! (Extended my warranty for MOBO and BATT for another 6 months)
- LCD lid cant close tight (I tink the spring kaput) - REPLACED A NEW LCD (WHOLD LCD AND LID) for ME!!!!!!!!! *Extended my warranty for LCD for free for another 3 months)

what can I say!!!!!!!!!! HP is quite good!!!!!!!
fiqz4ce
post May 7 2008, 01:02 PM

618 posts

owh..
thanks for the reply..
at my place..there is acer aspire..c2d t300..with mobility radeon hd2400xt..only 3.3k..
so i dont know which is better between this acer and dell c2d 8400gs/8600gt..
now i am only thinking about the performance..and its lifespan(not easily spoiled)..

and i want to ask..whats the difference between inspiron and xps if they got the sape spec?

This post has been edited by fiqz4ce: May 7 2008, 01:23 PM
calvin_ng
post May 7 2008, 02:50 PM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

XPS suppose to be dell hi end range of notebooks.......
fiqz4ce
post May 7 2008, 03:24 PM

618 posts

yeah..
what the differences..between xps and inspiron..
may be the mobo?
super macgyver
post May 8 2008, 07:37 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(fiqz4ce @ May 7 2008, 01:02 PM)
owh..
thanks for the reply..
at my place..there is acer aspire..c2d t300..with mobility radeon hd2400xt..only 3.3k..
so i dont know which is better between this acer and dell c2d 8400gs/8600gt..
now i am only thinking about the performance..and its lifespan(not easily spoiled)..

and i want to ask..whats the difference between inspiron and xps if they got the sape spec?
dell is better than acer. sweat.gif
aH^HinG
post May 8 2008, 10:58 AM

Is the Asus F5VL20DPM good? with a budget of within 3.5K.
or is there any other model that i could choose from? ( looking for lenovo with something similar specs, but seems like asus is more of a populer choice...)
is there any problem with F5VL20DPM that is known? any other users that used that model before got any complaints about it?

This post has been edited by aH^HinG: May 8 2008, 11:01 AM
zHo3
post May 8 2008, 03:00 PM

Knowledge is power, guard it well
709 posts

QUOTE(aH^HinG @ May 8 2008, 10:58 AM)
Is the Asus F5VL20DPM good? with a budget of within 3.5K.
or is there any other model that i could choose from? ( looking for lenovo with something similar specs, but seems like asus is more of a populer choice...)
is there any problem with F5VL20DPM that is known? any other users that used that model before got any complaints about it?
hmm.. the F5 is okok for normal usage and light gaming.. for extreme gaming.. cannot tahan.. if u add 700 bucks, u can get an F8.. which is much better than the F5..
aH^HinG
post May 8 2008, 03:38 PM

QUOTE(zHo3 @ May 8 2008, 03:00 PM)
hmm..  the F5 is okok for normal usage and light gaming.. for extreme gaming.. cannot tahan.. if u add 700 bucks, u can get an F8.. which is much better than the F5..
then the F8 series which model you're mentioning?? and exactly wat price?? i heard that it's bout RM46xx++ woor... my budget is around RM3.5K, but add another few hundred to RM3.8K still ok geh...
and i would prefer abit big screen lor, 15.4" is most satisfying haha!

edited..
F8 series i found is f8p20dpm RM3588 hehe, but screen is 14.1"
so should i choose that F5series with lower specs at RM3299 or F8series with higher specs at RM3588???? help.....

This post has been edited by aH^HinG: May 8 2008, 04:13 PM
KeV
post May 8 2008, 09:32 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

is that a gaming set? i bought my dell for rm3143, but not sure if u prefer that brand or not
Kaivr
post May 8 2008, 11:54 PM

36 posts

Hello, i've just fixed up these configs @ dell website.
i'm not very resourceful at notebook stuff so i'm wondering whether there are anymore similar offerings to specs somewhat like these. (budget <RM5500)
i'm looking to game with peace of mind...so i'm looking at directx 10 compatible gpus and brands with decent support.

Dell XPS M1530 (PRODUCT) RED™ RM5,227.00

Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T8300 2.4 GHz, 3MB Cache, 800 MHz FSB
Genuine Windows Vista® Ultimate 32 bit (English) DVD Media Included
15.4" Widescreen WXGA (1280x800) TFT Display with TrueLife™
RED LCD Display with integrated 2.0 mega pixel web cam
4GB ( 2 X 2048MB ) 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
200GB SATA 7200RPM Performance Hard Drive
Internal 8X DVD+/-RW Combination Drive with dual layer write capabilities
256MB NVIDIA® GeForce® 8600M GT
Intel® 4965AGN Wireless-N Mini-Card
1-year XPS Premier Service with 1-year CompleteCover

TIA smile.gif
devin90
post May 9 2008, 10:07 AM

35 posts

hey guys....im actually planin to get a new laptop...kinda interested this laptop (HP Pavilion dv9700 Entertainment Notebook PC series - http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/my/en/ho/WF...5-81136552.html )...has nice specs and looks kinda nice aswell..just wanna know wat u guys think and maybe gimme some recomendations on something better..my budget is around 7k n its to do a lil bit of gaming n graphics work...if u guys can suggest a better lappie for dat price den dat'll be great....thanx
aH^HinG
post May 9 2008, 11:16 AM

So actually is there any ASUS F3Sc20DBU model available in lowyat? i would like to know the actual specs and the price.
Boomeraangkid
post May 9 2008, 01:47 PM

Behind You
2,696 posts

buying a gaming laptop

3-4k
2gb ram
200+gb of HDD
nvidia 8 or 9 series(prefer 8800 series)
built in webcam
2-3kg
15.4 inch screen
2+ghz processor

prefer asus or Dell
zHo3
post May 9 2008, 02:30 PM

Knowledge is power, guard it well
709 posts

QUOTE(aH^HinG @ May 8 2008, 03:38 PM)
F8 series i found is f8p20dpm RM3588 hehe, but screen is 14.1"
so should i choose that F5series with lower specs at RM3299 or F8series with higher specs at RM3588???? help.....
OoO... the diff only 300 bucks? maybe it's better if u take the one with higher performance.. unless u really want a big screen..

Added on May 9, 2008, 2:31 pm
QUOTE(Boomeraangkid @ May 9 2008, 01:47 PM)
buying a gaming laptop

3-4k
2gb ram
200+gb of HDD
nvidia 8 or 9 series(prefer 8800 series)
built in webcam
2-3kg
15.4 inch screen
2+ghz processor

prefer asus or Dell
lol.. asus F8 and F5 series.. if not.. dell inspiron 1520.. or expensive one XPS 1530.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by zHo3: May 9 2008, 02:39 PM
dinodragon
post May 9 2008, 06:56 PM

126 posts

if there is no budget problem, i think DELL laptop would be the best. althought it is more expensive compare to the other brand, but it's worth it. their service is much mcuh more better.

but anybody know when DELL will come out with 9 series graphic card laptop???
jch
post May 9 2008, 07:45 PM

Stupid Luffy
545 posts

QUOTE(jch @ Apr 28 2008, 09:19 PM)
Hi all.. i wanna get new lappy soon.. so i hope u all can give recommendation to me.. thumbup.gif

1. Brand - i prefer HP and IBM..

2. Budget - emm.. around 3k max.

3. Specs - which is the best? u tell me lar.. hehe.. i wan use for do my work ( graphic design ), and sometimes for play games. biggrin.gif

4. Size - medium la. not so big and not so heavy.  biggrin.gif
hopefully u guys can help me. thanks in advance.  icon_rolleyes.gif
no one give me some suggestion? cry.gif
fiqz4ce
post May 9 2008, 09:03 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(dinodragon @ May 9 2008, 07:56 PM)
if there is no budget problem, i think DELL laptop would be the best. althought it is more expensive compare to the other brand, but it's worth it. their service is much mcuh more better.

but anybody know when DELL will come out with 9 series graphic card laptop???
i think dec 08...
hurm..
the price of dell might be decreased gradually rite if 9series release soon?
wayfeel
post May 9 2008, 09:48 PM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

with u guys' high budget, i suppose in june got penryn+montevina d, 45nm with 1033mhz max and 6mb L2 so why dun wait a while more...the 1033-1333mhz FSB will surely reduce bottleneck in compare to 800fsb.

most will not tink its a huge improvement but id expect quite noticeable power n speed improvement (claimed 15% or more with Penryn on montevina). besides, being the fastest C2D on the block (or rather in the C2D family) only to be exceeded (note:in quite minority case) by C2Quad, i see no reason not to get the Penryn+monte in merely a month or two.

just my 2 cents (and myb a jar full of it).
cheers

This post has been edited by wayfeel: May 9 2008, 09:58 PM
001hp
post May 9 2008, 09:59 PM

68 posts

1. Brand.
Any Brand but not acer! Mostly compaq

2. Budget.
- around 2k~2.4k

3. Specs.
- AMD turion or INTEL CORE DUO