HDTV FAQ, Discussion relating to gaming on a HDTV

gundamalpha
post Dec 20 2009, 11:14 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Dec 20 2009, 10:33 PM)
Is 8ms response time good enough for gaming ? Do u think it'll be a problem with upcoming games ?
That's pretty bad.. expect lots of "ghostings"
eone
post Dec 21 2009, 10:26 AM

Prime
2,678 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Dec 20 2009, 11:14 PM)
That's pretty bad.. expect lots of "ghostings"
not ghosting lah.. Motion Blur effect! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
keewah
post Dec 21 2009, 10:29 AM

429 posts

oh then the Panasonic S10K is not a good choice ? sad.gif
gundamalpha
post Dec 21 2009, 10:31 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(keewah @ Dec 21 2009, 10:29 AM)
Panasonic S10K? Is that a LCD or plasma? unsure.gif
eone
post Dec 21 2009, 10:34 AM

Prime
2,678 posts

QUOTE(keewah @ Dec 21 2009, 10:29 AM)
Is it THIS one??
gundamalpha
post Dec 21 2009, 10:48 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Haven't seen any plasma with ghosting issues.. unsure.gif
wunan
post Dec 21 2009, 05:56 PM

104 posts

i have samsung lcdtv model la40a450(720p only not fullhd). when i connect to xbox 360 via vga i cannot change the setting for backlight and sharpness.backlight fix at
max value = 10.

the same case when i connect the tv to pc via hdmi or vga and have the resolution at 1360x768. if i set
the pc resolution to 1280x720 then i will be able to change the backlight and sharpness setting.

native resolution for this tv is 1366x768. so the best and clear setting is 1360x768 but i'm worried for tv's lifespan since backlight at max.
if set to 1280x720, the text a bit blur.

is this common?
figure8
post Dec 21 2009, 10:21 PM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

guys. i saw sharp LC32A66M fullhd
http://www.sharp.com.my/product.php?ProductID=LC32A66M

is it a good choice?. how the pq compare to sony bravia v series?.
munky
post Dec 21 2009, 10:48 PM

1,971 posts

QUOTE(eone @ Dec 21 2009, 10:26 AM)
not ghosting lah.. Motion Blur effect!  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
actually i just got the G10 tv just now. And i have to say no problem with gaming at all

even some sony lcd tv has 8ms response time, and they made the ps3. So i dont think 8ms is a problem. If 16ms then that's a different story lol

i think it all depends on the person. Some ppl have very sensitive eyes
ameenskywalker
post Dec 23 2009, 02:36 PM

343 posts

Any shop or forumers here selling HDMI Switcher/Splitter ? With PS3,360, DVD,Astro B.Yond ...Too many HDMI output nowdays and not enough input.. got suggestion where to get it ?
eone
post Dec 24 2009, 02:08 PM

Prime
2,678 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Dec 21 2009, 10:48 PM)
actually i just got the G10 tv just now. And i have to say no problem with gaming at all

even some sony lcd tv has 8ms response time, and they made the ps3. So i dont think 8ms is a problem. If 16ms then that's a different story lol

i think it all depends on the person. Some ppl have very sensitive eyes
yup, my first 32 inch samsung lcd tv 4 years old model (cost rm6k sweat.gif ) got 12ms response also runs xbox and x360 just fine in hd.. the bluriness not that obvious, still can see fast moving objects
fcchung
post Dec 28 2009, 11:06 AM

291 posts

i wanna buy 1 40" FHD for playing my PS3...
i suggest buy samsung tv...buy which model is suitable for PS3?budget RM2.5K-3.5K?thanks...
Dickson91
post Dec 28 2009, 10:05 PM

66 posts

After doing some research and all, I got Sony 32" S550A(tight-on budge), is it suitable for gaming?
RX-78-2
post Jan 2 2010, 02:11 AM

790 posts

pls check carefully the spec, Sony 32" S550A should be HDReady, the 40" above only have Full HD. I almost cheated by the Full HD logo on the demo TV.
Btw, i just ordered the Sharp LC42A77, Full HD, 100Hz. Should be fine for both motion movie & gaming.

This post has been edited by RX-78-2: Jan 2 2010, 02:11 AM
gto87
post Jan 4 2010, 05:21 PM

492 posts

Guys, I've been reading through

A lot of you suggested L42S10K, But how about L42G10K, what's the difference between those two and how much is the price difference? I can only find the price for s10k.

Can you guys suggest me the best LCD for Movies and Astro. I prefer full HD 42" or more that comes below RM5k. Thanks~
RX-78-2
post Jan 5 2010, 04:07 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(gto87 @ Jan 4 2010, 05:21 PM)
Guys, I've been reading through

A lot of you suggested L42S10K, But how about L42G10K, what's the difference between those two and how much is the price difference? I can only find the price for s10k.

Can you guys suggest me the best LCD for Movies and Astro. I prefer full HD 42" or more that comes below RM5k. Thanks~
i just bought the Sharp Aquos LC42A77M, 42" FullHD, 100Hz. Limited offer RM3399 by Best Denki 1U. Now the offer price up to RM3499, few unit left.
The SRP is RM4499, normal shop now offer is RM3800-3999.

gnsumas
post Jan 5 2010, 05:28 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(Dickson91 @ Dec 28 2009, 10:05 PM)
After doing some research and all, I got Sony 32" S550A(tight-on budge), is it suitable for gaming?
The S550 is fine, although I'm pretty sure it uses an 8-bit panel wink.gif

QUOTE(RX-78-2 @ Jan 2 2010, 02:11 AM)
pls check carefully the spec, Sony 32" S550A should be HDReady, the 40" above only have Full HD. I almost cheated by the Full HD logo on the demo TV.
Btw, i just ordered the Sharp LC42A77, Full HD, 100Hz. Should be fine for both motion movie & gaming.
The A77?

Have had it for quite some time and love it.

Blacks seemed a little washed out at first, but after some calibration, they were nice and deep thumbup.gif
gto87
post Jan 5 2010, 08:16 PM

492 posts

1)P42S10K vs LC42A77M
I know I'm comparing between PLasma and LCD but I gonna use it for watching movies on Astro and some 1080p movies. So which one is better?

2)How about the price. Can anybody quote the cheapest price they get for either one, Thanks in advance

3)Hurm.. I saw s10k yesterday at a shop near my place. Selling RM3750 with the free HDMI cable. So is it worth it?
gnsumas
post Jan 5 2010, 08:55 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

If you have Astro, Plasma is the way to go.

Plasma scales SD sources better.

Not sure about pricing.
gto87
post Jan 6 2010, 01:12 PM

492 posts

How bout Plasma's burn in issue. Planning to buy P42S10K but a bit worried about the burn in issue~

79 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 73 > » Top

0.0335sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:40 AM