Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V3
kwackers
May 2 2008, 11:33 AM
Isabell: it's a matter of opinion, choosing between those two. People complain that the Acer build quality isn't that great, but I've heard similar comments about some Dell laptops as well.
On the other hand, Dell is very well known for its after-sales customer support. I'd say just stick to your budget and do a side-by-side feature comparison between the Acer and Dell laptops in that price range.
As for XP or Vista, you probably won't have much choice there. Most of the laptops sold today will come with Vista pre-installed. You could always get a geek friend to install a *cough*legit*cough* copy of XP if you prefer that.
Good luck...
Isabell
May 2 2008, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(kwackers @ May 2 2008, 11:33 AM) Isabell: it's a matter of opinion, choosing between those two. People complain that the Acer build quality isn't that great, but I've heard similar comments about some Dell laptops as well. On the other hand, Dell is very well known for its after-sales customer support. I'd say just stick to your budget and do a side-by-side feature comparison between the Acer and Dell laptops in that price range. As for XP or Vista, you probably won't have much choice there. Most of the laptops sold today will come with Vista pre-installed. You could always get a geek friend to install a *cough*legit*cough* copy of XP if you prefer that. Good luck... okay. means Dell and Acer is almost the same right? i think i'll be getting Dell then. thanks anyway.
zHo3
May 2 2008, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(Isabell @ May 2 2008, 11:49 AM) okay. means Dell and Acer is almost the same right? i think i'll be getting Dell then. thanks anyway. yea.. get dell better.. heard acer's quality very teruk..
super macgyver
May 2 2008, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(zHo3 @ May 2 2008, 03:06 PM) yea.. get dell better.. heard acer's quality very teruk..  why dun consider thinkpad instead?
LiMcZ
May 2 2008, 03:42 PM
i planing to get a laptop tis coming summer holiday. when come to computer things i am extremely noob. so hope the sifu sifu outside can answer my following question. Here comes the question, my budget is 3k, which laptop brand is more recommended? i see a lot forumer here complain about Acer laptop quality not as good as Dell. Well... i did own a Acer Aspire1691.The quality not as bad as wat they said, only the dvd rom a bit slow. The laptop is for moderate gaming and for movie.
KeV
May 2 2008, 05:32 PM
www.kampar.net
QUOTE(Isabell @ May 2 2008, 11:26 AM) i'm totally clueless and need some guidiance. i'm planning to buy a new laptop either from Dell or Acer. any comments on which one is better / less problem / more worth my money? my budget is around RM2500. i just need a simple computer that deoen't give me problem, and works fast. and, should i get Vista or Xp? theres a currently good deal in midvalley dell 1420 with core 2 duo processor, 250gb hdd and 3gb ram, thats pretty fast, u can choose between xp or vista just my suggestion
ar188
May 2 2008, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(KeV @ May 2 2008, 05:32 PM) theres a currently good deal in midvalley dell 1420 with core 2 duo processor, 250gb hdd and 3gb ram, thats pretty fast, u can choose between xp or vista just my suggestion wow for 2.5k? what speed or series is the C2d?
kiew
May 2 2008, 09:49 PM
i would like to get a lappy, hope sifu here can give a suggestion
brand- hopefully can be nec budget, around RM2000 to Rm3000 specs- hope can be a ATI gc~~ size, dun really care...but hope can have quite a big screen...
thank you in advance!!
KeV
May 2 2008, 10:54 PM
www.kampar.net
QUOTE(ar188 @ May 2 2008, 06:08 PM) wow for 2.5k? what speed or series is the C2d? cant really remember, lol, i only bought the 1520 instead, wasnt interested in the x3100 though
super macgyver
May 3 2008, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(kiew @ May 2 2008, 09:49 PM) i would like to get a lappy, hope sifu here can give a suggestion brand- hopefully can be nec budget, around RM2000 to Rm3000 specs- hope can be a ATI gc~~ size, dun really care...but hope can have quite a big screen... thank you in advance!! midvalley notebookshop do carry nec, http://www.notebookshop.com.my
wayfeel
May 5 2008, 12:43 AM
is all T7n00-T9n00 run on santa rosa platform? How to identify whether the processor is penryn. thnks
eclectice
May 5 2008, 02:41 AM
QUOTE(wayfeel @ May 5 2008, 12:43 AM) is all T7n00-T9n00 run on santa rosa platform? How to identify whether the processor is penryn. thnks All current laptops from 2007 are using Santa Rosa platform with the core chipset being the Intel 965 chipset (PM965/GM965). The Penryn processors that are available today is only the first generation Penryn. The second generation Penryn will be available for Montevino platform with the core chipset being the Intel 45 chipset (one of them is GM45). This new platform will be able to utilize 800 MHz memory modules or above and with the support for DDR3 types. It will be launched in the middle of 2008. You can use the latest CPU-Z software to identify your CPU. This post has been edited by eclectice: May 5 2008, 02:46 AM
wayfeel
May 6 2008, 02:26 AM
QUOTE(eclectice @ May 5 2008, 02:41 AM) All current laptops from 2007 are using Santa Rosa platform with the core chipset being the Intel 965 chipset (PM965/GM965). The Penryn processors that are available today is only the first generation Penryn. The second generation Penryn will be available for Montevino platform with the core chipset being the Intel 45 chipset (one of them is GM45). This new platform will be able to utilize 800 MHz memory modules or above and with the support for DDR3 types. It will be launched in the middle of 2008. You can use the latest CPU-Z software to identify your CPU. although the SR platform is 800mhz, the ddr2 will be utlized upto 667 only? rendering 800mhz mem to waste? do we in msia shore will get penryn+montevina in conjunction with its debut in June 2008? cuz currently im thinking of taking advantage of a stable/matured processor cycle Merom/penryn eg T7300 4M cache (RM 2,899) before another 2-3yrs (time to upgrd laptop lol) to a STABLER nahelam+calpella/quad cores (40% improvement over penryn+montevina) since there must be a long way to improve its new architectural since its debut (in mid2009). On another hand, quad cores higher TDP too 45-55W vs merom/penryn's 29-34W is another better reason to stick with dualcores lol ive been tinking a long time so my purchase is informed over expected improvement in computer field so no regret will occur im itching for new laptop yet perhaps shud wait till a budgeted brand on penryn+monte. penryn+monte should appear in market by june right or mch later? This post has been edited by wayfeel: May 6 2008, 02:38 AM
eclectice
May 6 2008, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(wayfeel @ May 6 2008, 02:26 AM) although the SR platform is 800mhz, the ddr2 will be utlized upto 667 only? rendering 800mhz mem to waste? do we in msia shore will get penryn+montevina in conjunction with its debut in June 2008? cuz currently im thinking of taking advantage of a stable/matured processor cycle Merom/penryn eg T7300 4M cache (RM 2,899) before another 2-3yrs (time to upgrd laptop lol) to a STABLER nahelam+calpella/quad cores (40% improvement over penryn+montevina) since there must be a long way to improve its new architectural since its debut (in mid2009). On another hand, quad cores higher TDP too 45-55W vs merom/penryn's 29-34W is another better reason to stick with dualcores lol ive been tinking a long time so my purchase is informed over expected improvement in computer field so no regret will occur im itching for new laptop yet perhaps shud wait till a budgeted brand on penryn+monte. penryn+monte should appear in market by june right or mch later? Yes, that's correct. And, the Montevina platform will be launched in the middle of 2008. http://laptoping.com/intel-montevina-core-2-duo-penryn.htmlThis post has been edited by eclectice: May 6 2008, 09:17 AM
dkangz
May 6 2008, 11:39 AM
i wana buy a new laptop tml at low yat my budget around 3K i need small 12" laptop any suggestion? any shop at low yat wun simply chop? lol seriously need help here~ This post has been edited by dkangz: May 6 2008, 11:51 AM
wayfeel
May 6 2008, 01:03 PM
QUOTE(dkangz @ May 6 2008, 11:39 AM) i wana buy a new laptop tml at low yat my budget around 3K i need small 12" laptop any suggestion? any shop at low yat wun simply chop? lol seriously need help here~  i know fujitsu esprimo U9200 is 12" and under rm3k
KeV
May 6 2008, 03:12 PM
www.kampar.net
QUOTE(dkangz @ May 6 2008, 11:39 AM) i wana buy a new laptop tml at low yat my budget around 3K i need small 12" laptop any suggestion? any shop at low yat wun simply chop? lol seriously need help here~  u can order a dell vostro 1200 from dell outlet in lowyat @ tecasia, that way u can go at that price range
giasens
May 7 2008, 12:07 AM
im planning to get Compaq C770TU- RM 1999 - Intel dual core processor T2370 1.73 GHz, 1 MB L2 Cache, 533 MHz FSB - 1GB DDR2 667MHz (max at 2GB) - 160GB SATA 5400rpm - 8x DVD with dual layer support - Intel Graphics Media Accelerator X3100 - Altec Lansing® speakers - FreeDos i wanna ask if there's any better recommendation at such price in range or specification wise? the laptop is basically for document processing, normal DVD playback, not for gaming. thanks
fiqz4ce
May 7 2008, 07:49 AM
hye..i am a student.. i want to ask..which is the best laptop..i mean its brand..some said dell is better..while acer is easily broken.. is it true? i want a gaming laptop..ranging from 3k-4k.. i look acer have a high spec at low price..while dell high spec at high price.. and..mobility radeon 2400xt is it better than 8600gt or 8400gs?
moiskyrie
May 7 2008, 08:58 AM
want to ask which is better, HP Pavilion tx 2032AU - AMD Athlon 64x2RM 2999 or HP Compaq Preserio F762AU - AMD Turion 64x2RM 1799 so which is better? and the different between Athlon and turion....