32 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Windows VISTA Service Pack 1 Discussion

amanechoir
post Mar 21 2008, 01:41 AM

184 posts

Sure it requires minimum 4 GB of free space to begin the installation process, but after all is done, seems that around 2 GB of my (C:) drive are missing. Those who downloaded and update using the stand alone installer, does it really eats 2 GB+ of your space?
akuinsan
post Mar 21 2008, 02:21 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(amanechoir @ Mar 21 2008, 01:41 AM)
Sure it requires minimum 4 GB of free space to begin the installation process, but after all is done, seems that around 2 GB of my (C:) drive are missing. Those who downloaded and update using the stand alone installer, does it really eats 2 GB+ of your space?
yups, SP1 stand alone will eat arround 2GB used space of your HDD
donno how many used space took bye SP1 with WU
DeathChaosX
post Mar 21 2008, 07:02 AM

Validating
264 posts

Don't know issit my pc problem or vista sp1 problem, after i install sp1, I can't play nfs prostreet. Everytime I continue career, when load finish then it says nfs.exe stopped working bla bla bla then ask want find solution or close program.

And also I feel startup abit slower. lol
linkinstreet
post Mar 21 2008, 07:52 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

try compatibility mode. My prostreet works fine (faster loading to boot) and my startup is the same
ronaldjoe
post Mar 21 2008, 09:03 AM

3,569 posts

I updated my Ulti 64bit yesterday. Everything went on smoothly.
But I dun noticed any difference on SP1 so far... sad.gif

zonan4
post Mar 21 2008, 09:58 AM

561 posts

emmm i also dont feel any improvement after install sp1 just the same....
defaultname365
post Mar 21 2008, 09:59 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

More improvements I've noticed on my notebook running Home Premium :

- burning DVDs no longer result in "error, disc cannot be used". tongue.gif This is awesome, as sometimes even a brand new DVD+RW after a single burn process, cannot be used again

- running multiple applications at the same time no longer results in "memory hogging" (e.g, very laggish interface)

- Vista is far more responsive in many areas, most notably areas that have graphics (e.g, icons, large number of apps)

- Gaming performance increased (a fact, haven't done fraps though)

- NFS Underground 2 no longer crashes biggrin.gif

- Internet Explorer 7 barely crashes at all, however, err.... it did, but that was because I fired up one too many tabs with heavy graphics.... wink.gif

- Windows Media Player seems to burn Audio CDs without any issues (previously, a few tracks would be burnt, but for some reason, not full...)

- Various installation processes take up less time (most notably, installing for sound driver)

- recovering from Sleep mode, no longer have the pause before being able to use the mouse

Other areas that I do have slight issues, and has seen NO improvements, but, its not really a problem, issit? :

- slow internet connection (we can all blame, you-know-who)

- takes many, many dial attempts to connect to broadband connection

- the "internet connection" icon sometimes is not working (e.g, suppose to have the connected icon on taskbar, but its just two blank computers)

- Safari for Windows : The World's Greatest Web Browser is as good, and NEVER ever crashed, no idea what I wanted improved, but hey, I love x10 this browser

DeathChaosX
post Mar 21 2008, 10:12 AM

Validating
264 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Mar 21 2008, 07:52 AM)
try compatibility mode. My prostreet works fine (faster loading to boot) and my startup is the same
what do u mean by compatibility mode? The compatibility mode with windows xp sp2 that one? I tried that too, but still same.

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Edit: And usually defragment takes how long ah? I defrag for like 3hours still not done.

This post has been edited by DeathChaosX: Mar 21 2008, 10:13 AM
shady
post Mar 21 2008, 10:38 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Mar 21 2008, 09:59 AM)
More improvements I've noticed on my notebook running Home Premium :

- burning DVDs no longer result in "error, disc cannot be used".  tongue.gif  This is awesome, as sometimes even a brand new DVD+RW after a single burn process, cannot be used again

- running multiple applications at the same time no longer results in "memory hogging" (e.g, very laggish interface)

- Vista is far more responsive in many areas, most notably areas that have graphics (e.g, icons, large number of apps)

- Gaming performance increased (a fact, haven't done fraps though)

- NFS Underground 2 no longer crashes  biggrin.gif

- Internet Explorer 7 barely crashes at all, however, err.... it did, but that was because I fired up one too many tabs with heavy graphics....  wink.gif

- Windows Media Player seems to burn Audio CDs without any issues (previously, a few tracks would be burnt, but for some reason, not full...)

- Various installation processes take up less time (most notably, installing for sound driver)

- recovering from Sleep mode, no longer have the pause before being able to use the mouse
Other areas that I do have slight issues, and has seen NO improvements, but, its not really a problem, issit? :

- slow internet connection (we can all blame, you-know-who)

- takes many, many dial attempts to connect to broadband connection

- the "internet connection" icon sometimes is not working (e.g, suppose to have the connected icon on taskbar, but its just two blank computers)

- Safari for Windows : The World's Greatest Web Browser is as good, and NEVER ever crashed, no idea what I wanted improved, but hey, I love x10 this browser
just curious, u seems to be promoting vista a lot. are you working for microsoft? tongue.gif
defaultname365
post Mar 21 2008, 11:52 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

QUOTE(shady @ Mar 21 2008, 10:38 AM)
just curious, u seems to be promoting vista a lot. are you working for microsoft? tongue.gif
No. But pro-Microsoft.

More improvements after SP1 :

- Live Thumbnail preview (on the taskbar) is more active (previously, if there is animation in a window, the Live Thumbnail would not show it in motion) although issue persists in various cases

- Windows Sidebar is far more responsive (previously, dragging a Gadget would result in a pause, before being able to move it further).

- Overall window load times are quicker

- Resource usage is much lower on (see image for proof) :

Image taken when system is idle (nothing running) :

Note : The resource bar increases/decreases every second. But overall, I get less than 25% all the time. The memory usage plunges below 15% when system is idle for more than an hour.

If I bring up my resource monitor, after leaving my system for a while :

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Mar 21 2008, 12:19 PM
1024kbps
post Mar 21 2008, 01:23 PM

李素裳
6,017 posts

i think SP1 got some user interface improvement, but im not very sure, for those who havent have SP1 or newly installed vista pls comfirm lol,
eg Volume properties, and Folder tree view.

and the build in image viewer still suck as usual, it will make ur JPG images look worse(kinda 8bit GIF compression) than before LOL shocking.gif shakehead.gif
good job macrosoft rclxms.gif
rstusa
post Mar 21 2008, 03:08 PM

1,798 posts

i had changed my mobo & processor, but i'm using original win vista, so i can't activate vista now, coz change hardware, you guys know how to do that?
fariz
post Mar 21 2008, 03:12 PM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Mar 21 2008, 03:08 PM)
i had changed my mobo & processor, but i'm using original win vista, so i can't activate vista now, coz change hardware, you guys know how to do that?
call microsoft, make up some stories. brows.gif
RokXIII
post Mar 21 2008, 03:52 PM

C'est la vie, Chérie
1,634 posts

QUOTE(fariz @ Mar 21 2008, 03:12 PM)
call microsoft, make up some stories.  brows.gif
if you're lucky, they won't ask u anything, just like what I did last time. A female Chinese stuff help me to reactivate without asking any question... laugh.gif
scpt
post Mar 21 2008, 04:07 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(53x0r @ Mar 21 2008, 12:31 AM)
currently downloading sp1 from windows update, file size only 69mb.. hope everything ends up fine after installing it..
I had to manually download SP1 from MS site, my windows update didn't detect SP1 doh.gif

QUOTE(rstusa @ Mar 21 2008, 03:08 PM)
It happend to mine also after I overclocked my cpu, then have to activate it through phone activation. Very good service biggrin.gif

I've just installed SP1 and I can say that it feels faster now especially in copying files, browsing windows explorer etc. thumbup.gif Gonna test some games now.

cstkl1
post Mar 21 2008, 04:08 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(fariz @ Mar 21 2008, 03:12 PM)
call microsoft, make up some stories.  brows.gif
QUOTE(RokXIII @ Mar 21 2008, 03:52 PM)
if you're lucky, they won't ask u anything, just like what I did last time. A female Chinese stuff help me to reactivate without asking any question...  laugh.gif
eh no need to go so extreme boys..
hey but true rokxiii.. the chinese counterpart was much nicer.. heck even chatted to me hows malaysia.. y i am eating so late for dinner etc.. hows ure day/...

just use the voice automation system
give those silly block of nos
make sure u say yes to reinstallation of vista on the same pc

and presto no issue..

asellus
post Mar 21 2008, 04:11 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

Takes about 30 minutes inclusive one long restart on my work computer and also a couple of test machines using WSUS. Seems to be okay, only need to repatch uxtheme files to use custom themes.

Now have to put the computer into some rigorous training to refill the prefetcher folder. The computer takes longer to boot after SP1 was installed.
vincentlaw
post Mar 21 2008, 04:24 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(RokXIII @ Mar 21 2008, 03:52 PM)
if you're lucky, they won't ask u anything, just like what I did last time. A female Chinese stuff help me to reactivate without asking any question...  laugh.gif
hmm that is if u meet up some new recruits... coz sumtimes they dont really remember what they need to do.. tongue.gif..... hehe....

anyway thier call centre locally from 8am-6pm shud be just at menara olympia in KL.... i work there b4 but under other department...

dinozilla
post Mar 21 2008, 04:39 PM

1,680 posts

skeptical about defaultname365...hahah...

in fact....look at the task manager shot
Memory 2045
Cache 1825
Free 5

Which one is fake right now????
vincentlaw
post Mar 21 2008, 04:45 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Mar 21 2008, 11:52 AM)
it shot up to 1.9gb on idle after some time??? ....... abit weird.. anyway what is free 5 below the cache means?

This post has been edited by vincentlaw: Mar 21 2008, 04:45 PM

32 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:17 PM