anyone know about the preference shares dividend, i would like to know the tax implication. Can i use franked dividend or single tier to declare dividend now?
Q&A, General question on stock market
Jun 15 2012, 09:10 AM
17 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
anyone know about the preference shares dividend, i would like to know the tax implication. Can i use franked dividend or single tier to declare dividend now?
Jun 15 2012, 10:09 AM
4,305 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Jun 16 2012, 12:57 PM
114 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
may i know what is the difrent between 5% and 5sen dividen ?
Jun 17 2012, 02:05 PM
3,816 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
Jun 17 2012, 02:49 PM
218 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: 1001010100010011101 |
Hmm.. I'm a total newb to stock investing, and I'm currently trying to figure out where I can have a nice calender of important dates: especially quarterly report & AGMs, for any company.
Any pointers from sifus out here? |
Jun 17 2012, 03:38 PM
114 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
Jun 17 2012, 03:56 PM
2,991 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(fasionoval @ Jun 17 2012, 03:38 PM) Yes.There's also a difference between "dividend less 25% tax" and "tax exempt dividiend". Check out this link. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1039913 |
Jun 18 2012, 08:39 AM
QUOTE(empirekhoo @ Jun 17 2012, 02:49 PM) Hmm.. I'm a total newb to stock investing, and I'm currently trying to figure out where I can have a nice calender of important dates: especially quarterly report & AGMs, for any company. here...Any pointers from sifus out here? http://www.bursamalaysia.com/website/bm/li...ments/index.jsp |
Jun 18 2012, 11:52 PM
3,021 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
QUOTE(empirekhoo @ Jun 17 2012, 02:49 PM) Hmm.. I'm a total newb to stock investing, and I'm currently trying to figure out where I can have a nice calender of important dates: especially quarterly report & AGMs, for any company. no such thing , unless u work in the company, got insider information.Any pointers from sifus out here? we usually guess.... example: Thursday, 31 May 2012 5:19PM 1Q net profit 572.000 million (increased 6.12%) Friday, 24 Feb 2012 5:13PM Financial year end net profit 2.527 billion (increased 10.11%) Wednesday, 30 Nov 2011 5:03PM Nine-month net profit 1.627 billion (decreased 3.44%) Thursday, 25 Aug 2011 12:37PM 1H net profit 1.090 billion (increased 0.55%) this one is for maxis, we can guess the next quarter report will be on (24-31 August 2012) |
Jun 25 2012, 02:39 PM
975 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Penang |
Guys....total noob here.
Any books / website to read on the basics for stock investing ? |
Jun 25 2012, 08:26 PM
QUOTE(ghoss @ Jun 25 2012, 02:39 PM) Website - LYN's FAQ...http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1039913 books - In the first place, you need to tell us whether you are interested in long term investing or short term get-rich-quick trading. For long term investing, I recommend these books: Peter Lynch - One Up on Wall Street Pat Dorsey - The Five Rules for Successful Stock Investing |
Jun 26 2012, 07:27 AM
975 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Penang |
QUOTE(river.sand @ Jun 25 2012, 08:26 PM) Website - LYN's FAQ... Thanks for the help .http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1039913 books - In the first place, you need to tell us whether you are interested in long term investing or short term get-rich-quick trading. For long term investing, I recommend these books: Peter Lynch - One Up on Wall Street Pat Dorsey - The Five Rules for Successful Stock Investing I don't want to start heading towards the wrong direction I prefer to try some short term investing to get a hang of it to know what I'm doing . |
Jul 2 2012, 12:35 AM
218 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: 1001010100010011101 |
QUOTE(river.sand @ Jun 18 2012, 08:39 AM) Thanks river.sand.. With this I would like to ask one more question. I've noticed that lots of company announcements are flooded with EPF related buy/sell.. For example on link: http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed...ncements/996617 Does this mean that EPF is 'buying' (Acquired) 900,000 units of share of the company, with price "ordinary shares of RM1.00 each"? can anyone explain this process better? Thanks in advance =) |
Jul 2 2012, 04:06 PM
4,305 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(empirekhoo @ Jul 2 2012, 12:35 AM) Thanks river.sand.. Nolah, cannot be RM1 one, normally market price.With this I would like to ask one more question. I've noticed that lots of company announcements are flooded with EPF related buy/sell.. For example on link: http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed...ncements/996617 Does this mean that EPF is 'buying' (Acquired) 900,000 units of share of the company, with price "ordinary shares of RM1.00 each"? can anyone explain this process better? Thanks in advance =) |
Jul 3 2012, 12:34 AM
17 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
Hi all sifus, which website do you all recommend for KLSE stocks financial statement analysis?
I'm looking for websites that are close to yahoo finance or msn money..but sadly those websites do not cover KLSE. Thanks in advance! |
Jul 3 2012, 09:03 PM
1,685 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I would like to know how is that possible when I check the IPO application show successful. But 10 days down the road when I log back in I found out the money was returned back with the status show "N/A" it's not rejected either.
Somehow I felt like it had all been manipulated. |
Jul 4 2012, 08:53 AM
1,481 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(gs20 @ Jul 3 2012, 09:03 PM) I would like to know how is that possible when I check the IPO application show successful. But 10 days down the road when I log back in I found out the money was returned back with the status show "N/A" it's not rejected either. U apply online or manual balloting? The rejection may due to several reasons, info(cds a/c/IC number/etc) do not match with their database or yours is on reserve whereby should any of the successful applications rejected due to wrong info/details) and if there is no rejection then yours will be sent back lorSomehow I felt like it had all been manipulated. Added on July 4, 2012, 8:56 am QUOTE(empirekhoo @ Jul 2 2012, 12:35 AM) Thanks river.sand.. the RM1.00 stated there is the par value of the shares and not the transacted/market value which will be about 15%+/- from the last closing price of the shareWith this I would like to ask one more question. I've noticed that lots of company announcements are flooded with EPF related buy/sell.. For example on link: http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed...ncements/996617 Does this mean that EPF is 'buying' (Acquired) 900,000 units of share of the company, with price "ordinary shares of RM1.00 each"? can anyone explain this process better? Thanks in advance =) This post has been edited by rayng18: Jul 4 2012, 08:56 AM |
Jul 4 2012, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(rayng18 @ Jul 4 2012, 08:53 AM) U apply online or manual balloting? The rejection may due to several reasons, info(cds a/c/IC number/etc) do not match with their database or yours is on reserve whereby should any of the successful applications rejected due to wrong info/details) and if there is no rejection then yours will be sent back lor I apply via PBE Share Trading platform online. |
Jul 4 2012, 09:37 AM
1,481 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(gs20 @ Jul 4 2012, 09:32 AM) So most likely will be the reasons I stated earlier iether there is error on your particulars or that urs is on the reserve listHow many lots u apply, and did u get 100% back. Sometime if you apply sat 5000 you will only get 3000 and they will refund you the balance of 2000 This post has been edited by rayng18: Jul 4 2012, 09:39 AM |
Jul 4 2012, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(rayng18 @ Jul 4 2012, 09:37 AM) So most likely will be the reasons I stated earlier iether there is error on your particulars or that urs is on the reserve list I applied for 5 lots & on the first time I check it said I got 4 lots. 10 days later all 4 lots were returned with status "N/A"How many lots u apply, and did u get 100% back. Sometime if you apply sat 5000 you will only get 3000 and they will refund you the balance of 2000 I guess I will check with the bank. |
| Change to: | 0.0257sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:55 AM |