HDTV FAQ, Discussion relating to gaming on a HDTV

GamersFamilia
post Nov 16 2009, 11:50 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,816 posts

QUOTE(thewayiam @ Nov 16 2009, 02:17 AM)
hey guys, i've read somewhere that they say for 40" and below, full hd (1080p) or hd-ready..i think thats 720p..u wont experience the difference...
issit true?
coz im planning to get a 32" lcd tv and of course the full hd ones are a tad more expensive...
any opinions or experience would be appreciated

thanks smile.gif

Added on November 16, 2009, 2:44 amalso, any recommendations based on brands?
well go for 32"full hd far better then 32"hd...Sony Bravia SNY-KLV32V550 FULL HD around RM2.5K

btw , before this im using sharp aquos 32"hd lcd tv , well no doubt its good and nice...but after turning to samsung 40" full hd lcd tv ( LA40B550K1R ) what can i say...hmmm " wooooooooooow superb ! ". nod.gif

This post has been edited by GamersFamilia: Nov 16 2009, 12:38 PM
Thrust
post Nov 19 2009, 08:40 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

I advise gamers to get the largest LCD screen size they can afford. I changed from 22" (DELL Monitor) to 32"(Sharp Aquos HD READY) to 40"(SONY KLV40V550) & I am still not satisfied.

Remember, always get the biggest screen size that you can possibly afford.
SeanWong
post Nov 22 2009, 12:43 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(thewayiam @ Nov 16 2009, 02:17 AM)
hey guys, i've read somewhere that they say for 40" and below, full hd (1080p) or hd-ready..i think thats 720p..u wont experience the difference...
issit true?
coz im planning to get a 32" lcd tv and of course the full hd ones are a tad more expensive...
any opinions or experience would be appreciated

thanks smile.gif

Added on November 16, 2009, 2:44 amalso, any recommendations based on brands?
well i just bought a full HD (1080p) 32" LCD TV - Samsung LA32B550K1R.

Just cost me RM1880 only. Not even more than RM2K.

So highly recommend this one as i was now enjoying it so much thumbup.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Nov 23 2009, 03:21 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Nov 19 2009, 08:40 PM)
I advise gamers to get the largest LCD screen size they can afford. I changed from 22" (DELL Monitor) to 32"(Sharp Aquos HD READY) to 40"(SONY KLV40V550) & I am still not satisfied.

Remember, always get the biggest screen size that you can possibly afford.
Haha, that's what I did. Was eyeing the Sony S-Series 40" but then ran into a philips warehouse sale, ended up with the 42" PFL5609 instead.

From 29" CRT - 32" HD Ready - 42" FullHD, my eyes are still recovering LOL
gnsumas
post Nov 23 2009, 03:23 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

40" and 42" no big diff la tongue.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Nov 23 2009, 03:37 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(gnsumas @ Nov 23 2009, 03:23 PM)
40" and 42" no big diff la tongue.gif
haha true, but I guess I was greedy LOL plus the Sony one was moar expensive.
gnsumas
post Nov 23 2009, 03:38 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

Philips always cheap one ma... icon_idea.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Nov 23 2009, 03:54 PM

1,495 posts

ye la, OKK can la buy sony tongue.gif

actually not true oso, some philips models can be DAMN pricey.
gnsumas
post Nov 23 2009, 03:57 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Nov 23 2009, 03:54 PM)
ye la, OKK can la buy sony tongue.gif

actually not true oso, some philips models can be DAMN pricey.
OPK String got Bravia Z whistling.gif

Philips 21:9 pricing brows.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Nov 23 2009, 03:59 PM

1,495 posts

the 21:9 pricing brings me back to when Ambilight was FIRST introduced. I remember 46" TVs priced at RM 16999. Crazy or what eh?

This just shows how time passes. Me? I'll be satisfied with the current series 5000...till end of 2011. *hint hint LOL
gnsumas
post Nov 23 2009, 04:01 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Nov 23 2009, 03:59 PM)
the 21:9 pricing brings me back to when Ambilight was FIRST introduced. I remember 46" TVs priced at RM 16999. Crazy or what eh?

This just shows how time passes. Me? I'll be satisfied with the current series 5000...till end of 2011. *hint hint LOL
Ayah, nak tibi whistling.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Nov 23 2009, 04:06 PM

1,495 posts

back to moar seriuse business:

You mentioned about the Full RGB, what about the Super White thing?
gnsumas
post Nov 23 2009, 07:10 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Nov 23 2009, 04:06 PM)
back to moar seriuse business:

You mentioned about the Full RGB, what about the Super White thing?
I'm not sure what Super White does, but I recall it crushing colours.

IINM, Full RGB makes you lose some colors and Super White ramps up the contrast.

Both are meant for monitor usage, as monitors can display more colors (Full RGB) and have lower contrast (hence, the need for Super White)
bestdo
post Nov 28 2009, 08:04 PM

43 posts

Guys, what its the best brand for HDTV? I think im gonna choose BRAVIA but is it worth to buy it on sonystyle?
Double_Ace
post Nov 28 2009, 08:44 PM

517 posts

Hi guys what is the best tv i can get for gaming my budget only RM500-600???
bestdo
post Nov 28 2009, 08:46 PM

43 posts

lol, for that budget you can buy SDTV only, for HDTV which is the BEST TV for gaming...your budget must be 2k and abv dude.....
gnsumas
post Nov 30 2009, 01:07 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

RM600 can buy Haier HDTV 2nd hand... whistling.gif

Save some more then go to Sony Style to buy Bravia Z brows.gif
lanead
post Dec 4 2009, 07:40 PM

Is the MotionFlow thingy really that great ? I saw the price difference between a model with MotionFlow and a model without around Rm1K
eone
post Dec 15 2009, 09:55 PM

Prime
2,678 posts

QUOTE(lanead @ Dec 4 2009, 07:40 PM)
Is the MotionFlow thingy really that great ? I saw the price difference between a model with MotionFlow and a model without around Rm1K
its GREAT!! for games that locked 30fps (truemotion doubled it), but for games that fps not constant, you might need some effort to get use to it...... really satisfy playing uncharted 1 and 2, dirt2, shift.. with motion turned on

btw, for Super White thingy, try putting wallpaper with gradient color and compare it on vs off, you'll see the difference.. wink.gif

Added on December 15, 2009, 9:56 pm
QUOTE(gnsumas @ Nov 23 2009, 03:38 PM)
Philips always cheap one ma... icon_idea.gif
but the quality is quite good (5 series and above) thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by eone: Dec 15 2009, 09:56 PM
munky
post Dec 20 2009, 10:33 PM

1,971 posts

Is 8ms response time good enough for gaming ? Do u think it'll be a problem with upcoming games ?

79 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:32 AM