fyire
post Feb 25 2008, 08:25 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 25 2008, 05:43 PM)
Question? Why is everyone here smiling? It creeps me out.
Let's see, they're enjoying the fruit of their labors in the garden with their marijuana plants? smile.gif
chris_c28
post Feb 25 2008, 08:50 PM

882 posts

Welcome...

Watch the ad
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y-ZLr9ePuj8

Then watch this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=411ueiat2sY

s373n
post Feb 25 2008, 09:21 PM

▂▃▅▆ ♫ ♬ ♪ ⓢ③⑦③ⓝ
785 posts

QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Feb 25 2008, 09:50 PM)
haha it's quite funny biggrin.gif

kamagotchi
post Feb 25 2008, 11:08 PM

154 posts

even the chaser's war gang did a segment out of the advertisement.
caspersky
post Feb 26 2008, 12:54 AM

517 posts

Just got me nets back. Note to anyone getting net, there are providers aside from Telstra and Optus that provide better net services with better bandwidth and download limits at cheaper rates, figured that only only AFTER i signed up for BigPong, ask around at your local PC shop or PC repair guy, he should know.

Anyways i'm studying in the backward Town of Toowoomba in the local University of Southern Queensland, the only thing this town is known for is it's parks, flowers and the fact there's probably a church on every street, great for those trying to get in touch with Jesus lol. Our Dean of Engineering was from QUT, nice and funny fellow and most of our lecturers are great people and the staff are seriously nice and efficient folk. Question? Why is everyone here smiling? It creeps me out.
Hi, i would probably be going to USQ on July 2008 hopefully...how is the situation there? Is it good?
TSKVReninem
post Feb 26 2008, 05:52 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Feb 26 2008, 12:08 AM)
even the chaser's war gang did a segment out of the advertisement.
i miss chaser war on everything sad.gif
those pranks are so good wub.gif
mwkh_hope
post Feb 26 2008, 06:33 AM

406 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 26 2008, 05:52 AM)
i miss chaser war on everything  sad.gif
Chaser war?? What's tat?? tongue.gif

TSKVReninem
post Feb 26 2008, 06:42 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(mwkh_hope @ Feb 26 2008, 07:33 AM)
Chaser war?? What's tat?? tongue.gif
yup chaser war rclxm9.gif
read up here

Chaser War

and watch this

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Feb 26 2008, 06:56 AM
empire23
post Feb 26 2008, 08:01 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(caspersky @ Feb 26 2008, 12:54 AM)
Hi, i would probably be going to USQ on July 2008 hopefully...how is the situation there? Is it good?
So far so good if you ask me. Term hasn't started yet, i actually arrived 2 weeks early so i could deal with investments and term deposits as they're sponsoring my stay here rather than regular handouts from my folks tongue.gif. I'm not sure about the other faculties, but engineering for one is filled up with very motivated lecturers and individuals, and as per usual, very little women and tons of people with short attention spans. The other faculties seem more lively and motivated though, but who gives a flipping bother about them anyways lol?

Everything here is done with the online system and it's extremely comprehensive, and the e-learning system is seriously good. The facilities are nice, and nearly everything can be bought with your student card as long as it has money preloaded in it. The student guild runs alot of activities and provides alot of services although the co-co activities are mostly sport centric. Food is pretty good here, although if you're like me, you tend to be a little picky regarding Halal or not, but the Uni does cater for muslims and there are foods designated halal in the cafeteria. Admin staff are really helpful and seem to put up with the dumbest questions i can throw at them (seems my IQ has dropped due to salt content in food here), the facilities are well maintained although i'll be frank and say the PC labs are utter crap as the PCs are as slow as my ass on saturday morning.

The town is about 3km away and a serious b**** to walk to, it doesn't have much, but it has all you'll probably need, like food, electrical, games, DVDs, shopping, clothes, electronics and of course, porn. Busses operate from monday to friday with limited service on saturday. Flash your student ID on the bus and you get 50 percent off, just like everywhere else in queensland. If there's one time you will be tempted to get a cheap arse car, it'll be here since the Bus service is pretty small and busses are few and far in between, so do yourself a favour and pool some money with a buddy to buy some junky old Holden. My pockets keep getting raped by taxi fares, so i consider it good advice.

haya
post Feb 26 2008, 08:09 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(Plant @ Feb 25 2008, 03:55 PM)
MY bro in QUT only see 7 asians and all white in his class

I am into design so... i expected all white, come australia lior must speak proper australia english.
Design: does this mean you're in Griffith? Anyway, welcome to Brisbane!

It all depends which course you're in. Here in QUT, if you're doing Business/Econs/Accounting, there are Asians everywhere. Do something like Bio-science, and it's almost all whites.

Just got me nets back. Note to anyone getting net, there are providers aside from Telstra and Optus that provide better net services with better bandwidth and download limits at cheaper rates, figured that only only AFTER i signed up for BigPong, ask around at your local PC shop or PC repair guy, he should know.

Anyways i'm studying in the backward Town of Toowoomba in the local University of Southern Queensland, the only thing this town is known for is it's parks, flowers and the fact there's probably a church on every street, great for those trying to get in touch with Jesus lol. Our Dean of Engineering was from QUT, nice and funny fellow and most of our lecturers are great people and the staff are seriously nice and efficient folk. Question? Why is everyone here smiling? It creeps me out.
Wow. Toowoomba! Hows the weather there? Sounds like a nice place.

Yes, Telstra and Optus' plans are horrible value for money. Other providers such as Internode are much better, but since you're almost in the bush, coverage might be a bit tricky for these smaller ISP's.

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 26 2008, 05:52 AM)
i miss chaser war on everything  sad.gif
Damn I miss them allright. Don't forget this:

PeNNyPupZ
post Feb 26 2008, 10:02 AM

79 posts

bah talking bout concession rate for students.. bloody hell only in melbourne we're not entitled.. geeeeeee
Cheesenium
post Feb 26 2008, 10:08 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(PeNNyPupZ @ Feb 26 2008, 10:02 AM)
bah talking bout concession rate for students.. bloody hell only in melbourne we're not entitled.. geeeeeee
Sydney also,international students dont get the concession rates too while exchange students get it.

It's so unfair. sad.gif
PeNNyPupZ
post Feb 26 2008, 10:28 AM

79 posts

yaaaaaaaaaaaaaa we're paying double the price T_T

and in my institute.. my course, international students pay like 25 grand for the course but local students dont pay anything.. thats why we're called PAYING students.. mehs no concession. sadsad
Cheesenium
post Feb 26 2008, 11:06 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(PeNNyPupZ @ Feb 26 2008, 10:28 AM)

and in my institute.. my course, international students pay like 25 grand for the course but local students dont pay anything.. thats why we're called PAYING students.. mehs no concession. sadsad
Yeah,what to do?

I still think we should have the traffic concession.
TSKVReninem
post Feb 26 2008, 11:15 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(PeNNyPupZ @ Feb 26 2008, 11:28 AM)

25K aud or ringgit?

penny, we got no choice.
btw how much you paying for your diploma?
me pay about 9.8k per yr.

PeNNyPupZ
post Feb 26 2008, 11:21 AM

79 posts

wah i wish 25k ringgit ;x two years about 25k aud lor.. what are you studying?
TSKVReninem
post Feb 26 2008, 11:37 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(PeNNyPupZ @ Feb 26 2008, 12:21 PM)
wah i wish 25k ringgit ;x two years about 25k aud lor.. what are you studying?
2 yrs 25k aud shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif
eh cannot be so high..
i`m studying dip.building design here in holmesglen, south of you sweat.gif

about 12.5k a yr, which is more than me doh.gif
i tot tafe programme is like regulated, besides, is boxhill helping you getting PR?
PeNNyPupZ
post Feb 26 2008, 11:40 AM

79 posts

one semester pay about 6k.. but i think that includes the insurance thing? i dont know about PR thing.. i already have PR in uk so not really interested in the pr here atm
empire23
post Feb 26 2008, 11:54 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Feb 26 2008, 11:37 AM)
2 yrs 25k aud shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif
eh cannot be so high..
i`m studying dip.building design here in holmesglen, south of you sweat.gif

about 12.5k a yr, which is more than me doh.gif
i tot tafe programme is like regulated, besides, is boxhill helping you getting PR?
You're lucky then, my course costs me 20k aud a year. Only masters students and locals here get concessions.

I'm applying for a Power Consortium bursary since i'm majoring in power and analog electronics. If you're taking a course which has industry wide shortages, i suggest you look around since the benefits are good, it also adds to the chance of getting a PR once you're done or by the very least, an employer vouched Visa. Queensland is suffering from a shortage of engineers, so i guess anyone willing to give scholarships a fling for relevant courses probably could get them.

This post has been edited by empire23: Feb 26 2008, 11:57 AM
TSKVReninem
post Feb 26 2008, 12:11 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Feb 26 2008, 12:54 PM)
You're lucky then, my course costs me 20k aud a year. Only masters students and locals here get concessions.

I'm applying for a Power Consortium bursary since i'm majoring in power and analog electronics. If you're taking a course which has industry wide shortages, i suggest you look around since the benefits are good, it also adds to the chance of getting a PR once you're done or by the very least, an employer vouched Visa. Queensland is suffering from a shortage of engineers, so i guess anyone willing to give scholarships a fling for relevant courses probably could get them.
cool, hopefully mine is under shortage too sweat.gif
design aint much, once more land, need more drafting people sweat.gif mean more work rclxm9.gif

124 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:05 PM