Q&A, General question on stock market

rayng18
post Sep 23 2011, 12:30 PM

1,481 posts

You still need to take the par value into consideration. Earlier eg,

RM0.50*1000shares*RM0.50parvalue so div payment is RM250.

Tax exempt and taxable. Both still need to pay tax only difference is tax exempt is the company is paying the tax for you and taxable is 25% tax from the div and the balance pay to you.

Some div have 1st tier , 2nd tier is where the co is paying few times a year

some div 3% some 3sen
rayng18
post Sep 27 2011, 09:55 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 27 2011, 08:54 AM)
Try OSK, I heard they are hiring.
Just send in the application to the big few stockbroking firm like OSK, Kenanga, CIMB and HDBS
rayng18
post Sep 28 2011, 09:14 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 28 2011, 08:25 PM)
On top of basic?
Or the 2k is the basic?
i think 2k is the basic
rayng18
post Oct 6 2011, 02:28 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(Sakai1 @ Oct 6 2011, 12:15 PM)
Newbie here. I have some -LR here. What should I do with this? Appreciate the big help.
I think it is YTLLand-LR listed today.
As Cherroy indicated earlier the options available.

this LR is only tradeble for 1week after which (if you do not sell) its burned.
Pls ensure that the sale proceeds from your LR is enough to cover your charges if not you have to pay the charges unnecessarily. If charges more than proceeds you just have to leave it if you have no intention of buying the Loan stock.

If it is YTLLand-LR the chances of selling is almost impossible as there are no buyer and park to sell is at RM0.005 at the moment

Added on October 6, 2011, 2:35 pm
QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Sep 29 2011, 11:58 PM)
anyone knows this type of dividend "Dividend In Specie" (ie by BSTEAD)?

Entitlement Details:
Distribution of dividends by Boustead Holdings Berhad ("BHB") of a gross value of RM94,016,250 comprising ordinary shares of RM1.00 each in Pharmaniaga Berhad ("Pharmaniaga Share(s)") and cash to the shareholders of BHB on the basis of 1 Pharmaniaga Share for every 57.5 ordinary shares of RM0.50 in BHB ("BHB Shares") held ("Dividend-In-Specie")
Pls refer below link for details
http://www.bursamalaysia.com/website/bm/li...ments/index.jsp

This post has been edited by rayng18: Oct 6 2011, 02:35 PM
rayng18
post Oct 7 2011, 11:21 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(hmn @ Sep 29 2011, 11:36 PM)
I have a questions regarding odd lots.

1. How to buy odd lots, i'm using ECM Money
2. If buy multiple odd lots within a day (40 units in morning, another 40 units in afternoon), how much is the total charges (brokerage, clearing fee, stamp duty).

Appreciate any help. smile.gif
There is a seperate screen to buy/sell odd lot from the srockbroker BFE. I think most online should also have. U need to check with ECM on this.

if you buy multiple times within the same day on the same counter it will sum up as one contract and the charges is the same as the normal board lot buy/sell and subject to the min brokerage.
rayng18
post Oct 28 2011, 07:31 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(august.decision @ Oct 21 2011, 12:25 PM)
hi...

i'm new in share market....may i know can we buy and sell in the same day?
what about the T+3?
Yes you can buy and sell on the same day its called intraday trading.
T+3 means trading day + 3working days credit period for you to settle the contract. Eg if you buy on monday (ie the trading day (t) and you will need to settle by thursday (3days from trading day). If you do not settle, your shares will be forcesold by the stockbroking firm
rayng18
post Nov 1 2011, 03:17 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(august.decision @ Oct 31 2011, 02:20 PM)
ok...understood....thank you... tongue.gif
or if the gain is enuff to cover all the costs then the co will pay you instead for the contra gain
rayng18
post Nov 4 2011, 02:33 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(helzboyz @ Nov 4 2011, 11:37 AM)
From that gain,I still need to minus stamp n clearence fees, right??balance from that, that is my profit?
The transaction cost already included all the cost involved such as brokerage, clearing fee and stamp duty. RM23.xx is the net gain
rayng18
post Nov 4 2011, 03:09 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(helzboyz @ Nov 4 2011, 03:04 PM)
Oh, ok..thanks..understand, now want to decide, where to open the acc..any suggestion?
It depends on you which one is convenience to you, if you have MBB a/c so open in MBB investment would be convenient for you to do trf and monitoring. If you are looking at cheaper brokerage then you have to do some homework to see which bank charge the lowest brokerage.
rayng18
post Nov 5 2011, 04:10 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Nov 5 2011, 10:30 AM)
May i know how to calculate the online brokerage fees? For example, HL bank offers
>0-100k: 0.38%
>100k: 0.18%
RM12 minimum brokerage

Lets say i buy 1 lot, then 1x100= RM100 + brokerage fees (0.38%xRM100), total is RM100.38 to buy 1 lot of stock?
or
1 lot, 1x100= RM100 + RM12 brokerage fees, total is RM112?
you r also subjected to clearing fee and stamp duty as well

Added on November 5, 2011, 4:15 pm
QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Nov 5 2011, 10:55 AM)
How about the 0.38% brokerage fees?

And, what is Paperwork on corporate exercise? Because according to this website, http://1-million-dollar-blog.com/compariso...es-cds-account/

direct CDS account holders have to handle the paperwork on corporate exercise.  ohmy.gif
paperwork corporate exercise are those relating to subscription of rights issue, conversion of warrant to mother shares, acceptance of the MGOs etc. All these you need to directly send to the registrar for processing whereas if under nominee all these will be done by your IB under you instructions

This post has been edited by rayng18: Nov 5 2011, 04:18 PM
rayng18
post Nov 11 2011, 02:23 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Nov 11 2011, 12:42 PM)
what financial ratio u guys use to pick stock ?
mainly PE(price earnings) and DY (dividend yield)
rayng18
post Nov 16 2011, 02:04 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(Jganne @ Nov 16 2011, 12:53 PM)
Hello sifu,

I'm a student, and I wanted to start trading.
What do I need?
Money ofcourse, I mean, what do I need to know basicly?

open an account with any of the investment bank convenient to you. Do some homework of what kind of shares you intend to buy and what kind of an investor are you.. long term, punter etc. Know the technical terms and the procedures for payments etc. Follow the thread in stock market
rayng18
post Nov 16 2011, 02:47 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(tohca @ Nov 16 2011, 02:15 PM)
I'm sure this has been asked before, but just couldn't find it using the Search Topic. Thousand apologies.

How do I open an Online Share Trading account in Singapore? And which is the best (safest) broker recommended?

some of the investment bank here already started cross border trading, so you just have to check it out. No need to to to Spore to open
rayng18
post Nov 16 2011, 03:32 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(Jganne @ Nov 16 2011, 03:14 PM)
I'm new to shares so I don't really know which one to buy,
Do you have a list of Category of shares available?
I read these topics, I get how the payments works.
So now I know how to start off but before I start,
I wanted to know more about the types of shares as you says, which kind I wanted to buy,
And how many kinds of investors are there?
I'm abit like, I'm willing to spend my time on the stock. Since I'm having quite a long term holiday at the moment.

Any suggestion?
Or any guide to read...?

Thanks alot for replying!
the are thousands of stocks in the market, just get a copy of the newspaper and all the counters are available there. you need to know the financial terms. You may also get lots info at www.bursamalaysia.com where you can read each co profile, financial stmts, mkt price etc... you can also buy the weekly "The Edge" as reading material from the newspaper stand.
rayng18
post Nov 17 2011, 07:05 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(Jganne @ Nov 16 2011, 04:57 PM)
Financial terms?
Sorry I don't get it.
Financial terms like PE(Price Earning ratio), DY(dividend yield), EPS(earnings per share, ROI(return on Investment) and many more. You need to know at least how to calculate and the meaning of these indicatives for your decision making to invest.
rayng18
post Nov 18 2011, 08:25 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(Jt2020 @ Nov 18 2011, 07:55 PM)
One question about dividend...

From what I know, we have ex-dividend date and date of record..

When I buy a share, it takes three days from the transaction date (T+3) for the change to be entered into the company's record books.

So, does it means that when when I sell shares it also takes 3 days from transaction date to be removed from the company's record books?

If I buy the shares before ex-dividend date and sell the shares on ex-dividend date, i still entitled to get the dividend right? because it's still in the company's record book and to be removed one day after the date of record...

Is my assumption correct?
Its actually captured in the co's record on end of T day. T3 is actually the grace/credit period for you to settle the contract.
Yes u r entitle for the div if sell on ex date.
rayng18
post Nov 20 2011, 05:06 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(heavenly91 @ Nov 20 2011, 01:28 PM)
What is cds?
==
I am new so no short form pls..
Central Depository System where all your shares will be deposit into for your monitoring
rayng18
post Dec 5 2011, 03:46 PM

1,481 posts

Group consists of the parent company and all its subsidiaries while the company only refer to that particular company under review. It depends on what info you want to obtain whether on a group / that comapny itself.
rayng18
post Dec 19 2011, 11:07 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(el8155 @ Dec 19 2011, 02:29 AM)
i want to ask.. is there any website to find financial data for klse.. like all the p/e ratio, eps, dividend yield and also cash flow statement, balance sheet, income statement..?
www.bursamalaysia.com

rayng18
post Dec 22 2011, 06:55 AM

1,481 posts

And different people use different formula to calculate the ratios

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0328sec    2.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:11 AM