92 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

☆Fellowship of the Strings☆Violin,Viola,Cello etc., ~String Instruments Lovers are welcome!~

yunnie
post Oct 17 2008, 10:09 AM

72 posts

You guys are forgetting gu zheng!!!

Btw do you make sure that your bow is parallel to the bridge when bowing at the point? Cause I'm having a hard time, maybe my arm is short?? blink.gif
SUSicyfawkes
post Oct 17 2008, 10:18 AM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

gu zheng,i put it in the cool category,its has a kinda erudite & ocean type of sound...can be angry and mild,kinda like gandalf frm LOTR laugh.gif
but pipa... wub.gif its romantic,sorrowful,petite...more of a woman taste in it nod.gif
Btw do you make sure that your bow is parallel to the bridge when bowing at the point? Cause I'm having a hard time, maybe my arm is short??

try positioning your wrist not hand... hmm.gif
yunnie
post Oct 17 2008, 10:37 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(icyfawkes @ Oct 17 2008, 10:18 AM)
gu zheng,i put it in the cool category,its has a kinda erudite & ocean type of sound...can be angry and mild,kinda like gandalf frm LOTR laugh.gif
but pipa... wub.gif its romantic,sorrowful,petite...more of a woman taste in it nod.gif

try positioning your wrist not hand... hmm.gif
Gandalf? I thought he was a nice old man? Can't remember him being angry.... hmm.gif

Ah.. But does it really matter if you bow dead parallel or not?

SUSicyfawkes
post Oct 17 2008, 10:43 AM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

Gandalf? I thought he was a nice old man? Can't remember him being angry.... 

oh!he was angry at alot of places...bilbo's house,mines of moria,dueling saruman etc...i read the book 5 times sweat.gif
Ah.. But does it really matter if you bow dead parallel or not?

i dont quite understand what you mean,when it comes to musical term im at loss...maybe should ask the rest sweat.gif
yunnie
post Oct 17 2008, 10:54 AM

72 posts

LOL I don't read the books. I only watched the movies.

What I meant was keeping the position of the bow parallel to the bridge all the time = dead parallel.
SUSicyfawkes
post Oct 17 2008, 11:00 AM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

LOL I don't read the books. I only watched the movies.

read the book,there are alot of scenes cut in the movie,you are missing alot of details from the story... nod.gif
What I meant was keeping the position of the bow parallel to the bridge all the time = dead parallel.

you mean how to continue playing with the bow straight like an X sign with the violin?
yunnie
post Oct 17 2008, 11:05 AM

72 posts

read the book,there are alot of scenes cut in the movie,you are missing alot of details from the story... nod.gif
Nah.. Not really into reading story books under this genre. I heard the english was too deep? Hard to understand leh.. Hehe blush.gif But harry potter is okay..
I have a friend who is into LOTR books too.. And I think he has WOW books too.. I remembered seeing some night hero on the cover of the book. hmm.gif

you mean how to continue playing with the bow straight like an X sign with the violin?

YEP!! icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSicyfawkes
post Oct 17 2008, 11:11 AM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

i like LOTR but i dont like WOW...yeah...tolkiens books are quite deep,you could try "The Hobbit" its not that deep nod.gif
Harry Potter for me is kinda light reading...finish "goblet of fire" in 2 days max sweat.gif
IMHO if you cant do it that means your wrist isint flexible enough yet or your violin size is too big for you?the wrist prob can be cured by practicing daily,you'll get used to it... smile.gif

This post has been edited by icyfawkes: Oct 17 2008, 11:11 AM
yunnie
post Oct 17 2008, 02:07 PM

72 posts

You heard of Twilight? My friend said its a nice book. Comes in a few series.
Its about werevolves and all..

LOL I prefer comic books to story books! icon_rolleyes.gif

Well, its all down to practice practice and practice. dry.gif
SUSicyfawkes
post Oct 17 2008, 02:10 PM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

twilight?the girls in my office love it...i havent read that yet sweat.gif
why?you dont enjoy practicing?i love practicing...it lets you be more creative with your violin laugh.gif
yunnie
post Oct 17 2008, 02:25 PM

72 posts

I like practicing. Its just that its hard to see and correct your bowing technique. The moment I start playing, I'm only concentrating on my left arm and make it a point to move my right arm by memory. So.. I cant tell if I'm bowing with the correct technique?

Blek. I don't know what I'm saying. doh.gif

This post has been edited by yunnie: Oct 17 2008, 02:43 PM
SUSicyfawkes
post Oct 17 2008, 02:31 PM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

its normal...its like guitar...the first time i play i dont even know how to strum properly...once you get used to it then it will come naturaly nod.gif
gtslyn
post Oct 18 2008, 01:24 AM

hi, i'm new here.. i'm juz gonna start taking up violin lessons.. hope to learn more from u guys here.. ^^
SUSicyfawkes
post Oct 18 2008, 01:09 PM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

welcome!!! laugh.gif
Jojos
post Oct 18 2008, 11:06 PM

95 posts

so erm.. gathering? that'll be interesting
SUSicyfawkes
post Oct 19 2008, 01:09 PM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

not sure bout the gathering...i dont think we are gonna do that for now... laugh.gif
yunnie
post Oct 22 2008, 09:13 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(gtslyn @ Oct 18 2008, 01:24 AM)
hi, i'm new here.. i'm juz gonna start taking up violin lessons.. hope to learn more from u guys here.. ^^
Hi Gtslyn!!

OMG this topic is dying!!!!
SUSicyfawkes
post Oct 22 2008, 09:44 AM

- Model 03-
1,265 posts

lolz...hows your violin coming yunnie? laugh.gif
yunnie
post Oct 22 2008, 10:02 AM

72 posts

Not as terrible as before.. But still need to practice more on synchronizing my left fingers and right arm when changing notes.. And also avoid touching other strings when bowing. happy.gif

Btw will your fingers (left) touch other strings when you press for a note? For example when pressing G on D string, do your fingers touch the A string? unsure.gif

Haha how's work today btw?
crabjim
post Oct 22 2008, 10:07 AM

145 posts

gotta curve ur fingers and use your fingertips to press the notes. It needs more practise to make it correct. Im also a learner, my bowing still sucks, it doesnt sound smooth sometimes especially when doing slur.

92 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:56 PM