Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V3

bmd
post Jul 9 2008, 11:22 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Lipyueng @ Jul 9 2008, 07:33 PM)
no body advice me... sad sad...
U need to be more specific about ur requirements. U just say good processor and not onboard graphics. Use for normal things. If like that only any laptop will do. About 3k also enuf. But since ur budget so high then get dell xps M1330 (RM 4199) and then upgrade the warranty for peace of mind.
bmd
post Jul 9 2008, 11:29 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Devilhpk @ Jul 9 2008, 08:48 AM)
I wanted 2 buy a laptop for study n some entertaiment.
budget around rm2k-3k.
my main purpose is to use solidworks and other mechanical software.
any recommendation?

tq
Asus F5V (RM2999) but with normal onboard graphics and normal design
Or if u not bored with Dell brand then Dell Inspiron 1420 (RM2499).. If u want to find out more there is a thread for Dell Inspiron 1420. Can read the review there.
For HP those that i see nice is above 3k.

Added on July 9, 2008, 11:34 pm
QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Jul 9 2008, 11:26 PM)
sony vaio cr or apple macbook
Yup. Sony Vaio also very good for style. The Sony CR series is only RM4488 but without dedicated graphic card.
For a business look design get Sony SZ RM 4988 with dedicated graphic card. DeLarafi just bought a Sony SZ. Can ask him for review.
Not sure bout apple macbook.

This post has been edited by bmd: Jul 9 2008, 11:34 PM
bmd
post Jul 10 2008, 10:05 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(skunksounds @ Jul 10 2008, 04:20 AM)
below 2500... max can go 3k..
I guess the Benq is good. It is actually quite important to have Core2Duo instead of Dual-Core. It really makes a difference. And the other two choices I ASSUME the specs are really low. Unless it is purely for microsoft office and surfing the web ONLY> then I think better get the Benq.
Intel X3100 if not mistaken is onboard graphics. Means not good for programs that need fast image processing. Dell XPS uses that only for the lower priced XPS. Mainly coz business ppl who does not play games and use for office programs will only need a good processor(which XPS has).
It is normal to have different specs from what u see on website. So dont worry so much bout that.
bmd
post Jul 10 2008, 04:18 PM

133 posts

Oh. Both is Core 2 Duo. So i think if like that the only difference between Benq and the other 2 is the graphic card option. If u use for normal use like typing documents and surfing web then Compaq is good. Lenova so far I read ppl go for the thinkpad and not the ideapad.
If u intend to get compaq please check whether it is refurbished or not. Refurbished only gives u 90 days warranty.
And also 1GB ram most probably not enuf if u running windows vista.
Try consider Asus. Kinda cool also
bmd
post Jul 14 2008, 10:42 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(prescott2006 @ Jul 14 2008, 10:28 PM)
i want to buy a laptop for studying graphic design.but i dun have any idea to buy one.any recommendation?and i also duno how much budget oso.
Budget? Preferable brand? And what program do u use for graphic design? Autocad?
bmd
post Jul 15 2008, 09:53 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(megalive @ Jul 15 2008, 12:34 AM)
hi im new and wanted to buy a laptop.
Budget: around 1.7k-2.2k , hope not so expensive but can get quite good spec
Purpose:Play games and currently im studying IT.

Pls recommend me a good brand. Dowan ACER ><
Maybe can try Dell Inspiron 1420 (RM2299) or just get Acer. Just because it top the worst laptop poll does not mean it is that bad. A lot of happy ppl using it. Like my cousin. Use for more than a year already. I rather u not go for compaq presario. Hp Pavillion is ok but expensiive.
But if u really dont mind that Dell is common then that is the most recommended. Good service and cheap. Wait for PCFAIR in august and then Dell got very good upgrades. If can please use windows XP as Vista really need quite high requirements.
And what games do u intend to play? Coz the laptop that u can get is not gaming laptop

Added on July 15, 2008, 10:05 am
QUOTE(wing68 @ Jul 15 2008, 02:48 AM)
Brand- Any(Beside Acer, BenQ, Twinhead)
Spec - Display card Geforce NVIDIA®  8600-8400M GT graphics
Budget- Less than 7k
Size - 17 inches
Can try Sony Vaio SZ. BUt not 17" lar. Sony AR series might have to wait quite long unless u get from overseas(maybe singapore)
Or u can take Asus G1SN for only RM6999
By the way there is a thread saying that 8600 and 8400 GC is not so good coz overheat fast. So Asus G1SN is good coz it is G9500 graphics. Ram 3GB and Core2Duo T9300. But screen is 15.4"
Other than that 17" the one that i know is Dell........

Edited It is G1SN not G1S

This post has been edited by bmd: Jul 15 2008, 10:09 AM
bmd
post Jul 17 2008, 02:08 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(wing68 @ Jul 16 2008, 01:50 PM)
I wanna ask G1SN and G1S which perform better? and what the different??
G1SN is better if not mistaken. The diff check in www.asustek.com.my
U can ask in Asus Royal Club thread also. They can give u review i think.

Added on July 17, 2008, 4:46 pm
QUOTE(naughtyspirit @ Jul 16 2008, 12:52 AM)
dell inspiron 1420 and 1525..which wan is better...??help me pls
I think it is Inspiron 1420. If not mistaken it is newer. Which budget are u planning to get? Coz both 1420 and 1525 got 2 diff price each.

Added on July 17, 2008, 4:58 pm
QUOTE(Dagashi @ Jul 15 2008, 07:03 PM)
need a recommendation please:

size: <13"
weight: < 2kg
budget: RM 3000
purpose: work
others : durable , reliable, good battery life
Err.... Ur requirements quite hard to meet. If very cheap then those that i see is EEEPc, ACerOneNOte, and MSI wind. N some thread saying dell comes out with EDell. Hmm.. Good battery life is not so easy to get. Durability and reliable hard to define.
Or u can try looking out for Benq.
If with a higher budget then u can get Dell XPS which is 13.3"
AsusU6E (1.57kg and 12.1") . The last time i check the price is RM4988 with 2 years international warranty
or Sony TZ36GN (11.1" and 11 hours battery life) but is too expensive

Added on July 17, 2008, 5:10 pm
QUOTE(michaelyii1988 @ Jul 15 2008, 10:08 PM)
Guys..need recommendation from u all..my fren got scholarship from Petronas n they giv him budget rm3500 to buy laptop..but he got no idea wanna buy wad model..so i helping him to ask u all some precious opinion..fully utilize the budget..no need save money for petronas.haha..thx

The RM3500 must use to max meh? Cannot buy a cheaper laptop and keep the balance in own pocket?
If want style then can go for Sony Vaio CR323 which is RM3488 but I have to say that is very low specs.
Or the most common brand which is Dell XPS M1330 (RM3599)
The one which i would be more interested in is Asus. The F8 and M50 but i think is a bit more expensive. I lost the price list. But this two models i like the style. The cheaper asus like F5VL(RM2999) and Z99SR (RM3588) are not so stylish

This post has been edited by bmd: Jul 17 2008, 05:13 PM
bmd
post Jul 18 2008, 08:23 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(zHo3 @ Jul 17 2008, 06:51 PM)
hmm.. maybe can take a look at the compaq presario series.. got mine for 1.5k during pc fair.. =D

are u using it for normal usage?
What is the model and the specs of ur compaq presario. Thx
bmd
post Jul 21 2008, 10:01 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Ryeeson @ Jul 21 2008, 08:01 AM)
i'm going to get Dell XPS 13' in but every dell outlet does not have any stock. Same if via online.

Is there is any laptop shop in lowyat/digital mall got stock stock for this laptop? coz i don't want t wait for 1 week as i don't really have good address to trust with?
U try Tec Asia already? In lowyat.
bmd
post Jul 23 2008, 09:23 PM

133 posts

Haha... sometimes it is just that not enough information u all give.... also ppl also keep asking about about the same reommendation...and also errr. actually if u really go through all the post then u will find the most popular recommendation is dell..
i think dell i dont need to tell u what model... coz dell u can customise online....
the other one i can tell u which i personally like is Asus. u can pm me to find out more bout asus price or any other recommendation...
if ur budget a bit higher again then i can tell u is sony vaio CR32 but dont have graphic card.
bmd
post Jul 23 2008, 10:12 PM

133 posts

Asus F5VL 20DPM (RM 2999)
i think now all comes with vista. so the other option is to go for free dos
hp u can just check the malaysia website for hp. they got the pricing online..
bmd
post Jul 24 2008, 04:44 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Chuanmok @ Jul 24 2008, 02:07 PM)
but i need specific recomandation based on what i've posted on page 51. Thanks
//swt i replied in the post right after u r question... u never even tell what brand u want..
so i tell u dell and if u need me to tell u what model then just ask.. so i tell u now DELL STUDIO 15.. since u know what specs u want then just go to dell and customise...
other than that the one i personally like is ASUS.. Asus F8 and ASUS M50. The design is quite cool and the specs is superb... And the price also very reasonable...

Edited: More specific is Asus F8SG

and hp u can check online.. since u already know what specs u want... then its like dell just check online..

This post has been edited by bmd: Jul 24 2008, 04:46 PM
bmd
post Jul 24 2008, 04:47 PM

133 posts

eii.. celest.. i tot u want VAIO... what is the problem?

Added on July 24, 2008, 4:48 pm
QUOTE(nebousuke @ Jul 24 2008, 03:35 PM)
1. Brand: Any brand will do
2. Budget:RM2500 or less
3. Specs: Intel centrino, light weight (around 2kg or less), good international warranty (oversea uasage) and customer care
4. Size: 15 inch or less
Obviously Dell Inspiron 1420. but weight not lesser than 2 kg... but service is really good..

This post has been edited by bmd: Jul 24 2008, 04:48 PM
bmd
post Jul 24 2008, 08:15 PM

133 posts

I really love Asus but only the F8SG, F9 and those M50... the others not really nice design... Specs is very worth for the price u pay..
Sure acer is the most worth... And I have asked a lot of ppl on budget to take acer.. U cannot really say acer bad quality lar... i mean all laptop also got problem... some ppl believe that acer has most problem reported coz many ppl use it... but laptop if u really know how to take care then it can last really long.. acer the other thing ppl hate is the service... heard that service not so good....
so far acer the cheap ones that my friends use around RM 2k like that not bad... quite good... i am not sure bout those new models that just came out
if u really want service thats why i say dell... good service ... but a forumer here also say that dell build quality also not good... but for the service... yeah... thats why u see dell upgrade the warranty quite costly....
Asus has international warranty for 2 years... but so far i read from asus thread the service cannot say is excellent..
In my uni, a lot of ppl use toshiba.. i never bother bout toshiba coz the design not really attract me... but since my uni a lot of ppl use so yeah i think it is ok...

the wireless card n is the best coz n is high range and faster speed.... BUT it all depends on the router .. if the router is not n type then no use.. it will act like those a, b, g..

i will read ur post and see what i can recommend but u dont like dell issit????
n no not working in lowyat.. student...

Added on July 24, 2008, 9:01 pm
QUOTE(-celest- @ Jul 24 2008, 05:11 PM)
i still considering ma. but VAIO like low spec with high price = = so need some other opinions lol
But u only want to do for assignments kan...then vaio CR32 is ok lor... other than that then dell studio maybe?
i only recommend u these few because i know these few better than others
i would say hp pavilion is also good but i dunno what model is suitable for u coz i never look into hp....

Added on July 24, 2008, 9:11 pmChuanmok i read ur post again and i still dunno what u want... any laptop now can easily meet the specs that u require.. processor 2.2 ram 2gb (upgrade to 3GB urself is very cheap) hard disk space all also very big now... so what else u want?? what do u doubt??
if really want to play safe then get dell

This post has been edited by bmd: Jul 24 2008, 09:11 PM
bmd
post Jul 26 2008, 09:44 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ Jul 26 2008, 02:36 PM)
try hp pavillion dv3000 series ^ ^ nice and ez ~
but this series is quite bulky and sort of heavy also.. well more too bulky compare to heavy although i should say the design is quite nice

Added on July 26, 2008, 9:57 pm
QUOTE(Chuanmok @ Jul 26 2008, 02:35 PM)
bmd tq so much... Actually i dunno much about laptop and it's brand and all that.. But since u know ASUS very well so i'll probably follow ur recommandation. SO can u plz give me all the details about laptop that u recommand?? like it's price and spec... Dun forget my preference o...

oh ya.. you said i can upgrade the ram by myself? how??
Well i recommended asus because u think acer is not good quality and i dont know why u dont like dell... if u dont like dell then i dont think hp will be any better also.. if want to play safe then dell lar..
but if want to be diff from the usual dell, acer and hp.. then asus is one that meets performance for a good price..

got one problem here.. the model that i recommend F8SG is RM4288 which is slightly above ur budget
or u can get F8SR (dont have specs and price)
here are the specs for F8SG
2.6kg
6cells battery 4800mAh, 53Whrs
Intel Centrino Core 2 Duo T8300 (2.4GHz 3mb L2 cache, 800Mhz)
Intel Pro wireless 3965 ABN
vista home premium
250gb sata hdd
1gb ddr2 667 MHz (add another 1GB wil only cost u RM70)
14.1"WGA, nvidia GeforceGo 9300/256mb
bluetooth.
8in1cardreader. dvdmulti double layer drive
fingerprint reader
webcam
lovely design

M50 i dont have specs but M50 is the best multimedia laptop.. but its huge and maybe also quite heavy..

F9 is also out but i dunno how much.. maybe more expensive...

Added on July 26, 2008, 10:00 pm
QUOTE(woei_t @ Jul 26 2008, 08:52 PM)
2day juz surf at lowyat
n find 1 model nice 4 me

asus z99 (forget wat series)
free dos... RM2599

may someone post this model's spec
thx...
I found a more expensive one
Asus Z99 SR (RM3499)
core2duo 2.2ghz 4mbl2 800mhz
intel 3945AGN wireless
vista premium
250gb sata hdd
1gb ram
14.1"wxga ATIx2400/128mb vram
etc

This post has been edited by bmd: Jul 26 2008, 10:02 PM
bmd
post Jul 27 2008, 11:03 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(lilgun @ Jul 27 2008, 12:02 AM)
PC Fair is next week, so will it be cheaper to buy a laptop during PC fair or is it cheaper to order online?
And what's the best laptop deal around? I think I'd prefer DELL but I don't know which one.

the price will be the same online. But pc fair will give more free upgrades and can get the stock immediately. although online say same deal as pc fair but still pc fair give more. thats for dell

why u dont know which one? its all online for dell.. just customise to ur needs. with ur budget below 3k then get those dell inspiron 1420? or 1525? then customise according to needs?
Graphics are important since u doing editing and processor also important. but try not to get gc with 8400 or 8600 nvidia. coz since u r leaaving it on for many many hours then overheat fast.

Added on July 27, 2008, 11:11 am
QUOTE(Auriel @ Jul 27 2008, 12:52 AM)
Hmm.. I planning to get myself a laptop now, cuz i'm going overseas to continue my studies.  brows.gif

I did some surveys recently, and I just cant decide which to buy.  rclxub.gif

My requirements are quite simple,

1. A nice gc so that it can play games like COD4.  cool2.gif
2. Nice outlook, preferably whole white or black  nod.gif
3. Budget around 3000~4000
4. Hopefully light weighted, and
5. Free-dos
hi maybe u can post those laptops that u have surveyed? then the forumeres here might be able to tell u the pro n cons of those laptops.
what are the minimum requirements for COD4? i dont have it

This post has been edited by bmd: Jul 27 2008, 11:11 AM
bmd
post Jul 27 2008, 02:03 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Chuanmok @ Jul 27 2008, 12:44 PM)
ok bmd... now i've changed my mind... after considering all those promotions and services that dell offers..  i think i would go for dell... next week pc fair... My budget is around 3k... M13 is over my budget right? Any other suggestion?? and any guidline for us to buy during pc fair.. Like upgrade or free gift...
yup just wait for pc fair... when pc fair come check online 1st. see which model u prefer and what are the promotions so that u r prepared when u go to pc fair
well as i said dell is the safest bet.
ok now the next thing is budget.. yup cannot get m13.. so only left with 1420.
graphic card. only choice is 8400GS . plz remember that this gc is prone to a lot of heat so u would need a good cooler pad. get cooler master about RM100. dont compromise on cooling.
processor if can go for T8300. dont take T5750 . at least must take T7250
ram 3gb i think enuf
now the biggest problem.. Warranty...i hated dell when they removed the limited warranty and force ppl to take the complete cover.. now the warranty is so expensive.... but since u take dell because of their service then i think u have to upgrade the warranty which makes it way above ur budget. sigh....remember to call dell as soon as possible to check the warranty availability at the place u r going overseas..

and also when customising ur choice sometimes it is better to customise the cheaper laptop. like inspiron 1420 if u customise the RM2599 to a higher spec it is cheaper then to customise the RM3499 to the same specs.
also bear in mind that if u customise inspiron up to RM4000 then u can get rebate of RM300 as of the current promotion.
bmd
post Jul 27 2008, 04:57 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Jul 27 2008, 03:01 PM)
asus which model within that range?
Asus F5VL20DPM about 3k also
core2duo 2.0ghz, 2mb l2 cache, 667mhz
wireless 3945abgn
vista premium
200gb sata hdd
1gb 667mhz ram
15.4"wxga
ati hdX2300,128mb vram
and etc

Added on July 27, 2008, 5:01 pm
QUOTE(Whatever111 @ Jul 27 2008, 04:03 PM)
Pls recommend me a asus or toshiba laptop.My budget is below Rm3.5k so what is the best model I can get for tht price range?
Asus. Z99Sr
about ur price
core2duo T7500 2.2ghz, 4mb l2cache 800 mhz
vista premium
250gb sata hdd
14.1"wxga, atiX2400/128mb vram
1gb 667mhz ram
etc

This post has been edited by bmd: Jul 27 2008, 05:01 PM
bmd
post Jul 27 2008, 05:15 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Chuanmok @ Jul 27 2008, 02:52 PM)
ok.. to conclude.. i need a laptop with
high performance,
high internet access speed
with graphic card..
ATI graphic is normal 1?? it worst than geforce and NVIDIA?
vista home premium.
budget around 3-3.5k.
brand: dell
size: not a prob, the smaller the better.

But i hate 1420 coz my sis bought 1 and it got alot of problem. oh ya... i cant access to the customize page in dell... i dunno which way to go...
If i cant only go for 1420, i would rather buy ASUS. That's  more worth it right? As u said "pc fair give more, thats for dell". If i buy ASUS in pc fair, will i get more? Anyway, when is the pc fair and where? Thzx
graphics got integarted and dedicated..
high internet access is only have to get intel N card. but it depends on the router. if router is for abg then n will act as abg. if router support n then ok lar
high performance at least 800FSB and core 2 duo and at least 3mbL2 cache (2mb also ok)
nvidia and geforce i tot is the same? it is called nvidia geforce...
ati has ATI Radeon
nvidia has nvidia geforce (correct me if i am wrong)
build in to motherboard is those like intel graphics x3100 and ati x2300 (again correct me if i am wrong) this build in is the most basic graphics (other words is the lowest)
dell inspiron 1420 my friend using no problem.. well at least until it got stolen (in uni)

no matter what wait until pc fair then see dell online.. see what warranty offers they can give.. if can give good warranty offers i think better u take dell
BEWARE when buying asus in pc fair. Make sure u get everything right. ESPECIALLY WARRANTY... and make SURE IT IS SEAL BOX THEY GIVE U. if not seal box go other booth... they will tell u they just only open it... dont believe... i think those huge booth in the main entrance should be ok... and get the company details.
Pc fair 1-3 august at KLCC

Added on July 27, 2008, 5:17 pm
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Jul 27 2008, 05:05 PM)
asus z99 sr spec seem cool....i hope i can get it at kelantan -.- who know kelantan where got sales asus laptop
forgot to tell u one thing... asus z99sr i dont really like the design.. hehe...
i like f8 and f9 design.. they say z99sr is like those f8.. but when i see in the shop the design not same oh..
maybe the forumer say that the specs is almost the same... dunno

This post has been edited by bmd: Jul 27 2008, 05:17 PM
bmd
post Jul 27 2008, 08:49 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(the_aki @ Jul 27 2008, 07:28 PM)
I'm in my first year. Will only be using a laptop in 3rd year (for class)

My budget is 8000rm. Should I buy it now or next year? WHen will be a better buy or it won't be much different?
if u dont need it now just wait as long as u can. when is a better buy is when u need it

Added on July 27, 2008, 9:10 pm
QUOTE(limcc1991 @ Jul 27 2008, 07:33 PM)
i'm a student i'm planning to buy a new laptop.Need recommendations.
1st priority:Budget
Around 3000-3800

2nd priority:Specs
C2D, at least 2GB RAM, GC which can play mid-high end game with medium quality. (most important thing is a multitask-able laptop)

3rd priority:Size
Not too heavy

last priority: Brand
Brand doesn't matter

Your immediate recommendation is very much appreciated. THXS tongue.gif
Dell Studio of coz. Only RM4k
If not then acer 4920
or acer 4530. (only 2k) but its new and not much review yet
other option is hp pavilion dv3000 (3.5k) but heat is a lot

This post has been edited by bmd: Jul 27 2008, 09:10 PM