--

TSKVReninem
post Mar 20 2008, 04:17 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(jex-koi @ Mar 20 2008, 04:28 PM)
Hi guys,

Thanks for the advice. It seems I have 2-options. To go there with "student VISA" or under "skilled migrant VISA".
I've gone thru the website and need some advice.

1) If I apply student VISA (much cheaper compared to migrant worker) and bring my wife, can she work there (Caufield) as an accountant? If so, how many hours per week?

Quote "Family members of students enrolled in Masters by coursework can work unlimited hours once the student starts their main course."

Another quote "Your family members must:

-work no more than 20 hours per week
"

http://www.immi.gov.au/students/students/573-1/index.htm
http://www.immi.gov.au/students/students/5...-visa-works.htm
http://www.immi.gov.au/students/students/5...ions-family.htm

2) How to get accountant skills accessed in Malaysia ?
http://www.immi.gov.au/asri/occupations/a/...ant-2211-11.htm
Once I graduate (2 years time), then maybe i'll apply for "skilled working" VISA, cause I will have more points by then smile.gif
1) well you found the answer, but i would like to point out tat if you planning to bring your wife in and since she is in accounting, try see if the big 4(PWC,E&Y...) have any vacancy in melb or upon arrival then search. there is many ways to come in anyway.

2) skill assesment might take time unless.

anyway
try looking jobs for ur wife at here

www.seek.com.au
www.mycareer.com.au
www.hippo.com.au

hope tis help smile.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Mar 20 2008, 04:18 PM
chris_c28
post Mar 20 2008, 08:45 PM

882 posts

QUOTE(jex-koi @ Mar 20 2008, 03:28 PM)
1) If I apply student VISA (much cheaper compared to migrant worker) and bring my wife, can she work there (Caufield) as an accountant? If so, how many hours per week?
Please note that it is ILLEGAL to apply for a student visa just so you can work here. If you are a professional already, you should go for the skilled migration program. Doing the wrong thing is a very selfish act that will harm people who are legitimate students (like many of us here) from gaining proper working rights and migration opportunities when we graduate.

Please do not give Malaysia a bad name/image like India/China by abusing and exploiting student visas.
limeuu
post Mar 20 2008, 10:24 PM

12,295 posts

chris, i think jex is saying, he goes in as a student (legit), and the wife will be an accompanying person....yes, in this situation, his wife is allowed to work, i believe, although there will be some restrictions........

of more concern to me is, whether the wife's qualification is recognised or not.......most qualifications not from oz or nz are NOT recognised, so some kind of accreditation process is needed, and that takes time and money......

of course, many people will take jobs which do not need accreditation, which will be mostly menial jobs like cashiers, stackers, fast food crew etc........even though they are professionals in their own countries, to earn some money..........

i think the info is all quite clear, students, and dependants can apply to work max 20hr/week (must apply there, not automatically given), the exception being family of masters students by course work, where work is then unlimited......
Sesshoumaru
post Mar 20 2008, 10:53 PM

1,190 posts

Trying to enter Big4 from skilled migration?

Good luck.

Last check, they don't even consider applicants without PR/Citizenship. One of the Big4 did mention they may accept applications from those who are applying for a PR (sufficient points) though, but really... good luck.

I think the UK is better in this sense.
SeeD
post Mar 20 2008, 11:04 PM

I Love Bubbles
6,728 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 20 2008, 10:24 PM)
chris, i think jex is saying, he goes in as a student (legit), and the wife will be an accompanying person....yes, in this situation, his wife is allowed to work, i believe, although there will be some restrictions........

of more concern to me is, whether the wife's qualification is recognised or not.......most qualifications not from oz or nz are NOT recognised, so some kind of accreditation process is needed, and that takes time and money......

of course, many people will take jobs which do not need accreditation, which will be mostly menial jobs like cashiers, stackers, fast food crew etc........even though they are professionals in their own countries, to earn some money..........

i think the info is all quite clear, students, and dependants can apply to work max 20hr/week (must apply there, not automatically given), the exception being family of masters students by course work, where work is then unlimited......
Hmm? What do you mean? Students who has a student visa have to apply (what ?) before working ??
limeuu
post Mar 21 2008, 12:10 AM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Mar 20 2008, 11:04 PM)
Hmm? What do you mean? Students who has a student visa have to apply (what ?) before working ??
yes........which part don't you understand?

remember you are a student, supposed to be there to study not work........they are generous enough to allow full time students to work max 20hrs/week during semester time and unlimited during holidays, but you have to apply for that permit separately when you arrive.........
kamagotchi
post Mar 21 2008, 10:14 AM

154 posts

Havent posted a thing for ages, wishing u guys a happy easter break!
kawaiikawabe
post Mar 21 2008, 10:53 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Mar 19 2008, 01:27 PM)
tats early!  sweat.gif
Happy Easter everyone....

Added on March 21, 2008, 10:56 am
QUOTE(kenny1983 @ Mar 20 2008, 08:34 AM)
wow, so early? so how u feel? u like brisbane. anyway enjoy ur easter at here, take care
Ya, I like Brisbane and feel nice too.
Happy Easter to you too.

Anyways, do anyone know where is Japanese store in Brisbane? Thanks

This post has been edited by kawaiikawabe: Mar 21 2008, 10:56 AM
Cheesenium
post Mar 21 2008, 12:14 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Mar 21 2008, 10:14 AM)
Havent posted a thing for ages, wishing u guys a happy easter break!
Lol,where have you been?Too much assignments to do?

Are you going to some MSO party tomorrow?
QuackSilver
post Mar 21 2008, 02:08 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

QUOTE(kawaiikawabe @ Mar 21 2008, 12:53 PM)
Happy Easter everyone....

Added on March 21, 2008, 10:56 am

Ya, I like Brisbane and feel nice too.
Happy Easter to you too.

Anyways, do anyone know where is Japanese store in Brisbane? Thanks
what store are you referring to in the first place?
haya
post Mar 21 2008, 02:40 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Mar 20 2008, 08:45 PM)
Please note that it is ILLEGAL to apply for a student visa just so you can work here. If you are a professional already, you should go for the skilled migration program. Doing the wrong thing is a very selfish act that will harm people who are legitimate students (like many of us here) from gaining proper working rights and migration opportunities when we graduate.

Please do not give Malaysia a bad name/image like India/China by abusing and exploiting student visas.
Thank you so much, chris_c28, for saying it like it is. Don't get me started. You can see it here.

QUOTE(SeeD @ Mar 20 2008, 11:04 PM)
Yes. What did you think; you could just walk into Australia and work?

This post has been edited by haya: Mar 21 2008, 02:48 PM
kamagotchi
post Mar 21 2008, 04:35 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Mar 21 2008, 03:14 PM)
Lol,where have you been?Too much assignments to do?

Are you going to some MSO party tomorrow?
OMG, dont get me started with assignments, I have about 5 to keep me busy on this break and 4 more to do after the break. Plus, being on the committee for 2 clubs, I have work to do for this weekend - Maulidur Rasul, farewell ceremony for MSD director and something else I forgot...
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by kamagotchi: Mar 21 2008, 04:39 PM
Cheesenium
post Mar 21 2008, 04:54 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Mar 21 2008, 04:35 PM)
OMG, dont get me started with assignments, I have about 5 to keep me busy on this break and 4 more to do after the break. Plus, being on the committee for 2 clubs, I have work to do for this weekend - Maulidur Rasul, farewell ceremony for MSD director and something else I forgot...
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
My horrible avalanche of work havent come yet other than some maths to do and lots of reading.

Most likely gonna spend another day at home to do work.

After that,most likely im gonna spend my time to test my mod.Hope i dont get anymore "Hit maximum number of indices or vertices" error anymore.Dont even know what does it mean till now.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Mar 21 2008, 04:58 PM
empire23
post Mar 21 2008, 10:36 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Dagnabbit, Easter means all the stores are closed and now i can't find a place to get fags or bottles of lemonade.
TSKVReninem
post Mar 22 2008, 08:15 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Mar 21 2008, 11:36 PM)
Dagnabbit, Easter means all the stores are closed and now i can't find a place to get fags or bottles of lemonade.
hahaha lol! who asked u ddint stock up tongue.gif
haya
post Mar 22 2008, 11:58 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Mar 22 2008, 08:15 AM)
hahaha lol! who asked u ddint stock up tongue.gif
I stocked up on Wednesday. Most shops are only open till about 2pm today, and mostly closed tomorrow. I suppose if you're desperate, you could go to 7-11.

Eating out this weekend will be a nightmare. A 10-20% surcharge almost everywhere!
TSKVReninem
post Mar 22 2008, 12:08 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Mar 22 2008, 12:58 PM)
I stocked up on Wednesday. Most shops are only open till about 2pm today, and mostly closed tomorrow. I suppose if you're desperate, you could go to 7-11.

Eating out this weekend will be a nightmare. A 10-20% surcharge almost everywhere!
really?shitttttttttttttttttttttt
StarGhazzer
post Mar 22 2008, 01:35 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Haha... Easter holidays = DEAD TOWN.

Last easter my friend and I stupidly went to Knox City and got stranded there because the entire complex was closed. Can't even enter the building.

This time round I rather stay at home and sleep... whistling.gif

M'sia's public holidays are so much better... at least you see lively people everywhere compared to a dead town over here where everyone mysteriously vanishes.
TSKVReninem
post Mar 22 2008, 01:38 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Mar 22 2008, 02:35 PM)

Last easter my friend and I stupidly went to Knox City and got stranded there because the entire complex was closed. Can't even enter the building.

M'sia's public holidays are so much better... at least you see lively people everywhere compared to a dead town over here where everyone mysteriously vanishes.
starghazzer in melb? any event this break? rolleyes.gif
Cheesenium
post Mar 22 2008, 02:53 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Mar 22 2008, 01:35 PM)

Quite true.Public holiday here is dead city while Malaysia public holiday is filled with people everywhere.

Guess i'll sleep and study at home lah.

124 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0216sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:37 PM