translating non-english certs to english, how??

TStonyhawks20
post Jan 26 2008, 02:51 AM, updated 18y ago

94 posts

im applying for nus and im required to translate all my certs to english
before sending them out.
and i have a whole bunch of certs in BM
anyone have any idea how or who do i need to go to
for translation?
waternymph
post Jan 26 2008, 03:06 AM

38 posts

Can't you yourself do it?
if not, have you tried asking british education council or some language center if they have translating service? You can always come to me too
strontium_bismuth
post Jan 26 2008, 03:20 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(waternymph @ Jan 26 2008, 03:06 AM)
Can't you yourself do it?
if not, have you tried asking british education council or some language center if they have translating service? You can always come to me too
Im wondering how they did it ? I mean , if translate the language in cert, how they print out the cert ? What about the originality of the cert such as the signature , seal stamp? hmm.gif
waternymph
post Jan 26 2008, 03:32 AM

38 posts

e.g, (in brackets)- sealed and approved by ..........

you don't need to copy the signature or the seal on your translated paper as you will be giving the copy of the original together with it. I'm sure that they can see it. so it isn't necessary.

i've done translating documents for my dad b4, but it's from french to english. i'm sure with bm it isn't much diff.
cks2k2
post Jan 26 2008, 03:34 AM

1,966 posts

Do the translation yourself, attach together with the document being translated and have it certified true by someone reputable i.e. school HM, ketua kampung etc.

But if we're talking about transcripts from uni (i.e. diploma, degree etc) the uni would have to do the translation and send it to NUS direct in a sealed envelope with the uni's stamp.
azarimy
post Jan 26 2008, 07:06 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(cks2k2 @ Jan 25 2008, 07:34 PM)
Do the translation yourself, attach together with the document being translated and have it certified true by someone reputable i.e. school HM, ketua kampung etc.

But if we're talking about transcripts from uni (i.e. diploma, degree etc) the uni would have to do the translation and send it to NUS direct in a sealed envelope with the uni's stamp.
i'm with cks2k2. couldnt have put it any other way.
TStonyhawks20
post Jan 26 2008, 01:14 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(cks2k2 @ Jan 26 2008, 03:34 AM)

okay.. i think im gonna translate them myself..
but just to make sure..
do i have to like translate every single word on the certs?
or just the important parts like names, events and such..
v3000i
post Jan 26 2008, 01:32 PM

27 posts

i went to institut terjemahan negara to transfer my bro's cert from bm to english bcos he was applying for some school in dubai
wgy589
post Jan 26 2008, 03:15 PM

759 posts

QUOTE(tonyhawks20 @ Jan 26 2008, 02:51 AM)
before sending them out.
for translation?
Did they realli ask u 2 translate? I think u better check out.

NUS is in S'pore, n Bahasa Melayu is the national language of S'pore (not the official language la) , so do u think there's realli a need 2 translate?
I didn't translate wen i was applyin last time.

Added on January 26, 2008, 3:15 pm
QUOTE(tonyhawks20 @ Jan 26 2008, 02:51 AM)
before sending them out.
for translation?

NUS is in S'pore, n Bahasa Melayu is the national language of S'pore (not the official language la) , so do u think there's realli a need 2 translate?

This post has been edited by wgy589: Jan 26 2008, 03:15 PM
TStonyhawks20
post Jan 26 2008, 03:54 PM

94 posts

yea they did..
they wanted a translated copy along with an original copy
of the certs
AtMostFear
post Jan 26 2008, 04:02 PM

809 posts

I translated all my certificates myself when applying for one of the schools in the US, and it turned out fine (I assume it is because I'm admitted smile.gif). you don't have to translate it word by word, as long as they know what the certificate is all about then it's going to be fine. just make sure you have someone to certify the translation for you (as in get it stamped). pegawai daerah, pengetua and etc will do.
TStonyhawks20
post Jan 26 2008, 04:08 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(AtMostFear @ Jan 26 2008, 04:02 PM)
I translated all my certificates myself when applying for one of the schools in the US, and it turned out fine (I assume it is because I'm admitted smile.gif). you don't have to translate it word by word, as long as they know what the certificate is all about then it's going to be fine. just make sure you have someone to certify the translation for you (as in get it stamped). pegawai daerah, pengetua and etc will do.
umm.. abt the translating part..
did u just type the info into the pc
and printed it out?
ginger_bread
post Jan 26 2008, 04:18 PM

131 posts

[quote=wgy589,Jan 26 2008, 03:15 PM]

Added on January 26, 2008, 3:15 pm

do u have any achievements in national or international competitions when u apply ?
wgy589
post Jan 26 2008, 04:46 PM

759 posts

hmm, i dun tink it's of any importance in dis topic.
AtMostFear
post Jan 26 2008, 05:11 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(tonyhawks20 @ Jan 26 2008, 04:08 PM)
and printed it out?
yup. and well if you're like me, who's such a perfectionist, you'll try to find the logo/badge (like the one in the original certificate) on the internet. it's not that important, just that it'll look nicer. but having just text on the paper won't hurt your chances I guess. and the part where there's usually a signature of the principal/director/chairman or others, I just put their names, no need to copy their signature to the translation. (I wonder if there's anyone who actually does that, hehe)

just to be safe, try to ask anyone who has applied to NUS before about this matter as it might vary from school to school.
cks2k2
post Jan 26 2008, 05:13 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(tonyhawks20 @ Jan 26 2008, 04:08 PM)
and printed it out?
What certs are we talking about here? If it's the uni transcript NUS would have given you a transcript request form to hand over to your uni and they will translate + seal + send to NUS for a fee.

Otherwise just translate like such: "Sarjana Muda Kejuruteraan Mekanik dengan Kepujian" to "Bachelor in Mechanical Engineering with Honours" etc. Not really difficult.

Even though BM is "the" national language it is not the administrative language (weird). I don't even think BM is taught in school cos my cousins barely speak a word of Malay.
TStonyhawks20
post Jan 26 2008, 05:32 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(cks2k2 @ Jan 26 2008, 05:13 PM)
What certs are we talking about here? If it's the uni transcript NUS would have given you a transcript request form to hand over to your uni and they will translate + seal + send to NUS for a fee.

Otherwise just translate like such: "Sarjana Muda Kejuruteraan Mekanik dengan Kepujian" to "Bachelor in Mechanical Engineering with Honours" etc. Not really difficult.
well... my certs mostly revolve around
international competitions .. etc.
i just wanted to know whether there is a specific way of translating
these certs
or is it just the matter of typing out the english version on the pc
and printing it out
razorkid
post Jan 26 2008, 05:56 PM

67 posts

i think you need to find someone to translate to english and certify them for you
you might need to go to a commissioner for oath to do that

cks2k2
post Jan 26 2008, 06:04 PM

1,966 posts

QUOTE(razorkid @ Jan 26 2008, 05:56 PM)
i think you need to find someone to translate to english and certify them for you
you might need to go to a commissioner for oath to do that
Nah the comm/JP/PJK guys will charge you a good sum of money; just get your school's HM to do it. FOC.
azarimy
post Jan 26 2008, 07:36 PM

10,672 posts

here's what a english->BM translated document will look like:

the image on the left is the original degree (which i've deleted the name and ID in red ink tongue.gif), and on the right is the simple separate A4 of the translation in BM. now u make a copy of the original document. goto a pegawai kelas A (any government officers with a degree at a considerably high post) or ur headmaster or whatever, and i. get the copy certified, ii. get the translation certified.

then staple together the certified translation to the certified copy.

do this for EVERY document that needs translation.
terencelee2008
post Jan 26 2008, 09:32 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 26 2008, 07:36 PM)
here's what a english->BM translated document will look like:

the image on the left is the original degree (which i've deleted the name and ID in red ink tongue.gif), and on the right is the simple separate A4 of the translation in BM. now u make a copy of the original document. goto a pegawai kelas A (any government officers with a degree at a considerably high post) or ur headmaster or whatever, and i. get the copy certified, ii. get the translation certified.

then staple together the certified translation to the certified copy.

do this for EVERY document that needs translation.
omg! that's gonna take up so much paper. i was thinking of how to do it as well lol. so thanks!
TStonyhawks20
post Jan 26 2008, 09:51 PM

94 posts

wow.. cool..
thx for all da info biggrin.gif
eRiCCa
post Jan 27 2008, 09:22 PM

441 posts

erm... are you sure that you can actually translate them yourselves? as for me, i translated my birth cert to english for AUD40 by one of those AUTHORISED translators...

yea only birth cert, how hard is that to translate yourself, only name, place of birth, date of birth, parents name and all... but yea, it MUST be translated by those authorised personnels that they had to go through exams and whatever to get themselves such TITLE and RECOGNISED...

coz they might think that you yourself can simply translate it or it's not accurate...
azarimy
post Jan 27 2008, 09:27 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(eRiCCa @ Jan 27 2008, 01:22 PM)
erm... are you sure that you can actually translate them yourselves? as for me, i translated my birth cert to english for AUD40 by one of those AUTHORISED translators...

yea only birth cert, how hard is that to translate yourself, only name, place of birth, date of birth, parents name and all... but yea, it MUST be translated by those authorised personnels that they had to go through exams and whatever to get themselves such TITLE and RECOGNISED...

coz they might think that you yourself can simply translate it or it's not accurate...
the translation can be done by anyone. the certification stamp is the one that needs to be done by an authorized person. i translated my certificates this way for both my masters (univ college london) and PhD (sheffield univ) applications with no problem at all. the key here is who is an authorized person?

in malaysia, it's any class A officers. in the UK, certifications must be done by a court clerk or solicitor. i believe it is the same with australia. hence why u need to pay AUD40 for the translation and certifying services.
eRiCCa
post Jan 27 2008, 10:11 PM

441 posts

hmmm... ok, i get that idea... maybe the reason why was because it's hard to get someone who can certify as well as can understand malay in aust? as for the person who certify it he himself has to make sure that the translation is correct before he can certify it...

azarimy
post Jan 27 2008, 10:35 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(eRiCCa @ Jan 27 2008, 02:11 PM)
hmmm... ok, i get that idea... maybe the reason why was because it's hard to get someone who can certify as well as can understand malay in aust? as for the person who certify it he himself has to make sure that the translation is correct before he can certify it...
yes, that's why it is advisable to find somebody who is credible enough to be able to read through the translations. the person who certifies are liable if there is a fraud or falsification of documents, so he must ensure that what he translate is true to the very sense. yeah, i know that sometimes malaysian class A officers couldnt care less about what they signed... hahaha...
yawhong
post Jan 29 2008, 08:23 PM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

just translate urself and get someone (ur headmaster? teacher?) to certify it...
kurtkantoi
post Jun 8 2009, 02:53 PM

1,461 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 27 2008, 10:35 PM)
yes, that's why it is advisable to find somebody who is credible enough to be able to read through the translations. the person who certifies are liable if there is a fraud or falsification of documents, so he must ensure that what he translate is true to the very sense. yeah, i know that sometimes malaysian class A officers couldnt care less about what they signed... hahaha...
Class A officer is someone with gred 41 and above rite?
Between Commissioner for Oath and Class A officer..which one is more reliable or is it same?

MBBS siang
post Jun 8 2009, 10:44 PM

582 posts

QUOTE(tonyhawks20 @ Jan 26 2008, 03:51 AM)
before sending them out.
for translation?
You can do your translation in high court will be better! biggrin.gif My document also translated in high court and cannot simply do translation anywhere that you wish icon_idea.gif

Added on June 8, 2009, 10:46 pm
QUOTE(yawhong @ Jan 29 2008, 09:23 PM)
just translate urself and get someone (ur headmaster? teacher?) to certify it...
This is very incorrect. Don't try to mislead! mad.gif Translation of documents for some formal purposes is very serious.If you dont know please keep your mouth shut vmad.gif

This post has been edited by MBBS siang: Jun 8 2009, 10:46 PM
aeiou228
post Jul 31 2010, 10:32 PM

5,867 posts

I need to translate a birth cert for UK student visa. Can do it at PJ high court ? which department shall I approach ?
DarkNite
post Aug 1 2010, 08:49 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 31 2010, 10:32 PM)
I need to translate a birth cert for UK student visa. Can do it at PJ high court ? which department shall I approach ?
Bro, if not mistaken you can use the British council office for that and get the person in charge to sign off for you.
aeiou228
post Aug 2 2010, 03:43 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Aug 1 2010, 08:49 AM)
Bro, if not mistaken you can use the British council office for that and get the person in charge to sign off for you.
Thanks for the info, A few certified translators I found via Google are charging RM60 per birth cert and the Institut Terjemahan Negara charging RM50. I end up getting it done at PJ Session Court's translator for RM30 per BC for 2 copies. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
lirael
post Aug 6 2010, 04:05 PM

hi, is there any majistrate or session court in subang jaya that can help me do the translation?

aeiou228
post Aug 8 2010, 12:19 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(lirael @ Aug 6 2010, 04:05 PM)
hi, is there any majistrate or session court in subang jaya that can help me do the translation?
No court in SJ. Nearest, either you go Shah Alam or PJ. PJ court located just beside Taman Jaya LRT station. Very convenient.

0.0224sec    1.08    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:31 PM